Home > Toy Companies > International Playthings > Build-A-Road > Customer Reviews
Build-A-Road
0

Customer reviews of Build-A-Road by International Playthings

Return to Build-A-Road product information...

Build-A-Road has been reviewed 66 times with an average rating of 4.59

Review of Build-A-Road
Posted 7/23/2010
Rating: 1

My 3 yr old son was very excited when he opened this gift. The track is very cool in how it connects and can be configured. We put batteries in the cars and had lots of fun racing them around the track. Unfortunately, the ramps to the bridge fell over often. I was willing to overlook this because it was on carpeting and I thought it would be more stable on a hard surface. On the second day we had another problem, the cars stopped working. I thought it was just the batteries but after putting in fresh batteries I got the same results. So we got about a day and a half of use out of the toy. With the cars not working, my son is not interested in playing with this toy anymore. I also was a little disappointed that the mini automoblox cars where paired with the build a road set on the site. Because of this I was under the impression that they would fit on the track as at least a push vehicle. There is nothing wrong with the automoblox minis but they do not fit on the track.
The two race cars included with this set were replaced for our customer. Please note that Automoblox vehicles are not paired with Build-A-Road nor recommended as accessories to this product. Automoblox are not compatible with Build-A-Road.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Build A Road
Posted 8/24/2009 by Carolyn
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 4 year old boy and he loves it. He can set up the track by himself which is great compared to other tracks we have bought for him. My 2 year old loves it too. Great toy. I would highly recommend it.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy
Posted 7/13/2011 by DIANN YOUNG
Rating: 4

My son loves this toy which he received for his 2nd birthday.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Build-A-Road
Posted 1/3/2011 by Judy Rath
Rating: 4

Most of the road fits together well except for the bridge. The bridge tends to fall off of the supports.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Build-A-Road
Posted 1/29/2010 by dana
Rating: 4

I purchased this toy for my 3 year old son who is generally only interested in trains. It was a hit. He loves building the road and sometimes brings his trains on it. It is a well made toy and provided lots of fun.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 12/28/2010 by Susan Bowe
Rating: 4

This was a gift to my nephew for Christmas. He is only 21/2yrs. so the big kids put it together and he played with it for hours. He is a train lover, but this toy kept his attention throughout most of our gathering.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy For A 4 Year Old
Posted 12/7/2010
Rating: 5

I always love giving gifts that are unique and mind-challenging. This toy was selected for a 4 year-old boy and I must admit he loved it more than any other toy given to him. He played with it for two to three days straight. I couldn't think of a better toy to evoke his curosity.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Happy with Track
Posted 1/4/2010 by Holly
Rating: 4

We purchased this for our 4 year old son for Christmas and have been pleased so far. He has fun building the different shapes and the cars are really speedy. He is able to connect the pieces easily. The only negative about the cars/track is that if the turn of track is too tight, the cars jump the track and go "off-road". :)

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Build-A-Road
Posted 10/20/2009 by Miki Peri-Dagan
Rating: 4

Both my 3 year old and 6 year old love to play with this game, it is colourful, easy to build and the cars run great.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Why haven't I heard of this before!
Posted 8/11/2009 by Barbara
Rating: 5

Easy for my five year old to put together and take apart and you can rearrange the track without taking it apart- GENUIS! Plus it came with two fast cars. Note that the cars take one AA and have an on/off button. If your child is like mine you will need quite a few replacement batteries when they forget to turn it off.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 1/19/2011 by TODD C JAROCH
Rating: 5

I gave this to my nephew last year for his 3rd birthday. He liked it so much he asked for the same thing for his 4th birthday. Now he has enough track to make a really cool road for his cars. It is easy to use and fun for everyone.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love this toy!!
Posted 1/15/2010
Rating: 5

This is such a fun toy. We bought this for our 3 1/2 year old son and he loves it. The cars are so powerful and zip around the track quickly. The track is easy for my son to put together and take apart and the switching stations make the track more interesting. He has been spending more time playing with this than his Thomas the Tank Engine track -- that is saying a lot!!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mixed Feelings
Posted 1/9/2010
Rating: 3

We gave this to our four year old. We had fun putting the track together and changing the configuration. However, we had a hard time keeping the trucks on the tracks. The curves had to be "just right" so the trucks would go around instead of flying off. I am sure as the batteries run down they will stay on the track better. Also, my four year old has already snapped a connector piece off one of the track pieces. We haven't had a lot of play time with it yet, so the opinion may improve over time.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing Product
Posted 10/13/2009 by Tonya Hughes
Rating: 5

This toy was an amazing find! It's somewhat of a cross between a building set and a car track. My 3yo and 6yo have been playing with it non-stop. It's a great quality product and is SO much more interesting than just another race track. It's very easy for my 3yo to connect the pieces. Even my husband had to play with it ;)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy!
Posted 8/24/2009 by Robert Elwell
Rating: 5

I bought this toy for my 4 year old son. He loves it! He is able to design the road by himself, and yet it is sometimes challenging when he wants to make "special" designs. Great product with bright vibrant colors.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Build-A-Road
Posted 8/12/2009 by Renee Zakia
Rating: 5

Great toy, well-made. My kids, 2 and 4, have had a lot of fun with it. They're still a little young to set it up themselves, but they enjoy that I set it up in different ways, and I'm sure it will still be around when they're more capable of that themselves.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!!!
Posted 3/6/2012 by BETHANY p
Rating: 5

This track is great! Easy to put together, and is fun to build different paths. The track easily snaps together. My 2 year old needs help placing the cars on the track because the speed of them is kind of fast and it is tricky to put on the track. Goes nicely on our hardwood floors.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 1/23/2012
Rating: 5

Pefect for 3 year olds! The track is really easy to snap together! Hours of fun!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Build-A-Road
Posted 1/10/2012 by JESSICA JACOBSEN-BUCKLEY
Rating: 5

We bought this for our son's fifth birthday. He and his three-year-old brother love it! They love reconfiguring the track and driving their cars and the included battery-operated vehicles on it. I love that the pieces stay together once they're snapped to one another. It's currently their favorite toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for kids who love cars!
Posted 1/7/2012 by Mom of 3
Rating: 5

My kids really love this toy. My boys have so many cars, so I wanted something that could build roads in kind of a "train track"-like way, but that could be used for cars instead. This is awesome. It's well built so the roads stay together, but are flexible so the kids can move them around any way they want, but they stay together so the kids aren't constantly getting frustrated by them falling apart, like other toys we've had in the past. I also like that you can get creative and put it over objects so it becomes hilly. The cars that come with it are fun, but a little bit on the cheap side. Seem like they will eventually break, but the track is sturdy, and my kids like to just put other cars all over the track as well, so I'm not worried about that. I bought it for Christmas for a 2 1/2 and 4 1/2 year old and they are great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 10/26/2011 by KELLY A PATTON
Rating: 5

So easy to put together. Unlike other plastic train tracks that have to be put together in a certain order..this track is soooo user friendly. Easy to move from one room to another. Durable. I think its the best toy I've purchased!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 10/5/2011 by NANCY CERONE
Rating: 5

This is a great toy. My grandson is wild about it and with 2 cars he is able to share with his sister, who would like to claim it for her own. His older sister also wants to play with it. She is 7 and usually only interested in girl toys. This is just a great safe toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Build-A-Road
Posted 4/1/2010 by Tammy Fleischer
Rating: 5

This product is fabulous. My son already had one set and I just ordered him two more. Last night he built a road with hills, bridges, turnabouts and so much more!! He and his sister absolutely love it. The pieces are easy to pull apart and snap together so there is no adult assistance required. And they stay together too. No fear that their road will come apart when they run their cars over it. Just a hint, we've unscrewed the yellow dividers on the red pieces. Our son likes to use them as "exits" off his highway. Gives the kids many more road options. We've had the first set now for about 2 years and he still loves it and it is in great condition. The kids also use their Hotwheels cars on it. I highly recommend this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Build-A-Road
Posted 12/1/2009 by J R
Rating: 5

I got the Build-A-Road for my 4 yr old grandson. He loves it. The track is easy for him to put together. He has designed so many different track formations. He runs the track up and down all kinds of objects. I highly recommend this toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Let his imagination flow...
Posted 11/13/2013 by Cheri Rogers
Rating: 5

What better way to get one on one time with your grandkids than to get them a toy that can be built, played with, taken apart and rebuilt over and over again!!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

EXCELLENT
Posted 12/27/2012 by Sheila Warrick
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 7 year old son. He loves it. He did not have any trouble putting the track together with out any help from mom. In fact, his 4 year old little sister also helped snap the pieces without any trouble. The pieces came in groups of 3 or more which was helpful. The plastic is a bit thin, however I still feel that it is good quality & will last as long as it is taken care of. The cars have a tendency to skip off the track, but this helps keep the kids engaged & they actually like it. They both also enjoyed watching the 2 cars crash into each other. I am glad we bought this track and not the more expensive model with the elevator. They play with this often! I will likely purchase this in the future as gifts for boys and girls ages 4 to 9.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Build-A-Road
Posted 3/21/2013 by Roxie Freeman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Grandson is car crazy and loves having the roads to run the cars across. He'll spend hours making the road and play with his cars on it.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Build-A-Road
Posted 8 days ago by Bonnie - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The recipient of this toy is almost three and 1/2. His attention span is short. He was excited about this toy and enjoys trying to make the track go over obstacles. He likes to watch the cars push a small ball around. He hasn't had it long. I don't know if it will become a part of his play or only something he occasionally watches. The tracks are not easy for him to put together. Once together they are easily put into different configurations.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Flexible Race Track
Posted 13 days ago - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My almost 3 year old grandson adores this racetrack. He has a wooden track train set but enjoys this more. The track is flexible and easy to put together.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 5/28/2014 by J Powers
Rating: 5

Our four year old loved this so much that he had to buy one for two of his similarly aged cousins AND for his friends at his childcare center. He loves to click the pieces together and build various paths. It's easy to use and fairly easy to store. A great toy for a busy kid.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Build-A-Road
Posted 5/15/2014 by linda sue forshey. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I have used this so at my school site that I bought it for my grandkids to play with and they love it as well.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Terrific fun toy!
Posted 5/8/2014 by Paula Hatfield
Rating: 5

Roadway went together easily, stayed together and was a great hit.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

awesome Toy
Posted 5/8/2014 by Natalie Eifert
Rating: 5

He love this toy! There are so many options with setting up this track. I love how flexible it is.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Build-A-Road
Posted 4/16/2014 by Anna
Rating: 5

gave this to my great nephew. He loved it. He played with it for hours

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

build a road
Posted 3/27/2014 by diane w. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very entertaining & very kid friendly! Sturdy..colorful track and 2 fun little trucks! Hrs. Of entertainment. Our 3 yr. Old grandson has so much fun watching those little trucks race around that colorful track!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Build-A-Road
Posted 12/26/2013 by Melanie Christensen
Rating: 5

We bought this for my 5 year old nephew and he loved it!!! The track stays together and is easy to rearrange unlike a traditional train track. Even the older cousins were jumping in and wanting to play.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Build-A-Road
Posted 11/27/2013 by barbara regan - FRIEND
Rating: 5

it's a Christmas gift; won't know much it's played until then

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 11/27/2013 by Michael C.
Rating: 5

It is a great car track for little kids. It is easy to set up, is flexible, and the cars stay on the track. The grand kids love it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Build A Road
Posted 8/1/2013 by John Hester - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great product. We have added this track to our existing track and the bridge and x-track have greatly increased the track design and racing excitement.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 7/22/2013
Rating: 5

My three and a half year old grandson loves this race set! The only problem we had was wool carpet lint wrapping around the wheels. We removed it and cars ran well again. Best not to set it up on a fuzzy rug.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love this track!
Posted 3/23/2013 by ERICA L WELNIAK
Rating: 5

Bought this for my nephew's 2nd Birthday after my 1 year old played with it in the store. He loves it! Went over his house and he was so excited for me to set it up for the 2nd time. My 20 month old and my nephew played with it together for an hour!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Build-A-Road
Posted 2/4/2013
Rating: 5

Good product. Great for little guys who don't yet have the developmental skills for more advanced track sets. The cars work awesome -- one of ours came out of the box with dead batteries, but otherwise, this is a great product that my son spends a lot of time with.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Build-A-Road
Posted 2/4/2013 by Cindy Nelson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My sister-in-law gave me this toy for my grand kids after her two boys had out grown it. It is one of the first toys my grand kids get out whenever they come to my house! It is still in perfect shape. I only ordered another one to make the track longer. Great toy for boys and girls!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Build-A-Road
Posted 12/26/2012 by Lyn Petty
Rating: 5

Our almost three year old likes it a lot. He's only used it for 24 hours. We are concerned that the track is flimsy and will not last long. One of the tire treads broke the first time it hit the track. Our son really likes the jeeps.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun
Posted 12/26/2012 by CC Fitzpatrick
Rating: 4

We bought both Build A Road and the deluxe set for a five and six year old. The six year old has fine motor challenges so was looking for things to build that he could manipulate. In that respect they are great and the kids are enjoying them. The only downsides are the elevator does not work in our set and cars seem to struggle on inclines. Based on other reviews I thought they would handle them better making for more interesting track designs. Two days after Xmas and they are still a big hit so that is a good sign.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

build a road
Posted 12/21/2012 by mum mum - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

my review is based on a single day of play- i bought Build-A-Road for my grandsons ages soon to be 2 and 3- they loved it- as did everyone who played with it, all ages including adults- the cars did jump track and fail to make it over the bridge when in certain positions but these issues took seconds to remedy simply by adjusting the track which moves with ease due to its flexibility- once shown, the 3 year old was able to make adjustments on his own- some words of caution: the battery cover on the cars clicks into place and can be removed by a small child if they're inclined- also the cars come with removable treads- treads that are necessary to use because without them the cars have no traction- a small bag of extra treads is supplied for replacing those that break-

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Build-A-Road
Posted 11/19/2013 by Peggy H. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Love it! Easy to use even for a 2 year old. Multiple ways track can be designed. Cars are adorable.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Build A Road Toy Set
Posted 12/27/2012 by HEATHER H
Rating: 3

The toy is easy to assemble for an adult, and does not break easily.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02