Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > See & Spell > Customer Reviews
See & Spell
0

3 Star reviews of See & Spell by Melissa & Doug

Return to See & Spell product information...

See & Spell has been reviewed 589 times with an average rating of 4.64

Good idea but...
Posted 3/14/2006 by Alexandra Gecin
Rating: 3

The product is well made but did not hold my son's interest for more than a few play occasions. The way the letters are stored all jumbled up in one section of the box makes it hard for little ones to pick out the ones they need. Even if you spread them out on the floor, they're turned every which way and some upside down, so unless you want to turn every piece the right way to make it easier for your child to recognize, I'd say this is for older kids, 4 and up (which is what it says on the box). But at that age, I'm not sure how much fun it'll be to put letters into the letter shapes either.

20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good But Room For Improvement
Posted 6/10/2009 by Susan G
Rating: 3

We own a lot of Melissa and Doug toys and have always been happy with them but this one has some room for improvement. There are a lot of letters but the choice of letters seems odd. We have 6 C's but only 1 M, N, and L (there are other letters like p & q that there are only 1 of, but you can always flip around a b or d for words like puppy). We can't spell mom -nevermind mommy. Some of the words for the tiles seem a bit odd. They are not my favorite for a beginning speller and reader (cow, duck, sock, cake, fish, car, bird, bus, cat, dog, tree, frog, hen, etc). The quality is great. I would buy it again, but wish I could get more of the letters we needed.

18 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell
Posted 7/16/2008 by Annalee Waddell
Rating: 3

This is a good and fun product for kids learning how to spell & read. The words are simple and perfect for those just starting out. The drawback is that the letters are already carved into the wood so the child only has to match up the pieces to the carved out letter. I recommend having the letters on blocks or squares so the child actually has to spell the word rather than put a puzzle together.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Storage & Organization
Posted 7/22/2009 by Lonnice
Rating: 3

I'm a frequent consumer of Melissa & Doug products, however, I'm disappointed with this particular product. My primary disappointment is the packaging or lack thereof to store the letters.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of See & Spell
Posted 4/25/2011 by Zoya
Rating: 3

My grandson played with it with interest. I hope that he will do it again.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 1/9/2012 by M. Webber
Rating: 3

I was disappointed. There were no T's in with the letters and a lot of the words required that letter.
Somehing is definiely lacking wihou hat imporan leer. We contacted our customer. A replacement See & Spell with T's is being shipped to our customer. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for timely assistance.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

see and spell
Posted 10/21/2012 by andrea kubica
Rating: 3

he loves to learn and wants to learn how to read

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

see & spell
Posted 10/10/2013 by Betty Brickey - RELATIVE
Rating: 3

my 4 year old granddaughter enjoys playing and learning letters and words.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 8/13/2013 by Nicole
Rating: 3

Child is just starting spelling, so we play together. She enjoys playing with this and placing the letter in the correct spot. The only problem I have it that there is no top to keep the pieces in place.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Daughter loves it..
Posted 12/24/2012 by Julie buck
Rating: 3

Our daughter likes it well enough. As parents, we would like it better though if the spot to hold the letters had a cover to keep them in there..

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Dough Puzzle
Posted 12/2/2012 by monica compri
Rating: 3

Good quality materials, easy to play with for little children.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb01