Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Farm Sound Blocks > Customer Reviews
Farm Sound Blocks
0

4 Star reviews of Farm Sound Blocks by Melissa & Doug

Return to Farm Sound Blocks product information...

Farm Sound Blocks has been reviewed 234 times with an average rating of 4.38

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 10/8/2007
Rating: 4

My 20-month old son seems to enjoy this toy quite a bit. He's never been a big lover of puzzles, but this 2-piece cube set seems to have caught his attention. He's now had it for a couple of weeks, and is really starting to figure out how the pieces fit together. Of course he loves the noises and finds it fun to mimic the various sounds. My only complaint (and it doesn't seem to bother my son one bit) is the fact that the toy emits sounds randomly, and not just when the correct pieces are positioned in the tray. Overall it's a great toy, and I would recommend it, particularly for kids who haven't yet developed the patience for traditional puzzles.

17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

farm sound blocks
Posted 4/21/2009 by Maria Barbieri - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My llittle granddaughter loved it. She has fun trying to make the blocks make a sound.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 1/17/2010 by Gail P - FRIEND
Rating: 4

The Farm sound Blocks were given as a birthday gift to a 2-yr old. She opened them and played with them immediately saying "mooo" for every animal but cows are her favorite. Other, slightly older girls who were present were also interested in playing with the blocks. Her mother told me that she is still playing with them days later. This is a perfect toy for 2+ yrs; no younger.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good toy
Posted 11/23/2009 by Shannon
Rating: 4

Our daughter, who isn't quite two, doesn't quite grasp what to do with this toy yet. However, I think once she is a little older she will enjoy it. It is a nice toy, good quality and intellectually stimulating. I agree with what other parents have said in that it is a little quiet. However, in my mind this is a good thing. How loud does it have to be for a child playing with it? For me, I'm glad it's not loud as I find loud toys grating.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy
Posted 10/15/2009 by Dawn from Seattle
Rating: 4

I bought these toys for my daughter on her second birthday. While the animal sounds aren't as realistic as they might be, she enjoys the toy overall. The blocks are a good size for small hands to easily manipulate, and matching the pictures on the blocks is easier than trying to snap puzzle pieces together. Although the sound quality isn't great, it's not too loud (nice for parents) and fun for little ones regardless.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 7/29/2009 by rafaela de la Huerta
Rating: 4

fun, space saving, easy to hold, nice design and construction

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

(Loud) Animal Noises
Posted 6/18/2012 by Melissa McCabe
Rating: 4

There is no volume control and the sounds are loud! The noises are very realistic - which is good and bad. It's good that the kids get the exposure to the actual sounds. But, my daughter almost looked confused when she heard them - LOL

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 11/17/2010 by Jane - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My twin 2 year old grandchildren both are enjoying the Farm Block Sounds. I especially like the fact that the correct sound cannot be heard until both blocks are positioned correctly, front to back. Their sizes are also a plus as they are easily handled. My only word of advice would be to make the animal sounds louder.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 4/11/2010 by fran Phleger - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I got this for my Grandson whom is two. He was so interested in the other toy I bought him he didn't really like or pay attention to it. So??????? I think it's a great toy but of course it wasn't mine.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/15/2009 by sam dent - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

i think its a great toy for learning i have a 2 year old grandaughter its a simple toy and not way can she get hut by it it reminds me of the good old fashion toys when i was a kid

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

cute product
Posted 11/19/2009
Rating: 4

Good sturdy blocks and at the right price.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/9/2011 by Gail Stamler
Rating: 4

It gets him to look at the blocks and put together the animal halves. It's very rewarding and funny when it makes the animal sound. He loves it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute for the price
Posted 12/30/2010 by Frank Santora
Rating: 4

My daughter is too young for this toy at 1 1/2, but for the price, I think in a few months it will be worth the money spent. Once they figure it out I'm guessing that they won;t play with it much, but for under $10 it teaches a good lesson and seems very well made. The blocks are tough enough to withstand use in other block-play activities. But hey, it's a puzzle, by nature they are made to be one shot deals. I mean how many erase their crosswords and do them again ?

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 3/17/2010 by Colleen Richardson
Rating: 4

The child is not quite 2 years old and he is still learning how to use it. Currently it is a game we do together. I would give it a higher rating if it were only made in the USA.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 3/4/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a great toy. My grandson seems to love the size of it as well as everything else. It's difficult to find quality, small toys for this age group.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good but not Great
Posted 2/10/2010 by Kathryne Stelzer - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Sounds are not the best. Not as impressed as I had hoped. When sitting on carpet the sound is almost not audible.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 7/22/2012 by RONI K WRIGHT
Rating: 4

This puzzle keeps them busy for a long time. They can create real and imagined animals and listen to the sounds they make.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 4/24/2012 by kathy standorf
Rating: 4

THRILLED WITH THE WATER SYMPHONY, THE FARM BLOCKS THE COW DIDN;T WORK..

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 3/4/2012 by Cheryl Potter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Still young for this toy. But she loves the noise the animal make

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 1/18/2012
Rating: 4

Great item with very few pieces! Kids of all ages found it to be a fun toy to play with the younger ones.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty nice
Posted 1/10/2012 by Mom
Rating: 4

The blocks are high quality that i 've come to expect from fat brain. Only criticism is that the sounds could be a bit better.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

O.K. Toy - good concept
Posted 1/1/2012 by Pam Collard
Rating: 4

I liked the toy, my 2 year old grandaughter liked the toy. That being said, it did not always work correctly and unless you changed the block configuration, it will continue to "moo", "baa", "neigh", etc. The animal sounds aren't very realistic. The volumn was good, audible but not too loud. The concept of matching the blocks is very good and my grandaughter really likes it when I help her. Overall, it's a good educational toy. I think I would have liked it better had it been made in the USA.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/22/2011 by Barbara Dalby - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My 18mth grandson gets a kick out of the animal sounds. Well worth the money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/18/2011 by Wendy Moeller - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Well made, good teaching tool, sound and sight recognition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute!
Posted 11/25/2011
Rating: 4

My nephew loves making the cow moo!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 10/18/2011 by barb pfeifer
Rating: 4

Niece is turning two, so great size for her to carry around, she loves the sounds

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

looks like good quality toys, A little smaller than I thought it would be.
Posted 8/23/2011 by Linda Hall
Rating: 4

Was a gift , did not open gifts at party, does not live near me, so will not know how he liked it. Unless the parents say so.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Farm Blocks
Posted 8/1/2011 by JULIE INGERSOLL
Rating: 4

I bought this for a girl that is about to turn 2 because the family just had a new baby. She seemed to really like it, but wasn't quite old enough to do it herself. Not only could she not match up the animals, she really couldn't fit the blocks in by herself. If you would hold the blocks and turn them, she would tell you whether or not they matched. I think she just needs to be a little older. The sales lady told me it would be perfect for a 2 year old. I do not have kids, so I'm not sure if this toy needs to be for an older child, or just wasn't right for this child. I thought it was a great gift to keep her busy while the focus was on the new baby.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 5/19/2011 by Deborah Hontz - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandson love this toy when he is quiet enough to sit and play with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 4/27/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was purchased for my 17 mo old grandson, He liked it very much, played with it alot of the day. The animal sounds are authentic, except for the horse!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 1/9/2011 by Jean-Pierre Jacqmotte
Rating: 4

Sounds are not loud enough

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/23/2010 by Eva Wyman
Rating: 4

The child likes to listen to the different sounds the animals make, so she works at it to get it right. I use it to teach her the names of the animals in German, and sentences like, "what does the cow say?" in German.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/20/2010 by Deanne Schuck - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Set of two blocks each with a 1/2 picture of farm animal. The holder that they rest in is the electronic portion. Match the animal correctly and it makes the sound of that farm animal.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

farm block puzzle
Posted 12/10/2010 by AMANDA L KRUSE
Rating: 4

Love this toy! Not only is it a great puzzle but also a learning tool for animal sounds!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Loves it!
Posted 11/25/2010 by Jan W.
Rating: 4

My 18 month old daughter loves animals and puzzles, making this a great gift for her. She loves the sounds. Great quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice wooden toy
Posted 6/13/2010 by Jessica Hall
Rating: 4

This toy has nice sound, nice pictures and feels like it is a quality product. My daughter is a little young to play with this by herself but she loves to play with it with Mommy and Daddy. It is nice to have the sounds of the animals and she is even trying to make some of the sounds herself now. This is also a toy that is fun for the parents and not annoying like so many of the other ones out there.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 1/6/2010 by Noah Wylie
Rating: 4

This is the neatest puzzle for little ones! My daughter just turned 2 - we gave the blockes to her for her birthday. She has needed help turning the block the right way to match it up, but she is delighted each time the puzzle 'responds' with a sound. I expect it won't be long till she can do it herself. Meanwhile her siblings have enjoyed it also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/27/2009
Rating: 4

I really like this toy. It was a gift for my nephew and we tried it out when he opened it Christmas Day. It was easy for my nephew to use and he really enjoyed listening to the sounds when he matched the pictures.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice toy!
Posted 12/22/2009
Rating: 4

I really like this product because it's unlike other toys I've seen. I think that it will be harder to keep my son interested in it for long because of the limited play options - only 6 animals to line up. The sounds are the natural reward which is a bonus!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Farm Sounds
Posted 10/25/2012 by MKay
Rating: 4

Product is great for working on animals and the sounds they make.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 10/4/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

have not used it yet

5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 11/12/2013 by Debbie
Rating: 4

Bought for my 1 year old son and right now he does not play with it on his own. When we play with it together, he likes the sounds and playing with the blocks. His big sister (4 yrs) does play with it once in a while, but I think it is too basic of a toy for her. On the base, where the blocks sit, the circuit board is exposed so it can read the rubber sensors on the blocks to make the appropriate sound when the head and tail of the animal are aligned correctly. I hope that over time this circuit board does not get damaged.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 10/30/2013 by Lindsay Moir
Rating: 4

My niece LOVES animals and animal sounds. This was a perfect gift for her!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My son likes it
Posted 9/11/2013 by Tanya
Rating: 4

I bought this for my son who is only one. At first he wasn't sure about it but then once I showed him what to do he does like it and is learning how to match the animals to make sounds. He also tries to imitate the sound it makes.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 7/2/2014 by Janet Lawrence
Rating: 4

Great toy for a 2 year old who loves animals. The sounds are great.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 5/22/2014 by Jeff Payne - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Product is well made, sturdy wood product Great learning toy Only suggestion would be to improve the sound quality, the animal sounds are not of a high quality, but after all they are blocks, but I have heard toys with better quality sound

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 5/14/2014 by Lily Truong
Rating: 4

My boy didn't like the sound so he played without it

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun toy without staying power
Posted 4/15/2014 by Ben
Rating: 4

i bought this for my 2 year old's birthday, she absolutely loved it and stills plays with it, but is really only good for a couple minutes each play. she's learned the 6 animals and what they say, and there's really no more to it. it does what it does excellently though, is more hands-on than a book, and the front-back problem solving skills it teaches are also more valuable than the static pictures of books. it's tricky to rate really, being really great while at the same time finished so soon. the functionality hasn't been done particularly carefully. the blocks are well made but the electrics links are a bit out, so sometimes no sound is made until you take them out and try again a few more times, and the rooster occasionally makes a pig sound.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Adorable
Posted 12/26/2013 by RAS
Rating: 4

Very cute! Just the right size for 14 month old hands. I forgot the AAA batteries though! Too much hustle and bustle from the time I ordered the product, received it, wrapped it and dashed out the door to remember I needed to provide batteries!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

down on the farm
Posted 12/26/2013 by Anthony J Musacchio
Rating: 4

well built, sturdy toy that combines the aspects of a wooden puzzle, memory game, and sounds to create an interactive experience.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/26/2013
Rating: 4

This was a gift and I haven't seen him play with it more that the night he got it.. but what I saw was a happy 18 mo with giggles!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/15/2013 by Helen Leonard - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The product seems great. It is a Christmas present and my grandson has not seen it yet. I am sure that he will enjoy it. I will gladly tell you after Christmas if you wish, what he thought of it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Animal Sound Making Blocks
Posted 10/14/2013 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This toy is very good for my nephew, he can grab the blocks by himself and work them into the tray. Only con is that they were heavier than I had expected.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 7/15/2013 by Morgan Linn
Rating: 4

I love that it teaches my child.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Moo to You!
Posted 6/30/2013 by Jodi - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Good for what it's meant to do but does require an an adult to help the child explore various concepts that relate to the product. It is fun!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandson's Birthday Gift
Posted 5/22/2013 by Diane G. - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The product arrived in excellent condition. I could tell the product was made well. I thought the colors of the animals were nice and it captured the interest of my grandson. The pieces seemed to be well put together so that it was safe for a one year old to use. The only thing that I found was that the sound was very quiet, and children love sound so I think the animal sounds could have been made a little louder.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun classic
Posted 5/1/2013 by laura k.
Rating: 4

The animal sounds are fun and engaging. The pictures are cute and brightly colored. It took my daughter a while to figure out how to align the blocks to make the sounds and she enjoyed turning them and being rewarded with the animal sound. It was frustrating that the toy is not ready to go out of the wrapper as batteries are not included and we had to hunt down AAAs and small screwdriver.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift
Posted 4/22/2013 by Joy Evans
Rating: 4

Got this as a gift for a 1-year-old boy and he loves it! Takes a couple of triple-A batteries that aren't included.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Therapy companion
Posted 3/22/2013 by Stephanie Gonyea
Rating: 4

I was excited to find this product. My son is in several different therapies and this toy addresses issues in two of them. Both of his speech pathologists have used this as a teaching tool and it also helps deal with my son's fine/gross motor skills.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun
Posted 2/14/2013 by qtmommywifey77
Rating: 4

These are fun and educational- they teach animal sounds and help with hand eye coordination. My 23 month old played with them most of the night on the 1st day he got them. Since then he plays with them, but not consistently, but another child may be consumed by them.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Momoftwo
Posted 12/29/2012
Rating: 4

I bought this toy for my almost 2year old son for Christmas. He plays with it frequently and loves the animal sounds. He still needs some help getting the pieces to match up.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/28/2012 by Annette - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

very unique and different

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/26/2012 by Kimberly Horning
Rating: 4

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my youngest daughter (10 months) but my older daughter (2 and a half) actually plays with it more. I think it will be a toy they both can enjoy for a while.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Farm Sound Blocks
Posted 12/26/2012 by Kathy
Rating: 4

They are a good size for my little ones hands, great colors, and very sturdy. The sounds are nice but VERY hard to hear since the speaker is on the bottom of the base. I wish they would have put the speaker on the side of the base or else made it louder.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03