Home > Toy Companies > Magnetic Poetry > Kids Story Maker > Customer Reviews
Kids Story Maker
0

4 Star reviews of Kids Story Maker by Magnetic Poetry

Return to Kids Story Maker product information...

Kids Story Maker has been reviewed 62 times with an average rating of 4.50

Very engaging!
Posted 10/20/2008 by Jenn McMurrin - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

My students are having great fun putting phrases together. They are color coded for parts of speech and written so second graders can read them with little trouble. Their one flaw is they should be a little bigger. The tiny text isn't ideal for several students working in a small area to be able to see eachother's work and the magnets are small enough to be a challenge for anyone with poor dexterity. Other than that they are an engaging tool for my literacy centers.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 7/6/2008 by Mandy
Rating: 4

My son has poor handwriting, which makes him reluctant to write sentences. I bought this for him so he could practice making his own sentences without the stress of handwriting. We played around with the words on the fridge and he enjoyed it and has made some sentences on his own without prompting. This is a good product, but I think it could be a little better with more words, and that is the reason I didn't give it full stars. It comes with a little handbook to give you some inspiration, which I found very helpful.

11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 11/28/2007 by Susan L. Newton
Rating: 4

My daughter's teacher recommended this product. She seems to like it.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Language Arts Fun
Posted 11/26/2007
Rating: 4

The Kids Story Maker was a big hit for our niece's 6 year old birthday. Her thank-you note read "I really like it a lot. I'm going to play with it right now...(and her mother reported that she ran off to play with it again). The gift has become family entertainment as she also enjoys playing with the Story Maker with her brothers ages 11 and 14.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 11/22/2006 by Craig Ross - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

A great product. Two students of mine were trying to outdo each other on the first day I introduced it. I like the mix of word phrases and the possibilities they provide for sentences. My students were bothered by the fact they could not find exact single words they sometimes needed, but they were simply being too hard-and-fast in their sentence construction. Once I got them to improvise, they did better. You can also cover one or more of the words in a phrase with another magnet in order to "fine tune" your answer. (Such as covering the verb if you only want the "I") Very good product and I will use it a lot!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker Poetry Set
Posted 9/20/2006 by Melissa Watts - TEACHER
Rating: 4

Great phrases kids can place together to make hilarious stories! The phrases are color coded so the red tiles are verbs, blue tiles are nouns, yellow tiles are prepositional phrases, and green tiles are fill in phrases or words. The pieces are small in size so a story won't take up all the space on a magnetic board. I know my students will love to create silly stories as much as they will love reading the silly stories created by others.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker
Posted 9/14/2006 by Melissa
Rating: 4

I bought this for my classroom, to use as story prompts and eventually as a center. My students love it, especially my gifted and talented who finish their work early and want something fun and academic. I also have the 'Writers Edition' because I want to build their vocabulary.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 12/12/2005 by Bryna Hebert
Rating: 4

We're already having fun with it. It would be nice if there were more phrases on the reverse side like one of the other kits.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Kids Story Maker
Posted 12/8/2005 by Cynthia Wirth
Rating: 4

Kids Love It!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

colorful writing/teaching tool
Posted 5/27/2005 by Karen Kravits
Rating: 4

I purchased the Story Maker for my son's Montessori classroom where I assist in writing workshop. It is a multi-grade class of first to third graders. Already the children use color-coded shapes to denote parts of speach so I thought they would love this product. I expect it to be most popular with the first and second graders. I like to use learning tools that simulate different parts of the brain as we are all learn in different ways. Because the Story Maker uses tactile and visual cues I think it will be a hit. And who doesn't like magnet? I think I will purchase a cookie sheet so they will have lots of "paper" to create their stories! Thanks for offering this wonderful and fun learning product!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Story Maker
Posted 4/28/2005 by Karen Skulas
Rating: 4

The concept is great, the kids will really enjoy....but the tiles need to be bigger for little fingers.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Maker
Posted 3/29/2005 by Julie Lawrence
Rating: 4

I bought this item for my 8 year niece. She loves making stories and reading them aloud. She loves the magnets and decorates her mom's refridgerator with sentences. The only thing I would have changed with this product ... is include a magnetic board for the kids to put these magnets on... simply because my sister's refridgerator is soooo packed with magnets, posters, and everything else in the world.. that my niece doesnt have a lot of room to do her stories on !!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Kids Story Maker
Posted 3/11/2005 by Cheryl Rand
Rating: 4

We love all magnetic poetry. This is our first experience with Story Maker, but it looks like a great product.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Kids Story Maker
Posted 7/12/2009 by Vid
Rating: 4

My kid is only 4 yrs old, but I still got this toy as he is very interested in new words and writing his own books. The selection of words is good and I like the color coding. My kid is already starting to do sentences with it and loves the fact that he can spread it all on his easel board and work. So far (1 week) its been very good, I hope it will be durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Smiles from a Budding Poet!
Posted 11/22/2010 by Pamela Denyes - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Our 8-year-old grandson was totally delighted to see his birthday gift. Because he has always loved poetry and books in general, we wanted to put the power in his hands to create some fun with words. We also purchased an inexpensive magnetic write-on board and he and his siblings immediately put every phrase on the board, segregated by color. Their home-schooling mother will use it for assignments, no doubt!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids story maker
Posted 7/1/2011
Rating: 4

The concept is very good. The main problem is that the words/lettering/phrases are too small. I expected a larger format with bigger words.... to hold the childis attention. The pieces were observed to be difficult to sort and pick up being so small. Otherwise a good tool and If an adult works with the child it seems to hold the child's attention better. Also i was disappointed that all the products(3) were made in China. I wish Fat Brain Toys had come out in their description of the toys and stated the toys were made in China. especially as these toys are for Childredn and you want them to be safe......the headlins for China product safety are terrible.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Kids Story Maker
Posted 10/15/2010 by Juliana Gursky
Rating: 4

very useful. fun and functional. greatly fosters language development and creativity.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01