Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet > Customer Reviews
Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
0

4 Star reviews of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet by Melissa & Doug

Return to Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet product information...

Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet has been reviewed 208 times with an average rating of 4.62

My rating of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 11/17/2009 - OTHER
Rating: 4

I am a physical therapist who works with children. My four and five year olds are having a great time with this puppet. They get to play with it as a reward for working hard in therapy. My only complaint is storage. I didn't find it practical to keep all the packaging that came with the puppet and therefore all of the pieces are sticking together. When I have time I will make some velcro cards to put the many pieces on. Most of the pieces are quite fun but none of the kids are liking the hands with the suction cups on the fingers. I would recommend this for all kids in this age range

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 11/22/2009
Rating: 4

My kids had a lot of fun with this product. Velcro works well and is well made.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

monster puppet
Posted 10/22/2009 by mari haggerty - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I think kids usually get bored of puppets so giving the abilty to use their creative side is really unique. This was a gift for a 3 year old boy and he loves it.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

make your own monster puppet
Posted 12/10/2009 by Irene Jesmer
Rating: 4

I am pleasantly surprised by the toy's size (somehow, I thought it might be smaller but its a good size. The soft material, bright colors and funny features will be quite appealing to the children who will receive this toy at Christmas. I love that the puppet has suction cups at the end of its fingers and that my granddaughter will have delightful moments sticking it to her bedroom window and mirror. It would be nice if it came with more inter-changeable parts. I think its a great toy for any child under 10 years.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Cute
Posted 9/19/2010 by Holly Kleis - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

We do story time with the puppet and change his look to go with the story he is "telling" this puppet is so cute and can change into so many different characters, Just love it

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 6/20/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My two year old grandson's parents are very taken with this toy; my grandson is less fascinated at the moment, but we think he will like it when he's a little older.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun toy!
Posted 12/31/2009 by Kelly Fornwall - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my 3 year old nephew and he really seems to like it - he'll probably like even more when his older sister puts it down, LOL! The colors are striking, fun and very bright. The velcro works very well to keep the pieces in place. It is easy to use and understand (as it would be) and is a very imaginative toy. This is important to me as I try to introduce him and his sister to a full range of interests. Thank you for such a great toy!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 7/20/2011 by John McGoey
Rating: 4

Overall good quality and we like that the puppet can continue to be stored in the bag it comes in.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 7/8/2012 by SHARON M SWOBODA
Rating: 4

This puppet making kit is lots of fun. Lets the kids be creative, there is no wrong way to make your puppet.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 12/27/2011 by Patricia M
Rating: 4

For goddaughter - she hasn't seen it yet, but she loves to put things together. Would be more of a hit with her if it was a princess!!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 12/26/2011 by Patty Chadwick
Rating: 4

Makes them laugh and their daddy likes to play with them. Bright colors.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 8/8/2011 by Diane Towle - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

interesting and well constructed but only to the very young

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet Review
Posted 8/24/2010 by Arlene G. Dascoli
Rating: 4

I bought this toy as a Christmas gift based on a recommendation from a friend and it was a huge hit, not only with the child but also with the adults. They loved the different pieces and the fact that the monster could be put together in all sorts of silly ways. I plan to buy another one as a gift for a different child.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good choice - great gift
Posted 8/28/2009
Rating: 4

Kids are loving this - making monsters, aliens and "robots." I was worried that the velcro pieces wouldn't really stay on, but has worked great so far. I plan to buy this for all 4 year old boys on my list b/c it is unlikely they have it already and it fosters great imaginitive play!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 3/28/2007 by Brian G. Thompson
Rating: 4

We love this toy because our daughter can be creative and design any puppet to fit her mood. There are many options available.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This is a GREAT toy and Fat Brain is a super seller.
Posted 2/9/2012 by Adam Jenkins - FRIEND
Rating: 4

A good quality toy with lots of little parts. This makes it complicated for a three year old, but older kids have a lot of fun with it. The pieces do get pretty spread around (you will continue to find them places you may not expect to) but at least they aren't LEGOs under bare feet.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Monster Toy
Posted 7/5/2012 by Anne Marie Novobilski - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Great toy for children to be able to be creative and use their imagination to create a fantastic monster.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 5/10/2012 by Andrea Scapellato
Rating: 4

Makes her imagination come to life

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift for niece
Posted 4/1/2012 by Crystal Parker - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Bought it for my nieces birthday next month. She hasn't gotten it yet, but I'm pretty sure she will enjoy it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 1/3/2012 by Jamie
Rating: 4

I bought this puppet set for my 4 year old stepson. He is not particularly interested in puppets but this one held his interest. He likes that he can create many different monsters with the pieces that come with the puppet.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 12/29/2011 by Shelah
Rating: 4

The only thing that would make this better is to have another puppet for the parts. My daughters love playing with it, but wish they could each have one to hold.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun!
Posted 8/18/2011
Rating: 4

Great birthday gift for our 3 year old. So many belly laughs!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 1/11/2011 by Megan
Rating: 4

These puppets are ADORABLE. I love all the colors and textures of all the pieces. My two boys (ages 5 and 2 1/2) love them too. My only complaint is how sticky the velcro is and how hairy all the pieces are. They can be difficult to pull apart when they get stuck together. I have resolved the problem by making a board with velcro and using that to hold all the pieces instead of putting them back in the bag. It is easier to find the pieces that way too. Other than that this is a wonderful toy that I am sure will get thousands of hours of use over the years. Love it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 8/15/2012 by Susanne Riehle - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My 3 year old granddaughter loved the idea of making her own monster. We wanted to next give her a puppet theatre for creative play, so this is a great way to introduce the idea of puppet play--while also allowing her to 'make' her own.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

a new bedroom buddy
Posted 6/13/2012
Rating: 4

My 6-year-old selected this toy for himself. When it arrived he easily put together a monster puppet to his own taste, there are plenty of pieces to choose from so could be reconstructed many times into many different friendly monsters. It is quite large, probably the largest of our household puppets, and so a good addition to the children's theatre troupe of sock puppets, finger puppets and the like. (His 9-year-old sister took some of the pieces he did not use to make a mini-monster of her own.) He has not shown any interest in reassembling it into other monsters, rather has created a new person who has joined in with his other bedroom buddies.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make-You-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 12/9/2010 by Daniel Cunningham
Rating: 4

Made of good quality material. Very entertaining for the little ones! Fun for parents too!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 2/2/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My 3 year old loved this toy. Lots of funand his older brother played along. Wish there were more parts to the make your own pupet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 12/25/2009 by Judith Baker - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was a wonderful gift for our (almost) 4 year old grandson. Like most toys, however, he enjoys it more when an adult will spend time playing with the monster puppet with him. It seems to be well made and with adequate parts to make several creative monsters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 2/8/2012 by Mike Zeko - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I am presenting this gift to my grandson this weekend. I can't wait to see his reaction

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 2/22/2012 by RUTH WEISSICH
Rating: 4

she seems to love and be intrigued by it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

christmas order
Posted 2/18/2010 by Yuki Shimizu
Rating: 4

Everyitem is very attractive, and different! Some may be purchased at the special store like hobby centers, but it is comvenient that I can buy this much variety of toys from the one online store like you.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and Imaginative
Posted 4/21/2009 by Todd Young
Rating: 4

Given as a birthday present. Took a bit to get the kids interested but once they started playing it, they enjoyed it. Think they will enjoy it more once they get older and require less assistance.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Monster Puppets
Posted 9/19/2012 by Terri
Rating: 4

The three year old this gift was intended for was afraid of the monsters, but giggled quite a bit as his 5 year old brother played with them. He loves them. They are creative and cute and I think will be a good toy that lasts a long time.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for Whole Family
Posted 11/12/2012 by Richard Tanguay - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Everyone (not just the recipient) enjoyed creatively arranging the parts to make various monsters.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Overall, a great toy
Posted 1/2/2014 by JJZ
Rating: 4

The concept is great, but I find the pieces stick to each other and get tangled. It would be really nice to have a better way to store it. Although my daughter loves the puppet, the mouth is in an awkward position for my hand; I wish the mouth was a little longer so my hand could "speak" properly. On the whole, it is really fun to pick out the different crazy features.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Immediately popular
Posted 12/29/2013 by F Roberts
Rating: 4

Bought as gift for 2-yr-old granddaughter who loved it and found lots of ways to play with the pieces. She opened it at Christmas when 4 other kids (ages 5-9) were there and they all wanted to play with it, too.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun toy
Posted 11/26/2013 by Sara De Kam
Rating: 4

Some of the Velcro pieces get stuck in the fur

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 11/17/2013 by TIMOTHY COOPER - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

So unusual. Its has the one thing so many other toys dont have. Originality.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make your own monster
Posted 10/23/2013 by Susan Ogawa
Rating: 4

Gave this with Little Monster and other books. Child enjoyed the puppet and plays with it often. There are opportunities to use this. I am a retired speech pathologist and would have been able to use this with preschoolers as well as children with severe disabilities. While not given to children with special needs this would be appropriate with supervision.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet Review
Posted 8/27/2013 by Lucy Sullivan
Rating: 4

Great how you can make a monster and then tear it up and it isn't so scary. And then you can make another monster! This is the third one I have purchased and will continue to purchase them as the children I know get old enough to play with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 8/14/2013 by Jana
Rating: 4

Bought one each for my daughters, ages 3 and 5. My husband and I love these puppets and have played with them far more than my girls so far. Both of them loved the idea of them and spent about 5 minutes making puppets but then walked away from it. These were gifts for the Muslim holiday Eid and they received numerous other gifts at the same time, including lots of candy. They put down the puppets and focused on the candy and other gifts. We love these though and fully expect the girls to cycle back to them and spend ages playing with them. At the very least my husband and I have used them in puppet shows for the girls.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 7/14/2013 by Pauline - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Unfortunately, our granddaughter is afraid of monsters, so won't play with this great puppet kit. I'm hoping she'll grow out of this phase!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unique toy
Posted 1/1/2013 by Donna - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This cute little puppet was purchased for a 3 year old boy. He LOVES it, but needs assistance putting it together. so when Mom or Dad has time, it's a big hit. I would recommend it for a little older child.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Make your own monster
Posted 12/31/2012 by Tim F. - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 3 year old nephew for Christmas and he has made several different monsters and seems to really like the ability to change the monster whenever he wants. I would recommend this toy for others.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I loved it, my 3 year old nephew didn't.
Posted 12/28/2012 by Elle Newman
Rating: 4

This product is well made and for an interested child it would be perfect. I have hope that my three year old nephew will grow into it and it will peek his interest more. Right now he was unimpressed, though I had lots of fun playing with it while I was visiting. I am not meaning to make a negative review of this toy only saying if you are going by the chart that says 3 year old boys use this toy the most please keep in mind it's not all 3 year old boys.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Monster Puppet
Posted 12/26/2012 by Kate Long
Rating: 4

Think he will love it when he starts to play with it. Love that it inspires creativity and fosters interaction.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Bday gift for 3 yr old!
Posted 12/18/2012
Rating: 4

I purchased this monster puppet for my 3 yr old niece. She LOVES bright colors and puppets so this seemed the perfect choice. It has several pieces to it so you can create a ton of different looks! The only reason I gave it 4 star is because I wish the inside of the puppet was softer and made of a more durable material.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 3/7/2013 by Tree - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My granddaughter loves this toy. She I'd three and she picks it up whenever she comes over. She tries new faces on the monster, then she makes it roar. I try to tell her it's a nice monster, she just roars louder. It is hilarious.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Make-Your-Own Monster Puppet
Posted 11/18/2009 by Nathan Newman
Rating: 4

It was a gift for someone. I'm sure I will here how the kids like the puppet and can let you know

5 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03