Home > Toy Companies > Insect Lore > Butterfly Garden > Customer Reviews
Butterfly Garden
0

4 Star reviews of Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Return to Butterfly Garden product information...

Butterfly Garden has been reviewed 163 times with an average rating of 4.64

Review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 8/4/2008 by Loretta Y. Chou
Rating: 4

We loved this product! It's a great teaching tool that really gets the children involved and encourages their enthusiasm and love for nature. Once the butterflies emerged, our children would stand by the net and watch for hours, fascinated with how they flew around and ate the fruit we left at the bottom. They were sad to see the butterflies leave after we let them go, but are excited at the prospect of new caterpillars. The net was lightweight and easy to hang in an area that made it possible for the kids to observe them. The only difficulty was in the cleaning of the net afterwards; the meconium left large stains and these were difficult to remove.

11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A bounty of Butterflies...
Posted 3/18/2010 by ML - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

We just received our packages and will put in the order for the butterflies after spring break. The kit contained the butterfly net in an appealing package. I will use this to motivate my students to continue their science inquiry as the NYC weather warms up. we plan to release them in a nearby park after tracking the growth process. It's a surprise so no responses from my 5th graders yet. But I am certain from past experience that it will be a hit!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really cool for any age group
Posted 5/3/2010 by Michelle Miller - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this as a gift for my niece's 13th birthday after I found out that she had been keeping some pet tent-worms in her room and needed a good habitat for them. The habitat is working well for the tent worms and is a nice looking addition to her bedroom. She was thrilled with it, and is looking forward to starting her butterfly project after her tent worms turn to moths. What a fantastic engaging toy! I will buy this again as a birthday present, and for my own daughter when she is a little older.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

nice!
Posted 6/12/2008 by Nick Fuentes
Rating: 4

Butterfly garden is very popular at my daughter's 1st grade class. They studied butterflies, ladybugs and other bugs and many kids have the Butterfly Garden. When I got it I was happy to se that you can order the Butterfly Coccoons year round.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 11/18/2009
Rating: 4

Great concept. I purchased this for our 7 year old granddaughter for Christmas. I'm hoping it is age appropriate. Some 7 yr olds may not have the 'patience' for this project in this culture of instant gratification. I will order the 'larvae' so they will arrive the week after Christmas so she can look forward to their arrival about the time the 'let down' of the holiday hits.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/11/2008 by Andrea
Rating: 4

I bought this kit for my 5 year old and 3 year old and they both enjoy it very much. It is very easy to use once you receive your catepillars in the mail. Right now they have turned to chrysalides and are hanging down in the butterfly house. My kids are anxiously waiting for them to turn in butterflies. The product is exactly as described and excellent value for money.I recommend it to everybody.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Live Butterfly Garden Hatching Kit
Posted 7/16/2010 by KATHERINE
Rating: 4

I can't tell you how excited my daughter is. Every day, we check the mail to see if our caterpillars have arrived. This is the first toy that both my daughter and I are equally invested in!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 1/21/2010 by Bev Onorato - FRIEND
Rating: 4

I didn't get the caterpillars yet, but I'm hoping they will all grow to adulthood.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/23/2009 by Michael chrnelich
Rating: 4

Great! was in excellent condition out of the box and was packaged nicely

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 9/29/2009 by ROBYN R HAZELTON
Rating: 4

I ordered the butterfly house for my niece and she LOVED it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/25/2008 by Elvia Michaels
Rating: 4

I think the product is very lovely and can't wait for the live larva to arrive so that we can begin the process. The container is colorful and bright and fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/8/2008 by Karilyn Price
Rating: 4

This product was given as a birthday gift to a 9 year old girl ( my niece). She was delighted and can not wait for the cocoons to arrive.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterflies
Posted 6/12/2008 by Rusty L. Fulker
Rating: 4

Very nice kit for the children. Very fun to watch them grow! A very good way to get children into nature.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I recommend this product
Posted 6/5/2008 by Colleen McWhorter
Rating: 4

We were very pleased with this item. Easy to feed the butterflies and plenty of space for them. The butterflies we received also did very well. All 5 of them hatched and were released. The only thing I would change is that it wasn't clear to me that there would be an additional charge ($5) for sending off for the butterflies. The box reads like there would be no additional charge. Great product, though. All 3 of my kids LOVED the experience.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/1/2008 by Jolene Dombrosky
Rating: 4

My 3 year old son had a terrific time learning about the life cycle of the caterpillar/butterfly. I was exciting every day to check and see what progress had been made. Only 4 out of 5 caterpillars made it to butterfly status but my son didn't seem to mind. He is so excited about the other 4!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/28/2008 by Diane N
Rating: 4

We ordered this item because my daughter had seen it in her school. Her experience was that it is exciting and educational.We have not yet received our caterpillars. One surprise that we did not expect is that you have to pay an additional fee for the caterpillars. It would be great if they were included in the price and did not have to be ordered later.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/3/2008 by Michelle Wehr
Rating: 4

The kids are very excited about the Butterfly Garden. It is exactly as described. Excellent learning process for my children to explore science at home. I would definitely consider giving it as a gift to a young child with a spring/early summer birthday.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 3/26/2008
Rating: 4

My 8 year old loves it. It's amazing to see just how quickly the caterpillars grow. They are in their cocoon stage right now, so there's not much to see. We can't wait until they emerge as butterflies. I'm very happy I purchased it. My daughter has told me thank you at least 3 times for getting it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 1/20/2008 by Stacy Rodrigues
Rating: 4

Excellent product. True to description. I would buy this again, especially for a gift.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Kid's Toy
Posted 1/18/2008 by Gregory Elkinbard
Rating: 4

This is an interesting toy. My girl collected a bunch of tent caterpillars. She is waiting for the moth to come out. It is nice to get rid of the old strawberry box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 1/15/2008 by Daniel M. O'Keefe
Rating: 4

Fun and educational!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 1/14/2008 by MM
Rating: 4

Love the concept for this toy. My son will absolutely adore it. We bought it together with a book on butterflys to make it a really educational piece. It will be fun to use the book together with the butterfly garden through the whole process. Only disappointment I had with this was you still have to pay another $5 or so to get the butterflies. That isn't explained clearly in the description of the toy. Knowing that now, I would have still purchased it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 10/28/2007 by Molly Rogers
Rating: 4

Fun learning experience for kids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Idea, but Overpriced
Posted 5/23/2010 by B Sambrook
Rating: 4

My husband and I are both science geeks, so this butterfly garden was a natural choice for educating our children (ages 3 and 5) about the life cycle of a butterfly. I thought the price was rather high--that only pays for the habitat--another $3 is needed to get the larvae. Obviously, that didn't stop me from purchasing the item, as I felt the education to be gained was worth it. I would like to either see the price of the habitat come down, or include the cost of the larvae. But that's really my only complaint, and the habitat is reusable so the cost is somewhat justifiable. We received our larvae from Insect Lore promptly one week ago, and have been enjoying watching our caterpillars get fat! Our daughter (the 5 year old) checks them daily--couldn't rate the play value higher because we cautioned her not to handle the container with the larvae too much! But she seems interested and overall, I'm glad I purchased this.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/28/2012 by Sharron West
Rating: 4

I ordered the butterfly garden for a granddaughter last year. She and her two brothers loved watching the growth process and seeing the beautiful butterflies. I ordered a second butterfly garden for another granddaughter this year. My only complaint is that I couldn't order more butterflies for the kids to watch after the first set flew away. It would be nice if we could order and reorder extra butterflies. I would even like one for myself if more butterflies were made available.

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/25/2012 by Charles Gates
Rating: 4

Daughter wanted a butterfly garden forever, very happy to recieve one for Christmas

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01