Home > Toy Companies > Mayfair Games > Settlers of Catan Travel Edition > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 14 times with an average rating of 4.50

Information about
Posted 8/25/2008 by Matthew Christopher Meyer
Rating: 5

Very good game, It would have been nice if the desert hex could be moved, but this contributes very little to the overall play of the game (especially if you only play a few games a week). The miniature size is a little awkward, but for a travel version, this game is great. Easy to play and learn, portable enough to play anywhere. Good quality too.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Value
Posted 4/21/2008 by Daine Flieth
Rating: 5

My husband and I play Settlers of Catan (and the expansion games as well) with our friends all the time. We are seriously addicted. With that said, I was nervous about buying the travel edition because in past experiences with travel edition games in general-they aren't made with the same quality as the real deal. Instead of using magnets that slide and are hard to put in the right place, they use pegs. Genius idea. The "board" pieces fit into little grooves which would be a fantastic idea for the company to use with the regular games! Overall, I'm still impressed with the whole "Settlers of Catan" lineup of games including this travel edition.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

a perfect way to play the ride away!
Posted 12/30/2009 by elizabeth m - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

this is a great way to take a wonderful game with you wherever you go! yes, there is slight annoyance with the desert being in the middle and the numbers not be movable, but that is easily looked past as the game is still quite enjoyable and now quite portable!! it is perfect for playing on a car or plane ride and highly recommended for all settlers of catan lovers!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So Fun!
Posted 5/9/2008
Rating: 4

I purchased this so that my husband and I would be able to play a 2 person version of Settlers. Everything in the travel version is a mini version of the full game. The mini pieces are so cute, but I'm afraid they might get lost. What I love about this version is that everything snaps into the board, so you could play in a car, train, or plane and not worry about settlements moving. What I dislike is that the desert is permanently in the middle of the board, and that only the elements are variable – the numbers are set on the board. Other than that it’s as great as the full version and definitely worth the price!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Settlers of Catan Travel Edition
Posted 4/24/2008
Rating: 4

The playing board is actually better than the original full size version because it stays together. If it was just a little bigger we would play with the travel edition all the time, but for home play the full size version really is better. This is perfect for travel.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 4/18/2008 by Tim
Rating: 5

for game lovers you can't beat Settlers of Catan, and for gamers on the go, this travelers edition is a unique opportunity to take your fun on the run. The lay out of the travel edition retains the diversity of the game, while reducing the size to something playable on a plane.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Settlers Of Catan Travel Edition
Posted 1/24/2008 by Day Family
Rating: 4

We love the game Settlers of Catan and were so excited to get the travel edition. We love the mini game board. My children recommended having it be magnetic (pieces to game board) because they could stick better but still movable. We love the permanent numbers. The only tricky part is the tiny pieces for settlements and roads. They stick well with the little holes though. Great idea to make it small and portable! What about a six person edition?

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fits The Bill
Posted 12/18/2007 by Matthew
Rating: 4

I've been a big fan of Settlers of Catan for a while, so I was quite happy to hear there was a travel edition available. Overall, I think it's fairly well executed. There's a nice storage tray, miniature cards that fit well with the reduced size, and tiles which will lock into the plastic board frame well. My only complaint is the alteration (simplification, if you will) of the base game. The numbers for each tile are fixed on the board and due to the tile design, the desert tile can only be set in the middle of the board, which leads to slightly less flexibility in board layout. Otherwise, a solid travel edition of a classic board game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Travel Edition
Posted 8/26/2007
Rating: 4

The travel edition convenient size and study pieces that make it perfect for playing while traveling. It plays just like regular edition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02