Home > Toy Companies > Hog Wild > Romp > Customer Reviews
Romp
0

Customer reviews of Romp by Hog Wild

Return to Romp product information...

Romp has been reviewed 60 times with an average rating of 4.38

Complex fun from a simple device
Posted 5/7/2008
Rating: 5

The cool thing about the ROMP is the way that subtle changes in the placement of the magnets can have a profound effect on the motion of the pendulum. It invites experimentation. Keep it handy for those times when you are stuck on hold with your cable company or ISP.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game
Posted 12/11/2007 by Stella Kurtz Evans
Rating: 4

My son is mesmerized. He is learning all about magnetism and magnets. He loves to set this thing swinging. Forget about the rules!

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Seemed Great
Posted 12/30/2009 by Dawn Kinsel
Rating: 2

My 9 year old picked this out for his 14 year old cousin and was pretty excited from the description. Sadly, the WOW or the FUN factor was fairly limited on Christmas Day. They were more intrigued with gadgets with bigger movements - stomp rockets and the yackle ball. May be better for older kids with desks.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love This Toy (Too Disrespectful A Word)
Posted 11/5/2007 by Mary F. Essary
Rating: 5

I think that this should be in every grade school in the country! It is not a toy, it is demonstration of some of the most basic principles that run our world! It is extremely upsetting to me that we stop teaching physics more modern than the 19th century in our schools.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 8/17/2007 by Shauntel Williams
Rating: 5

I absolutely adore this. It's truly amazing to watch and play with!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun!
Posted 7/22/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Romp is potentially hours of entertainment. I bought it as a gift for my father - he loved it. It sits on his desk in the living room and everyone walking by finds it very hard to resist rearranging the magnets or setting it in motion.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Romp
Posted 9/23/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Great gadget. Handy office desktop toy to play with. Bought this for brother-in-law and he really enjoys it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP review
Posted 6/23/2009 by Lauren Bendiksen
Rating: 5

My husband LOVED this as a gift from my daughters for father's day! He is an engineer and thought this toy was great. My girls (6 & 7 years) also thought it was a lot of fun. I love toys like this that are educational in a way that encourages self-learning through exploration. Experimenting with magnetism is great fun for all ages!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Romp
Posted 6/24/2007 by Susan Thode - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 4

Interesting and useful to discover how magnets work. It is unique, but limited in how it can be used, so may become boring for a child.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Romp
Posted 7/22/2009 by Andre Dempsey
Rating: 4

An interesting toy. Our son has lost interest in it a bit...but I think it will be one he returns to again and again.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Romp
Posted 12/15/2010 by SANDY HUTCHISON - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

It seem like the older you are the longer you play with it...

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Romp
Posted 12/19/2009 by Sandra Rosenfeld
Rating: 5

Our grandson keeps the (Romp) out where he can go over & play with it when every he wants & loves interacting with it. Very happy with the items we purchased for him.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp is great
Posted 9/6/2005 by Rachelle Scott
Rating: 4

I am a social worker, and have found that the children I work with enjoy watching the romp, but is also is a great segway into conversations regarding cooperation, and the effects of working either with or against others. It has worked out even better than I thought I would. It was originally meant to be something to play with on my desk.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food
Posted 11/20/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

A nice little desk distraction to help the brain take a much-needed rest from demanding, mental work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Entertaining toy!
Posted 2/24/2011 by Susan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Mr grandson enjoys this toy very much. Stops and plays with it whenever he walks by.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Desk Toy
Posted 12/2/2009 by Rhonda Weeks
Rating: 4

We got this for my brother as a desk toy. Everybody took a turn playing with it! It had to be put up to keep the two year old from investigating further, but all the older kids and adults enjoyed tweaking the magnets. It looks nice for a desk, but my husband wished they had a high end desk toy version with lots of wood and polish!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unique And Fun
Posted 5/24/2007 by Lawrence P. McGinnis
Rating: 5

My wife wanted a desk toy, but not the 'cliche' swinging balls. This is very interesting as you can alter it to move differently all the time so it doesn't get boring. Also it's silent, so you can play with it while you're on the phone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun
Posted 3/17/2007 by Pamela Neumann
Rating: 4

Romp is a lot of fun to have sitting on the coffee table. Just about everyone who sees it wants to interact with it. I find it fascinating to discover what it will do with each new arrangement of magnets. And I enjoy watching other people figure out various configurations. The one difficulty I had was getting the pole attached to the base with a screw. However, once assembled, there is no need to deal with the screw again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Romp
Posted 2/26/2007 by Jeanne Besser
Rating: 4

I got Romp for my kids and they loved it. They showed it to their teacher, she loved it and wanted one too. The novelty factor definitely wanes, but it is a fun toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Fun
Posted 2/20/2007 by Lionskating
Rating: 4

Lots of fun, I play with it for hours at a time, especially during commercials when I'm watching TV. It's lots of fun to sit there and watch the ROMP at work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Romp
Posted 2/5/2007 by Mohammad T Faridi
Rating: 4

I think it's very good quality and an entertaining product, just like it was described. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 1/23/2007 by Brian G
Rating: 4

The product is unique and fun. The pendulum is a little flimsy, but it's not a major issue.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Romp
Posted 1/20/2007 by John Steil
Rating: 4

I think it's a fun & curious toy. It is the second one that I've bought. I bought one for my son (7 years old) and although he isn't overly interested in it, it caught my attention. I bought the second for a sister. I expect that she'll enjoy it at her office.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP
Posted 1/16/2007 by Ian Gibbons
Rating: 5

Bought for a college prep high school office. We are trying to create a perpetual motion machine, and our old ROMP wore out. Alas, no free energy quite yet. Very interesting and fun device. Good for stimulating imaginations and dialogue.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Romp
Posted 1/4/2007 by Sarah Powers
Rating: 5

Romp provides hours of fun for adults and children. My ten year old son wanted one, and just loves it. I need one for my desk at school now!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Romp
Posted 9/27/2006 by Danni Fernandez
Rating: 4

The Romp draws on people's curiousity. It seems like a toy for children and the next thing you know, the adults are trying their ideas. It's great for the whole family.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Our family loves it
Posted 3/6/2006 by Gretel
Rating: 5

My 12 year old son received a Romp for Christmas. It was a big hit right off; 3 months later we're all still playing with it. We keep it in the living room. The kids and my husband like to design contests - e.g., "who can keep it going the longest" and other tricks. I'm ordering several more for extended family. Great toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's ok, not quite addictive
Posted 1/9/2006 by Joshua Chen
Rating: 3

Romp was fun at first, trying out different patterns of magnetics, but what I noticed was that someone would try it once, maybe twice, after which people would lose interest in it. Maybe because there isn't a goal or a puzzle that people think after a while, seeing the magnet wiggle around is not as interesting...It's great for people to come by and try it once or twice, but it doesn't have any mezmerizing characteristics.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Romp
Posted 1/9/2006 by Carol
Rating: 4

The adults had as much fun playing with this as the kids did.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp Opinion
Posted 12/28/2005 by Anne Sullivan
Rating: 2

Interesting for just a short period of time; loses its appeal too quickly. Was a gift for my college son who's an engineering major. I thought he'd think it was intriguing, but he was not all that impressed. I also ordered UberOrbs for my younger son (11) and they were a big hit among all ages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP Rules!
Posted 11/30/2005 by Jamie Aycock
Rating: 5

A seemingly simple toy that can mezmerize all ages. I can spend hours rearranging the magnets and letting the pendulum go. A simple, well executed toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 10/31/2005 by Nancy Grundman
Rating: 3

I am still figuring out how to get the most from the least. I would like the action to be more sustained I think but it is fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Romp
Posted 10/3/2005 by Roman
Rating: 4

Very interesting and educational toy !

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Romp
Posted 7/11/2005 by Diana Perdue
Rating: 4

It is very interesting to watch and play with! Kudos for it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romping
Posted 6/28/2005 by Ron Langlinais
Rating: 5

Romp exceeded my expectations--Everyone in the office that has seen it can't keep their hands off--I have purposed to limit my "Romping" to breaks, lunch and phone calls (of which there are many)--I'm contemplating placing a bolt with a locking nut through the center "dot" to assure it remain on my desk. TXs Ron

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

THE Most Fascinating Magnetic Gadget
Posted 6/24/2005 by Raimo Hansen
Rating: 5

Romp is the most clever magnetic gadget I've seen. You have to see it to believe it. You get some very intriguing effects when stacking the magnets 2 high and experimenting with asymmetric patterns that are both close and far apart. It would be great if there were a scaled up version of ROMP available soon!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Item
Posted 6/11/2005 by JGC
Rating: 4

This is a great item, at a low cost. Great quality, and an awesome item for a desk or office.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 5/3/2005 by Steven H. Bernstein
Rating: 5

Very cool desk item - amazing scientific principles and forces of nature My 12 year old son is enjoying this one and likes to show his friends

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP is awesome
Posted 4/26/2005 by David Costenaro
Rating: 5

I brought this bad boy into work and set it on my desk. A bunch of us engineers in cubicle-land can't stop playing with it. Sweet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Romp
Posted 3/11/2005 by Alex Barr
Rating: 5

I'm a graduate student in physics and have recently begun collecting physics desk toys. As my primary interest is in nonlinear dynamics and chaos I could not ask for a better toy than ROMP. ROMP is a cheap, simple and beautiful illustration of the general principles of chaos. It is also particularly useful when trying to explain chaos to someone with no prior knowledge of the subject. I highly recommend this toy to EVERYONE - whether you're interested in chaos or not the mesmerizing and never predictable motion of ROMP will keep you entertained for hours.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 3/11/2005 by David Sussman
Rating: 5

This is a replacement for a Romp that broke after years of use. We and our children and friends all have enjoyed this toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP Review
Posted 3/11/2005 by G. Eng
Rating: 5

Definitely a neat toy! A colleague of mine brought one into our office and all of us technical folks have been playing with the magnets. I even brought in some extra magnets that were leftover from my son's science project (they were essentially identical to the ones you have; we got them from Edmund Scientific). So I got one for my kid, and another for a colleague of mine who works in a different area. All his colleagues think it is lots of fun too. A couple of suggestions: (1) My son labelled his magnets with a 1/4" Yellow Avery Label for one polarity and used a 1/4" Green Avery Label for the other polarity. It makes it a lot easier for slight tweaks and re-arrangements. (2) An option for more magnets for a couple dollars more might also be nice. (3) You might also revise your manual with some suggested interesting patterns. We normally think of putting the magnets either N or S side facing up. But actually putting a magnet on its edge, for example with one polarity facing the center and with the other polarity facing outward, also helps to give interesting results. Things like that might be included in a revised manual. Thanks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Romp
Posted 3/11/2005 by Linda Hatcher
Rating: 5

This is definately ADD approved!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun with chaos
Posted 11/29/2004 by Lucas Sabalka
Rating: 5

For me, chaos is fascinating, and chaotic motion is what I look for with magnets. Romp is EXACTLY what I want in a magnetic toy - it is the best example I've ever seen of the subtleties of repellers, attracters and saddle points of magnetic force fields. I've watched the delightfully surprising chaotic orbits dancing around for hours on end. It is virtually impossible to predict the sink into which a particular orbit will stabilize. I am very pleased with Romp; in fact, I plan to buy a few for Christmas gifts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

a good toy
Posted 1/1/2013 by Carrie Nygard
Rating: 4

I bought this toy for my 16 year old son who has ADHD. His hands have to be doing something constantly and I thought this toy would give him something fun to do. We homeschool and I thought he could play with this when he gets distracted from schoolwork. It is larger than I expected, and it is very well made. Even on Christmas morning he wanted to put it together right away. His only complaint is that the pendululm stops moving too soon. I encouraged him to move the magnets around to see if he could configure them to encourage more movement. Unfortunately, he also plays a lot of video games and hasn't gotten back to this toy. I hope it encourages exploration when we start back to school. Even I enjoyed playing with it!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 12/27/2012 by STEPHEN M TOTH
Rating: 5

Fun game!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02