Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Basic Skills Boards > Customer Reviews
Basic Skills Boards
0

5 Star reviews of Basic Skills Boards by Melissa & Doug

Return to Basic Skills Boards product information...

Basic Skills Boards has been reviewed 106 times with an average rating of 4.45

Great activity!
Posted 9/23/2008 by Kim B.
Rating: 5

My children and I played with this Basic Skills Board at a local children's museum and we fell in love. I immediately got online to order it. My 3 & 5 year olds use it to practice their "basic skills". I recommend it to anyone with youngsters learning to tie their shoes, do up buttons or zip up zippers. It's a great learning tool!

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 5/5/2011 by Tanya Rolf
Rating: 5

I don't think thiis toy is for a one year old, maybe close to a two year old instead.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 10/25/2009
Rating: 5

Great puzzle and manipulative for little fingers! Our twin granddaughters celebrated their second birthday today and became activily engaged as soon as they opened this puzzle and the latch board one by the same company ("Melissa & Doug") They LOVED them both! I had the earllier version of these puzzle boards in my Head Stasrt classroom, and they were always the one table time activity that the children were attracted to....and they stood the test of time...and lots of handling over many years!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good for fine motor skills!
Posted 2/24/2012 by KATHRYN AKINS
Rating: 5

I think this will be great for my son when he is a little older. Right now he can work the snap, and he likes to do the puzzle. I wanted this for him so he can work on buttons, laces, buckles, etc. I know he'll be doing those before I know it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 6/28/2011 by Arlene DANIELSEN - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Product used by eighteen month old twins and it keeps them busy. EXCITING TO SEE HOW MUCH THEY CAN DO WITH IT NOW AND HOW MUCH THEY CAN BE LEARNING.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Basic Skills Boards
Posted 7/6/2010 by Christy Purdy
Rating: 5

This product is well designed and encourages use of dexterity well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wonderful
Posted 10/7/2008 by Andrea Isaac
Rating: 5

love this products. it is a great learning tool and is very cute.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 6/1/2008
Rating: 5

The Melissa and Doug Basic Skill Board is better than pictured. Each "skill", button, zipper, etc., is on its own sturdy removable piece. My son isn't ready to put the whole bear together without help, but he loves to examine the various pieces, and I can take a few along in a diaper bag too.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Keeps a Toddler Busy
Posted 4/12/2012 by Debbie Bittner - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My granddaughter loves playing with the diiferent parts of this "puzzle". The first piece she was really interested in was the snap part that resembles her car seat straps.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 4/3/2012 by jennifer
Rating: 5

That is great. My son love them ands he has more interest to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 2/8/2012 by Vicki Williams - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this puzzle as a fun teaching toy for my 18 month old granddaughter. Within minutes she was repeating the words, snap, zipper, buckle and so on and eager to try all the skills. She loves this puzzle and I am sure she will play with it every time she comes to grandma's house!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 11/25/2011 by Rebecca Cunningham
Rating: 5

Wonderful! Grabs his attention and we work on the skills together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Skills Boards
Posted 3/11/2011 by Cassandra haden
Rating: 5

Love the bright colors! Great fofr developing fine motor skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Board
Posted 12/29/2010 by jane uzzell
Rating: 5

great for entertaining the grandchildren from 6 mos. to 4, even 7 when they are around, too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Board
Posted 11/25/2010 by Bonnie Walker
Rating: 5

This is exactly what I wanted for my 4yr old grandson to help him with his fine motor skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Board
Posted 11/14/2010 by SALLY
Rating: 5

Provides a good basic skills set for the complicated tasks that little fingers face: buttons, zippers, ties, snaps etc... It is a puzzle with 6 pieces that are removable and underneath the puzzle pieces the bear is wearing underpants and a t-shirt that me three year old thought was hilarious!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Boards
Posted 1/2/2010 by Rae Frazer
Rating: 5

Good use of rugged materials, should last several years worth of toddler-hood.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for fine motor skills!
Posted 10/20/2009 by Yenia Randall
Rating: 5

I have a special needs toddler. This toy enhances coordination and attention! Our occupational therapist especially likes that all the tasks are on one board so it's easier for the child. would highly recommend it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Skills Boards
Posted 10/11/2009 by Loretta Apel
Rating: 5

I think the Basic Skills Board is excellent. It is very well made and has all the common opening. I like that it is a puzzle as well. My children where very excited when they saw the Teddy - he is very cute.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging Fun For Toddlers
Posted 5/13/2008 by Marguerite
Rating: 5

My grandchildren are younger than the recommended age for this toy. They still enjoy it immensely as a puzzle. We have a great time talking about the various pieces. I am sure that they will master the real life skills as they mature. Enabling them hours of independent enjoyment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Skills Boards
Posted 12/27/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very attractive and educational. Our granddaughter really enjoys it!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Skills Boards
Posted 10/26/2009 by Jason Machado
Rating: 5

excellent. high quality.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 5/14/2014 by Karen Roberts
Rating: 5

My daughter loves this. We were looking for something educational and fun for her birthday. We found it! She loves it!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super toy
Posted 11/13/2013 by Carol Rommelare
Rating: 5

Wonderful teaching toy. It's great to see a toddler playing with a toy that enhances his reasoning and fine motor skills. Wish I had this for my son when he was that age.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Happy nephew
Posted 4/2/2013 by Kesten King - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Everyone complemented the great quality

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 12/5/2012 by Amy Alvis
Rating: 5

Love Melissa and Doug puzzles!!! Good quality

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 10/26/2012 by Nancy Speedy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Loves it....works great with an adult.....catching on to some things automatically

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Skills board
Posted 10/25/2012 by Katie G
Rating: 5

Great quality. Some of the skills my son cannot perform yet so he gets frustrated but the ones he can makes up for it. Sometimes a pain because the pieces come off the bear. With a toddler it would be easier if they were fixed.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 8/19/2012 by Shannon Ballesteros
Rating: 5

I wish I could review this item, however, although they have said they were delivered I have yet to receive them...

4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills Boards
Posted 11/14/2013
Rating: 5

So much fun watching my grand child discover and improve his motor skills...He carries it around with him everywhere, he loves it, we love it.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 27 days ago by Holli Crawford
Rating: 5

Very fun and intriguing. Everything on the board works well and the pieces are very durable. I am thinking about attaching/gluing the pieces onto the board so they don't get lost and they are all on the board to aid in completing the skills.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Buckle Puzzle
Posted 7/31/2014 by RACHEL S DOWNTAIN
Rating: 5

My son is still too young to learn buckles and such, but he loves to play with them! So, I got this for him and he absolutely loves it!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Skills Boards
Posted 7/9/2014 by Martin Murphy - OTHER
Rating: 5

Mason ( the 2 year old boy ) was delighted with these challenging toys.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Puzzle
Posted 6/18/2014 by Roberta Wegner - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

actually we have not "delivered" it but I think it is absolutely fascinating and oh so cute. If it entertains grandma it will certainly entertain and teach granddaughter.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Skills
Posted 5/21/2014 by Wipawi Vanadit-Ellis - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The board is perfect for a 2 years old. He is putting his own shoes on and is ready to learn how to put on a shirt and other dressing skills. The board is also very good in helping him develop his dexterity.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic skills board
Posted 4/22/2014 by Kay Geroux - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Bought this for my granddaughter who has an affinity for problem solving, so although she isn't yet two years of age I felt she'd enjoy the challenge. The buckle is by far her favorite and the piece accompanies her often. Though she hasn't mastered the unbuckling she's persistent in fitting the two parts together. This can occupy her for upwards to ten minutes at a time. The zipper is also a favorite. So although I took a chance in purchasing this I'm pleased it intrigues her and will remain an interesting item as she develops. Cannot deny that it's eye catching and doesn't make a sound :)

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Adorable
Posted 11/21/2013 by Lauren Beckett
Rating: 5

The puzzle is adorable and well made. The colors are bright and vivid, it will make a great present for my nephew.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great puzzle
Posted 11/12/2013 by Kristin McClenthen
Rating: 5

Given to two-year-old who loves it. Child loves un-doing pieces, will grow into doing them back up. Definitely recommend this product!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 10/21/2013
Rating: 5

This is a great product. It's not only practical as it has helped my two year old learn how to do zippers, etc., but it is fun for her to do everything on the board. Even my five year old plays with it once in awhile. Definitely worth the money. It's bright and colorful, serves a purpose, and is fun for kids!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for small hands!
Posted 9/13/2013
Rating: 5

My 2 yr old loves this! Its large pieces are great for small hands. I like how it's also a puzzle. It is bright and colorful and teaches all of the basic skills as advertised. The clip is a bit difficult for our daughter and I'm always afraid she might pinch her fingers in it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 7/28/2013 by Joan Ladd - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My two year old grandson and his mother are both enjoying the Basic Skills Board his. He's very proud of himself when he accomplishes the task that she shows him how to do, especially "buttoning". They hope to move on to "tying laces" in the very near future!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Basic Skills Boards
Posted 12/26/2012 by Michael Estorer
Rating: 5

Some tasks are a bit difficult, but very engaging.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic fun
Posted 12/6/2012 by Sue Neubauer
Rating: 5

Beyond teaching the skills to zip, lace, buckle, tie, button and snap it is also a puzzle. It inidcates it's for age 3+ but is fine for younger children, too. Bright, colorful, strong and long lasting.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bilibo
Posted 4/4/2013 by Saundra Baker-McLean
Rating: 5

I was the video and bar graph and thought the bilibo would be a great gift for my 2 year old nephew and 1 year old son. Both love it. Both play with it in different ways. What I love the most is that it is a toy that works gross motors and allows creativity.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02