Home > Toy Companies > Ikoso Kits > Colorcube > Customer Reviews
Colorcube
0

Customer reviews of Colorcube by Ikoso Kits

Return to Colorcube product information...

Colorcube has been reviewed 16 times with an average rating of 4.38

Information about Colorcube
Posted 12/26/2007 - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 5

My 14 year old daughter and her 20 year old brother worked on it. Very challenging and fun. Definitely for ages 10 thru 110!

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Colorcube
Posted 12/24/2007 by Rebecca N
Rating: 4

I bought this for myself as an adult because I wanted to learn more about color. I found it challenging to put together, but very enjoyable. It is hard to imagine a child being able to do it. However, it is a creative and educational puzzle well worth getting if you are interested in the components and relationships of color. Almost mathematical in its precision, it is a wonderful display once complete. Snapping the cubes together was difficult until my teenage daughter and I finally got the hang of it, and threading the plastic rods through the cubes was also challenging. Still, I highly recommend it. If I were doing it again I would play around with the cubes/color relationships more before attaching them because I'm not taking it apart now that I have it together, although that is possible to do.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Color Tube
Posted 8/30/2007 by Young J Chong
Rating: 4

Unique item which my 5 and 3 year old children have shown interest in. I hope it will help their visual-spatial intellectual development. Aesthetically pleasing. Not difficult to put together.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty wicked cool
Posted 8/28/2008 by Royce Hamel
Rating: 4

I found that this may have been pretty hard and complicated for a child under ten years old - but it was really cool. I made it and everything, and it looks awesome. I'm not planning on taking it apart and making more things just yet - but when I do, I will be sure to show it off! This toy was fantastic.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Colorcube
Posted 8/4/2010
Rating: 3

The assembly instructions are very poor. The cubes are very, very difficult to put together. I am an adult male, and it required a lot of strength to click the two cube pieces into place. I cannot imagine a normal 10-11 year old being able to do this. The connecting rods are also difficult to connect. Once assembled, it does look great.
It's a snap to receive full satisfaction from Fat Brain Toys. Any purchase that does not meet your expectations may be returned for an exchange or refund. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For the Color Lover
Posted 10/25/2009 by Grace Bennetsen
Rating: 5

I bought this puzzle for my 72 year old mother who is very much with it. She loves to sew, quilt, crochet, and play with colorful yarn. She just finished making my daughter a beautiful costume for Halloween so it is not like she is old for her 72 years. She also has a nack for puzzles. She loves a challenge. So for her birthday I ordered her the colorcube. I'm sure she'll have a ball. We all sat around and snapped the cubes together before she took it home. She'll spend the next few nights playing with it I'm sure.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Colorcube
Posted 5/26/2009 by Jeff Glettner
Rating: 5

Great product and provides several hours of stimulating challenge. Also, provides good learning of color theory and how different colors are blended. My grandson was facinated on how adding or subtracting colors makes the differnt colors. I would recommend this for anyone who likes a challenge!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Beautiful
Posted 12/27/2009 by Ali A. - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

The Colorcube has given me a fun, new way to think about color. There is an included poster about color theory that was very useful in helping to figure out how to organize the colors. If you really need some extra help or want to check your work, the blocks are marked with the levels of cyan, magenta, and yellow in each. The small, colored cubes come in two pieces that have to be snapped together before the larger cube can be assembled. Once completed, the cube is pretty enough to have on display. This project is probably best-suited for older kids and adults interested in art and color theory.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great, Once It Is Together
Posted 1/18/2007
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my son to learn about colors. It is a good representation of all sorts of different colors. Putting the cubes together was not so bad but getting the cubes lined up on the sticks to make the big cube, that was a bit time consuming. Once complete, it stays together well and looks very nice. The assembly is just for someone with patience. This would not stop me from buying this product again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brainiac Kids and Artistic Mom at Peace
Posted 10/11/2006 by Cheryl Hoyle
Rating: 5

Three brainiac boys + One artistic Mom + Colorcube = Finally, Something We All Love! As an artist, I am always trying to find ways to introduce the fundamentals of art to my left-brain kids. The minute I saw the graduated colors in all those beautiful organized rows and columns I was hooked and had to have it. When my 13 and 10 year old saw the box, they were running with it in a couple minutes. Fortunately, each cube is made up of a measured combination of yellow, cyan and magenta. All the color values of the three colors are written in small letters on the side of the cubes. Once you figure out the pattern of the values it is pretty easy to figure out how to finish the puzzle. After the boys put the puzzle together by the numbers and admired it for awhile I took it apart and they redid it by sight, trying their hardest not to look at the numbers. They didn't get it quite right but they learned a lot. Yesterday I came downstairs and saw my 6 year old putting it together in an unusual combination (to say the least). He looked at me and said, with defiance, "Mom, you always say that art is personal and this - pointing to the cubes - is my personal colors." So that is how it will stay for awhile. One word of caution. I would suggest an adult or older child put the cubes together. Although at first they look like you can just snap them together they only have one correct way of fitting and are a pain to take apart and refit. Also, a few of the colors are very hard to tell apart in low light. Check the numbers on the side to make sure they match. Great toy! Top of our Christmas gift giving list.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Colorcube
Posted 8/22/2006
Rating: 5

This product is very good for those who are interested in aspects of color in 3 dimensions. Deciphering the color transitions can pose a challenge, but once this is figured out it is easy to assemble. I would recommend it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Color Cube Puzzle
Posted 1/9/2006 by Bethlyn Krakauer
Rating: 3

More sculpture than puzzle. Assembly is fairly difficult and painstaking to disassemble (if you were crazy enough to do this twice). As a color professional (graphic designer) it is visually alluring enough to go through the effort (mine will now sit on my shelf as art/inspiration) but I would not recommend it to the even slightly color and coordinatedly challenged. It certainly is pretty but, man, frustrating to construct. Putting colors in the right order was the easy part! P.S. I got one extra green piece!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Colorcube Teaches Color
Posted 1/29/2007 by Darrell
Rating: 4

This is a great product. First, it is a puzzle. You get a big box of parts you get to put together. This part is not good for those with color blindness. It is still possible to complete since each part has the the CMY (Cyan, Magenta, and Yellow) value of the color. Second, this item comes with a beautifully colored poster that teaches color theory or how colors are connected. Third, it just looks great as an abstract centerpiece.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02