Home > Toy Companies > Innovention Toys > Khet (formerly Deflexion) > Customer Reviews
Khet (formerly Deflexion)
0

4 Star reviews of Khet (formerly Deflexion) by Innovention Toys

Return to Khet (formerly Deflexion) product information...

Khet (formerly Deflexion) has been reviewed 179 times with an average rating of 4.59

Review for Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 3/1/2010 by Gary D. Willden
Rating: 4

Fun game. Needs to be played in rather dim lighting for most enjoyment however. In full or brightly-lit environments the laser beams become lost. Also, a few of the pieces seem to have slight misalignments which cause the beams gradually (after 3 or 4 "bounces") to miss their target pieces - sometimes completely. It would be more fun if the laser could be 1/2 watt or greater (more like they appear to be in your advertising!). I tried playing the game with my small laser pointer (which I use for my PowerPoint presentations), and it was much brighter - just hard to align correctly.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A thinker's game
Posted 3/11/2010
Rating: 4

Purchased for my 12 year old son. Definitely promotes thinking and problem solving. Like chess, there can be many implications to each move. Nee patience to master.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 11/30/2009 by James Daniel Stanfield
Rating: 4

Khet is like a laser version of chess the object is to hit the enemy Pharaoh(king) with the laser using a combination of you and your opponents mirrors, each turn you can move or rotate your mirrors (not both) before you fire your laser all pieces move one space in any direction but only the djet piece can trade places with another piece except a pharaoh or another djet piece. Definitely a fun game with several ways to be enjoyed by novices and experts alike

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Game
Posted 8/30/2008 by R Morrell
Rating: 4

My wife, my 12 and 9 year old sons, and I have all enjoyed playing against each other. The strategy is complex enough to challenge each of us, but the game seems to be a level playing field across the age spans. Each of us has won. The materials are of adequate quality, but to call molded plastic "heirloom quality" would be a real stretch.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 8/17/2009 by Kathy Woodwick
Rating: 4

Overall satisfied with the product. The laser wasn't working at first, but once adjusted, has been working just fine. This could have become loose during shipping.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, but slightly flawed
Posted 4/23/2008 by Christopher Chandler
Rating: 4

Khet is a fun game that reminds me of a chess gameboard with lasers. The concept is great and the expansion pieces provide another great level of complexity. My only complaint with this game is that the pieces are somewhat inferior. The plastic pieces provide a cheap feel and the mirror alignment is somewhat askew so when you have multiple deflections, it misses its target and takes away from the game. Overall, good game.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 1/16/2008 by Lindsay Jeffers
Rating: 4

This is a game that rewards certain kinds of logical and spatial thinking. It is a skill that seems to evolve slowly but is fun to acquire. My family enjoyed the game. They liked the sudden ways that the games evolved and ended.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 4/2/2007
Rating: 4

Very cool and creative game. The addition of the lasers to the chess-like strategy of the game adds an extra element of fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

R Meyer
Posted 1/11/2007
Rating: 4

A great family game. My wife, 9 year old daughter and I are really enjoying this challenging game. It's easily adaptable to all levels of play.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 1/4/2007 by John Avett - FRIEND
Rating: 4

As a board game, Khet is excellent. I enjoyed the technical edge that is exposure to basic physics and the need for stratagic planning. A great balance. I would like to see more games like Khet.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Minute To Learn... How Long To Master?
Posted 1/3/2007 by Richard D. Alloway
Rating: 4

Khet has a few very simple rules: All beams bend 90 degrees. You can move all pieces one space in any direction OR rotate it 90 degrees. Djed pieces can swap with any non-Djed piece. If any laser beam hits any non-mirror side of a piece, that piece is removed from play. Try to hit your opponent's pharoah! Now, applying these rules to come up with coherent gameplay takes some thinking! I've only had the game for a week, but I think every victory has come from an epiphany of "Hey! I can win if I just move/rotate this one piece!" At this point in the learning curve, we're focusing primarily on offense. Once we get that figured out, we'll work on defending more. The only things I'd change would be the buttons that fire the lasers and the location of the battery compartment(s). To sum up, I guess I can say thanks to my sweetheart for getting me Khet! I look forward to many years of gameplay!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 11/27/2006 by Nancy
Rating: 4

Recipient of gift (11 year old boy) loved the game. It was on his wish list. Batteries were included (big plus) which made it easy to play straight away. All participants (from 6 year old to 14 year old) enjoyed it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 11/27/2006 by Barbara H. Sando
Rating: 4

I prefer the name Deflexion as it more describes the game- but it's cool and requires brain power to play

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Intelligent Fun
Posted 9/20/2011 by Doug Shuster
Rating: 4

A lot of fun. The laser is integral to the game and gives it a techiness that kids love. Besides that it's just a fun, intelligent game great for all ages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet Reviewed
Posted 1/10/2010 by Thomas Dyrkacz
Rating: 4

Very fun game. The kids loved it and so did I.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

khet
Posted 1/1/2010 by BARBARA J SHIRAZI
Rating: 4

My 9 year old son enjoys the game. He likes the fact that it takes concentration to play the game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

laser beam strategy game
Posted 12/26/2009 by mom of three
Rating: 4

It's a fun and unique strategy game for two people. The combination of lasers and mirrors gives this game a "children's museum" quality. Outside of an actual game, it's just fun to play with the mirrored pieces and see how the laser will react.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging fun for parents and kids
Posted 10/29/2009 by Samuel Ransom
Rating: 4

We bought this for our son's 13th birthday (along with the tower expansion). He really likes it, even though he hasn't beat us (yet). We have played several games now and are getting better each time. The rules are simpler than chess (our 8 year old plays, too) but the strategy is tricky. This game will surely become a family favorite.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 10/6/2008 by Elizabeth Goad
Rating: 4

I bought it for my 7-yr old and we really enjoy it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 12/27/2007 by Sheri Holt - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 4

A very fun game that requires strategic thinking. It is simple enough for even younger children (age 5 or 6?) to enjoy, yet challenging for skilled players. My only complaint is that one laser seems to have faulty wiring and only works part of the time which of course is frustrating.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 12/19/2007 by Ashwin Adarkar
Rating: 4

Seems to be a great game. Challenging and has the ability to bring the family together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 11/4/2007 by Przemyslaw Szakiel
Rating: 4

Great game for kids and adults.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 6/21/2007
Rating: 4

Khet is simple to pick up and complex in strategy, this is a great game for both adults and kids.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 6/18/2007 by DeeAnn Hendricks
Rating: 4

I bought this for my husband for Father's Day - it was fun for the whole family to play! But make sure you're feeling focused before you commit to play a game!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Interesting Concept
Posted 5/15/2007 by Brett Johnson
Rating: 4

An interesting way to teach optics theory, as well as strategy and forward planning.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 4/15/2007 by Cameron - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 4

Khet is the most original strategy game to come along in some time. The concept is fantastic, but the game itself could have been designed better. The pieces and the game board are made of cheap plastic. It is a really fun game to play and it takes some serious thinking, but the whole experience could be better if the pieces were more pleasant to handle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 4/13/2007 by Kathleen Hamilton
Rating: 4

Khet really makes you think it through. We are enjoying it. It is also fun to play alone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 3/2/2007 by Kevin Lynch
Rating: 4

Excellent toy. The kids enjoy working the different angles for the laser. It gets them off the X box.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 2/18/2007 by Rachel Smith
Rating: 4

Excellent game. Love the strategy. The only drawback is that the laser line was not exactly centered on one laser. After about 7 mirrors, it will be off the side. Not a problem that we encounter often. Overall, we are very pleased.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 2/15/2007 by Ken Medellin
Rating: 4

Khet is well built. Everything aligns and works properly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 1/19/2007
Rating: 4

A fun twist on traditional strategy games.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Challenging Fun
Posted 12/28/2006
Rating: 4

This game is very enjoyable. At first glance it looks rather easy, but after playing a couple games you realize how much is involved in it. You have to pay a great deal of attention to your opponent's moves and keep track of where both lasers are going to end up or you'll end up eliminating yourself. If you like chess or enjoy a good challenge, here's a new one to try.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet
Posted 11/17/2006 by Terry Hargraves - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I ordered 2 for grandchildren and one for me because it looked cool. I've only opened mine, and it arrived in good condition and operates just as it should. The lights come on, the mirrors reflect and the targets light up just as they should. I've had fun just setting up pieces and seeing how the reflections work, but so far haven't found anyone to actually play against. My only complaint is that it's cheap plastic. For kids, maybe that's just as well, but I would have paid more for a version that looks good on a coffee table, like a fine chess set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game
Posted 10/1/2006 by Holly V. Petty
Rating: 4

My 12 year old son loves this game. It is very challenging, a lot like chess, but with a twist.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deflexion
Posted 9/21/2006 by Bernard Futscher
Rating: 4

Cool game. Works well. My 6 yr old "gets it", but it may currently be too advanced to hold his interrest long enough so that he can develop strategy. Overall he gets the concept and enjoys it. I want to get my wife playing it, so that we can play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Experience!
Posted 8/31/2006
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 9 year old and he loves it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deflexion
Posted 8/22/2006 by Romney Trejo
Rating: 4

I believe that this board game tops all others. It is always different and can be enjoyed for hours at a time. Me and my brothers play it and we love to try to fake out the other by trying new things that have never been done before. Thank you for this outstanding product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 8/17/2006 by Steve Percival
Rating: 4

Fun and challenging game. The more you play, the more complicated (strategic) it can become. Quality of the craftsmanship not quite what I'd expect for a $40 board game but the concept of the game can keep strategic thinkers occupied for hours.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Can you think in right angles?
Posted 6/19/2006 by Kim Barnes - FRIEND
Rating: 4

This is a pretty fun game, like chess with lasers! You have to think not only about where your laser is going to fire, but where your opponent's laser is going to end up as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Khet (formerly Deflexion)
Posted 11/30/2009 by Pari Veeraswamy
Rating: 4

It is a great idea. All the rules and instructions flow together well. It gets you think strategically which improves your thinking. Though not perfect, the laser alignment is good enough to produce correct results. On the cons side, the power source is AAA battery, which may not last long. Could have been AA batteries for more longevity.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet Review
Posted 3/28/2007 by Gary M. Gealy
Rating: 4

We love the product. My 9 year old son has spent just as much time experimenting with different configurations of the pieces as he has playing. I do have one suggestion for the packaging. The styrofoam top will only fit if the pieces are stored on the board in a particular pattern. This is a pain and a time consuming step that I don't want to have to do when I am in "game clean-up" mode.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Khet Review
Posted 1/2/2013 by Shani Valdez
Rating: 4

My son really enjoys this game, as do I. However, with that said, I think the packing the game pieces came in should of been something else than plastic. The board itself and the pieces are fine though. Also, you cannot see a laser beam the way it's advertised in the game. You do see the final end point if you will with the beam, but not a straight line beam between the game pieces as is advertised on the game. We have played this game only a few time, so maybe there is a way to see the beam, but I haven't been able to as of yet. Still a fun game though!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03