Home > Toy Companies > Magnetic Poetry > Really Big Words for Kids > Customer Reviews
Really Big Words for Kids
0

5 Star reviews of Really Big Words for Kids by Magnetic Poetry

Return to Really Big Words for Kids product information...

Really Big Words for Kids has been reviewed 144 times with an average rating of 4.61

Review for Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 4/9/2008 by Trina Packett
Rating: 5

large size makes it easy for little fingers and mommy's old eyes. I wish there was a smaller size, but, advanced and easy for older people to use.

13 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

really big hit
Posted 11/10/2011 by Kerry Hewson
Rating: 5

I purchased this set for my 4 1/2 year old daughter. She loves them. While she cannot put correct sentences together yet, she loves reading the words to her younger brother & moving the words around. The magnets are BIG, which is great. I also love the metal case, and plan on taking the set2nd when we visit my daughters4 older cousins, as they love to play the "teacher" to the younger kids. Great purchase!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

really big words for kids
Posted 10/10/2011 by suzanstrowe
Rating: 5

I actually purchased this item for my first grade class, to be used during literacy centers. The students are putting together sentences and not losing pieces because of the magnets!

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wonderful for a 5 year old
Posted 12/7/2009 by m susan cronin
Rating: 5

the large letters are easily handled and work well on the frig and dishwaser and washer and drier for little ones to explore and leave messages as well as older siblings correcting the 'spelling'!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

love it!
Posted 11/10/2010 by Melissa Kitkowski
Rating: 5

I teach the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, and these word magnets are making teaching answer choice, sentence making, nouns and verbs, and word categories easy!

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So much fun, so easy to keep up with!
Posted 12/27/2010 by donna graham
Rating: 5

We've been making silly sentences on our fridge non-stop!!...since we bought this for x-mas for our family. We had a magnetic poetry kit that we really liked before, but the words were so small, they were alway falling down, getting swept up by my broom, disappearing under my fridge, etc. These words are are big, you will NOT lose them, you WILL have a blast, though!!!

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 8/22/2012 by Jane Prince - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Just set it up.....and loved!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 10/26/2008
Rating: 5

Great for preschool and Kindergarten age kids.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words
Posted 8/30/2011 by RICHARD
Rating: 5

I bought the Really Big Words gift for my grandchildren, ages 2, 4 & 6. The 2 year old likes to play with them because they are magnets. The 4 and 6 year olds like making funny sentences with me and we laugh about what we have created. The six year old just started school and reads on a 2nd grade level and loves to read. This helps expand his reading ability.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Magnetic Poetry
Posted 2/1/2010
Rating: 5

Words are Really Big and are great fun for home or office.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great For Young Readers
Posted 3/11/2005 by Jennifer McMurtray
Rating: 5

My 5-year-old and 2-year-old are both just starting to read, and we're having fun with this kit. The sillier the sentence, the more they enjoy it. I bought magnetic backing for my laminator so I can add my kid's names and other custom words. I especially like the large font size -- perfect for young ones. This is a good tool for emphasizing sentence structure, increasing word recognition, having fun together, and for parents to be amazed at how smart their children are. Children really are linquistic geniuses.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 7/16/2012 by Sheri Nance - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This teaches as well as being a fun toy. If you're going to spend money on toys, Fat Brain Toys are best bang for your buck.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 1/1/2012 by Mrs. D. Carlson - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Early reader words are printed in clear font on magnetic surface. The early reader can practice sight words and put together sentences on the frig. door or other magnetic surface. The number of words is a bit overwhelming if put out all at once but allows for growth if added a few at a time. Many options for creative uses as the child matures such as rhymes, poems, humor,or creative writing prompts.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 6/14/2010 by Agata Skjold - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

All three of my kids love it! It is something I was looking for for a long time. Most of my friends who are english teachers here in Poland want me to borrow this toy for their classes. Big help to my kids! We all love it!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for budding readers
Posted 1/4/2010 by Deborah Nalick
Rating: 5

Love the big sized font

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Fun
Posted 12/13/2009 by Jennifer
Rating: 5

This was a great find. My first grader is having some reading challenges. She was suprised to find something so BIG she can make sentences and messages with. This toy is a freah and fun way to practice. Good quality and great for tactile learners.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2005 by Patricia H Wengert
Rating: 5

This product is for my grandchildren to use while visiting our house. They all (12) absolutely love it....the littlest one can work with adults and play and the older ones can play alone or with each other. The case is also an added bonus...is very cute and makes for good storage...nice and small.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 6/30/2008 by Sky DJ
Rating: 5

Works great on magnetic wall paint! My Preschoolers have really enjoyed using them. Very easy to see/read and the case is very handy.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 12/29/2011 by aaron baer
Rating: 5

I overshot the age range for my 5 year old nephew; he cannot yet read. However, he is precocious and spends more time in doors than out (not a sports guy yet.) His mother is thrilled with the gift and has plans for rainy day activities. She was more than greatful and will put it to good use before her return to work in 7 days

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 9/27/2011 by Jeanne Miller - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I love the variety of words included in this product and the fact that they are not just "sight" words. It is much more than that!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really big fun with "Really Big Words" magnetic poetry set
Posted 9/17/2009 by Nicole Selleck
Rating: 5

My 7 and 4 year old absolutely love this unique magnetic poetry set. We use our large door (steel) leading to the garage as our "canvass". They have composed songs, written poems and funny messages. Even my husband and I get in on the fun. This is a great product for developing creative writing skills. Even for beginning readers.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic
Posted 2/27/2008 by Alyson Kirby
Rating: 5

This is a fantastic product! I bought them to use with my kindergarten class, but I haven't taken them to school yet. My family loves putting them on the fridge and making silly poems and notes for one another. This is a hit with all ages, both adults and children.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 10/20/2007 by Patricia Hasty - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I am using this item as a work station in my first grade classroom. I have five task cards that the students can choose from. Students can sort words into open and closed syllable words, find rhyming words, make I am and I like sentences, make word snakes, and make own story or poem. The students are able to manipulate this product because of its bigger size! Plus they love the fact that the words are magnetic!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words Are Really Educational
Posted 10/26/2004 by ISN
Rating: 5

Really Big Words for Kids was suggested by my daughter's teacher and it is great! My daughter is in 1st grade and already reading, but this helps her creativity. There are times when she needs to make up stories and his really helps her brain flow. A definite "must have".

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and helpful
Posted 10/7/2009 by Jennifer
Rating: 5

This is a great set of words for little people. My six and four year old are enjoying learning the words and putting together their own sentences. they love that they are "reading". So fun and full of learning possibilities!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Outstanding for a primary classroom!
Posted 9/4/2008 by Carolyn Fizzano - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

These words are nice and sturdy, and large enough to see from across my classroom. I teach 2nd grade, and I will use the words to help teach complete sentences, phonics, parts of speech, etc. I even used them to welcome my new students this year by placing "I am happy because we are together" on my magnetic blackboard!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Education Teacher
Posted 2/27/2008 by David Cedeburg - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

The magnetic poetry items are great for teaching language arts. The kids love the magnetic dart board. I modify the dart board to review money math. I even put the magnetic Really Big Words for Kids on the dart board to encourage story making and expounding ideas.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Heavy case
Posted 1/9/2012 by MR
Rating: 5

These will be a gift, but given the heft of the box, I am certain they will be of good quality.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 12/29/2006 by Dianna Huiffman-Barr
Rating: 5

My 6 year old son loves it. He likes being able to make up his own silly sentences with the words. It is a great compliment to what he is learning at school. It helps with beginning reading and writing skills. It promotes sight word recognition and sentence and story construction. It is a natural progression from magnetic alphabet letters. It was also suggested by my son's kindergarten teacher. I recommend Really Big Words to any family with a young reader or budding author.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 10/5/2006 by Marie Scatena
Rating: 5

Really Big Words magnetic poetry is a useful and fun product. Kids of all ages seem to enjoy it even though it was purchased for use in museum education with kids under 10 years old. I would highly reccommend this product for anyone who wants to engage kids imaginations and promote literacy.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 4/23/2006 by Pat Stainbrook
Rating: 5

These will be used on a huge magnetic board in the teen area of the library I work in. It would be nice to have some words appropriate for older kids, but these were the biggest ones I could find. They'll be fine.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very pleased!!
Posted 12/27/2011 by molly
Rating: 5

Great gift for my 7 year old. Helps her get creative and encourages her little brother and sister to work on their reading.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 7/17/2011 by Linda - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My young grandchildren are just beginning to think about reading. They're already making sentences on the refrigerator with this toy. It will be fun to see how this contributes to their reading. Mom and Dad use it to leave messages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 7/1/2011 by Joanne Turka - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We are using this item to help our 31-year old daughter- in-law re-learn how to read after a stroke. It is hard for her to see and understand many flash cards, these have been fun and easy to use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 4/25/2010 by Eugenia Ohe
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 6 yr. old twins to use at home. They enjoy making silly sentences. This is good practice for the skills they have learned in school. When my kids outgrow it, I will add it to my kindergarten classroom materials. Great for moms and teachers.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 4/15/2010 by Alyssa Beck
Rating: 5

The product is exactly as described. They are what I wanted and my kids can't put them down.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun way to read and make sentences
Posted 3/19/2010 by Dana Davis
Rating: 5

Lots of words to make simple sentences or longer ones. Bought for my 6 year old. We do a sentence every day on the fridge using the magnet words. It's a good interactive toy that she can do by herself or I can help her with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/15/2010 by leanne hayes - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this for my (just) 5 year old grandson because I had words leftover from a poetry calendar and we put them on my fridge but they were too small and too numerous and pretty much overwhelmed him. But these are bigger and easier to digest. He's already gotten them on his fridge at home and putting sentences together. Good thinking guys! Way to stimulate the mind!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2010 by Andrea K. - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

the large magnetic words were fabulous!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

words for all ages
Posted 2/3/2010 by Dr. Jan Lichtenstein
Rating: 5

Although this item was advertised for young students, it can be used by all ages to engage reading and writing and creativity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 2/10/2006 by Lia Senise
Rating: 5

My children love this product. They love playing with it on their magnetic board.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for all ages
Posted 2/3/2006 by Jennifer
Rating: 5

This is a fun activity for kids who are just learning to read to adults who like to make up silly phrases. The words are easliy legible and are also easy to manipulate and rearrange. You and your favorite kid won't tire of the endless combinations this kit offers. The lunch box-style metal case it cool, too.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words
Posted 12/19/2005 by Tina Ulrich
Rating: 5

I was so glad to find this! We have several sets of magnetic poetry on our fridge and with a houseful of teenagers, it gets used all the time. Our 5 yr neighbor boy who loves to hang out at our house always wants me to read the dumb sentences to him. He's not very excited about reading right now so these "really big words" were a perfect gift for him.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 11/30/2005 by Mary Mercer
Rating: 5

My grandson loves it - great fun learning new words in the car and at home.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words
Posted 11/15/2005 by A mom and a teacher
Rating: 5

My 4-year-old son loves to read and as a reading recovery teacher that is so important to me! Really Big Words is actually a Christmas gift for him, so he hasn't seen it yet. I did open it, and I am very impressed. The words are large, which is important for young kids and the pieces will not get lost as easily like other sets I have seen. It is very educational. You can work on making sentences, parts of speech, or work on just being creative! This product was shipped to my front door within 2 days and the company was very friendly and helpful when I called. I will definitely be ordering from Fat Brain Toys again in the future! A Mom and reading recovery teacher in Amarillo, Texas

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 11/7/2005 by Roberta Alleman
Rating: 5

I'd seen the "Really Big Words" set on my niece's fridge and wanted it for my own grandchildren. Ages 8, 6 and 5 (in two families). It's a wonderful idea! Anyone, "children of all ages," can just stick a few, or several, words together. Voila! Perfect serendipity!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 10/31/2005 by becky kirkendall
Rating: 5

I used this product in a coffee shop and loved it so much I wanted to buy it for my classroom. The item itself is great! I am waiting for delivery of a new item because the storage tin was dented during delivery and the handle broken. I love the storage container. it is a big plus to the product.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 4/25/2005 by Luz Maria Sabillon
Rating: 5

I'm very happy with this product. My daughter found it interesting and appealing and very relevant to what she's learning at school (sight words and constructing sentences). The quality of the product is very high and I also liked the booklet included, which gives suggestions as to further uses for the product as the child grows older.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

happy
Posted 3/31/2005 by Jennifer McCullough
Rating: 5

I received the Really Big Words very timely and just when you said I would. We are loving the word magnets. I would definitely recommend the Really Big Words and most certainly FatBrain Toys. Thanks for an enjoyable experience.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/16/2005 by Stacy Furlong
Rating: 5

My son is just learning to read. These words are perfect for him. And who couldn't love the carry case that comes with them!! Easy clean up and storage. While I cook dinner, he builds his confidence in reading with the really big words. We find it a great way to spend time together and have fun learning. Thank you!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2005 by Wilma Wilcox
Rating: 5

We are enjoying these words on the fridge. I bought a set for my daughter's home and also mine. My grandsons can work with the letters and words where ever they are. Letter recognition and phonics are already improving. We are happy witht he purchase.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2005 by Laurie Thompsen
Rating: 5

My kids LOVE these!!Even Mom and Dad leave messages for the family!! They'er GREAT!!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2005 by A Eubank
Rating: 5

My daughter who is 4 1/2 really loves making up silly sentences and having me read them to her. They have really perked her interest in reading and sounding out what the words are. They are a great traveling toy because of the magnetic case.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2005 by melissa carton
Rating: 5

My 3 and 5 year olds both love this product. It keeps them entertained in the kitchen while I am cooking dinner. I am happy that they are enjoying something that is also educational. It is helping to build their vocabulary and sentence structure.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/11/2005 by Christine Jenkins
Rating: 5

Love the size of the lettering & weight of the individual magnets - great for little hands to manage.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

versatile magnetic word
Posted 7/21/2013 by Catherine Hooks
Rating: 5

Words are printed in dark, clear black letters on a white magnetic strip. These words stick to any metal surface. Children can play alone or within group or with an adult. Sentences can be formed by simply places the magnets in position. Great alternative for children with delayed fine motor skills and experience difficulty in holding a pencil.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 5

Great toy! My 4 year old daughter learns to identify words and doesn't even realize it!

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent for early readers
Posted 12/3/2012 by Susan M. Napolitano
Rating: 5

I have five year old twins who love to create sentences on the refrigerator. It is especially good for my son, who isn't as interested in reading books as his twin sister, but he loves to create funny sentences.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 11/24/2013 by Glenda - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Durable, creative, educational, fun

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 6/26/2013 by Gran - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Have only begun to use this product and really like it. Looks like we are really going to have fun with this "toy".

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 3/21/2013 by Rachel Riedy
Rating: 5

Love this toy! Promotes literacy is positive ways and also helps practice his sight words.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

a world of possibilities
Posted 12/30/2012 by actorbat
Rating: 5

Since the words have gone up on our refrigerator our 6 year old, who is a beginning reader, has taken great pride in making poetry. Having the words on display has opened his creative word-smithing mind.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 12/12/2012 by Mary E Sherman
Rating: 5

The first response from my 6 yr. old granddaughter was. "Wow, Grandma, I can make sentences." And that was before she even got the words out of the box! I consider that a MOST successful choice of learning "toy."

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Really Big Words for Kids
Posted 11/19/2012 by Anne Deredita
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 5.5 year old son, who is just starting to read. He is interested and excited about it, but not quite ready for it. I see that he will likely be really into it when he is a little bit older.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01