Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Band in a Box > Customer Reviews
Band in a Box
0

4 Star reviews of Band in a Box by Melissa & Doug

Return to Band in a Box product information...

Band in a Box has been reviewed 286 times with an average rating of 4.53

Great product -- for babies too
Posted 10/20/2008
Rating: 4

My 9-month old loves playing with these instruments -- and figuring out new and different ways to play them. Keeps him entertained and interested.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 2/17/2010 by James Ott - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

High quality of the product! Grandson enjoys getting everyone involved in playing instruments!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for the whole family
Posted 6/19/2012
Rating: 4

Gave it to my 1 yr old. He enjoys shaking playing with each piece and making a lot of noise. Actually, the whole family had fun playing with all the instruments together at the same time.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 1/4/2010 by Donna Martin - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This is a well made product and our 10 month old is already enjoying making sounds of his own. He loves the maracas and loves to shake the tambourine. A great collection that will continue to grow with him.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Title!
Posted 4/7/2009 by Gwendolyn Possinger
Rating: 4

I think it includes the perfect band "basics" for a child and it's colorful and fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Band in a Box
Posted 2/9/2009 by milay chappell
Rating: 4

A great toy to learn and engage.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 1/22/2009 by Janet
Rating: 4

I came across the band in a box after I had already purchased a similar item for my 18 month old for Christmas. After opening the gift I was so disappointed with the quality of the first instruments that I ordered the Band in a Box to replace them--hoping they wouild be higher quality. They were! The maracas are filled a little too full so they don't produce a big sound but other than that they're great.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun stuff!
Posted 9/25/2008 by Arkansas mom
Rating: 4

We bought the band in the box for my daughter's first birthday knowing it would be a bit advanced for her, but she's loved it so far anyway. She is enjoying the finger cymbals and maracas, especially. And she has loved banging on the triangle with Daddy's help.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Band in a Box
Posted 8/15/2008 by Irene Mattox - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

From the description I expected a covered wooden box to house the instruments. It was an uncovered crate which was okay. The quality of the instruments was very good. our 2 year-old granddaughter is attached to the triangle!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Band in a Box
Posted 4/6/2012 by Trudy Motter - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The toys were bought for my great niece when she visits me. She'll be one year old in May and loves music so the drum was great to get her attention. She was all smiles when she tapped it and heard music. SHe's still teething so all other toys from band were put in her mouth. When we put handles of cymbals in her hands and she clanged them she was thrilled. Think the maracas are well made, as are all the toys I bought,but think the maracas should make more sound which would probably require plastic. She liked pushing balls on crocodile walker and pushed it around. I got that because my step great granddaughter has one and enjoys pushing it. Since the baby likes standing, I thought it would help her walk, which it has! Thank you and I'm sure she will enjoy all the gifts as she gets older. In fact I'll probably give some items to her to take home as long as they come back here when she visits. At my age I certainly need toys to entertain her! Both my niece and I were exhausted after two and a half hours.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug do it again
Posted 2/27/2012 by Cassandra
Rating: 4

Great starter set of simple instruments. Good quality and attractive to look at. My daughter plays with it at least once a day.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Band Set
Posted 8/22/2011 by LAURA CUSHING
Rating: 4

I love Melissa and Doug Items. They are always made well

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Band in a Box
Posted 12/9/2010
Rating: 4

My 2 yr old LOVES the bright colors and being able to make his own music! This was a great purchase!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 7/13/2010
Rating: 4

My 15 month old daughter enjoys her music class so much that we decided to buy this toy so she can play at home. She plays with every instrument and enjoys taking them out of the box and putting them back in.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Music Box
Posted 12/30/2009 by Trisha Bjurmark
Rating: 4

Construction and size of product was perfect. Bright and colorful.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Band in a Box
Posted 12/29/2009 by Megan Parsons
Rating: 4

I bought this for my daughter for Christmas and she loves it. I think the item is a great price and its very durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A nice box of creative noise
Posted 12/27/2009 by Jeffery H. Leichman
Rating: 4

The child to whom this was given immediately started experimenting with various ways of making different sounds - mixing and matching the parts to what adults might assume would be the "real" way to use them. Easy to see creative thoughts at work in a youngster.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a box
Posted 12/24/2009 by Andrew Potter
Rating: 4

A good selection of musical toys, suitable for any 2-5 year old who shows any interest in rhythmn or music

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a box
Posted 10/22/2009 by Penny Miller - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Band in a box is the cutest gift ever. The instruments are good quality and a nice variety of different ones for kids to play with. My grandaughter will soon be two years old and these instruments are a fun toy for her to play with and enjoy....who knows, she might decided to play an instrument when she is older...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Band in a Box
Posted 8/2/2009 by Sonya Sharma
Rating: 4

My ten month old son loves the instruments in the set, especially the cymbals. The quality isn't the greatest, but I didn't expect it to be at such a low price. It is a good value for the price and your price was quite less than other shops, both online and in-store.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mostly fun
Posted 3/30/2009 by Michelle Kluczinske
Rating: 4

This toy was such a great value. Of course you can't expect exceptional quality and the maracas are strangely quiet. My 11 month old daughter had similar instruments in a Music Together class and she loves these.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice toys
Posted 3/6/2009 by Christina
Rating: 4

Good quality, my almost 2 yr old loves to make music

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

instruments
Posted 9/24/2008 by yves salomon
Rating: 4

we thought the maracas were sub-par. even when shaken really hard the music is very faint. we've bought others from another company and they were much better. all teh other products were great and worked as we expected and would have liked.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Band in a Box
Posted 8/25/2008 by Dana - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

When I saw this online I knew I had to get it!!! When I received it in the mail and opened it the kids I nanny were all over it! The instruments are well made and create wonderful sounds!! I would definitley suggest this item to anyone with kids. It's a great set of instruments for young kids who love music! We like to march to music and play, shake and bang!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

new & exciting
Posted 7/9/2008 by Dr. Silverman
Rating: 4

My kids love playing with the new instruments. I have quads so taking them to music classes is a challenge. This is a great opportunity to let them play at home with music.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 6/17/2008
Rating: 4

Great idea at a nice price. We presented this gift to a family friend for his birthday - there were 4 children playing with it (with normal vigor). They all loved it. The only problem was that almost immediately the clacker had an issue, one of the strings that keeps the tension on the 2 flapping wood pieces broke. Otherwise, a great gift and toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Band in a Box
Posted 6/5/2008 by Jamie Michaud
Rating: 4

My kids love the Band in a Box but I have noticed that the product is not of the highest quality. The tambourine keeps dropping the wood filler that they used to keep the metal post in place for the cymbals parts (or whatever they are called). I was lucky and found the wood filler (it is tiny) and was able to stick it back in, but I cannot image that this is going to be the end of this problem. I guess you could always fill the hole with something better but you should not have to. It should stay together by itself. Otherwise it is great and I really like that there are enough parts so my 3 boys do not fight over them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Sound Puzzle
Posted 2/2/2008 by Shelly Reim
Rating: 4

Works well as long as product used in a brightly lit room. Shadows moving over the puzzle will cause other letters to sound off. This seemed to confuse my child at times.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band In A Box
Posted 1/15/2008 by Sarah
Rating: 4

This was a first birthday gift for my daughter. Her father, uncle and I all enjoyed it. It's still a little old for her, but I'm sure we'll get years of use out of the band in a box.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best Band Set, If Imperfect
Posted 1/14/2008 by Mark A.
Rating: 4

This high quality Band in a Box offers more instruments (and of higher quality) than most band collections. The Good: The tambourine is better sounding than any other band kit tambourines that I've tried; nice construction. The drum sound is surprisingly rich. Wooden clacker is sturdy and fairly loud. The kit also features a triangle and striker with adequate tone and firm construction. The cymbals are a little weak, but sliding them apart with glancing blows yields passable rings. The Not As Good: The wooden percussion tube is monotoned, and should provide a bit more variety for its bulk. The maracas, while very large and easy for an adult to grip are a bit cumbersome for young hands and are too quiet. I found another pair that are half the size (perfect for toddlers) and twice as loud without being irritating. The open wooden box is nicely made with green fabric inside. My 3 year old daughter immediately emptied it of instruments, and converted it into grassy fenced "corral" for her plastic horsies. Overall a nice band package. My daughter eventually enjoyed all of the musical instruments. I'd suggest losing the percussion tube and adding two small drumsticks for the tambourine, finding better/smaller maracas, and adding a simple wooden flute or kazoo. It would easily be worth twice the price while enhancing the musical fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Band in a Box
Posted 10/16/2007 by Elaine B. Sharp
Rating: 4

The instruments are high quality and very attractive to the eye. The manufacturer is "Melissa and Doug" a brand we have trusted for years. My 2 year old granddaughter loves them and will appreciate them even more when she is older. The only thing that could be improved is it would have been nice to have a lid on the box so that the instruments would be contained.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 4/12/2007 by Chris Stiner
Rating: 4

This is a wonderful set of instruments - particularly the cymbals and the triangle. I recommend it to anyone looking for a good basic set of musical instruments for their child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Band in a Box
Posted 4/8/2007
Rating: 4

All wood, good quality products. My daughter likes the instruments, but also likes regular pots and pans. The best part is that we can have a jam session when her friends come over.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Durable Toy!
Posted 4/8/2007 by Aurit
Rating: 4

Very durable, quality instruments, the kids (all ages) love playing with them. The clacker didn't work too well. I wish the box was better made - one side of it broke, and it would have been nice if it came with a cover.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun
Posted 2/20/2007
Rating: 4

I purchased this item for my 10 month old son to learn beat and tempo. Though he is still too young to play those instruments, he loves clapping hands when his grandmom plays them. He definitely enjoys it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Band in a Box
Posted 12/25/2006 by Dorothy J Olshefski
Rating: 4

My Grandchildren love the Band in the Box, We have a great deal of fun with all the instruments. The only problem I see right now is they already lost the string for the triangle. In another set I have from a different Co. there is a small hole in the top of the triangle to hold the string, therefore not to be lost. I would buy another set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Band in a Box
Posted 11/14/2006 by Stephanie Hill
Rating: 4

Great product. We have always loved all of the Melissa and Doug products. Well made and cute. I wish it wasn't quite so loud, but it is the natue of the toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks Great!
Posted 11/14/2006 by Denise Joyce
Rating: 4

It looks great! Very nice quality and a wide variety of instruments. I'll probably get another one in a couple years for my own son when he is old enough.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 11/12/2006 by Matthew Romney
Rating: 4

The product was great in lots of ways. The band items are fun and easy for children to use and enjoy. The products lack a little bit in sound. Perhaps they were made to produce a more muted sound? The maracas sound not quite filled as they should and the cymbal is muted. Otherwise, we enjoy them immensely.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Band in a Box
Posted 11/4/2006
Rating: 4

I bought this for my niece's 2nd birthday. She loves playing with it! So does her 6 year old brother. There are enough pieces that they can share and play at the same time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 10/27/2006 by Carole D - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I am very pleased with the Band in a Box. I purchased it to play marching band with my grandchildren. They love it. Everything is well constructed and the wooden box holding the instruments is very convenient.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Band in a Box
Posted 10/11/2006 by Nancy Martin
Rating: 4

It is a good set for young children to use for playtime. My children love the instruments. Their ages range from 2 1/2 to 6 1/2 years old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 9/27/2006 by Plannerben
Rating: 4

Good, inexpensive, high-quality musical instruments for your kid to bang on.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Band in a Box
Posted 9/12/2006
Rating: 4

During my Music Together classes for babies and pre-schoolers, we have a "play along" song. These brightly colored instruments are kept in a box and dumped out for the children to select and use. Some are played as instruments, some are used more "creatively" and the very youngest of my musicians just taste them (then these get wiped with a disinfectant cloth). When the song is over, the children bring the instruments and put them back in the box, some more gently than others. In addition to being very attractive and perfect for instrument play, they are durable. The children love them and so do I.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Musical Fun
Posted 8/1/2006 by Guzel
Rating: 4

I bought the Band in a Box for my two year old daughter. Even though the appropriate age is 3+ yrs, she enjoys playing with the fun musical instruments, especially with cymbals and a triangle. I highly recommend this set!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Band in Box
Posted 3/28/2006 by Julie Beck
Rating: 4

Great fun! Good quality. Only issue I had was that every item was attached into the "box" with multiple twisties and it took forever to untwist them all.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for 14 month old
Posted 7/5/2010
Rating: 4

We bought this toy to practice with instruments between music class for our 14 month old daughter. She loves playing with the instruments!! Both my husband and I would like to encourage music in her life. In music class, she is now participating even more. I think she feels more comfortable with the instruments in class since she is familiar with them at home.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in a Box
Posted 3/24/2009 by Charity Bailey
Rating: 4

I am very impressed with the quality of these instruments. I know the Melissa and Doug brand and these instruments are just as good as everything else I have purchased. I bought this as a gift for my 4 year old son. He really likes all the instruments. I was surprised at how quiet the instruments are. The toys obviously still make noise but its not that bad. My only complaint is that I wish the box had a lid, maybe something that hinged. Overall I am very happy with the purchase and my son seems to be as well.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Band in a Box
Posted 12/28/2013
Rating: 4

My kids ages 2 and 3 love the instruments. The only thing that I was not impressed with is the symbols,y just sound like hitting to pieces of metal together unless you do it softly. Over all it is a great product and we are happy with it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Band in a Box
Posted 11/11/2013 by Kathleen j flynn - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

is useful for my needs which is a juvenile prison population

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Band in the box
Posted 4/1/2013 by ELIZABETH A GOMEZ
Rating: 4

This product is great! We started Kindermusik and my child loves the band in the box. I hope that it holds up though. The recent Melissa and Doug products we have purchased have either cracked or peeled apart which hasn't always been the case.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Band in a Box
Posted 1/2/2013 by Erin Peckham - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was given to a 2 year old and a three and a half year old for Christmas and they played with it frequently. I think this will be a good toy for their ages and for a few more years to come.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02