Home > Toy Companies > Language Littles > Language Littles - Chinese Ling > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 50 times with an average rating of 4.16

Language Littles - Chinese Ling
Posted 7/2/2008 by Florence Berger
Rating: 5

It is fun to hear her say things in Chinese and English. I am looking forward to giving it to our adopted Chinese granddaughter on her third birthday.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 4/2/2008 by Kathryn Hannah
Rating: 3

I visited China recently and wanted an Asian doll to give to my granddaughter. I ordered this one because I thought she might enjoy hearing the Mandarin Language along with the English. I returned the Doll for a couple of reasons. The face did not look Asian. It looked exactly like the other dolls in the series, except for the hair. Also, the box which holds the batteries is way to difficult to remove and replace batteries.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Doll
Posted 7/3/2008
Rating: 5

This is our second Ling doll. We bought one for our 6 yr old we were adopting from China. She loved it and expecially the little gifts we put in the backpack she wears. She accidentally left it when we visited her orphanage before coming home. So we ordered a new one when we got home. She loves it that Ling speaks english and mandarin phrases in her language.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Language Little toys
Posted 4/5/2008 by Aaron Peinado
Rating: 4

Language Little toys are great, we have purchased three to give as gifts to family and friends and have recieved nothing but positive comments. Great product.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ling-a great doll!
Posted 3/30/2008 by Janelle Schmidt
Rating: 5

This little doll is one of the only 'Asian' dolls we could find, let alone a talking one. We adopted a little girl from China, and this doll is just perfect for her. Not only is it child friendly (No removable pieces that can get swallowed), but it also teaches some basic Chinese words. We love this doll and wish there were more dolls like it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

We love Ling Ling!
Posted 3/19/2008 by Laura Chin
Rating: 4

Ling is a great asset for anyone who wants to incorporate chinese into every day play. My daughter is a stickler for pronunciation and ling passed the test! I wish she spoke a few more phrases, but I'm very pleased overall.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Talking toy
Posted 3/12/2008
Rating: 4

I really like the "Chinese Ling" doll. It has a friendly look and colorful clothing that children would appreciate. As far as the active part of the doll - the talking. Unfortunately, not all of the Chinese speaking is clear and since it is a tonal language, is hard to pick up on the way the word/s are being said. The Chinese words that are easy to pick up on are "Hello", "How are you?", "I love you" and the numbers. When I received the doll, the batteries were low and changing them was a task. For the price, however, it was a good purchase.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 2/8/2008
Rating: 3

The doll's pronunciation of the language is great. Her clothes don't fit so well. Her pants keep falling down as my daughter carried her around.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ling Doll
Posted 2/6/2008 by T.K.T.
Rating: 3

I believe that the doll is more of a learning tool than a doll to 'love on.' She is cute, with nice bright colors. She does 'speak' fairly clearly, so as to help us learn simple Chinese phrases. I had to replace her batteries immediately out of the box, as she would not work upon arrival.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Product
Posted 1/14/2008 by A Buyer in NJ
Rating: 3

The doll works and her Mandarin Chinese is accurate.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/27/2007
Rating: 5

A very cute doll with words that are clearly audible.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/9/2007
Rating: 4

This is an awesome doll that I bought my Goddaughter for Christmas. She's only 2, but is obsessed with the Big Bird in China dvd, and so I thought she'd love this. I've had a lot of fun playing with it, and I'm sure she will too. It's very cute, and speaks clearly. Some of the phrases are a little too long, but otherwise its a great teaching tool and toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute Doll
Posted 12/4/2007 by Linda Foster
Rating: 4

The doll seems to be well built and will stand up to kid play. Great concept - it seems so difficult to find good multicultural toys. Thank you for the great product.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wo-Men Ai Ling!
Posted 8/29/2007 by Mama D
Rating: 5

Ling is so beloved in our house that we bought her a twin sister! Our son likes to carry Ling #1 about, and has finally started to talk back to her and answering her questions. Ling #2 has been sent to our daughter in China. We recommend Ling highly.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Language Littles-Chinese Ling
Posted 4/8/2008
Rating: 5

Wonderful, I purchased the doll for my niece who will be five years old in April. I'm sure she will just love it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/14/2008 by Anna Belova
Rating: 5

This is the second doll in the series that we have purchased. Our daughter absolutely loves them. It is a great introduction to a language for a child!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/27/2008
Rating: 5

Fabulous toy. The doll is well made. Bright colors would make any child want to pick it up. I love that our daughter is beginning to learn a few words in Chinese. It will make the transition for our new daughter, born in China, a little easier.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/21/2007 by DELTON CHENG
Rating: 5

Very cute, my daughter loves Ling.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Language Littles - Chinese Ling
Posted 12/4/2007 by Vicky
Rating: 5

Excellent product. Our daughter loves her. Her backpack and jacket come off easily and so she can be dressed and undressed. The speaking is clear and our daughter can understand and repeat Chinese.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ling
Posted 11/29/2007 by Reggie Knight
Rating: 5

When I received the doll for my neice, I pressed her hand to talk, but jibberish came out. I had to take the doll out of the package and change her batteries. She works fine now.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/28/2007 by Ruth DesJardin
Rating: 4

Ling is a very well made doll, with a soft body condusive to hugging. Her language skills are an added plus. The only disappointment to me was that her features were not necessarily Asian. It is difficult to find an ethnicly correct doll for Asian-American children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/23/2007 by Susan G
Rating: 5

We bought this doll for our adopted daughter from China. We hoped to maintain her Chinese language, give her something that would remind her of her birthland, and also help us learn her language. This fun doll did all of these things. Excellent quality and sound.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 11/20/2007
Rating: 4

This is an excellent toy and will be used to help my biracial/bilingual 18 month old son practice and feel good about learning both Mandarin and English. I'm excited to see his reaction. I wish they had the exact same product as a boy doll, but overall, I'm satisfied and believe he will be too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not Good For a Gift
Posted 11/13/2007 by Cindy Darley
Rating: 1

I ordered two dolls, one for a gift for a friend's daughter and one for a gift for my daughter. They haven't been given their dolls yet and because both dolls came with worn out batteries. However, the doll itself it cute and soft.
Please Note, occasionally, battery sensors get pushed in transit or batteries losing power quickly. Customers may consider purchasing batteries from Fat Brain Toys or elsewhere to supplement this gift.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 11/11/2007 by Andrea
Rating: 5

We love the Ling Doll!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 11/2/2007 by Marlena Jones
Rating: 4

Chinese Ling shares the experience of learning a language while playing with her doll. It's a very special doll and will enable my granddaughter to say Chinese phrases to her Chinese speaking friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Product
Posted 8/28/2007
Rating: 4

My 3 daughters are Chinese-Americans, who speak English only. I would like them to develop an interest in their heritage. This doll is perfect as an introduction to their heritage. There are very few Asian dolls (most of these have Caucasian features with black hair and slightly slanted eyes) so I was pleased to find this one. The doll speaks both languages. Although the Mandarin pronunciation is not perfect, it keeps my daughter's interest. My oldest has already learned a few Mandarin phrases from this doll. Overall, it was a good buy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 6/27/2007 by Nancy Van Os
Rating: 5

Very Good! Chinese Ling works well and she is darling cute!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ling
Posted 5/25/2007 by Angeler
Rating: 4

Ling is great! My husband thinks he can learn chinese as well. My baby was confused by the doll's bilingual ability and felt a little threatened by the doll. I wish there was a way add more words to the program.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Doll
Posted 5/6/2007 by Lauren
Rating: 5

I brought this doll to bring to China with me to give to my adopted child. I feel this will help us bond since I don't speak Chinese. The doll is soft and bright. I love the doll. I know my child will also love this doll.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ling Doll
Posted 4/16/2007
Rating: 4

A great idea that encourages language skills through exposing children to other languages. I was happy to see that Ling spoke a number of phrases, not just one or two phrases. Also, it was great that Ling came loaded with batteries, ready to use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Chinese Ling
Posted 4/11/2007 by Tracy Everitt
Rating: 5

Very cute doll. Speech is very clear. Well made.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Chinese Ling Doll
Posted 3/27/2007 by Melissa A.
Rating: 5

I bought the Chinese Ling doll for a colleague of mine who was about to go to China to adopt a 5 year old girl. I brought it as a shower gift - and it was the hit of the party. My colleague was so touched and impressed with the language of the doll. She's taking it to China with her to help in the first meeting with her new daughter.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift!
Posted 2/22/2007 by Kip Lindig
Rating: 5

This doll is so fun and it is easy to use the features. The 2 yr. old loves it. Highly recommended.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Language Littles- Chinese Ling
Posted 2/5/2007
Rating: 4

The doll is adorable and very accessible to my 2 1/2 year old. The one concern I have is I don't know correct pronunciation of Chinese and the booklet gives no index of sounds (symbols). Phonics would have helped me enormously. Ling's voice is a bit tinny to pick up the subtleties of this lyrical language. The choice of words to learn is very good. The same cannot be said for some of the languages I did not buy. I would not have been happy with a doll that gave school subjects or colors instead of mine that counted. I am very happy with it. How do you say thank you in Mandarin?

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Adorable Chinese Ling doll
Posted 1/14/2007 by Nancy
Rating: 4

We purchased this for our daughter we are waiting to adopt from China. The doll looks just as described. It is of good quality and I love all the phrases she says. The button on the knee doesn't quite match to the spot you actually need to press, but otherwise, the doll is just adorable. I'm sure our little girl will love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reminds My Little One Of Her Grandma
Posted 1/10/2007 by Shannon Choo
Rating: 4

This is great for us because my husband is Chinese and we want our two year old to speak English and Chinese. She loves Ling and particularly likes to press her knee to hear "I love you" in Mandarin. This doll also reminds her of her family back in Malaysia. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because sometimes it is difficult to find the right spot to squeeze for her to speak.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Chinese Ling
Posted 11/16/2006
Rating: 4

Thank you for making it easier for my Chinese grandson to make transfer to English at least in some of the basic phrases.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Need to get a refund
Posted 9/8/2006 by Dawn Burnett
Rating: 1

We are very disappointed in the doll. The sound chips malfunction, only occasionally giving out complete phrases. Most of the time, pressing the chip will result in a garbled sound.
An unusual occurrence for a Language Little Doll. We can understand how this may make it difficult to learn Chinese. Fat Brain Toys contacted Ms. Burnett with options of replacement or refund.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ling-Language Littles
Posted 8/17/2006
Rating: 4

It's a great toy. We love it, although it could use a couple more sayings. The body is a little hard from the computer and batteries inside. It is getting my daughter interested in a different language.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 5/18/2006 by Arline Johnson
Rating: 4

We like her a lot, it would be nice if there were more expressions, but overall the product is good. I spoke with a friend and she wants to purchase one also. I am thinking about getting one in Spanish. But, just a little hesitant, due to it being only a few sayings. But, overall we really do like it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/31/2008 by Krista DeLauro
Rating: 5

Great toy for our daughter. She previously had a pocket-size doll of the same make, but the size of this doll is much better for her to hold in her arms, hug, etc! This particular doll also quotes more sayings than the smaller version. Very adorable.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb02