Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Abacus > Customer Reviews
Abacus
0

4 Star reviews of Abacus by Melissa & Doug

Return to Abacus product information...

Abacus has been reviewed 157 times with an average rating of 4.72

Product review of Abacus
Posted 8/12/2009 by Peaceful
Rating: 4

This is a great teaching tool. A few warnings are in order, however. (1) It is not an abacus. I've not seen pictures of any abaci that had no horizontal divider, and (2) It comes without any directions or suggested uses. There first causes no problems. The second means that you are on your own.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Abacus
Posted 10/21/2008 by Rebecca Near
Rating: 4

Seems to be a quality item. Nice and simple... a classic.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Abacus
Posted 5/9/2011 by Karen Mills - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Wonder! Caught Granddaughters attention, and showed an interest in learning to count.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice abacus
Posted 11/23/2010
Rating: 4

The abacus is good quality and has the right size. It could be more stable, but otherwise it is very nice.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mellissa and Doug Abacus
Posted 4/7/2007
Rating: 4

I love Mellissa and Doug toys. They are always brightly colored and intelligently designed. I was a little disappointed in the colors of the abacus I received. I was hoping it would be in nice primary colors so that I could teach both colors and counting (reinforcing the counting with familiar colors). The beads are red and green and yellow (which are fine) and navy blue and pale yellow, which are quite dull. A brighter blue and orange would have been a lot nicer, and in line with the color scheme that this manufacturer usually has.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Abacus
Posted 11/28/2007 by Michelle Hoffman
Rating: 4

I bought the abacus for my 4 year old son. He loved it immediately. It is really well constructed and sturdy, and it was just what we needed for homeschooling. Within minutes he was adding and subtracting. Even my 20 month old son loves to play with it and work on his colors and numbers. It was well worth the purchase and we're very happy with it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Abacus
Posted 10/7/2006 by Lisa
Rating: 4

My daughter who has just turned four is learning counting and numbers in school. This toy has been a wonderful supplement to what she is learning in school and should be relevant for many years to come. It is well-made and an appropriate size.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Simple yet good
Posted 10/11/2005 by minette wong
Rating: 4

I like that this toy offered advice on how to play, such as asking the toddler to mimic your move in the row below.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Abacus
Posted 7/7/2008 by Joanne Burt
Rating: 4

The abacus is well built, sturdy and colorful. My granddaughter loves math and was completing computations as well as using it to make designs. I think it is a good and different "toy" for this age group -- especially for those who already have an interest in math. My one year old granddaughter also found the moving beads fascinating and it is sturdy enough that she could play with it also.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

classic, well made
Posted 1/26/2008 by Lorin Shearburn
Rating: 4

This is a classic counting toy. The wood and bright colors makes it attractive to children. My daughter likes to slide the beads, even though she is not quite ready to learn counting (2 yr). I hope to use it for many years to come.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug Abacus
Posted 12/26/2007
Rating: 4

Nice classic toy - great for color recognition, counting and patterning (a pre-reading skill)!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Abacus
Posted 12/10/2007 by Bonnie
Rating: 4

Melissa and Doug products never disappoint. My 4 year old daughter loves this, and it will be a great learning tool for several years.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Abacus
Posted 4/11/2007 by Rohitashwa Goenka
Rating: 4

Excellent toy. This way the child can learn counting easily.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Abacus
Posted 10/31/2006 by Kimberly H.
Rating: 4

Easy to use. This abacus seems sturdy.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Abacus as a learning tool
Posted 3/9/2006 by Mehran Moshfeghi
Rating: 4

I bought the abacus to teach my 4 year old addition and subtraction. It is a good learning tool since it is graphic and it visualizes the concepts of addition and subtraction, as opposed to memorization. We have only had it a few days but I am already seeing results.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Abacus
Posted 10/31/2005 by Deborah
Rating: 4

The abacus is made of sturdy wood and is the right size for children's hands. I would definitely recommend this product to someone looking for different ways to work on counting with their child.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for lean manufacturing! Simple to use!
Posted 10/21/2005
Rating: 4

We bought these as we needed something quick for work. These work ideally as count boards in molding and painting, where they need to take number of totes completed.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Abacus
Posted 6/2/2005 by Kari Curran
Rating: 4

Noah really enjoys this item. He's still a little too young to truly begin counting, but he loves moving the beads from side to side. It's also a great tool to reinforce some color names.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Abacus
Posted 4/20/2011 by Catherine Lucio - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I wish it only had 9 beads in a row to make it easier to demonstrate carrying from 1's to 10's etc. But it very well made and a very good price and she likes it .

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Abacus for little hands
Posted 1/12/2010 by Leclerc Sylvie
Rating: 4

This abacus is a very good quality object, easy to handle for little hands and the right size for them. The wooden beads are comfortable and look high quality. I liked the fact that the front cover gives us multiple ways to use it. A very useful calculator for those starting learning their additions and subtractions as well as multiplications.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Abacus
Posted 8/3/2014 by Amanda Lambert
Rating: 4

Love that it is wooden. One daughter uses it to practice counting. We also practice colors. My baby uses it to practice fine motor skills.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Multiple ages
Posted 12/25/2012 by JoAn Howard - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was a Christmas gift to my grandchilren ages 5, 3 and 1.5. It wasn't the "big thing" by far, but all showed interest and their parents were really happy with the idea of a learning aid in the home.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03