Home > Toy Companies > Magnetic Poetry > Kids Story Maker > Customer Reviews
Kids Story Maker
0

Customer reviews of Kids Story Maker by Magnetic Poetry

Return to Kids Story Maker product information...

Kids Story Maker has been reviewed 62 times with an average rating of 4.50

A fun educational product
Posted 8/7/2008 by Mella Jusseaume
Rating: 5

I recently took my two children to the Boulder Museum of History, for a summer's day outing. The summer's almost over, and I'm still doing interesting things with them, while toning down the carnival/circus disney crazyness, and focusing on the educational/gearing up for back to school. The museum was great, but the part they loved best was the 'discovery room', and the metal circles on the walls, with the Story Maker words. They could've spent all day just there, so at home that night, I ordered this kit online. Sure enough, now that it's in, and on our walls on a metal magnetic board in the hallway, our hallway has become a fun place to play for them, my husband and I, and their friends.

14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker is Great!
Posted 12/1/2008 by Renee N.
Rating: 5

This product is great for my 1st grader that is learning to read. She is able to use the words to make her own stories that she can read. It is a great product to use on the fridge or on a metal pan in the car. I would highly recommend this product for any young reader.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great motivator for story writing
Posted 10/7/2009 by Jeanne Lenham
Rating: 5

My child loves to read and can read just about anything even though he is only 5. He is also the first of my 4 children to really enjoy trying to write sentences. This is a great tool for him because it helps him to "write" without having to think about spelling, spacing and hand writing. Each type of phrase or word is color coded so he can learn what verb, adverb, adjective and pronoun phrases look like, and as a result, will learn how to be a better writer. Use an 8X8 metal baking pan and this makes a great car activity. It's all magnetic so there is nothing that falls to the floor of the van.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very engaging!
Posted 10/20/2008 by Jenn McMurrin - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

My students are having great fun putting phrases together. They are color coded for parts of speech and written so second graders can read them with little trouble. Their one flaw is they should be a little bigger. The tiny text isn't ideal for several students working in a small area to be able to see eachother's work and the magnets are small enough to be a challenge for anyone with poor dexterity. Other than that they are an engaging tool for my literacy centers.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Kids Story Maker
Posted 10/20/2008 by Rhonda Jones
Rating: 5

Great for encouraging kids to be creative and explore their own story-telling abilities. Lots of fun.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 7/6/2008 by Mandy
Rating: 4

My son has poor handwriting, which makes him reluctant to write sentences. I bought this for him so he could practice making his own sentences without the stress of handwriting. We played around with the words on the fridge and he enjoyed it and has made some sentences on his own without prompting. This is a good product, but I think it could be a little better with more words, and that is the reason I didn't give it full stars. It comes with a little handbook to give you some inspiration, which I found very helpful.

11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for fun, independent activity time!
Posted 5/28/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I purchased the Story Maker as a gift for my great-niece who is 6 years old. She is an avid reader, likes to write (and tell) stories and she's always looking for something fun to do during her at-home activity time. What a great medium for fostering creative writing skills! Story Maker makes writing fun and flexible - it's easy to 'guide' corrections in sentence structure - no erasers allowed!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 12/3/2007 by Amy
Rating: 5

I bought this to use with my 1st grader even though the age was recommended as older. I like the idea that parts of the sentence are there, as I do not think he would have the patience to create very developed sentences if they were written in one word increments. The pieces themselves are a bit smaller than I hoped, but the product is so useful and engaging for him that it is not a huge issue.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 11/28/2007 by Susan L. Newton
Rating: 4

My daughter's teacher recommended this product. She seems to like it.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Kids Story Maker
Posted 6/14/2010 by Agata Skjold - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

As a teacher and a mother of three preschoolers I am absolutely in love with the Story Maker! What is more important , my kids love it! We live in Poland and so my bilinguall kids are surrounded by polish friends and family mostly. Finally they have toys they can relate to and learn from - in English! I truly believe it is the beginning of a beautiful friendship in between me and the Fat Brain Toys!

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Item!
Posted 9/19/2006 by Tracy
Rating: 5

My 8 year old loves Kids Storymaker Magnetic Poetry. The words are broken down into colors which represent nouns, verbs, adjectives... Stories are being created daily!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Kids Story Maker
Posted 9/19/2006 by Mary Jo
Rating: 5

My 8 year old son(s) immediately took to this toy. I also purchased the Magnetic Poetry Stand with Words. They combine the two to create both stories and poems.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker
Posted 12/29/2009 by amy hines
Rating: 5

Great toy. My kids 10 year old girl, 8 and 7 year old boy had great fun playing with this toy on Christmas morning. The made sentences together as they laughed out loud.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker
Posted 1/29/2008 by Barbara Evans - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I think this is an excellent product in that it is easy to manipulate and challenges the creativity of children. I like the fact that it packages small and can be used during travel and that it's magnetized so pieces are not easily lost.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for My Classroom!
Posted 9/24/2007 by Lindsey Thompson
Rating: 5

I bought the Kids Story Maker for my 6th grade classroom, and my students love it! They make hundreds of goofy sentences, poems, and stories with it. Many stay after school in order to have time to write more with them. How many products actually have kids asking to stay after school?

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Teacher
Posted 2/14/2007 by Norma Harmtan
Rating: 5

This product is terrific! My students enjoy creating sentences. With each part of the sentence color-coded, they learn the different parts of speech! It makes a fun, educational, quick, and inexpensive learning station! Just what every busy teacher needs!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grest teacher's gift!
Posted 12/23/2005 by Jenipher Sutherland
Rating: 5

I purchased three of these to give to my children's classroom teachers and they have been a huge hit! My kids have reported that so many of their classmates have been clamoring to use them - and the teachers have told me how they have used them to get their student's creative writing "juices" flowing! I'm so pleased!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Storymaker
Posted 3/18/2005 by Susan Hurley
Rating: 5

Gave it as a gift to a dad for his 6 and 8 year olds - the whole family loves it!! I love it too.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Kids Story Maker
Posted 9/7/2009 by Nicole Davis
Rating: 5

Great Product. My students will love to use it!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun
Posted 3/11/2005 by Renee Lewis-Trainham
Rating: 5

I think this is a great product. My 13 year old and 3 year old as well as myself have had lots of fun making up silly stories! I think it would be nice if they were a bit larger though - easier for a 3 year olds fingers to handle and easier for a tired old mom's eyes to read! Thanks for all the fun! We will be ordering more soon!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Language Arts Fun
Posted 11/26/2007
Rating: 4

The Kids Story Maker was a big hit for our niece's 6 year old birthday. Her thank-you note read "I really like it a lot. I'm going to play with it right now...(and her mother reported that she ran off to play with it again). The gift has become family entertainment as she also enjoys playing with the Story Maker with her brothers ages 11 and 14.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Promotes Language Skills
Posted 5/24/2007 by Sandy
Rating: 5

This is a very imaginative toy that is good for kids with strong language skills. A child can challenge him/herself while having fun. Educational toy that makes a nice gift.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Classroom Activity
Posted 4/10/2007 by Megan Wise - TEACHER
Rating: 5

My students have really enjoyed creating stories with this Magnetic Poetry Kit! They are getting very creative and strengthening their teamwork skills. I really enjoy reading what they write!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 11/22/2006 by Craig Ross - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

A great product. Two students of mine were trying to outdo each other on the first day I introduced it. I like the mix of word phrases and the possibilities they provide for sentences. My students were bothered by the fact they could not find exact single words they sometimes needed, but they were simply being too hard-and-fast in their sentence construction. Once I got them to improvise, they did better. You can also cover one or more of the words in a phrase with another magnet in order to "fine tune" your answer. (Such as covering the verb if you only want the "I") Very good product and I will use it a lot!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker Poetry Set
Posted 9/20/2006 by Melissa Watts - TEACHER
Rating: 4

Great phrases kids can place together to make hilarious stories! The phrases are color coded so the red tiles are verbs, blue tiles are nouns, yellow tiles are prepositional phrases, and green tiles are fill in phrases or words. The pieces are small in size so a story won't take up all the space on a magnetic board. I know my students will love to create silly stories as much as they will love reading the silly stories created by others.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker
Posted 9/14/2006 by Melissa
Rating: 4

I bought this for my classroom, to use as story prompts and eventually as a center. My students love it, especially my gifted and talented who finish their work early and want something fun and academic. I also have the 'Writers Edition' because I want to build their vocabulary.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Education and Literacy Teacher
Posted 8/20/2006 by Pat Eaton-Foeppel - TEACHER
Rating: 5

Wonderful product. I am currently using it to help students build writing skills and expand word choice.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Teaching Toy!
Posted 1/6/2006 by Dennis Griffiths
Rating: 5

My niece loves it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 12/12/2005 by Bryna Hebert
Rating: 4

We're already having fun with it. It would be nice if there were more phrases on the reverse side like one of the other kits.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Kids Story Maker
Posted 12/8/2005 by Cynthia Wirth
Rating: 4

Kids Love It!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

colorful writing/teaching tool
Posted 5/27/2005 by Karen Kravits
Rating: 4

I purchased the Story Maker for my son's Montessori classroom where I assist in writing workshop. It is a multi-grade class of first to third graders. Already the children use color-coded shapes to denote parts of speach so I thought they would love this product. I expect it to be most popular with the first and second graders. I like to use learning tools that simulate different parts of the brain as we are all learn in different ways. Because the Story Maker uses tactile and visual cues I think it will be a hit. And who doesn't like magnet? I think I will purchase a cookie sheet so they will have lots of "paper" to create their stories! Thanks for offering this wonderful and fun learning product!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker
Posted 4/28/2005 by Karen Skulas
Rating: 4

The concept is great, the kids will really enjoy....but the tiles need to be bigger for little fingers.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 3/29/2005 by Julie Lawrence
Rating: 4

I bought this item for my 8 year niece. She loves making stories and reading them aloud. She loves the magnets and decorates her mom's refridgerator with sentences. The only thing I would have changed with this product ... is include a magnetic board for the kids to put these magnets on... simply because my sister's refridgerator is soooo packed with magnets, posters, and everything else in the world.. that my niece doesnt have a lot of room to do her stories on !!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Kids Story Maker
Posted 3/11/2005 by Mary Campbell
Rating: 5

The order went very smoothly. We received the product quickly. My son is really enjoying forming sentences. This has been a great learning toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Kids Story Maker
Posted 8/2/2009 by Sheryl L Blakemore
Rating: 5

I am a second grade teacher and bought it for my classroom. Kids haven't used it yet, but I know they will love it. It's a great product.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Kids Story Maker
Posted 3/11/2005 by Cheryl Rand
Rating: 4

We love all magnetic poetry. This is our first experience with Story Maker, but it looks like a great product.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Kids Story Maker
Posted 7/12/2009 by Vid
Rating: 4

My kid is only 4 yrs old, but I still got this toy as he is very interested in new words and writing his own books. The selection of words is good and I like the color coding. My kid is already starting to do sentences with it and loves the fact that he can spread it all on his easel board and work. So far (1 week) its been very good, I hope it will be durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Smiles from a Budding Poet!
Posted 11/22/2010 by Pamela Denyes - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Our 8-year-old grandson was totally delighted to see his birthday gift. Because he has always loved poetry and books in general, we wanted to put the power in his hands to create some fun with words. We also purchased an inexpensive magnetic write-on board and he and his siblings immediately put every phrase on the board, segregated by color. Their home-schooling mother will use it for assignments, no doubt!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids story maker
Posted 7/1/2011
Rating: 4

The concept is very good. The main problem is that the words/lettering/phrases are too small. I expected a larger format with bigger words.... to hold the childis attention. The pieces were observed to be difficult to sort and pick up being so small. Otherwise a good tool and If an adult works with the child it seems to hold the child's attention better. Also i was disappointed that all the products(3) were made in China. I wish Fat Brain Toys had come out in their description of the toys and stated the toys were made in China. especially as these toys are for Childredn and you want them to be safe......the headlins for China product safety are terrible.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Kids Story Maker
Posted 10/15/2010 by Juliana Gursky
Rating: 4

very useful. fun and functional. greatly fosters language development and creativity.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

good idea
Posted 11/14/2012 by mom
Rating: 3

I like the idea of magnetic words and encouraging language arts development. Personally I think the Story Maker title is misleading as there is not enough variety of words to create good stories, it works ok for making detached sentences. Also none of the words begin with capital letters so you're forced to omit punctuation which I do not think is a good habit when making stories with written language. Good idea, my 3-year old was amused by some of the combinations he could come up with, but would not recommend it for older children who are more advanced.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 12/25/2012 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

Very small pieces. Wish they were a bit larger.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02