Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Basic Skills Boards > Customer Reviews
Basic Skills Boards
0

4 Star reviews of Basic Skills Boards by Melissa & Doug

Return to Basic Skills Boards product information...

Basic Skills Boards has been reviewed 105 times with an average rating of 4.45

Great Skills Toy
Posted 8/10/2008
Rating: 4

My 17 month old loves this toy. We bought it for a long car ride and it has become one of his favorites. While he can't do the button, he is obsessed with the zipper and buckle. One note: the wooden pieces come out, which we weren't happy about. So we simply glued them into place so we wouldn't lose them.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 3/15/2010 by Kelly O'Connor - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I did not like that it was a puzzle. I found the pieces hard to manuever individually.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product for a wide age group
Posted 8/31/2009 by Elizabeth LaBarbera
Rating: 4

Melissa and Doug always make a high quality product. This one is no different. We got it as a gift for a 1 year old - she loved playing with the pieces, I also got one for my almost 3 year old son - he loved working on his "skills". I'd say this is a great addition to any household!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 7/10/2012 by Dan Kvachuk
Rating: 4

Bought for 1 yr old, will have to grow into it

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good toy - not just the standard puzzle
Posted 11/23/2009 by Bridget
Rating: 4

I gave this toy for my son for his 2nd birthday. It did get lost in all the "fun" toys at first, but at the end of the weekend it was one that he kept going back to. My son is very good at fine motor control and is constantly messing with coats, shoes, etc. If he was not like this already I would have probably waited to the 3 yr recommended age by the manufacturer.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 5/13/2008 by Tracy Graves
Rating: 4

Great product. I've bought Melissa and Doug items before. Always have been happy with them. This purchase was for my 5 year old daughter who has autism. It will be used in her therapy sessions.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Skills Boards
Posted 1/20/2009 by ruby dupont
Rating: 4

I like this, the button hole was a little to tight, but with increase use I think it will loosen.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Basic Skills Boards
Posted 10/29/2007 by Neely McGrew
Rating: 4

So far this has been a great "toy" to help my daughter with her fine motor skills.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Will be great
Posted 5/4/2012 by LD
Rating: 4

Our son is a little young for this puzzle (only one), but he is still able to take the pieces out and put the bear back together. Super cute puzzle and great features. I do see it being awhile until he is able to them on his own because you have to hold the pieces in the puzzle while tying, buttoning, zipping, etc. Still will be a great educational toy I'm sure he will love.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Overall pleased
Posted 12/26/2011 by Tara Chambers
Rating: 4

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my daughter who is almost 2. She is able to do the snap and the buckle, but not the other skills yet (which is why I purchased it - to give her practice with these things). One thing I did not realize is that it is actually a puzzle so the pieces come off; this does make it more difficult to do some of the skills with the pieces moving, it would have been better if they were stationary. Overall, I think this is an innovative toy that teaches her how to use different kinds of clothing fasteners - it is well made and good value for the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

love the puzzle
Posted 9/12/2011 by Kathy Yarbrough - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Bought it for my 3-year-old grandson and he was very excited. He had already mastered a couple of the skills, and tried really hard to work the other closures. I like that he can take out the individual pieces to work with, and he giggled at seeing the bear's undergarments beneath the 'clothing'. He even took the puzzle outside to show it to his Momma's friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 12/14/2010 by Kristina Zielke
Rating: 4

Its a good basic skills board. The little one I got it for is a bit obsessed with clips like on her booster and such, so this was a nice way to introduce more skills for her to work on. And she can unclip it, and not get herself out of the booster at the same time. :)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good quality toy
Posted 1/13/2013
Rating: 4

I think this will be a toy my 3-year-old will need to grow into. He struggled with it the first time playing, and he hasn't wanted to play with it much since. But, I see the potential!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Boards
Posted 1/3/2013 by Grandma Smith
Rating: 4

Our grandson enjoyed it very much and will be great for fine motor control and puzzlers. The only thing we thought was a little hard was the button, the size is great, but it could use a little more room (more fabric) to get it through. It will be a good tool to prepare him for school and tying his own shoes. Thanks.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, entertaining
Posted 6/3/2014 by kelli Emans
Rating: 4

Wish the material on the button and the belt where a bit easier for little hands, I even had difficulty with the button. Overall, fun toy! Interactive and helpful for learning tasks, my daughter loves the buckle!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 3/24/2014
Rating: 4

My daughter realizes all this toy has to teach, one item at a time, so she keeps going back. Because there are so many different pieces it keeps her interest. I believe it is well made as it has taken a beating already between my 2 year old and the dog. Love that it is wood.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 1/11/2014 by chris moore - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Great toy plus a puzzle too.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 9/22/2013 by Taryn Lathem
Rating: 4

Good learning toy and over time I feel my son will benefit.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Board
Posted 9/17/2013 by CASSIDEE REEVE
Rating: 4

Very fun. My son loves puzzles, colors and anything he can 'work'. Great quality and great practice at real life skills. I bought this for my soon to be 2 year old and although it is still hard for him to do some things, like the lacing, he really enjoys playing with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01