Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set > Customer Reviews
Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
0

Customer reviews of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set by Melissa & Doug

Return to Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set product information...

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set has been reviewed 84 times with an average rating of 4.64

Simple, Quiet Activity
Posted 9/3/2008 by Marisa Simpson - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 3

I intended this for my 4 year old, but it is too easy. My just turned three year old appreciates it now, but I can see her growing out of it soon. The quality is high, but the patterns are simplistic. It is not very challenging. It is helpful that the pieces are magnetic. I think it will be good in the car.

15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 3 1/2 year old loves this
Posted 4/8/2010
Rating: 4

I got this for my 3 1/2 year old daughter as a gift. She likes to use the patterns provided to make the designs - kind of like a puzzle. The magnets stay stuck to the board well, but they are still really easy to take on and off. And I love that there is space to store everything in the case, because there are lots of parts! My daughter hasn't really started to play with it to make her own shapes yet, but I can see that she will probably enjoy doing so as she grows. Great that this toy will last a while. My only complaints are that the shapes on the templates are a bit smaller than the actual piece shapes, so it makes it difficult to build the more intricate designs where the pieces are all close together. And also that it does not come with more templates to build. Overall though a good toy. Holds her attention for long spans of time.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/18/2008 by Amy
Rating: 4

My three year old son loves the magnetic set. He is learning the name of colors and shapes with this toy. My five year old does the designs without the pattern cards, so you can change the difficulty level. It comes with a case that is easy to keep everything organized. The only thing I would improve would be more pattern cards.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 10/11/2009 by Maryland Mom
Rating: 4

I bought this for my daughter's 3rd birthday and it seems like it might be better for a child a bit older - maybe 4. I think it's a little advanced for a 3 year old, and requires quite a bit of skill with the very small pieces. I'm sure she will love it later, but I don't think it's quite age-appropriate at this point. I also don't think the materials were all that high quality. The other toys I bought in this order seemed to be much for durable and better looking. We'll hold on and give this one a try next year...Thanks for asking our opinion.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/10/2008
Rating: 5

I purchased the Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set as a gift for a 4-yr-old and he absolutely loved it! His mother thought it was wonderful as well.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful!
Posted 7/23/2008 by Sarah King
Rating: 5

I love this! I bought it for my 6yr old Daughter for a road trip. Everything fits great into the bag so she could carry it around and nothing got lost! It provided hours of entertainment and allowed her to use her imagination and creativety! I just adore this!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 3/30/2010
Rating: 3

I was hoping the blocks would be a bit better quality/heavier. The frame of the magnet board was slightly chipped and sharp. That being said, my three year old son loves them.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 3/11/2010 by todd bunker
Rating: 5

my daughter loves this I am amazed at how creative she is we can take it anywhere, and for all her friends birthdays I am buying this toy. The value, ease of use, and easy cleaning makes it a parents friend. We ate at a resteraunt and she was so occupied we almost forgot she was there. thank you thank you for this toy I Love it . we can also create with her which is a lot of fun the whole family gets involved.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

magnetic pattern blocks
Posted 9/16/2010 by MARIA A MILLER
Rating: 5

My granddaughter enjoys this a lot and uses it whenever she visits. It was made for the car, but I like it for the house because the pieces don't get lost. The product is well made, the magnets hold up well. I put the magnets on a cake pan and she can easily transport them to the "easel" without losing any.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for mimicking and creative play
Posted 8/29/2009 by Elise Eller
Rating: 4

My three-year-old daughter enjoys playing with this toy. She's fascinated by the magnetics, and she loves trying to reproduce the drawings included in the set. She also likes to organize the magnets by shape and color. As she gets older, I believe she'll be more creative and make her own designs. Great for traveling, too!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 8/21/2008
Rating: 4

My 2.5 year old daughter loves this toy! She was really into puzzels before I purchased this for her, and it seems to work her "artistic" brain well. Hours of fun and imagination!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 1/4/2010
Rating: 5

We ordered this for our 3 year old daughter for Christmas. It came exactly as described. She put it to use right away and loved matching all of the shapes with the pictures. The next time we got it out, her older sister (6 years old) and I played with her - and we took turns making different patterns. It was/is a lot of fun for the entire family.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super FUN way to spend an hour
Posted 3/21/2012 by Lesley Hurley - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this toy for my 4.5 year old daughter and 4 year old niece! Both girls will lay on the floor for up to an hour quietly following patterns and creating their own. It's a game with no batteries, light up noises/sounds and can be played independently...all wonderful things! I am excited to take this set on our next car trip! The only drawback is not having a separate place to put the magnetic pieces (like a side zip pouch on the carrying case). I added a large ziploc plastic bag for the pieces, which my daughter can slip out and place next to her to grab from.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/3/2011 by Michelle Miller
Rating: 4

I got this for my 2.5 year old daughter, initially for a car trip. I wasn't sure if she would like it yet, the pattern sheets are too advanced for her. Turns out, she loves it and plays with it every day. She makes a lot of creations that bear absolutely no resemblance to the things she claims they are (i.e. the chicken looks exactly like the car), but it obviously provides good space for her imagination. As a bonus, the adults in the household enjoy it too. Only gave it 4 stars because there is nowhere good to store the pieces you aren't using, therefore its not the best as a car toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review
Posted 12/22/2010 by Susan Willey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandson loves the Melissa and Doug magnetic pattern blocks. He turned three in September and was able to figure out the templates without any assistance. He also enjoys using the magnet pieces to create free form designs. My son loves that it came with a sturdy bag for storage and transportation. I had purchased magnetic blocks for the daycare I operate several years ago and they are still a favorite of both our preschool and prekindergarten classrooms.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 12/12/2010 by Homeschooling Mom
Rating: 5

This is the second one of these that I am purchasing. My daughter recieved her set a few years back and now my son is getting one. We use them in our homeschool pattern activities and then they play with them also. As homeschoolers with a Montessori focus, we love these toys. Melissa & Doug are well known for quality and have earned that.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/14/2010 by Marcy Bishop - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this for my grandchildren to have fun with when they come to our home, which is only every few months, so to say they play with it frequently means only that often. I try to find toys they don't have at home and you are a Godsend for that purpose!! Thanks!!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy to keep them busy.
Posted 8/10/2010 by BUSSARIN MANOPING
Rating: 4

Its great to keep your child busy specially 2-3 years old. They are full of imaginations.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 10/4/2009 by chris parsell
Rating: 4

Decent quality pieces and board. The picture inserts are just paper so I don't expect them to last long. My kids love doing puzzles so this fit and has been well liked by my 5 year old boy and girl and 2 year old girl. The carrying case is nice and durable.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Appeals to different ages
Posted 9/2/2009
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my 2 year old (to be used with supervision, as the pieces are small). However, it was a big hit with her 5 year niece and 4 year old brother as well. They all enjoyed working with the patterns and from their imaginations as well. One caveat: when the label came out of the set's bag, it left behind a sticky residue that damaged some of the pieces before I covered it with paper.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 6/18/2012 by Gwen
Rating: 4

My little guy loves to play with this. After he worked all the pictures available he began creating his own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Set
Posted 4/25/2012 by Scott Collier
Rating: 5

My 5 year old loves this. There are an infinite number of combinations and concepts to explore. It is also perfect for those times when getting out paint or crayons or markers is just too much - he can 'draw' (make pictures) with this.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 2/15/2012 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Quality materials. Ability to follow pattern or make own design. Good for younger children who can place pieces on magnetic board (make sure they don't go in the mouth). Good for older children who can be creative with own designs.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great puzzle
Posted 1/9/2012 by Lavinia
Rating: 5

My 4yr old daughter really likes matching pieces to the cards and making her own designs. The carrying case is nice. Don't know if it just mine but the cards are really hard to push down into the holder. My 4 yr old cannot do it herself.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 12/30/2011 by Laura Hartman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We love it. I got it for my 3 year old grand daughter and this item has created a lot of "quality time" for the two of us. Its her favorite. Thank you fatbrain for making great quality toys for my grandkids.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 12/27/2011 by CAROL A LUND
Rating: 5

We gave this to our almost 3 grandson. He is one that will stay with an activity for a long time and his provides the fun where he can do that.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 11/29/2011 by RREVIS
Rating: 5

I love the idea of this product. My daughter just turned 4 and she loves it. She also has to share it with her 9 year old sister. It gives her the satisfaction of solving the puzzle. The quality of it is good too. The magnets stay in place when you lay them next to each other. She can even pick the whole thing up and show it to us vertically and it doesn't slide off. The colors are bright and fun. The carrying case helps keep everything together protected.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wow
Posted 11/29/2011 by Gurdeep Nottay
Rating: 5

It's amazing, good for keeping busy kids for long time. My 7 year old autistic boy plays with it for a long time because he loves magnetic toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The kiddos think it's a game... the teacher knows they're learning!
Posted 11/28/2011 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I was shocked but very pleased to find that they came in a carrying case of sorts. All of the pieces make their way back to the bag... nothing's gotten lost yet! The magnets are very high quality and the kiddos love them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 11/10/2011 by Terri Holbrook
Rating: 5

My preschoolers love this! I love how it comes with a bag for travel and to keep all the pieces together. They are working with the patterns included now, but when they get those finished or tired of the pattern, then they can make up their own designs. The magnet pieces are real wood so they should last for a while. The colors are bright.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 1/4/2011 by Marsha - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 3 1/2 year old niece and she enjoyed putting the magnetic pieces over the patterns. As she grows, she may enjoy making up her own designs. The wooden magnetic pieces are well constructed and the only reason I gave this a 4 on the scale was due to 1 wooden piece was missing its colored top half. The carrying case helps greatly to contain the peices and makes it easy to take it anywhere.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I cannot evaluate as presents not given yet. However your punctuality in dealing with the order was impressive.
Posted 11/8/2010 by jEANNE CLARKSON - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

These gifts are for christmas so can't evaluate yer.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great toy
Posted 12/28/2009 by Barbara Ann Stager - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 3-year old granddaughter who loves puzzles and blocks and toys of that nature. This has all the shapes needed to make any picture she conjures or copies. The magnetic board it came w/ is great, but she plays with it on my refrigerator when I am in the kitchen working. We both love it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very fun for the kids!
Posted 12/27/2009 by Rachael Hoadley
Rating: 5

The set is durable and the kids seem to love it. The carrying case is very convenient so that pieces are not lost.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!!!
Posted 11/27/2009 by adrienne dodson
Rating: 5

My daughter enjoys using pattern blocks at school, so I know she will LOVE these for home. I appreciate that they are magnetic and will stay on the board or be stored in the bag the set comes with. I like that it is educational and fun. My daughters will be developing math and spatial skills while playing!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 6/18/2009 by Rebecca Mutschelknaus - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My 3 yo great niece loved these puzzles, as they present a new challange.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 8/21/2008 by Brian Dale Hicks
Rating: 4

I love the toy, my 4 yr old seems to enjoy it as well. I think as he gets older it will be even more fun for him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great travel toy
Posted 7/2/2008
Rating: 5

Excellent product!! My 3 year old really enjoys it and is easy for travel, and long entertainment!! Definetly worth getting...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 6/11/2008 by Kacey Huffman
Rating: 4

My 4-year-old likes this product. I bought it with the intention of using it on a long car trip, but it has been something he has wanted to use other times as well. There are a lot of pieces, so inevitably some will be misplaced, but other than that...it's great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 5/13/2008 by Tamara Hodgins
Rating: 5

We bought this toy to keep our 5 kids busy on a 28 hour car ride. The only problem is, now they fight over who gets to use the toy first! It is entertaining for our twin three year olds all the way up to our oldest who is 8. They love to make new shapes and designs and create pictures!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun
Posted 4/23/2008 by mom in san diego
Rating: 4

My almost three year old is having a lot of fun with this toy. She plays with my old "Brainy Blocks" when we visit my parents' house so I knew she would like this when I saw it. She is able to match the blocks to the patterns very easily as the patterns are actually color coded to show which shape to use where. Not sure if this will be something she'll be playing with a year from now as it may be too easy by then. I'm considering creating some black and white patterns for her to use with this toy once we reach that point.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/16/2007 by Betsy Liljeberg
Rating: 4

I purchased these magnetic toys for kids to play while visiting my office (Psychiatric NP). They offer kids a mindless, yet creative outlet. The kids have used them with great enthusiasm and creativity. It is quite amazing to see what someone can create out of even the most basic shapes. Throw away the Playstation! Kids naturally love magnets!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love Them!
Posted 7/31/2007
Rating: 4

We love the pattern blocks! They are a lot of fun to travel with as well as a fun toy to bring to restaurants. They are going to be a lot of fun for many years to come.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect Toy For Any Age
Posted 7/17/2007 by Evie Cox
Rating: 5

The pattern blocks are simple yet very entertaining. They capture the attention of my whole family. It's easy to get hooked on these pattern blocks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 6/10/2007 by Corey Strohmeyer
Rating: 5

Great for travel! The kids spend a lot of time playing with this toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Worth the $$
Posted 5/14/2007 by Cristina Gillom
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 3 year old for a long trip in the vehicle. She loves it! The peices are great to work with outside of the templates that are provided in the set. It really boosts a child's imagination. The travel case is just an added bonus. If you have a high energy child, this product will certainly excite them and keep their attention for a long period of time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 12/30/2009 by James Flynn
Rating: 5

Given to a four year old granddaughter for Christmas. She didn't need any explanation and just began to use the Magetic Board and Blocks. A very good educational and fun toy!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 12/29/2009 by Nick Dovey
Rating: 5

Has played a little with it but is not captivated with it yet.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 11/3/2008 by Sarah Murphy
Rating: 5

Great products - high quality

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/16/2012 by Aileen Melendez - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a present for my grandchild that lives in New York. I will give to her next week but I anticipate and hope she loves it!!i I will have a better opinion in two weeks.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 4/28/2014
Rating: 5

Great toy. I bought for an almost three-year old. She and her five year-old sister won't put it down.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun toy provides multiple ways to play
Posted 4/28/2014
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 2.5 year old niece who has a lot of car and plane trips coming up. She was excited to name the colors and the shapes, had fun making her own abstract creations, and could match the patterns on the cards with some help from an adult. The cards slide into the top of the tray (which took a minute to figure out!). It means that there is a small inset area around the entire frame. If she pushed blocks to the edges, they could get a little stuck under the edge, and she didn't always have the patience to slide them away so that she could pull them up-- it took a little explaining/modeling and she still grew a little frustrated. For an older child this would probably not be an issue.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 1/8/2014
Rating: 5

This is a gift for someone else, but it appears to be a quality toy and I'm sure the little girl we bought it for will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy with magnetic shapes
Posted 10/2/2013 by PP
Rating: 5

Our 2.5 year old daughter liked this toy a lot. It is well built and has many shapes for kids to play with. The cards that come with it are very helpful to get kids started. We also liked the plastic case that can hold the various pieces so that they don't get lost. Recommended in the shapes category.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect & Better Than Expected!
Posted 5/13/2013 by Rebekah Stearns
Rating: 5

Our 7 year old daughter loved playing this during our long road trip. She created many great patterns and then she could hand it up to me (in the front passenger seat) to look at as well. It is a high quality product and the mangnets stay on well. Our daughters artistic abilities shinned with the use of the Magnetic Pattern Block Set.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Problem-Solving Play
Posted 12/28/2012 by JUDITH DEDERICK - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This set will last years both in durability and across the age range. It is beautifully designed with a carrying case appropriate for all parts and with easy switches among ways to use the set. It allows for endless creativity and for problem-solving with shapes, ranging from toddler experimental play and sorting all the way up to tangram difficulty. The set is attractive and seems very sturdy. I am delighted with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 12/23/2012 by Sharon Doehring
Rating: 5

This is actually a Christmas present for my granddaughter but I know she will love it!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 11/23/2012
Rating: 5

Magnetic Shapes are the best! My own children and my Kindergarten students LOVE these!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I can't review this yet, but ask aster Christmas!!
Posted 11/16/2012 by PAMELA TONSBERG - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Hiding in the closet, all wrapped and ribboned!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03