Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Geometric Stacker > Customer Reviews
Geometric Stacker
0

3 Star reviews of Geometric Stacker by Melissa & Doug

Return to Geometric Stacker product information...

Geometric Stacker has been reviewed 183 times with an average rating of 4.52

Loved The Product, But The Quality?!?
Posted 12/31/2009 by Paula Holtz
Rating: 3

My one year old daughter likes to play with this toy. We really like the colors and the wood pieces. However, it looks like the pieces were put together before the paint dried. Some of the paint chipped off when we pulled the pieces apart. A few of the pieces still won't come apart. That is disappointing.
Melissa and Doug stand by their commitment to quality products. We promptly provided information on receiving a replacement for the defective stacking toy.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Geometric Stacker
Posted 2/21/2008 by Judith N. - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

This product is both heavy and awkward for a preschool child to transfer from one spot to another. Most of the children in my preschool needed help and it bumped them on the head while trying to get it off the shelf if they tried to pick it up on their own. The colors and workmanship are wonderful and very pleasing to the eye. The red ball shape topper on 1 stack keep rolling off table causing frustration. When I saw the Geometric Stacker on this great website I was excited about a new concept on this older idea for toddlers. I love Melissa & Doug products and have lots of them!! :) The concept appeared to be challenging & different especially for the "square piece" stacker with puzzle-like pieces. Unfortunately not one child from 3 to 5.5 was able to figure it out on their own during it's introduction to the classroom. They had a hard time understanding the concept to place each shape as a graduating shape stack. (I think because there were 3 stacks on one board and it became confusing) My thought is to maybe break up the set to one base for each stack (but keep it as a 3 piece unit) thereby maybe not overwhelming the user with it's weight and concepts. The child could then complete one stack, go back to shelf and place it next to the next single stacker and slowly graduate to the last one with puzzle looking square pieces. It was colorful and inviting to look at as a choice but a "wow factor" came in when they tried to pick it up. It did encourage imaginative play with stacking the various size pieces, colors & shapes on the table independent of the dowels that they were supposed to be placed on. So, I guess one would need to decide if the "work materials" from the shelf in your classroom needed to demonstrate the one concept of stacking in the right order or if your style of classroom is geared more to allowing more creative play with it. As a teacher I did sit down one on one with each child after they attempted on own and demonstrated how to do it. While they appeared pleased that "they did it" they have not chosen to go back to it as frequently as I thought they might. This of course is a matter of preference for each child and I will be curious as time goes on if it could possbly become a favorite after each child masters it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Stacking Blocks
Posted 8/6/2006 by Sherry Solomon
Rating: 3

It seems the blocks were packed while the paint was still moist so I received the blocks stuck together. Upon separating them, paint got everywhere that it shouldn't be on the blocks. Very disappointed. The blocks look 20 years old. However, as a product concept my 11 month old son loves them. I have to supervise him as the pegs the blocks go on could be dangerous.

But hey, they still make great hockey pucks!... Just kidding. Upon receiving this review, a replacement set was immediately sent.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Geometric Stacker
Posted 5/21/2008 by Eugene Rhee
Rating: 3

Made very well. It's solid. I think we'll have it for quite some time. Our baby is a bit young to play with it the way it is intended. It's good for now and I suspect it will be good later on.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Geometric Stacker
Posted 11/24/2006
Rating: 3

Most toys don't keep my son (21 months) occupied for more than 10 minutes. This classic toy keeps him busy for 30 minutes at a time. He loves to stack the different shapes and the wooden pieces are obviously extremely durable. This is a great toy!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Geometric Stacker
Posted 3/15/2006 by Julie Beck
Rating: 3

We love the Geometric Stacker - my 2 year old son's eyes turned into silver dollars when he first saw it, and he plays with it and carries his "O's" around with him wherever we go. Only disappointment (which was easily fixed with Super Glue) was that one of the three pegs fell out within a day.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Geometric stacker
Posted 3/9/2006 by Elyn McEvoy - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

Personally I didn't care for the way the square pieces were cut in half. I feel it adds a level of difficulty a bit higher than the graduated size discrimination skill and also confuses the comparisons of the shapes as it makes identifying a "square" a nit harder. I ended up gluing the halves together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Geometric Stacker
Posted 10/14/2012 by Brenda Holden - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

I was disappointed that the middle spindle was bent and I didn't realize it until it was already open and the grandkids started to play with it. I am worried that it might break off. Next time I will try to assess whether there is damage before they see the toys so I can return them, if needed.
We contacted our customer promptly. We're aligned with your complete satisfaction. Please visit our Returns & Exchanges Center for quick assistance.)

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02