Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set > Customer Reviews
Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
0

4 Star reviews of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set by Melissa & Doug

Return to Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set product information...

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set has been reviewed 84 times with an average rating of 4.64

My 3 1/2 year old loves this
Posted 4/8/2010
Rating: 4

I got this for my 3 1/2 year old daughter as a gift. She likes to use the patterns provided to make the designs - kind of like a puzzle. The magnets stay stuck to the board well, but they are still really easy to take on and off. And I love that there is space to store everything in the case, because there are lots of parts! My daughter hasn't really started to play with it to make her own shapes yet, but I can see that she will probably enjoy doing so as she grows. Great that this toy will last a while. My only complaints are that the shapes on the templates are a bit smaller than the actual piece shapes, so it makes it difficult to build the more intricate designs where the pieces are all close together. And also that it does not come with more templates to build. Overall though a good toy. Holds her attention for long spans of time.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/18/2008 by Amy
Rating: 4

My three year old son loves the magnetic set. He is learning the name of colors and shapes with this toy. My five year old does the designs without the pattern cards, so you can change the difficulty level. It comes with a case that is easy to keep everything organized. The only thing I would improve would be more pattern cards.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 10/11/2009 by Maryland Mom
Rating: 4

I bought this for my daughter's 3rd birthday and it seems like it might be better for a child a bit older - maybe 4. I think it's a little advanced for a 3 year old, and requires quite a bit of skill with the very small pieces. I'm sure she will love it later, but I don't think it's quite age-appropriate at this point. I also don't think the materials were all that high quality. The other toys I bought in this order seemed to be much for durable and better looking. We'll hold on and give this one a try next year...Thanks for asking our opinion.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for mimicking and creative play
Posted 8/29/2009 by Elise Eller
Rating: 4

My three-year-old daughter enjoys playing with this toy. She's fascinated by the magnetics, and she loves trying to reproduce the drawings included in the set. She also likes to organize the magnets by shape and color. As she gets older, I believe she'll be more creative and make her own designs. Great for traveling, too!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 8/21/2008
Rating: 4

My 2.5 year old daughter loves this toy! She was really into puzzels before I purchased this for her, and it seems to work her "artistic" brain well. Hours of fun and imagination!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super FUN way to spend an hour
Posted 3/21/2012 by Lesley Hurley - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this toy for my 4.5 year old daughter and 4 year old niece! Both girls will lay on the floor for up to an hour quietly following patterns and creating their own. It's a game with no batteries, light up noises/sounds and can be played independently...all wonderful things! I am excited to take this set on our next car trip! The only drawback is not having a separate place to put the magnetic pieces (like a side zip pouch on the carrying case). I added a large ziploc plastic bag for the pieces, which my daughter can slip out and place next to her to grab from.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/3/2011 by Michelle Miller
Rating: 4

I got this for my 2.5 year old daughter, initially for a car trip. I wasn't sure if she would like it yet, the pattern sheets are too advanced for her. Turns out, she loves it and plays with it every day. She makes a lot of creations that bear absolutely no resemblance to the things she claims they are (i.e. the chicken looks exactly like the car), but it obviously provides good space for her imagination. As a bonus, the adults in the household enjoy it too. Only gave it 4 stars because there is nowhere good to store the pieces you aren't using, therefore its not the best as a car toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy to keep them busy.
Posted 8/10/2010 by BUSSARIN MANOPING
Rating: 4

Its great to keep your child busy specially 2-3 years old. They are full of imaginations.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 10/4/2009 by chris parsell
Rating: 4

Decent quality pieces and board. The picture inserts are just paper so I don't expect them to last long. My kids love doing puzzles so this fit and has been well liked by my 5 year old boy and girl and 2 year old girl. The carrying case is nice and durable.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Appeals to different ages
Posted 9/2/2009
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my 2 year old (to be used with supervision, as the pieces are small). However, it was a big hit with her 5 year niece and 4 year old brother as well. They all enjoyed working with the patterns and from their imaginations as well. One caveat: when the label came out of the set's bag, it left behind a sticky residue that damaged some of the pieces before I covered it with paper.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 6/18/2012 by Gwen
Rating: 4

My little guy loves to play with this. After he worked all the pictures available he began creating his own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 1/4/2011 by Marsha - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 3 1/2 year old niece and she enjoyed putting the magnetic pieces over the patterns. As she grows, she may enjoy making up her own designs. The wooden magnetic pieces are well constructed and the only reason I gave this a 4 on the scale was due to 1 wooden piece was missing its colored top half. The carrying case helps greatly to contain the peices and makes it easy to take it anywhere.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 8/21/2008 by Brian Dale Hicks
Rating: 4

I love the toy, my 4 yr old seems to enjoy it as well. I think as he gets older it will be even more fun for him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 6/11/2008 by Kacey Huffman
Rating: 4

My 4-year-old likes this product. I bought it with the intention of using it on a long car trip, but it has been something he has wanted to use other times as well. There are a lot of pieces, so inevitably some will be misplaced, but other than that...it's great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun
Posted 4/23/2008 by mom in san diego
Rating: 4

My almost three year old is having a lot of fun with this toy. She plays with my old "Brainy Blocks" when we visit my parents' house so I knew she would like this when I saw it. She is able to match the blocks to the patterns very easily as the patterns are actually color coded to show which shape to use where. Not sure if this will be something she'll be playing with a year from now as it may be too easy by then. I'm considering creating some black and white patterns for her to use with this toy once we reach that point.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/16/2007 by Betsy Liljeberg
Rating: 4

I purchased these magnetic toys for kids to play while visiting my office (Psychiatric NP). They offer kids a mindless, yet creative outlet. The kids have used them with great enthusiasm and creativity. It is quite amazing to see what someone can create out of even the most basic shapes. Throw away the Playstation! Kids naturally love magnets!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love Them!
Posted 7/31/2007
Rating: 4

We love the pattern blocks! They are a lot of fun to travel with as well as a fun toy to bring to restaurants. They are going to be a lot of fun for many years to come.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Magnetic Pattern Blocks Set
Posted 9/16/2012 by Aileen Melendez - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a present for my grandchild that lives in New York. I will give to her next week but I anticipate and hope she loves it!!i I will have a better opinion in two weeks.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun toy provides multiple ways to play
Posted 4/28/2014
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 2.5 year old niece who has a lot of car and plane trips coming up. She was excited to name the colors and the shapes, had fun making her own abstract creations, and could match the patterns on the cards with some help from an adult. The cards slide into the top of the tray (which took a minute to figure out!). It means that there is a small inset area around the entire frame. If she pushed blocks to the edges, they could get a little stuck under the edge, and she didn't always have the patience to slide them away so that she could pull them up-- it took a little explaining/modeling and she still grew a little frustrated. For an older child this would probably not be an issue.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03