Home > Toy Companies > Industrial Revolution > Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball > Customer Reviews
Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
0

Customer reviews of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball by Industrial Revolution

Return to Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball product information...

Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball has been reviewed 31 times with an average rating of 4.35

Fun and Delicious!
Posted 8/3/2007 by Jenny C. - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 5

This simple, futuristic device is as fun as the old fashioned hand-cranked ice cream machine. It is so portable. Nothing tastes better homemade ice cream made from simple and fresh ingredients. My family had so much fun playing with this ice cream maker. It only takes about 25 minutes, the ball rolls or spins very easily, and it's very simple to use. We're anxious to experiment with more variations and creating our own ice cream recipes. One hint: for a firmer textured ice cream use non-alcoholic vanilla flavoring, vanilla beans or vanilla sugar since alcohol will keep the ice cream from hardening as much.

33 of 37 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ice Cream Maker
Posted 1/30/2009 by Mary Louise Toth
Rating: 4

This is fun for the whole family. We made our ice cream with half and half and used kosher salt and it was ready in less than a half hour. Two 8 year olds did all the work and had a "ball!" We all enjoyed the ice cream.

19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ice Cream Maker
Posted 8/20/2007
Rating: 5

Awesome! It really works. My young adult boys even enjoyed tossing and rolling the ice cream ball. It is a perfect gift.

16 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ice Cream Maker
Posted 12/30/2008 by Sharon J
Rating: 4

We have only used the ball once and I didn't actually have enough ice to fill the ball fully. We still made ice cream. We made vanilla and it tasted wonderful. For those who don't follow directions fully, like me, it will take a bit longer to setup.

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ice Cream Making Ball
Posted 8/2/2007 by Marla Schweppe
Rating: 5

I took it camping last weekend and the kids loved making the ice cream. Some of the adults helped too. Everyone enjoyed eating it. It was a great camping activity. The recipe was so easy - cream, vanilla and sugar. It kept everyone busy for quite a while and stimulated a lot of conversation.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 8/1/2007 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Purchased 2 for visiting granddaughters ages 8 and 10. (one for us to keep and one for them to take home). They got a little tired of rolling the ball around for 20 minutes. At the 10 minute check, it was not easy to scrape the frozen product and mix it with the liquid. However, the ice cream was tasty. Looks like I have to use a phillips screwdriver to take it apart to do a thorough cleaning. I offered to help them make another batch several days later and they seemed to have lost interest.

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Play and Freeze
Posted 7/31/2007 by Doreen Villalpando
Rating: 4

The product works well as long as you keep it moving, but that's the whole idea to keep those little hands busy. My only complaint is that it is too small. I wish it make a larger amount.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy for all ages!
Posted 10/27/2009 by Alyson
Rating: 5

The kids and adults love this icecream maker. It is a fun project for the whole family on birthdays, holidays, and even campouts.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker
Posted 5/29/2007 by Nancy Willard - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

This item performed according to directions. However, for children looking forward to eating the ice cream, the twenty minutes required can seem like an eternity. The ball has to be kept in constant motion, the insides scraped after approximately 10 minutes, then ice and rock salt added again, and finally another ten minutes of constant motion. My experience consisted of 3 children ages 4 to 8 years old keeping the ball in motion. With more children, the results might have been faster. It certainly kept the children moving!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 3/28/2007 by Lindsey Mower
Rating: 4

We love playing with this when we have friends over. I got the pint size and it is perfect for sharing with a friend. It takes about 25 minutes for it to freeze and 1 bag of ice. Ice cream tastes so good when it's made from scratch -and I can add any toppings to it afterward. The book that comes with it has a ton of recipes to appeal to everyone's taste.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 10/18/2006
Rating: 5

This is great. I love being able to make my own ice cream. Since I am diabetic I can make mine sugar free!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Home Made Ice Cream
Posted 6/26/2007 by Brenda Claudio
Rating: 3

While the idea of rolling the ice cream maker appealed to my 5 year-old and was fun for a while, the novelty quickly wore out. The ball got too cold to play with for the amount of time it took to get the ice cream done. We kept having to add salt to continue the process. The instructions indicated you could not toss it, taking away some of the fun factor. It was really hard to scrape the ice cream out and we ended up using a wooden spoon instead of the plastic spatula included. I guess we would try it again if we had more people involved rolling and plenty of time to get it done. The ice cream tasted okay.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ice Cream Maker
Posted 1/13/2007 by Rebecca S. Porter - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Two of my special education students needed a subject to do their science fair project on. They liked this idea and I ordered it. We made the ice cream and it worked very well. The students liked the ice cream and shared a little with the principal. I was very pleased with the instructions and how well it worked. The students enjoyed doing it and I hope to make some more at home, with my grandson.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 12/11/2006 by Joanne
Rating: 4

I gave the Play and Freeze to my nephew for his birthday. Jake is a smart cookie, a picky eater - who does not like ice cream - and an athlete. This appealed to him for its novelty and the soccer ball appearance. His brother and sister and parents love the ice cream, but he loves the fruit juice "sorbet" we created just for him. It's a hit! My only complaint is that initially it is a bit tricky to get the consistency just right to avoid the center being too slushy with the sides being hard as rock, and it can be a challenge to dig out all of the good stuff from the container. We managed to transcend the challenge, however, and that family will definitely be making more batches in the future.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Loads of Fun!
Posted 10/21/2006 by Camille
Rating: 5

The Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker was loads of fun for our young family! We sat on the living room floor with our daughters, ages 3 & 7, and rolled the blue ball that was going to make ice cream! We made some games with this, too. We would ask a question and roll it to someone and they'd have to answer. (Also random rolling, reciting memory verses, and of course lots of giggles for about 20 minutes.) About halfway through I emptied the ice chamber of some melted water. Be careful, the water is very icy cold. (I recommend using household rubber gloves.) and restocked with more crushed ice, ice cubes, and rock salt. I also took it to my daughter's 2nd grade class for a cooking class. One group made ice cream while the other made apple crisp. Lots of smiles, giggles, oohs and ahhhs when they got to taste the final product! Thanks!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 10/15/2006
Rating: 4

It's a fun and active way to make ice cream!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 10/19/2006 by Antoinette Katora
Rating: 5

Item works as described.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ice Cream Maker
Posted 10/5/2006 by Emily N. Carwile
Rating: 5

It was a gift, but it is a neat toy.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 1/3/2007
Rating: 4

It is a fun way to make ice cream. It works really well. The ball is kind of heavy once it is filled with ice etc. Good for everyone (even grownups!)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 11/5/2006 by Krista M Newberry
Rating: 4

Great product, although it would be a lot more fun if it was made with rubber or foam on the outside instead of hard plastic so you could really throw this ice cream ball. The outside gets cold and slippery, but it makes great ice cream.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 10/26/2006 by Elizabeth V. Samper
Rating: 4

Great Gizmo! I bought it for my grandsons for Christmas, but had to try it out to make sure it was something they could use. I know they will get a kick out of it. It was simple to use. I wish it made harder ice cream, but the directions do say soft serve! It would be great if it were larger for 2 growing boys and a hungry dad on a camping trip. It will be fun at a neighborhood barbecue.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 8/24/2006
Rating: 4

The recipes are easy, ice cream was good, and instructions are thorough. The ice cream took considerably longer than the 15 or so minutes the instructions suggest. Our team of teens suggested that it would have been more fun if the ice cream maker were more durable. Before this modern technology, they were accustomed to "kick-the-can" ice cream with which they could actually kick the can.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Play & Freeze Ice Cream Maker - The Original Ball
Posted 5/31/2006
Rating: 4

Unique and intriguing. It did better than expected on freezing the ice cream.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02