Home > Toy Companies > Hog Wild > Romp > Customer Reviews
Romp
0

5 Star reviews of Romp by Hog Wild

Return to Romp product information...

Romp has been reviewed 60 times with an average rating of 4.38

Complex fun from a simple device
Posted 5/7/2008
Rating: 5

The cool thing about the ROMP is the way that subtle changes in the placement of the magnets can have a profound effect on the motion of the pendulum. It invites experimentation. Keep it handy for those times when you are stuck on hold with your cable company or ISP.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love This Toy (Too Disrespectful A Word)
Posted 11/5/2007 by Mary F. Essary
Rating: 5

I think that this should be in every grade school in the country! It is not a toy, it is demonstration of some of the most basic principles that run our world! It is extremely upsetting to me that we stop teaching physics more modern than the 19th century in our schools.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 8/17/2007 by Shauntel Williams
Rating: 5

I absolutely adore this. It's truly amazing to watch and play with!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun!
Posted 7/22/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Romp is potentially hours of entertainment. I bought it as a gift for my father - he loved it. It sits on his desk in the living room and everyone walking by finds it very hard to resist rearranging the magnets or setting it in motion.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Romp
Posted 9/23/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Great gadget. Handy office desktop toy to play with. Bought this for brother-in-law and he really enjoys it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP review
Posted 6/23/2009 by Lauren Bendiksen
Rating: 5

My husband LOVED this as a gift from my daughters for father's day! He is an engineer and thought this toy was great. My girls (6 & 7 years) also thought it was a lot of fun. I love toys like this that are educational in a way that encourages self-learning through exploration. Experimenting with magnetism is great fun for all ages!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Romp
Posted 12/15/2010 by SANDY HUTCHISON - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

It seem like the older you are the longer you play with it...

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Romp
Posted 12/19/2009 by Sandra Rosenfeld
Rating: 5

Our grandson keeps the (Romp) out where he can go over & play with it when every he wants & loves interacting with it. Very happy with the items we purchased for him.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Entertaining toy!
Posted 2/24/2011 by Susan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Mr grandson enjoys this toy very much. Stops and plays with it whenever he walks by.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unique And Fun
Posted 5/24/2007 by Lawrence P. McGinnis
Rating: 5

My wife wanted a desk toy, but not the 'cliche' swinging balls. This is very interesting as you can alter it to move differently all the time so it doesn't get boring. Also it's silent, so you can play with it while you're on the phone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP
Posted 1/16/2007 by Ian Gibbons
Rating: 5

Bought for a college prep high school office. We are trying to create a perpetual motion machine, and our old ROMP wore out. Alas, no free energy quite yet. Very interesting and fun device. Good for stimulating imaginations and dialogue.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Romp
Posted 1/4/2007 by Sarah Powers
Rating: 5

Romp provides hours of fun for adults and children. My ten year old son wanted one, and just loves it. I need one for my desk at school now!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Our family loves it
Posted 3/6/2006 by Gretel
Rating: 5

My 12 year old son received a Romp for Christmas. It was a big hit right off; 3 months later we're all still playing with it. We keep it in the living room. The kids and my husband like to design contests - e.g., "who can keep it going the longest" and other tricks. I'm ordering several more for extended family. Great toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP Rules!
Posted 11/30/2005 by Jamie Aycock
Rating: 5

A seemingly simple toy that can mezmerize all ages. I can spend hours rearranging the magnets and letting the pendulum go. A simple, well executed toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romping
Posted 6/28/2005 by Ron Langlinais
Rating: 5

Romp exceeded my expectations--Everyone in the office that has seen it can't keep their hands off--I have purposed to limit my "Romping" to breaks, lunch and phone calls (of which there are many)--I'm contemplating placing a bolt with a locking nut through the center "dot" to assure it remain on my desk. TXs Ron

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

THE Most Fascinating Magnetic Gadget
Posted 6/24/2005 by Raimo Hansen
Rating: 5

Romp is the most clever magnetic gadget I've seen. You have to see it to believe it. You get some very intriguing effects when stacking the magnets 2 high and experimenting with asymmetric patterns that are both close and far apart. It would be great if there were a scaled up version of ROMP available soon!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 5/3/2005 by Steven H. Bernstein
Rating: 5

Very cool desk item - amazing scientific principles and forces of nature My 12 year old son is enjoying this one and likes to show his friends

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP is awesome
Posted 4/26/2005 by David Costenaro
Rating: 5

I brought this bad boy into work and set it on my desk. A bunch of us engineers in cubicle-land can't stop playing with it. Sweet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Romp
Posted 3/11/2005 by Alex Barr
Rating: 5

I'm a graduate student in physics and have recently begun collecting physics desk toys. As my primary interest is in nonlinear dynamics and chaos I could not ask for a better toy than ROMP. ROMP is a cheap, simple and beautiful illustration of the general principles of chaos. It is also particularly useful when trying to explain chaos to someone with no prior knowledge of the subject. I highly recommend this toy to EVERYONE - whether you're interested in chaos or not the mesmerizing and never predictable motion of ROMP will keep you entertained for hours.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 3/11/2005 by David Sussman
Rating: 5

This is a replacement for a Romp that broke after years of use. We and our children and friends all have enjoyed this toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ROMP Review
Posted 3/11/2005 by G. Eng
Rating: 5

Definitely a neat toy! A colleague of mine brought one into our office and all of us technical folks have been playing with the magnets. I even brought in some extra magnets that were leftover from my son's science project (they were essentially identical to the ones you have; we got them from Edmund Scientific). So I got one for my kid, and another for a colleague of mine who works in a different area. All his colleagues think it is lots of fun too. A couple of suggestions: (1) My son labelled his magnets with a 1/4" Yellow Avery Label for one polarity and used a 1/4" Green Avery Label for the other polarity. It makes it a lot easier for slight tweaks and re-arrangements. (2) An option for more magnets for a couple dollars more might also be nice. (3) You might also revise your manual with some suggested interesting patterns. We normally think of putting the magnets either N or S side facing up. But actually putting a magnet on its edge, for example with one polarity facing the center and with the other polarity facing outward, also helps to give interesting results. Things like that might be included in a revised manual. Thanks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Romp
Posted 3/11/2005 by Linda Hatcher
Rating: 5

This is definately ADD approved!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun with chaos
Posted 11/29/2004 by Lucas Sabalka
Rating: 5

For me, chaos is fascinating, and chaotic motion is what I look for with magnets. Romp is EXACTLY what I want in a magnetic toy - it is the best example I've ever seen of the subtleties of repellers, attracters and saddle points of magnetic force fields. I've watched the delightfully surprising chaotic orbits dancing around for hours on end. It is virtually impossible to predict the sink into which a particular orbit will stabilize. I am very pleased with Romp; in fact, I plan to buy a few for Christmas gifts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Romp
Posted 12/27/2012 by STEPHEN M TOTH
Rating: 5

Fun game!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02