Home > Toy Companies > Learning Resources / Educational Insights > Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop > Customer Reviews
Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
0

Customer reviews of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop by Learning Resources / Educational Insights

Return to Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop product information...

Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop has been reviewed 29 times with an average rating of 4.52

A rating of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 5/25/2011 by John McGoey
Rating: 1

The carrying case is too heavy for young kids. The lid for the dept that you put the screws, etc in broke in the first 5 minutes of play....Very poor design and cheaply made. The play power tools are low quality! Conceptually this toy is great! But whoever designed it and manufactured it should go back to school. With a little more effort this toy could've been great! Based on quality this product should be re-priced.
If you feel a product is conceptually great, but practically worthless - no need to fret. We contacted our customer with options for replacement or refund. There is a power source for terrific care, bolt into the Returns & Exchanges center for help!

17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 12/29/2010 by Stephanie Alleyne
Rating: 3

Immediately the little plastic hinge on the compartment that holds screws and bolts broke and is now useless -said bolts and screws now have nowhere to live and spill out every time my son opens the kit. Also one of the screws to battery compartment on one of the drills seems to have no threads so the screw won't catch, as a result we can't fill it with batteries so he's only able to use one of the drills.
Bolts and screws on the loose mean trouble. Call us and we'll put your toy concerns in lock down. We shipped a replacement order to our customer. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for civility in action.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Toy!
Posted 11/28/2010
Rating: 5

An excellent toy that allows my son to combine many different levels of play and skills. He is able to combine dramatic play with fine motor development, math skills and artistic creativity. It is well worth the price for the expanded set.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alomst there....
Posted 1/5/2011 by penny smith
Rating: 4

The tools actually works and my son loves it. He played with this exclusively on his birthday. * I do have a major complain though. * You cannot close this case if there are any screws in the board. As I paid extra for the convenience of this feature I was very disappointed! My son loves it so much that I took a belt and looped it around the handles to hold it "kinda" closed. The storage compartment is not big enough for all screws (so we put some away) and the plastic lid is very flimsy. So I would recommend getting this without the $20 case and purchasing a storage bag/case on your own.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love this toy!
Posted 1/21/2011
Rating: 5

We bought this for our 3 year old son for Christmas and it has been a big hit -with him and his 7 year old brother. It's nice that it comes with both the drill and screwdriver so more than one child can play with a motorized tool at the same time. The little guy just loves the manual screwdriver that can use the different bits as well - it is the perfect size for his small hands and he can use it very successfully. They've both enjoyed "working" together on different projects. The wrench is great fun for him also. There are LOTS of bolts with the set so there have been no issues with having enough to satisfy more than one player. Both boys can play with it and create whatever projects they like and the book has designs to follow that my 7 year old really enjoys building (and the two work on them together) I like the idea of the storage compartment, but it is not that great in normal use - when it is opened it stands straight up rather than opening out all the way so when the 3 year old opens it he usually rips it all the way off, so after only a couple of days use the hinge piece is breaking. I removed the door entirely - but that means we just leave it on the floor rather than closing it up and putting it away as I'd like to. This is a minor inconvenience - we still think its a great toy.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 12/15/2011 by SHELLY
Rating: 4

I bought his for my 3 year old son as a birthday present and he loves it. This was a great purchase.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

design & drill
Posted 12/12/2011 by JacLynne Smith
Rating: 4

It looks like a lot of fun. It is a Christmas present so my 3 yr old hasn't played with it yet. I like that there are 2 power tools so my kids can play together. The only issue I had was that I had to open the entire package to get out the manual to see what size of batteries I would need to buy, as this info was not ANYwhere on the outside of the box. That was frustrating, because now it is not in the package/box anymore.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gave this Workshop to my 2 1/2 year old grandson
Posted 2/22/2011 by Cristina Biegel
Rating: 4

Riley lives half a mile from us in Carmel, CA, and LOVES anything to do with a ball and/or a tool; not really interested in toys, he wants to "fix a problem". The drill was the safest alternative to a power drill we could find. The "tool kit" box is perfect for him to carry around. Riley didn't put down the workshop for the first few days, but he's figured it out and wants the real hammer, mallet, wrench, etc. Wants to solve a problem...

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 1/3/2011 by marilyn
Rating: 5

Our grandaughter is 3 years old and when she opened it she couldn't wait to play with it.All her other toys were forgotten.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's a hit
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 5

Both my boys love it! Great present!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 12/12/2011 by Victoria Golub
Rating: 5

Keeps my niece and nephew entertained for hours!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

AWESOME
Posted 2/17/2011 by Pat Keefe - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great toy for my 3 year old grandson...he lives to use the drill and make things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 12/7/2010 by Bonnie Finke
Rating: 5

This is a gift for our grandson who loves tools. He is only 21 months, but absolutely loves tools. I felt that this is something he can play with now, but also grow into.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 12/6/2010 by june mcclish - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Absolutely wonderful...what a creative idea...hours upon hours of fun...so good for small motor skills as well

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 11/21/2011
Rating: 5

It seems to be very sturdy and the case makes it great for storage and transporting.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For the tool lover . . .
Posted 11/14/2013
Rating: 4

This is something my twin boys are totally into! They love tools and "fixing things." I like this because all the little pieces can be stored in the suitcase. This toy is something my boys play with for longer periods of time.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Son and Niece Love This!
Posted 11/5/2013 by Desirea Houck
Rating: 5

Louder than I expected but definitely tolerable.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 8/8/2013 by Deanna Hochstein - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This drill set is excellent. My 3-year-old grandson and his almost 5-year-old sister couldn't put it down. Since all the drill bits fit any piece, there's no frustration at this age with trying to figure out which bit to use, yet they will be able to match the shapes as they get older. Also, the fact that there is both a drill and a scredriver makes it a great toy for both tandem (playing side by side without a lot of interaction) as well as cooperative play. My older grandsons have a variety of tool sets, but this one is much easier to use and much more creative. I'll definitely purchase this toy again for other grandkids.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 7/16/2013 by Jennifer Z
Rating: 5

Plays with it frequently. Older cousins all want to play with it.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design & Drill Power Tool Workship
Posted 11/3/2012 by Helen
Rating: 4

The product overall is a good product BUT ... for the price of the product why did you install such a "terrible" frustrating, irritating defective battery cover with SHORT screws to be used to close the battery cover (cover would not close on drill). Screws have to be a tad longer. Cover closed fine w/o the batteries (sarcasm). We ended up using clear tape along the drill handle to keep the battery cover closed. Also found when batteries installed in the screwdriver handle, the contact was poor so the screwdriver ran intermittently. Hit the screwdriver on the side or shake it and it would start running again. This is a battery operating toy!!!!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 5/30/2013 by Anna Whorton
Rating: 5

My 3 year old loves it. Pros: the drills are the right size and suitable for his dexterity. He uses the forward and reverse features on each drill regularly. The drilling noises are fun (but not offensive to Mom's ears!) Cons: not all of the bolts and screws fit in the compartments inside the case easily. When my 3-yr old tries to put the set away by closing the case properly, it often fails to close all the way and bolts fly everywhere. Second con, the drills are hard to remove from their storage compartments for little hands.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 7/20/2014 by Ann Hepner - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

three year old boy really loved it. He likes to work with tools and after receiving it, he ignored other presents and kept working with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandmother
Posted 5/6/2014 by Janna Davis - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The forward on the drill didn't work but he was still happy with the toy and he and his sister played with it for along time. I called your customer service about the drill and they are sending me a new one immediately. No problem, so makes the overall rating the highest since you resolved the problem immediately.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Design & Drill Power Tool Workshop
Posted 1/2/2014 by Donna Kicas
Rating: 5

My grandson loved this item. He kept carrying it around and telling everybody that he got "tool stuff". It is a unique item of good quality.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design and Drill Power Tool
Posted 12/15/2013 by BRIAN C HASSLER
Rating: 5

This toy was bought for our sons 5th Birthday and he absolutely loves it! he will spend a long time playing with it and making different patterns or designs with the many different colored screws! It works his fine motor skill and coordination which is great for his age! He as low muscle tone and so this is also great and enjoyable occupational therapy. Overall this is a great toy for a preschooler boy or girl!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best toy for a fix it boy!
Posted 2/1/2013 by Beverly
Rating: 5

My son protects this toy from his little brother and LOVES it. He wants to take it everywhere and loves to fix things so this toy was PERFECT for him! We did not have space for a tool bench and this is BETTER than a tool bench in my opinion!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02