Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Alphabet Sound Puzzle > Customer Reviews
Alphabet Sound Puzzle
0

4 Star reviews of Alphabet Sound Puzzle by Melissa & Doug

Return to Alphabet Sound Puzzle product information...

Alphabet Sound Puzzle has been reviewed 177 times with an average rating of 4.33

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 9/25/2008 by Melissa Kiel - OTHER
Rating: 4

I like the puzzle. I don't like how it goes off when the lights go out. It creaps me out. It should have an on/off switch. That could scare a child.

14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 5/20/2009
Rating: 4

Great puzzle! Bought this for my 2 year old and he loves it. My only complaint is that when he tries to put the wrong letter in a spot, the puzzle says the letter name (even though it's the wrong letter).

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product!
Posted 7/23/2008 by Katrina Brooks
Rating: 4

My 3 year old son loves this alphabet sound puzzle. I was a little worried that the sound of the letters would not be clear, but the first time we tried it was completely audible.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So far so good
Posted 12/30/2008 by Sue Long
Rating: 4

My son hasnt really had a chance to play with the toy yet, but when he opened the package, he was very interested in it. I only wish it had a volume control. I walk by the shelf and it scares me "u is for umbrella". Everything that was described about it was accurate. I am excited to get a chance to sit down with him and go through the alphabet interactively.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 3/13/2008 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Our 2-year old grandson loves this puzzle. He has played with it for hours. It is well made and a good value for the money. The sound feature is a little quirky. If any pieces are missing from the puzzle, the sound can go off when the room light changes. And the sound doesn't work when a lot of pieces are out. But these are minor problems and ones I have come to expect with any sound toy, even more expensive ones. The important thing is that is has a lot of play and educational value and is a much loved and enjoyed toy.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

grandson loves the alphabet sound puzzle
Posted 5/26/2010 by Alice Cooley
Rating: 4

He loves the sound of the alphabet puzzle and enjoys the colors of the puzzle.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 7/26/2010
Rating: 4

Wish it also play the letter sounds as well as the words beginning with the letter. Other than that it is a new favorite toy!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 2/8/2010 by Angela Scott
Rating: 4

I really like the alphabet sounds puzzle. I have a four-year old that is a bit behind on learning the alphabet, so I decided to order this. It's really helping him learn and recognize the actual letters as well as the sounds associated with it. It's also a good puzzle and helps him distinguish between V's and A's and I's and H's and so forth. The only recommendations I would give is that some of the letters have strange examples of letter sounds which a lot of children may not be familiar with. Such as; D for Dice, O for Olive, V for Vines. These objects may not be as recognizable as say for example, D for Dog. Also, the puzzle has no on/off button and often times I hear it randomly going off by itself without anything touching it. It would also be a help if you could find some way to store the letters on the board. I put all the letters in a plastic baggie so they don't get lost, but if you could find some way to keep the letters attached to the board that would be great. This could either be some sort of container on the back or side or maybe magnetizing the letters so they stick to the board and don't fall out when it is turned upside down. Otherwise, I love the letter board! Thanks for a good, educational product.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Visibly Great! Audibly not so great
Posted 2/20/2012 by Dana
Rating: 4

Bought for my 3 1/2 yr old who has recently been showing interest in learning more about the letters of the alphabet. Quality is strong. Letters and colors look great. Love that each letter shows pictures of a word. Visually alone it is a great toy!! It does also have audio which is not so great. Says the letter and sound but the sound itself is not the best. Not up to the quality of the rest of the toy. Considering taking out battery and letting her enjoy its strong points which alone is fantastic and worth the money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 2/2/2012 by valerie neal
Rating: 4

The product is great. However, I wish the letters were cut out better, so you can distinguish between the letters. Some of the letter shapes are the same.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 2/1/2012 by Joanna Zala - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Not sure if my 17 month old is too young for the toy but so far she has not been playing that much with it. I'm sure that will change in the future. As far at the quality I'm very satisfied, we have many Melissa & Doug toys in our house and they are frequently used and well made.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My daughter loves this!
Posted 12/31/2011
Rating: 4

I was initially skeptical of how well this would work until I got the batteries in and gave it a try. The sounds are clear and easy to understand (and work for every letter)! My daughter loves puzzles and is just beginning to learn her ABC's. This is a great tool that capitalizes on her interests and she's already saying more words in the one week after starting to play with it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Puzzle
Posted 12/27/2011 by Christine C
Rating: 4

The sound quality on some of the letters is great, others I have trouble discerning the words, but my 23 month old son seems to understand it fine. Both he and his female cousin loved it when it was opened;luckily we also purchased the number puzzle or a major fight would have occurred.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Learning Tool
Posted 10/31/2011
Rating: 4

This puzzle is absolutely great for learning the alphabet. However, the sounds are light sensitive. If you are missing any pieces and turn off the light, the puzzle talks to you! Piece of advice... Get the puzzle, just keep track of the pieces!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 8/17/2011 by George Westby
Rating: 4

Great teaching tool. She will know her ABC's in no time. Teaches shapes, sounds, and applocation for the letters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 2/6/2011 by kate a vosler
Rating: 4

exellent toy bud dosent come with batteries and has many pieces to loose my son is two and if i dont sit with him i'd be searching of pieces forever

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Sound Puzzle Great!
Posted 10/24/2010 by Stevette Linden
Rating: 4

We purchased this for our 2 yr old son. He knows his colors, numbers and shapes. We wanted to work on letters. He knew a few so we hope this puzzle will help him start to learn by sight and also help him work on sounds.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Puzzle
Posted 4/30/2010 by Melanie
Rating: 4

My 2 1/2 year old niece is really enjoying this puzzle. Besides the fact that she loves working puzzles, she is able to learn to associate words with letters while having fun. The only reason I did not give this the highest rating is that some of the words used are a bit obscure. I would have loved to see "quack" used instead of "quail", for example.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learning can be fun!
Posted 12/22/2009 by Tammy Sales - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My 2 year old grandson really enjoyed this toy... although he may be a bit young because if you place the letter in the wrong spot - it will still give the sound and sentence of the correct letter. The volume and words were clear and concise. I do wish it would have an off button though! All in all I know he was having fun, and learning some too!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Sound Puzzle review
Posted 10/27/2009 by Marcelo
Rating: 4

It is a nice and tool for kids who need to learn the sounds of letters. In my case, it is adequate since my boy is not a native English speaker and is in the process of learning two languages at the same time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Literacy Coach
Posted 6/2/2009 by Sandy Gadzichowski
Rating: 4

The alphabet sound puzzle is a favorite toy of both teachers and children in the preschool classrooms. One suggestion would be to put a small peg on each of the letters. Some 2 to 3 year-olds still have difficultly grasping the pieces to turn them into place.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy- Sound Goes On Very Easily
Posted 2/18/2008 by Regine Pedersen
Rating: 4

Great product. The sound keeps going on for a while even after it is used. It does not recognize if it is the correct letter the child is trying to put on. It just tells the letter. We still love it. We will definitely recommend it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy Talks to Itself
Posted 9/5/2006 by Grandma C
Rating: 4

This toy is a big hit with my toddler grandson. He loves it and is learning his alphabet rapidly. The only drawback is the lack of an on/off switch. The toy will begin talking to itself when the morning sun hits it. We have taken to putting it to "bed" at night by throwing a blanket over it. Other than that, it is a great toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 3/24/2010 by Emily
Rating: 4

My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves this puzzle. It has gone a long way in teaching her the alphabet, letter sounds, and working on her eye/hand coordination. The only issue we have had is when we place the puzzle too close to our light switch and it "talks" to us when we turn off the light.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

alphabet puzzle
Posted 1/26/2010 by Michelle
Rating: 4

Nice product, the microphone that says the names of the letters is not as clear as I would like, but it is still effective. Also, when any letter is placed over another, it will say the name of the letter that is being held over the spot. For example, holding the letter L over the D spot results in the puzzle saying the letter "D".

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 12/23/2009 by Ann Bagwell
Rating: 4

It looks good but it is a Christmas gift and I won't know for a few days now

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

nice but small, like my neice
Posted 7/13/2010
Rating: 4

Great concept and does work with many dolls, but only smaller ones. The bag itself is actually much smaller than it appears in the picture, however, and even with extended straps might not fit a child over 3. Great for a two year old, but won't last beyond a year because of the small size, which is a shame.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 4/20/2013 by Wm Smith
Rating: 4

Every thing is good, but could have better audio.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

NICE
Posted 1/15/2013 by MONICA
Rating: 4

My son loves the toy, the only fault i have found is that after 3 days the batteries(duracel)must have been dying and the toy started talking crazily.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 9/25/2012 by cindi
Rating: 4

This is a great learning tool!! The only thing I wish is that it had both Capital and Lower Case Letters on the same puzzle so they can associate and differentiate between the two.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 20 days ago by Holli Crawford
Rating: 4

Not bad and a great idea for learning. The only downside is when a piece is put in, it doesn't always say the letter. Or when a piece is put in it can repeat the letter a couple times. Overall a great way to help aid in learning letters.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great
Posted 23 days ago by Choshena Farmer
Rating: 4

My son loves this toys. I only wished there was an on/off switch.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

really fun and educational toy
Posted 4/15/2014 by Ben
Rating: 4

i bought this for my 2 year old's birthday and 2 weeks later she still plays with a couple times a day and has learned nearly all the alphabet from it. the letters are a good size and are raised from the board instead of having pegs to hold which could break. the voice is clear as could be expected from a toy, and includes an object starting with the letter placed - "B is for ball" etc. the board is very well made but the letters need some extra quality control. a couple of them didn't properly fit and i had to carve bits off here and there so they would, and the bottom layer of ply had been chipped and split on many of them, so i had to file them smooth and re-glue the pieces that were falling off. the puzzle works on light-dependent resistors, so it's set off by any object placed on the board, not just the correct letter - not really a negative, just something to keep in mind. it doesn't include an on/off switch though which is very annoying, not sure why that most basic of functions has been left off.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ABC Puzzle
Posted 10/18/2013 by Robyn Footit - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Amazing tool for my nephew to learn and develop with. Right now he is fascinated with the sounds, but soon he will start putting the sounds and shapes together helping him learn his ABC's in a fun way! I think its a great toy, and its never too early for a child to start learning!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 9/1/2013 by KJ Milburn
Rating: 4

The ABC and number puzzles really help my three year old learn. However instead of learning P, she learned p is for pretzel and to look for the inset of pretzels. I wish the toy focused on learning the letters and not what words they make. Also there is a thin paper covering the wood of the product that has already started to tear.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 8/18/2013 by Sandy Wu - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I've bought multiple toys from this site and I found the age range graphs extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great learning tool
Posted 8/11/2013 by Lisa
Rating: 4

As with the other two puzzles I got for my 2-1/2 year old grandson, he loves this puzzle. He already knew the alphabet but still enjoys dumping the pieces out and putting them back. He repeats after the recording.. "E for egg!" I wish I'd gotten this for him a few months ago, it's almost too easy for him. But still a great toy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 1/24/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

A child learns language development

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 1/7/2013 by Doris Heuerman
Rating: 4

My grandson is the youngest in his kindergarten class and was lagging behind because he just "didn't get it." This puzzle made it all fun for him and has improved his attitude towards school. He isn't caught up yet, but he's trying now!!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 12/27/2012 by Rachel Schuldt
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my 21 month old son, however, I believe he is a little too young yet for this puzzle. He loves picking the letters up, but he's not quite to the point that he understands the correct spots to put them in. We decided to put it away for a few months and hopefully around 2 he will be a little more in to placing them in the correct spots.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 12/4/2012 by Julie Frederick
Rating: 4

it is a christmas giift - from playing it myseft it seams great and interesting

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

my kids love it
Posted 12/12/2012 by jenny Martinez
Rating: 4

My kids are 5,3 and 2and they all love it. The 5 year old helps the smaller kids with the letter name and then check it when it talks....only thing is trying to keep track of the pieces when they aren't playing with it....but a baggie works!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Puzzle Surprise
Posted 12/10/2012 by Carol
Rating: 4

This puzzle is colorful, educatiional and fun to do with my grandchild and my developmentally delayed daughter. I've ordered it before and this time it's a gift for a younger granddaughter. There is a surprise, too, if you have a cat. Our cat found it on the floor with some pieces removed, walked on it and hit a missing letter slot with her paw. It "talked"! She tried it again and now she lies down beside her talkiing "friend" with such affection, stretches out her paw as if to "cuddle." It was an additional bonus for us. When you child is done, if you have a cat, put it on the floor without the letters. It's so cute to watch the cat make friends.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01