Home > Toy Companies > Kikkerland Design > Awika! Wind Up > Customer Reviews
Awika! Wind Up
0

5 Star reviews of Awika! Wind Up by Kikkerland Design

Return to Awika! Wind Up product information...

Awika! Wind Up has been reviewed 29 times with an average rating of 4.72

Review of Awika! Wind Up
Posted 11/29/2009 by Matt Copeland
Rating: 5

I love this toy. I took it to our yearly family Thanksgiving wind up toy race and took the trophy home. It went 3 ft farther than the 2nd place toy. Everyone loved it. Its very well built and worth every bit of the price.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Its so funny
Posted 10/16/2009 by carlos lara
Rating: 5

this toy is so funny. its fun to play with and watch it just go climb and stuff ahah. i like it alot because it also makes sparks and glows in the dark. its pretty cool. i keep it handy for when im bored studying i just wind it up and free my mind just looking at it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Awika! Wind Up
Posted 1/17/2012 by David Helfer
Rating: 5

Just plain fun watching the mechanical workings function. While this may be a 'toy' of sorts for kids, it can be enjoyed by adults as much, maybe more!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Awika! Wind Up
Posted 12/26/2011 by Dee Henry
Rating: 5

We ordered two wind up toys. The grandkids thought they were the coolest thing!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wind Up Laughs
Posted 3/15/2011 by Gwen Mauntel - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

This is our favorite of all the Kikkerland creatures we've bought. The sparks and colorful feet make it a lot of fun to play with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ingenous
Posted 12/3/2010 by clare f - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This colorful "alive" little gizmo brings smiles and fun to every age, everyone wants to try it. It's very engaging and generates lots of little competitions with the other wind up toy relatives in this product line. It adds zip to relaxing gatherings, can quickly become the attraction.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fast delivery great price and wonderful communication
Posted 10/19/2010 by catherine ward
Rating: 5

this is a gift but i had fun with it

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

WONDERFUL TOY!!!
Posted 8/16/2010
Rating: 5

Wonderful toy! Both my five year old and two year old boys love playing with it! And the best thing about it...no batteries required!! For all of those little minds that love to see how things work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Awika! Wind Up
Posted 3/30/2010 by Lisa
Rating: 5

The coolest of the Kikkerland wind up toys that I have seen! I own about a half a dozen of the kikkerland wind up toys and the awika is by far the absolute coosest! It sparkles as it walks in a sort of bug like way. I had one for almost three years...and it had plenty of play time on it (but still looked brand new)....however, a friend of my child came over to play and really was too rough with it (forced it pretty hard- don't do that!) and it broke. I was heart broken (more so than my child- ha!), but was lucky to find a replacment and now we are back to winding up this sparkling wind up toy. Sadly, the color of the feet aren't always the same as you see in the picture...the previous awika that we owned had yellow feet (it's displayed with black feet) and the one we have now has white feet (not as cool, buy hey- no big deal- I certainly wouldn't give it less stars just because of that).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Awika! Wind Up
Posted 2/7/2010 by flyfalc - FRIEND
Rating: 5

it's fun and was a gift that was enjoyed so much I ordered another one to give my husband.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Cool Wind-Up Toy!
Posted 1/25/2010 by Lisa Krentz - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

After Christmas, my husband exclaimed, rather jokingly "You spend so much time thinking about and buying the kids toys, what about me?" So, his birthday is coming up in March, and as a lover of toys myself, I decided to buy him.... toys! Desk toys, to be more precise, something to tinker with during dull conference calls and such. The Kikkerland wind-up toys have been on my wish list for some time, and I'll admit it was hard to make a choice - they all look so cool, but I finally narrowed it down to this one - Awika! & a similar one - Myxkikker. Awika! is about 4" long. The one I received is all silver in color, save for red PVC feet. I'll admit, I like the one pictured a little better, aesthetically. Awika! is chock full of gears and a flywheel you can see turning as it does its little creepy-insect walk across the floor. It has a tension spring that when wound, coils tightly, and releases into a big spiral as the toy winds down. When stopped, it looks like the one pictured. The sparks, which are made with flint similar to that in a traditional lighter, make a cool and exciting addition to the action of the toy. Awika! can climb, as stated, but not nearly with the agility of our other creature Myxkikker. Small, gradated obstacles only. Awika! does seem to go a little further than Myxkikker - probably because of the size difference. Myxkikker is almost twice as long. My children, 2 & 4, loved to watch Awika! and shrieked in delight at the little insects' antics. However, this is definitely not a toy for children. It would be easy to break with little mistreatment and the parts are not safe. The recommended age limit per the box is 14 years, and I'd say this is accurate, though certain 10 year old's could probably be entrusted with the gentle care this toy deserves. If you're collecting these toys, Awika! is a great addition - it's pretty neat in its own right. But if you're only choosing one, I'd have to put my highest recommendation on Myxkikker. Awika is neat, but Myxkikker is awesome! Down the road, I think we'll be surely collecting more of these toys. The mix of classic mechanics and modern design is so fun and unusual. I think these little guys are really neat just for display purposes too. Very neat toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awika! Wind Up
Posted 12/22/2009
Rating: 5

Our son got one of these last Christmas and it has gotten more play than other toys with more bells and whistles. I have been looking for "cool but affordable" gender neutral *real* toys to have on hand for birthday gifts, and this guy fits the bill! We just gave one to a friend's child for his 7th birthday and it was his favorite gift!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Awika! Wind Up
Posted 12/21/2009 by Anne in Georgia - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

*** I ordered five of the Awika wind-ups for five of my grandsons, ages 6-10. All liked the looks of them and found them intriquing to examine, but one toy would not crawl from the beginning, one stopped after the first wind-up (by an adult), and one crawled on only two of its feet, sending it in circles instead of up and over. All the boys loved the sparks! The one who got the non-working toy wanted to keep it anyway just for the sparks; one dad thought he could "fix" the one that stopped working. As the buyer, I thought the toys were really cute but overpriced for what they could actually do. On the other hand, I cannot say enough about the wonderful service -- ordered on-line on Tuesday and got them at my front door on Friday! Wow!! Thanks. I will most likely order from you again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool toy!
Posted 12/21/2009 by Holly Salzbrener
Rating: 5

I bought this for my husband to put in his stocking, but I already took it out and played with it being a big kid myself. These toys are so cool they walk over thing and this one shoots sparks also. Really fun and different.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awika Simple Machine
Posted 1/22/2014 by Amy Curry
Rating: 5

This is a cool gadget! I'm not calling it a toy because on the box it says, "Not for children under 14, not a toy". However my 5 year old son loves it and has not broken it. He is very responsible with it (good for self-esteem), and even told everyone he shared it to, "This is not a toy!". Love it and plan to buy other models!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy for curious minds
Posted 11/19/2013 by Dragana Gough
Rating: 5

This toy is very good quality. It inspires my son to try to create/design items and that is what I like about it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Awika! Wind Up
Posted 8/7/2013 by JOYCE E ANDERSON
Rating: 5

Nicely made. My boys have so enjoyed playing with it!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love these toys!
Posted 1/20/2013
Rating: 5

Bought this one and a couple other wind up toys for my 10 year old son. He loves them and so do all his friends. Wasn't sure how sturdy they would be, but after a couple weeks of non stop play on all kinds of surfaces, they are stll going. This one is especially fun because of the sparking!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03