Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Learn-to-Play Piano > Customer Reviews
Learn-to-Play Piano
0

Customer reviews of Learn-to-Play Piano by Melissa & Doug

Return to Learn-to-Play Piano product information...

Learn-to-Play Piano has been reviewed 63 times with an average rating of 4.44

A great little piano
Posted 9/23/2008 by Carmen Freel
Rating: 4

I ordered this toy for my son on his first birthday. We have other toys by Melissa and Doug, so I decided to give this one a try. I am very pleased with the piano. I like the bright paint colors, and the fact that the black keys work (some of the other baby pianos I looked at had non-working black keys.) This piano was also lower in price, maybe because it does not come with a bench, but it is low enough that your child can sit on the floor or on a pillow and play. Or if he is learning to stand/walk, he can play while standing. The piano package says 3+ years, but my son is one and loves to bang the keys. When he gets older, maybe we can use the songbook too. We are very happy with this toy and would recommend it to others.

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 1/13/2009 by Bill Earle
Rating: 5

Very high quality construction. A durable glossy water based paint finish gives a feeling of surviving the drips and spills of the tot musicians. The sound is crisp and tiny piano quality. My grandson took right to it and had a great time right out of the box.

12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 12/11/2008 by D. Hogan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The piano is attractive, sturdy and easy to play. It is in tune and has an attractive, jolly tone. You could play Beethoven on this if you were so inclined. Great for showing simple melodies to kids, and giving them an introduction to music

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 6/29/2006 by Susan Shin
Rating: 4

Size is just perfect and the construction is sturdy. Just the right amount of notes (2 octaves) for the beginning player. Some notes are a tad sharp, but again it is for the beginning player so it doesn't have to be pitch perfect. The accompanying song book is easy to read and play. The price is just right for this type of piano. I would buy this as a gift for other preschoolers and highly recommend it to other parents.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 11/23/2008 by Joanne L Sayre
Rating: 4

This colorful piano was a big hit with my 2-year old granddaughter and her 4-year old brother. The two of them like to bang out a tune whenever they walk by the piano. This piano is well made, heavy for its small size, and very colorful. A good deal for the price.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 11/10/2008 by Rachel Becquer
Rating: 5

My husband and I gave this to our son for his second birthday and he loves it! It is so cute to watch him pound away at the keys. I love the fact that it comes with a book so when he's older he can learn the basics. I also was surprised at the sound. It's not the highest quality, but it's a toy so I wasn't expecting much. However, some reviews said all the keys sound alike which is not true. You can play simple songs and recognize them. I would definitely recommend this product. It is a great toy at a great price.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it
Posted 8/28/2008 by Mondie Gonzales
Rating: 5

This piano is well made, sturdy, and a lot of fun!

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great piano
Posted 6/22/2009
Rating: 5

We've only had it a week, but so far the piano seems great. While it doesn't sound like a real piano, the sound quality is much better than a similar piano made by a different company. Like the little song book that makes it easy to play familiar tunes.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy!
Posted 5/26/2009 by Kenyon Nahvipour
Rating: 5

We purchased this piano for our 1-year-old daughter. She loves the piano. It's just the right size for her and she was able to figure out how to play it right away. Many children and adults have enjoyed playing with it as well. It's a solid toy - very well made. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the chemical smell when I unwrapped it. I set it outside to air out and then it was fine.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Piano
Posted 4/30/2009
Rating: 4

Cute product, fun to play songs on, and quite sturdy - my one year old likes to climb on top of it and sit on it (when his mom is not watching). I would recommend this product to anyone. I especially like that the paint used is non-toxic and it is wood, not plastic.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 4/22/2009
Rating: 5

I bought this for my two year old daughter who is very attuned to music already. She absolutely loves it! She will sit for more than 30 minutes a day trying to figure out the sounds and keys - not really focused on notes and tunes yet. She tries to read each key and already knows Low, Middle, and High C. The keys are close enough togther and fairly lightweight, so she can practice using each individual finger. A great, unique gift for a child who is attentive and patient.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-To-Play Piano
Posted 2/18/2008 by Andy Randazzo
Rating: 3

My 18 month old loves to sit at real pianos, so I had to get her one of her own. I was disappointed that I could not find one that was NOT made in China. Which is why it is not really "in-tune". I realize it's a toy, but with a little bit more quality control I think it could be. Also, some of the keys stick, right out of the box. Nevertheless my daughter enjoys sitting at it and composing her first symphony. ;o)

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 1/2/2008 by Elizabeth O'Donnell - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

It was great and captured the interest of my niece!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 12/29/2007
Rating: 5

My daughter plays with it all day long and asks for it as soon as she wakes up in the morning. It's a wonderful toy and a fun way for toddlers to orient themselves with music.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 12/20/2007 by Alice Keane - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Colorful, sturdy and adorable.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 12/16/2007
Rating: 5

Great item! My kids, ages 2 and 5 love it. My 2 year old just bangs on the keys, but my 5 year old is following the instructions that come with the piano. It came fully assembled and ready for play.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Toy Piano
Posted 9/4/2007 by Robert Williams
Rating: 4

My 14 month old has a lot of fun banging on the keys. When he is older, maybe he will learn some tunes. The sound is kind of tinny, but I guess thats to be expected from a toy piano.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 7/19/2007 by Aimee
Rating: 5

The piano is very sturdy and plays a loud enough sound. The music songbook is easy for older children to use. My younger ones just love to make their own music on it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It !
Posted 9/27/2006 by Theresa
Rating: 5

My daughter loves her new piano, though she is only 6 months old, she is the perfect height to sit on the floor and play. This is a toy that will grow with her and eventually teach her the basics of playing the piano. As for now she loves to hear different sounds she can make by banging on the keys. It's a good thing its very sturdy.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 22 Month Daughter Loves It
Posted 8/7/2006 by Jie Yin
Rating: 4

Bright color, decent sound, attracted my daughter instantly. The design and build quality are top-notch. The easy-to-follow songbook is fun to play. My only complaint is some of the keys are slow to rebound back once pressed. I'm not sure whether it is a defect or by-design for some unknown purposes.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 4/18/2006 by Arleen Daidone - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My granddaughter loves the piano. The quality of the construction is excellent. When she grows out of its size we will turn the piano over to my sister's grandson.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Concerened Mother
Posted 1/7/2009 by W. Frantz
Rating: 5

Absolutely LOVE this! I bought this for my 9 month old son and it is his favorite toy. The piano is the perfect height for babies/toddlers to sit at by themselves. He loves to bang on it and laughs every morning when he sees the piano. It was very imporant to me to find a toy that will grow with him - I love that he can play with it for years to come(as he gets older he can learn to read music and play actual songs.) My son will sit at thi piano for 20 minutes at a time. Since it is musical - I can walk around the house and do chores and hear him play. The sound is great. I was looking for a toy that is educational, fun, eco-friendly and will grow with him. This piano is all that and then some. The primary colors are very inviting to young children. I am so glad that I bought this!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn to Play Piano
Posted 8/22/2008
Rating: 5

The Melissa and Doug: Learn to Play Piano was a great hit. My daughter who is only 15 months loves practicing her standing and playing at this little piano. She absolutely loves the sounds and it is great for the family to sit around and sing a song or two before bed time. All in all this toy is an educational winner.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful
Posted 7/16/2008 by Jane
Rating: 5

My one-year old son LOVED it!!! It was his favorite present for his first birthday and crawled right to and started pounding away!!1

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-To-Play Piano
Posted 5/27/2008 by Barbara - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a wonderful toy and the sound is delightful to the ears. I purchased this piano 3 years ago for a grandson, who is now 5 years old. His 11 month old brother loves it now too and this second piano was purchased for another grandson on his 1st birthday. My reasons for purchasing the piano were/are as follows: solid wood construction, safe and beautiful paint, the design accommodates a growing child, the sound is beautiful, the Melissa and Doug brand stands for quality and safety, the lettered keys and music book enable the toy to be enjoyed for many years.........and what a great price for such a multi-sensory toy. Thank you for this great product. My grandson, Max, was thrilled with his new piano and he is delighted with himself when he touches the keys and makes music.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 1/22/2008 by Emily Rowe - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

I didn't expect it to be so small.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful for all ages
Posted 1/4/2012
Rating: 5

We bought this for our almost 2-year-old. But our other children -- ages 10 on down -- play with it as well. It's just fun and grabs your attention. A great gift, as long as you can put up with the extra noise. The piano itself is built extra sturdy and the color is fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 10/7/2009
Rating: 3

I thought about buying a baby piano, xylophone, or electric keyboard, but I came across this piano. I thought it would be perfect to introduce my son to ways to make music (and last a lot longer than some of the other choices). I found that the concept is great, but I am concerned about the longevity. The quality is okay - the wood seems to be sturdy but right out of the box, the keys stick and can move/float around a little (which makes me wonder how long it will last since it is made for kids). The color/note codes over the keys are paper and not painted on. my son already has taken notice of this. Overall, product is okay. Just not quite the quality I had hoped for from Melissa and Doug. I recommend testing the product, if you can, prior to purchase.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Learn-to-play Piano
Posted 8/25/2008
Rating: 5

This piano is all that a two year old needs to feel part of the band! It is sturdy, washable and colorful.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 12/7/2010 by Carolyn and Mark Boswell
Rating: 5

sounds great for a toy piano well made delivered quickly sturdy

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mia's First Piano
Posted 12/7/2009 by Tami DeRose
Rating: 3

I was a little disappointed with the note strip on the piano. It has two little pieces of tape at each end. It was the first thing that my daughter ripped off. I would think that a Melissa and Doug product would have the notes of the piano engraved or somehow permanently written on them knowing how much babies like to touch and pull on paper. Some of the piano notes sometimes stick when you push down on them. The sound is OK. I was looking for more of a piano sound, but the sound is better than the plastic light up toy pianos that I have seen. The size is perfect for my 9 month old. It is sturdy enough for her to pull up on to a standing position as long as the piano is against the wall or couch. I like the song book.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 10/26/2009 by Happy Customer
Rating: 4

The Play and Learn Piano is as described although we haven't put it to use just yet. The easel is exactly what I wanted and my son seems to like his new toys so far.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 1/25/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very happy with quality. My daughter loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 2 1/2 year old at christmas and he hasn't really touched it. If I play it with him he loves it but he is still to young to fully appreciate it. Would have been better for an older child. But overall the quality is great and I can harldy wait for him to be able to enjoy it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice piano!
Posted 11/25/2010
Rating: 5

A great little piano for children who are showing an interest in music. It has enough keys to actually play some music. The toy is described as for toddlers, but my 5 year old really loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 7/14/2010 by Erica McElhaney
Rating: 5

Very well constructed. Visually appealing. Easy to use for my toddler. Sound quality could be better. Came with a book of songs with easy to read instructions for future learning.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift for 1 year old
Posted 10/8/2009 by Marilyn
Rating: 4

We haven't had an opportunity to judge the gift, but it appeared to be everything the ad said it was. The parents said it looked very sturdy - a major concern - especially since their 1-year-old tried to climb on it. He was immediately delighted with it and started to play on the keys, so I would say it's very appealing to very young toddlers.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 10/7/2009 by Dorothy Hudson
Rating: 5

This was my first time buying from Fat Brain Toys. I was very pleased with product. The sound is much better then I thought it would be. The piano is heavy and does not tilt or turn over. Keep up the good work in making more top quality toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 10/6/2009 by Alessandra Senzani
Rating: 5

colorful and solid little piano! our one year old son loves hitting the keyboard or listening to us play. The sound is not perfect but good enough at this stage. Definetely a great gift even for a one year old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

learn to play piano review
Posted 8/29/2009 by Eugenia Balsinde - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The piano is magnificent. My 11 month old nephew took it and immediately started playing. It was wonderful seeing him interact in such a way. I am hoping he begins to develop an ear for music.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Toy
Posted 8/25/2009 by Boris Berman
Rating: 4

Nice, bright, and musical.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Piano
Posted 11/11/2009 by Alicia Tharp
Rating: 5

My 1 year old daughter loves this piano! She plays along with her daddy as he plays his guitar! It is perfect size! Doesn't take up to much room and fits her just right!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just ok
Posted 6/5/2012 by Randi
Rating: 3

The piano is heavy - so it does not tip over easy. The keys are slightly out of tune some sharp & some flat. Some of the keys are almost dead sounding. Overall just an ok.
If any purchase is not in tune with your expectations contact us. We're sharp and we'll help you out in no time flat. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice ...
Posted 12/29/2009
Rating: 4

This is a nice "starter" piano for a small child interested in learning to play and it is a big hit with the kids. Overall craftmanship is excellent. However, I gave it four-stars as I'm not particularly fond of the sound it produces; and was a little disappointed in the amount of songs offered in the song book.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good product
Posted 12/7/2009 by Patricia Rosas - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a gift for my grandson so he has not played with it yet, but it looks very attractive and age-appropriate.

4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointing
Posted 12/27/2013 by Karen oneil
Rating: 2

I had counted on Melissa and Doug for a quality product, but although this piano looks very cute, it makes a miserable plinky sound, not in any way appealing and guaranteed to just add to the din rather than create a sense of making music. Very disappointed.
If the piano sound is off-key, our 100% satisfaction guarantee is in harmony with your expectations. We assisted our customer promptly. Please keep in mind, this is a toy piano. Schoenhut also creates fine toy pianos. You may wish to view our selection of Schoenhut pianos as well.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 3/18/2013
Rating: 2

I was really excited about this piano for my daughter who loves music. Unfortunately the piano was cracked right out of the box. It wasn't visible because of all the manufacturer packaging wrap.
When a toy piano is defective - here's a tip that's right on key. Our customer service team moves allegro to make things right. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details. We assisted our customer promptly.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 1/14/2013 by Deborah Meixler
Rating: 5

My granddaughter just turned one and seems to really enjoy the toy piano. She frequently goes over to it even if her parents are not encouraging her to play on it. it seems to be a hit with Joelle and her parents.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Learn-to-Play Piano
Posted 1/10/2013
Rating: 5

We gave this to our 2 grandsons ages 1 and 3 for Christmas. They were both thrilled with it. The keyboard is big enough that they could both play notes at the same time. We had to wait quite awhile before they were even interested in opening any more presents. We removed the colored strip used for playing songs out of the included songbook as it was obviously for older kids. It will be saved for when they can really understand how to use it. We were very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03