Home > Toy Companies > Innovation First Labs Inc > Hexbug Robotic Crab > Customer Reviews
Hexbug Robotic Crab
0

3 Star reviews of Hexbug Robotic Crab by Innovation First Labs Inc

Return to Hexbug Robotic Crab product information...

Hexbug Robotic Crab has been reviewed 153 times with an average rating of 4.14

Product review of Hexbug Robotic Crab
Posted 12/28/2009 by Barbara Elfarr
Rating: 3

Intriguing toy and realistic in movements. Somewhat delicate, but have had no troubles with that issue. Would follow age guidelines when purchasing for that reason alone.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hexbug Robotic Crab
Posted 1/6/2010 by Elana Peled
Rating: 3

This didn't come with any directions. I gave this to my husband (he does marine fisheries work) who took it to his office and placed it on the floor. The crab crawled off to a corner of his office to hide and didn't emerge for the remainder of the day. Perhaps he'll come out tomorrow.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hexbug
Posted 12/6/2011 by Tanya
Rating: 3

It's really cute, but ours was a little hard to play with. You have to bang on the ground or shine a light directly at it to make it move. We got the ant too, and that one is MUCH better.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A fun first robot
Posted 11/29/2010 by Corinne McCorkendale
Rating: 3

My 9 year old son bought this with his allowance. He likes it, but the crab tips over often. This would be a good toy for older, careful children.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice but not worth the high reviews
Posted 10/27/2010 by Emily Redel Hurt
Rating: 3

The instructions on how to use to get the crab to react and do what it should be able to do as far as movement did not exist. I would have liked to have seen that children could interact with it to make it do its thing. I researched the item prior to buying. It was listed as one of the top new toys, but I was very disappointed.
We contacted our customer to assist. Visiting the Hexbug website provided understanding & satisfaction with the Hexbug crab. Our customer did not wish to pursue a refund or exchange.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Hexbug Robotic Crab
Posted 7/7/2010 by Linda Meiers - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

He's only been playing with it for a couple days so difficult to say if the toy will hold his interest and hold up under use. I think the product should be made larger.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Crabby
Posted 5/13/2010 by Amy E
Rating: 3

The toy is a great example of engineering. Once that wears off, the kids became disinterested because of its slow speed. It also seems fragile. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 8.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mildly entertaining
Posted 12/29/2011 by Dirk Koopmans
Rating: 3

The robotic crab is only a few inches wide and a little over an inch tall but it is an interesting toy. It doesn't move fast enough to skitter like an actual crab, or respond to sounds and light with enough sensitivity to seem living. It is awkwardly robotic, moving at about an inch per second for ten seconds then making stutter steps to turn a few degrees left, and then starts moving again. I gave it to a 9 year old boy who enjoyed covering it with his hands or a blanket to make it stop and then starting it again with a clap, but the entertainment of this is limited, I doubt he'll be playing with it much in the future. It's an interesting toy and I like the ideas that Hexbug had with this but it isn't active enough to really engage.
Not engaged with your Hexbug? A peaceful parting of ways may be an option for you. Especially if he risks overhearing, "awkwardly robotic." Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

size was surprising
Posted 5/1/2012 by Danielle Isch
Rating: 3

My son got it for his birthday. I was surprised how small it was. It's reaction to sound light is very delayed. Not worth the price.
By nature, Hexbug Crabs are small and move at a crawl. Hexbug Ants are the fast little fellows. If your Hexbug is more languishing than lively, we're here to assist. We contacted our customer. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute but not exactly what we expected
Posted 5/1/2012 by John Steinmetz
Rating: 3

Very cute. It's not as interactive as described in the details. Doesn't run away or hide but our 7 year old loved it anyway.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Hexbug Robotic Crab
Posted 11/7/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Was more limited in what it can do than I expected. Also, it easily flips over and can't get back on its feet.
Yes, crabby is in a predicament if flipped on his back, he'll anticipate someone coming to his aid. His cousin the HEXBUG Robotic Scarab is the one quick to right himself and scurry on his way.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hexbug Crab
Posted 1/30/2014 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

We gave this to my grandson for his 6th birthday. He was very excited when he opened it. He was playing with it in a careful manner and a very small pin on one of the legs came out. With some difficulty my husband was able to put it back in. When he tried to use it again the crab kept tipping over.
Here's how to get a leg up on a sideling situation.... Visit our Returns & Exchanges Center. We'll give you a new slant on customer care. We assisted our customer promptly.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hexbug Robotic Crab Review
Posted 12/26/2013
Rating: 3

This item would be amazing if it worked properly. This one fall over to the side and cannot get itself back up.
Even with a falling crab, here's something to stand on. Our 100% satisfaction guarantee is steady reassurance of good things to come. We contacted our customer promptly. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hex Crab
Posted 12/2/2013 by Karen S Williams
Rating: 3

Hard to control and get this robot to respond as advertised, so the recipient lost interest.
Crabby behavior from your Hexbug Crab? We're nice about returns and replacements. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details. We assisted our customer promptly.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Hexbug Robotic Crab
Posted 11/3/2012 by Roxanne Bertone
Rating: 3

I bought two of these to give to our grandson... haven't yet done so... took one out to try it out and to make a crabhouse. It doesn't seem to work like the video shows... falls over a lot... maybe when the child plays with it, it will be ok... so far, I'm not overly impressed...
Not impressed? The only legwork needed is a short trip to our Returns & Exchanges Center. We assisted our customer promptly.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Robotic Crab
Posted 11/30/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

The crab is cute and does work well. However it is too expensive for what I received. It's very small... Keeping it because grandson thinks it's cool.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Hexbug Robotic Crab
Posted 12/28/2012
Rating: 3

Our grandsons, ages 6 and 8, initially loved the Hexbug. They seemed to tire of it fairly easily and in a week's time, they seem to have forgotten about it entirely. The toy itself is exactly as advertised.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product Review
Posted 12/7/2012 by Teena Kern
Rating: 3

There is not a lot of challenge as the Hexbug Crab was list for ten year old and he does not have a lot of interaction with this toy.
Not the interaction you were expecting? Well, interact with us! Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for assured assistance.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01