Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > See & Spell > Customer Reviews
See & Spell
0

4 Star reviews of See & Spell by Melissa & Doug

Return to See & Spell product information...

See & Spell has been reviewed 588 times with an average rating of 4.64

See & Spell
Posted 12/9/2010
Rating: 4

Doug and Melissa always make quality products, and my son loves letters, but once the puzzles are mastered they are not much of a challenge to him. There are so many items on the marketplace with capital letters, that the small letters were unique and useful. It needs a bonus pack of puzzles to use the same letters, but make new words.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell
Posted 1/19/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My almost four-year old grandson loves this spelling puzzle. He can do it without help, which makes him proud, and he is learning his letters as he goes along. This is a puzzle with extras, and I recommend it.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

teacher
Posted 3/16/2010 by Mary Burns - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I thought it was sturdy and colorful. The children seem to like it. The lid lifts off easily but it will not be good for storing long term (it does not lock down). For the two children with visual motor problems I need to spread the letters out so they could match them. Otherwise, it has been great.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

see & spell
Posted 6/10/2010
Rating: 4

it's a good toy overall,will be better if the box has a cover.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift for a Beginning Speller
Posted 4/10/2011 by Jen
Rating: 4

My four-year-old loves letters and is constantly trying to spell new things. This toy helps him to learn some words independently, helping him to feel like he can learn to read on his own. While there are a limited number of puzzles, it does provide a good starting point. I love the quality of all Melissa and Doug toys I have encountered - the wooden pieces and sturdy construction stand up well to lots of love from my children.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 1/19/2010 by Vicky Gagnon
Rating: 4

I love the toy! Very sturdy and well made. My child loves to sit and match the letters up. The only down fall is it came without a letter w :( Other than that, the product is great.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 11/23/2009 by RC - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my 5 year old niece. She is learning to read, and already knew how to spell the 3-letter words, and a few of the 4-letter words used on the cards. She especially enjoyed using the letters to spell other words she knew "freestyle" and compose short sentences. I liked the quality of the product, but it could be improved by providing a sealed storage container for the letters, rather than just an open tray.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 7/22/2012 by Ling Yang
Rating: 4

It is a great toy for my boy. I am able to teach him to sit down for some quite time and teach him the letters.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell Review
Posted 12/6/2009 by Sasha Wooddell
Rating: 4

A good product for spelling enrichment activities. My 5 year old knows the words but it's great for him to have extra tactile practice. My 3 year old really enjoys playing the See and Spell with me. He's learned quite a bit just playing with it. I think they have similar toys in his Montessori school.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 5/7/2012 by C. Johnson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

When my grandson opened this gift up at his 4th birthday party he loved it and all the little ones got excited and wanted to play with the letters and words right after it was opened. The next day he played with it for quite awhile. Once all the letters were right side up, he could find them and complete the words. I think that he will enjoy it as well as his little brother.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic Toy
Posted 6/6/2012 by Sarah.counsel
Rating: 4

Bought this for my son's second birthday - he LOVES it. He's just learned his ABCs and is really into puzzles, so the combination is great. He plays with it every day, and loves identifying the pictures to go along with the words. Absolutely perfect for a preschool prep, and it seems like a game so he will sit with it for twenty minutes at a time!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good, could be better.
Posted 3/6/2012 by Kristi Grady
Rating: 4

My four year old daughter loves this toy. I wish it had a better way of holding the pieces so that she could see all of the letters in the box, as it is, she is taking them all out to look at to try to match the word, and I can see them getting lost fairly soon. Overall, she gives this toy a two thumbs up, but as a mom, I'm worried about it's longevity.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for my 4 year old
Posted 2/29/2012 by Julie
Rating: 4

My 4 year old was actually excited to choose a board and finish the 'puzzle'. The boards are double sided - which I didn't realize (or didn't read the description well) when I bought it - so I was pleasantly surprised. We've recently started to focus on simple spelling words so this is the jump start we needed. Very pleased with this purchase.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 12/12/2011 by Gerry T - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this game for my 4 year old grandson. It's great for both group or self-learning and interaction as well as having fun. The bright colors and sturdy wood construction make it very attractive and user friendly for a 4 year old boy. I also like the wooden case which neatly stores all the pieces in a strong container-only wish there was a plastic or wooden lid which secured the pieces in the container when the game is stored.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 11/8/2010 by Stephanie Greenleaf
Rating: 4

Great because it teaches lower case letters which is often neglected at this age.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 1/11/2010 by Julie Darnell
Rating: 4

A good quality spelling puzzle that my three year old received for Christmas and is enjoying. I think it's a little old for her yet, but she's interested in letters and loves puzzles so this is a good fit. She plays with it regularly and I expect it to become a favorite in the year ahead.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 10/5/2009 by Sherry Plaster
Rating: 4

I think this is a great educational toy. My two year old likes puzzles and in doing these puzzles, he is learning to spell. I think this is a great product. I am quite pleased.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Learning Toy
Posted 3/18/2009 by Donna Phillips Askew
Rating: 4

This product has been great for my 3 year old. He is using it to learn spelling and phonetics. It challenges them to use the alphabet that he already knows into spelling.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 12/29/2008 by sarah fifi
Rating: 4

great learning toy! I bought it for my 2-yr old and she loves it. The only negative side is that the name plates are hard for her to get out of the box. There's no enough room around them for her fingers so we end up flipping it over and dumping everything out. Also a cover for the box would help with keeping the letters together.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell - great learning tool
Posted 11/20/2008 by K. Mosc
Rating: 4

The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is b/c it does not have a cover to contain all the pieces. Other than that, my 2 year old loves it. I pick out the letters that correspond to the board we are working on and we say the letter as she places them in the correct spot - we then review the picture and word. It is a great letter and word learning tool.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for learning lower case letters and beginning spelling
Posted 8/13/2008 by Katherine Johnson
Rating: 4

I bought this for my daughter's 3rd birthday and it was a great choice. She frequently asks to play her "letter game" and it holds her interest enough to go through all the words in one sitting. I like that the letters are different colors, so for a younger child, like my daughter, I can tell her what color the letter is that she is looking for, to limit her choices. There is at least one wooden letter for each of the 26 letters of the alphabet, however, not all letters are used in the puzzles. So in order for your child to learn those letters you will have to make up your own words. That is my biggest negative of this product. I also wish that there was a cover for the box, to keep all of the contents inside without spilling when a child carries it, or to take it in the car.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 6/5/2008 by Panarat Unger
Rating: 4

Great toy for my son who is learning to spell simple words plus practicing his fine motor skill. I even purchased this see & spell set again as to give to my nephew. Like it a lot.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 1/27/2009
Rating: 4

My grandaughter simply loves it. she is three years old.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty Good
Posted 11/17/2008 by Colleen R Owens
Rating: 4

My children have really enjoyed this new product. The only suggestion that I have is that, like some other Melissa and Doug products, there be a plastic cover to slide over the top of the wooden box in order to keep the small letters from falling out everywhere.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 7/25/2012 by Amanda Jeffrey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandson is just beginning to sound out words so the timing of this gift for his 3 1/2 birthday was perfect. However, as others have said, he can't do more than one or 2 at a time because there are not enough letters. The cutting of the letters makes them less than heirloom quality.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for Learning!
Posted 7/24/2012 by Emily Childs
Rating: 4

It is really a great learning tool. My son is so proud that he can spell! And it really enforces letters and sounds. Although I was a little disappointed in the paint. It's already bubbling up and coming off and we've only had it for a few weeks.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ma
Posted 4/27/2012
Rating: 4

It's colorful and helps alphabet recognition by placing the puzzle together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell
Posted 12/12/2011 by Raqel Brown
Rating: 4

This product encourages thinking and reasoning.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 8/17/2011 by Terrilyn McCormick
Rating: 4

Great learning toy. Both my boys (5 and 3) have been enjoying working with the letters. High quality toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 7/13/2011 by Ashley Herbet
Rating: 4

Like the product the only disadvantage is since there are so many pieces to the toy it is easy to lose one of the letters (I already can't find one)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell Melissa and Doug
Posted 9/3/2009 by Glenisse M Torres
Rating: 4

Some of the letters had chipping would coming out and cna cause splinters on kids. Only 2 letters were defective. we sanded the letters and it is just fine.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 6/15/2009
Rating: 4

Big draw back is it doesn't have a top to help keep teh pieces together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 6/4/2009 by RAMESH RAVIPATI
Rating: 4

It is a very good product for kids who know the letters and are starting to spell things.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 4/1/2009 by Karen Loeser - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Letters are easy for children to maneuver. Durable and safe. Quality as expected.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 8/15/2012 by Susanne Riehle - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This toy was a great way to combine puzzles with reading. I loved that there were enough letters to do all puzzles at once.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice
Posted 2/28/2012 by Frederica M.
Rating: 4

I really love this puzzle as an educational product. I am teaching my 2 year old how to spell and thought that using a puzzle with pictures to help him make the proper associations would help. It does! He is spelling the words quite well and is even working on letter sounds. The issue is in getting him to attend to it for long periods. That will take time so I am not worried. The younger the child, the more facilitation needed to motivate play but a great product overall.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 2/20/2012 by Catherine Kiner - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Again, this was purchased for my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter. She is gettting really good at her letters & she really took to this sspelling toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of See & Spell
Posted 2/16/2012
Rating: 4

Our daughter is at a great age for this toy. She already knows her letters, but using the puzzle pieces to form the words to match the pictures is introducing her to the concept of spelling and the idea that each letter makes certain sounds. And she loves playing with it, which is a big plus!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 2/9/2012 by Lindsay Clark
Rating: 4

Great toy for learning but needs better storage. Puzzle pieces need a cover because they come out easy and hard to store.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Definitely appealing to my 18-month-old son
Posted 1/25/2012
Rating: 4

I purchased this knowing that it would be a bit much at this point, but I wanted to have my little boy hold the letters and see how they fit into their respective positions on the board. I started with the "fish" board, and he was very excited to touch and feel the board and the letters. It held his attention for about 5-10 minutes, and off he was to his next adventure. But whenever I put the "fish" in front of him -- which I've done about 5-10 times since we first got it a few weeks ago -- he gets excited still. I can't know for sure yet, but my intuition tells me that this is exactly what needs to happen, and when he's ready to take it to the next level (whatever that might be), he'll already have some idea of how it works. I've used a similar approach with other toys, and when he reached the appropriate developmental milestones, he seemed to master the skills associated with those toys pretty quickly. (Maybe it's similar to visiting a place for just a few minutes and don't get a chance to get to know it. But the next time you're there it looks really familiar. The initial impression sets off some connections in your brain, and the next time you're there, if you need to figure out more about it, you have a slight advantage over someone who's never been there.) So, even though it hasn't been played with very much yet, I'm glad we have it now, and I'm looking forward to seeing more pieces fall into place -- both on the puzzle boards and in my son's developing mind.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 12/31/2011 by Abbie McMillen
Rating: 4

I had hoped this toy would foster an interest in reading in our 2 yr 11 mo grandson who is a whiz at puzzles, but it can't compete with some of the other toys he got this Christmas. Maybe it will grow on him as we play with it more. We can use the letters to spell other words.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Toy
Posted 12/27/2011 by Rich
Rating: 4

Very good quality, only complaint is that there is no lid/cover to keep everything together. Otherwise a great educational toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of See & Spell
Posted 12/16/2011 by Kristen
Rating: 4

High quality parts, sturdy constuction. Helps the child with spelling and letter recognition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good for the right child
Posted 12/5/2011 by HJ
Rating: 4

This appears to be sturdy and well made. Our 3 year old is phonics obsessed right now so it is a great toy for her. Without a preexisting interest in reading/spelling, this may be a less successful toy though...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 11/17/2011 by Meghan Gonzales
Rating: 4

The product is well made, bright and easy to use. My daughter loves to sit there and go through all boards. I would also give this as a gift - it's a great toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SEE & SPELL
Posted 11/3/2011 by Kelly S Duckworth
Rating: 4

I would have liked the product letters to be larger, other than that it is a fantastic idea.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great learning toy
Posted 10/26/2011 by Rebecca Berton - FRIEND
Rating: 4

This toy makes her think about the spelling of words since she has to think about what letters to find to fill in the spaces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for learning letters and spelling
Posted 10/22/2011 by Jessica - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My nephew has a strong interest in wooden puzzles and has just learned the alphabet so this toy is perfect for him! He is 3 and it is marked for kids a little older but he does really well with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for spelling, not so great for storing
Posted 9/14/2011 by Betsy Shelton
Rating: 4

This is a great teaching tool but is awkward to store. It needs a sliding top to keep all the pieces in for storage.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 9/7/2011 by Dominic Hrabe
Rating: 4

she loves it....and she's starting to learn her alphabet in the process. I had a suspicion this was going to be a very good learning toy for her and it has certainly come thru. She's only had the opportunity to play with it a couple of times but both times she loved it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good for working on letter recognition
Posted 8/21/2011 by Susan
Rating: 4

I wasn't sure how my daughter would react to this toy--I wasn't sure if she'd think it was fun or kind of limited in what she could do with it. I've been pleased to see that she finds it fun. Sometimes we play with it together as a puzzle--seeing which pieces fit--and also at the same time working on letter recognition. We talk about the letters and the pictures. It worked well as a travel toy that engaged her in the car. We took the letters and spelled out other things, like her name or other things we saw. Since we've been home she's been spontaneously pulling it out to play with. Sometimes she plays with the letters (more or less as intended). Sometimes she lines up all the boards and kind of makes roads with them, or uses them to "measure" things like she sees on Curious George--using different kinds of objects to measure things. Sometimes I wish there were more word boards--but it's getting played with and it's meeting the need for toys that help with letter recognition. My three-year-old is enjoying it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

education with fun
Posted 12/21/2010 by Claudine Williamson
Rating: 4

This is a great fun learning tool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 12/6/2010 by Joella Show
Rating: 4

My boys only play with it once in awhile, but they are only 3 and 4. I suspect that in a year or two they will play with it more. I like the quality. I like the hands on spelling and letter practice. I am very happy product and think it probably deserves a higher rating than a 3, but I am not sure if it is a 5. I wish it had a lid. It is wood, but without a lid I risk loosing parts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grand Baby presents
Posted 12/5/2010 by Thomas Jelen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Neither of my Grandchildren have gotten tier gifts yet…but they'll love em.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of See & Spell
Posted 11/30/2010 by Theresa Thorpe
Rating: 4

This product is use for business use only and the children seem to enjoy playing with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 11/18/2010 by classroom teacher - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The children loved to play with this!! They were able to match the letters to the picture and read the word.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 10/24/2010 by Colleen Samuels
Rating: 4

Have not given this toy to him yet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 1/11/2010 by Carissa N
Rating: 4

Any toy that stops a 4 year old in her tracks (for 20 minutes) from unwrapping Christmas presents has to be good. She immediately played with this toy and has continued to play with it almost daily for the last 2 weeks. It is simple to use, but has plenty of boards to keep her busy. There were a few pain stratches on the top board, and I wonder how the paint will hold up to the hard use of three kiddos, but so far this toy is a winner!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 12/29/2009
Rating: 4

Great quality! Great colour! A delight to see my 2 year old place the letters all by herself!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

nice product...pleased
Posted 12/26/2009 by Heather Z Uebelhoer
Rating: 4

well made. nice materials, bright happy colors. another nice purchase made by Doug/Melissa

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift for Preschooler
Posted 12/22/2009 by Jessica Stein - OTHER
Rating: 4

This item is great. The child was able to recognize letters and put them in the correct place. The only thing I would recommend for this product is some type of carry case for the letters to be put in because they are just loose in the wooden box with no cover.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 12/22/2009 by Kristen - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I have 2 nieces that are 3 years old and I purchased two of these as Christmas gifts.. They haven't gotten them yet so I cannot review that part. The toy looks wonderful! It is a good size for child and I like how the box comes with dividers to organize it. I only gave it 4 stars because I can't rate the enjoyment and because I wish that the pictures of the items came out (like puzzle pieces) the same way the letters do.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 12/15/2009
Rating: 4

Great to help with spelling/reading skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 12/7/2009 by Maureen Cannon - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This toy is beautifully made and very educational. My 4-year-old grandson will love it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 11/19/2009 by Bambi lott
Rating: 4

Excellent quality! Very sturdy, and extremely beneficial for literacy development. Entertaining for self play, or great for one on one time practicing letter and sound recognition. Only thing I would like different is the coloring. Great product for any 4-7 year old!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great toy
Posted 10/1/2009 by Jennifer Fernandez
Rating: 4

Fun and educational toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 7/24/2009 by Molly Johnson
Rating: 4

Nice product---I bought it for my 4 and 6 year olds to help with letters and spelling. I like that the blending sounds are in the same color ie fr or ch.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

see n spell
Posted 1/15/2009 by Dianne Rauh
Rating: 4

Great..but NEEDS a cover for the letters...Only reason it did not get a 5star rating....

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 10/28/2008 by Laurel A. Fumo
Rating: 4

my grandson loved the picture and then finding the letters to fill in the spaces. I think it was a good visual reinforcement for the word. It would be good if the side were the letters fill in, could be taken out somehow to let the child find them their self.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 9/15/2008
Rating: 4

Great puzzle - my daughter is only 2 1/2 but seems to enjoy trying to find the letters to match the ones on the puzzle. Since she is not as proficient with recognizing her lower case letters as she is with upper case letters, this puzzle will definitely help her in learning them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great idea from Melissa and Doug
Posted 9/14/2008 by lily ng
Rating: 4

The See & Spell puzzle is quite beautifully done and the idea is to get kids to recognize letters and associate them with words and with objects. I like the idea of the movable alphabet, as it's straight out of the Montessori philosophy of making the letters tangible and not just abstract for kids. I've bought two of them as gifts and one for my son who is turning 3. He is just learning to distinguish a few letters and this will help him on his way.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it
Posted 8/28/2008 by Stacy - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 4

I bought this for my son who is 21 months. I know it was meant for someone older, but I just knew it would fit my needs. He is starting to learn the alphabet. This toy allows him to "feel" the alphabet, "see" the alphabet and then associate the letters with an object. He isn't really spelling anything yet, but he recognizing that the object BUS looks like "bus". Hope this makes sense. Anyways, we play it when he needs a little one on one time or the letters would be everywhere. I keep them in a zip lock baggie. My only complaint is that i wish the wooden cards had more variety of words that used most of the letters of the alphabet. But too much could be overwhelming for a little one. I love it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 8/17/2008 by Delane Jones
Rating: 4

Our 2 year old granddaughter is very interested in letters and the sounds they make. She is delighted with this toy. Our 5 year old granddaughter who is beginning K5 also enjoyed playing with it. The fact that it uses lower case letters was the main reason for I bought See & Spell. I do wish that more letters had actually been used it completing the puzzle boards. I am sure we will find other ways to use the letters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 7/24/2008 by Meg Wilson
Rating: 4

We love this! Sturdy and well put together. Both of our children (23 mos. and 3-1/2) love to play with the See & Spell. Puzzle-adept preschoolers will marvel at how they can use their puzzle solving skills to spell words. Great teaching resource!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Educational Toy!
Posted 7/16/2008 by Marisa Gibler
Rating: 4

My son really likes the See & Spell- he is just over two years old, but is very gifted. I had seen reviews from parents of other two-year-olds who liked the set, so I bought it even though it is recommended for 4 and up. The only things that I find a little disappointing are the selection of letters- there were only one of several letters, and only 2 of some common letters like S and N. The "i" and "j" look a bit strange, with enlarged dots attached to the lines, too. If I worked at Melissa & Doug, I might have included a blank template to spell out other words, and featured a sliding lid, like the one on their stringing bead set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell by Melissa & Doug
Posted 5/30/2008 by Deatre Weaver
Rating: 4

I bought this item for my 6 year old daughter whom is developmentally disabled. This was perfect timing as she is just beginning to learn sight words in school. This was also great in working on her fine motor skills as she is required to manipulate the letter pieces in the correct position on the board. She has since played with this for hours at a time. The pieces are very durable, and you can wipe them clean with a wet wipe if needed. The box that stores the boards and letter pieces comes in handy, however I would have liked to see a lid of some sort that keeps them all in.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See &pell
Posted 5/13/2008 by Catherine U - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Great puzzle.. only problem is letters are lower case. Our grandaughter 2yrs 4 mos know all letters but only caps. Will now embark on training lower case. So in that respect it is good.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Learning Puzzle
Posted 4/28/2008 by Caryn Campbell
Rating: 4

My daughter is only 2, but this puzzle has been a good find for her. She loves puzzles and we use this one to help her identify her letters. We also build other words with the letters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and Educational
Posted 3/16/2008
Rating: 4

My 4 yr old really enjoys the See and Spell. Great reinforcement of letter recognition and introduction to spelling/reading words. The bonus is that she just thinks it's fun, she has no idea she is learning while she is playing. The only drawback is that the box does not come with a top to contain all the letters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 2/28/2008 by Linda Plunk
Rating: 4

I am very happy with the See and Spell. I have bought this for my grandson. It's so educational. The right size and colorful.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good But Not Perfect
Posted 1/30/2008 by Christine Lyons
Rating: 4

I have a 2.5 year old who seems to like the puzzle aspect of this a lot, but it does confuse her for a couple of reasons: 1) Letters are lower case and block-style, so the b, p, q, and d are too similar for her. 2) There are more letters than there are places to put them. I was glad to see that every letter of the alphabet is included (makes it easier to play ABC games with them), but not every letter of the alphabet is used, and my daughter doesn't understand why we don't use the x, q, z, etc. Even other more common letters are not used, but c shows up in half of the words. And a small gripe I have with many M&D products -- they give you a really nice wooden box to put all of the pieces in, but there's no lid or any way to keep them all together. But that's not enough to stop me from buying their otherwise high quality products!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 12/31/2007 by Kris
Rating: 4

This is a great toy! It's fun and educational. My 4 year old daughter really likes it. The only problem is the packaging. You'd think since it came in a nice wooden box there would be some kind of cover on it to keep all the pieces inside. Well, it does not. You have to put the whole thing inside a very large ziploc to keep it all together. Great toy but not really thought all the way through.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 12/27/2007 by Susan - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This product was exactly what I wanted. Both my girls (5 and 3) enjoy playing with it. I wish the box had a lid. I would recommend this to all my family and friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 12/17/2007 by Nancy Dorman
Rating: 4

My daughter has simple placards of words such as "TV" or "chair" taped to items in her home in order to aid in the beginning of reading with her child. This See and Spell promotes the same idea and is why I chose it for my granddaughter.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 11/26/2007 by KeOnte M Criswell
Rating: 4

My friend and I had a good time playing with it and I'm sure my daughters will too when they get it for Christmas.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 10/1/2007 by Kelly Hemmes
Rating: 4

I used See & Spell in my Kindergarten Classroom as an educational tool for my students. They really enjoyed putting the puzzle pieces together to create words. They felt successful and were learning how to spell at the same time!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 6/21/2007 by Janel Letosky - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 4

See & Spell helps my child learn how to spell and eventually to read. It's a great way to make learning fun for little ones who have trouble staying on task.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of See & Spell
Posted 4/14/2007 by Frances Lam
Rating: 4

My son, who is almost 3 years old, enjoyed using the See and Spell. He knows his letters and was able to easily identify the pictures. I was able to engage him in identifying the words and then searching for the letters that spell the word. Since the letters are placed in indentations, putting the letters in was similar to putting together a puzzle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of See & Spell
Posted 2/13/2007 by Marisa Milanese
Rating: 4

A nicely crafted, educational, interesting toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 12/19/2006 by Laurie Schmalz
Rating: 4

Great toy. It is fun and educational.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 11/16/2006 by Kathleen H
Rating: 4

Excellent product. The child loved playing with this toy and feeling so proud when they spelled the words. I liked the box it came in as well. It keeps all the pieces contained.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 11/8/2006 by Kristine Burks
Rating: 4

This is a fun introduction to reading. My 3 1/2 year old enjoys working on it together. The toy is well made. My only criticism is that there appear to be just enough letters to make the words on the cards; thus, it is important not to lose any letters - especially the rarer ones.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 10/30/2006 by Dianne Forfia
Rating: 4

A great and sturdy case to last. My almost 3 year old loves it and tries to produce the word "bus" already! Lots of letters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 2/9/2010 by Jami Kirschnik
Rating: 4

The see and spell is great for the kids to see the picture and then match the letters. The only problem is of course, if they dont know what the letter is they really aren't learning to spell. My children are 2 and 3 so a little young yet to recognize what letter is what but they enjoy matching the C, A and T to the picture of the cat and the shape of the letters on the board. i do recommend this toy but like I said my children are littl too young yet to use it to its fullest.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful to start a child with spelling
Posted 2/1/2011 by Sherri - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Wonderful colors. Boards have good starter words. Words child uses.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 11/8/2010 by Carol Troxel
Rating: 4

Hasn't been given to him yet

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Speel
Posted 11/4/2009 by Ha Thien Nguyen
Rating: 4

This is great, but I kind of wish they made uppercase letters too.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See & Spell
Posted 10/25/2007 by Phillip E Waring
Rating: 4

Great! My 4 year old daughter loves it! It is very helpful with helping her understand which letters make up which words and keeps her occupied for a hours. She is very proud of herself when she completes a word.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A quality gift
Posted 11/19/2012 by Rebecca
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 3 1/2 year old daughter. She has been showing some interest in 'letters' and 'sounds'. She also enjoys puzzles. She plays with it once in a while - but that is ok - it is a learning item. Pleased with the quality. Everything fits back into the wooden box easily.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 8/27/2012 by Anthony Premeaux
Rating: 4

Letters were not of expected quality.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 11/27/2008 by Tisa - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

excellent toy for beginning basic reading and spelling my 5yr old grandson thoroughly enjoyed it

7 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 12/9/2013 by Siri Stenberg
Rating: 4

My 4 year old is enrolled in a Montessori preschool, and has materials like the See and Spell at her school. She just loves them, so I got this one for at home. It's so fun to hear her sounding out the letters as she spells the words! My only criticism is that the pictures don't separate from the words. She is rapidly getting to a point where if the pictures came apart from the words, she could spell the words out, then match them to the picture.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 11/19/2013 by Bonnie Tucker
Rating: 4

Our son is 4 and in Pre-K. He loves learning the beginnings of reading using sight words (in puzzle form) has been exciting for him. This is a great toy/educational item.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 11/3/2013 by Debbie Valentino
Rating: 4

Fun to play with and educational!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for my 4-year old.
Posted 3/22/2013 by Sharyn J.
Rating: 4

My 4-year old daughter loves puzzles, so this item has been great for her, as the letters are like pieces of a puzzle. The words to spell - cake, bird, fish - are words she uses every day, so she is very excited to be able to spell them. My 2-year old son also love matching the letters to their places on each board, as my daughter "teaches" him how to spell.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So much fun!
Posted 10/10/2012 by Sandra Fogwell - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This puzzle is amazing! I got this for my nephew's 2nd birthday as he is getting in to letters & puzzles & this toy acomplished all of the requirements I was searching for. From the minute he opened the toy he was very excited & did not want to let go off of it. He had so much fun looking for the letters & puting them on the puzzle board. It teached not only the letters but the pictures on the puzzle board also teached them to put words together & learn spellings along with understanding the meaning of the words. It's great for the parents as the puzzle comes in a very nice wooden box so you can keep boards & the letters in one place. I have to note that letters are small so if your child still puts things in his mouth - be careful. Thank you for this toy!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of See & Spell
Posted 12/29/2013
Rating: 4

My Niece loved the spelling boards. She is only 2 years old but so curious about the alphabet. I love that the boards are 2 sided for more words. Great Gift!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful.
Posted 12/9/2013 by Heather Fryer
Rating: 4

My four year old is very interested in letters and putting them together to make words. This is a perfect learning toy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great time killer while learning
Posted 11/27/2013
Rating: 4

Great puzzle game for kids learning to spell.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!!
Posted 11/20/2013 by Megan S.
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my daughter and she loves it! She is becoming interested in spelling and this is perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Third Birthday present
Posted 11/18/2013 by Amber Dakan
Rating: 4

High quality wooden materials used in construction. Bright colors. Several letters provided to make more than one word at a time. The storage box is nice but there is no top to keep the loose letters in place from spilling out.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great learning tool
Posted 9/16/2013 by Denise Gamary - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandson was very excited to receive this "puzzle" for his 4th birthday. The first thing that caught his eye was the pictures on each slide.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

5 year old birthday
Posted 7/31/2013 by aliyah westfield
Rating: 4

Mydaughter was very happy with this toy. She keep exclaming that they have one in her class at school !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3 year old likes it
Posted 7/28/2013 by Gary Dorn
Rating: 4

Very enjoyable and a fun learning experience for our 3 year old granddaughter. Could use a cover to keep all the small pieces (letters) from being lost.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 1/10/2013 by Heather S
Rating: 4

My son was highly motivated to play with this. Like the picture for each word and the different colored letters!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of See & Spell
Posted 1/2/2013 by Mom to Two Boys
Rating: 4

We tried to get a learning toy along with all the other fun toys this Christmas and I think this one has just been overshadowed. Our 5 year old son has played with it a couple of times but more because of mom's coaxing. Once he is playing with it he enjoys it though.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell Review
Posted 12/31/2012 by Christina C - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Great pictures for the words. I'd suggest having a cover for the top of the puzzle box so that the letters and word puzzles stay put.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about See & Spell
Posted 12/28/2012 by Karen L.
Rating: 4

my son is 3 and loves singing the alphabet & ordering the letters. So this seemed like the toy to foster that next step in the natural evolution of his learning. He loves finding the right letter to put in the outlines, and with words on both sides of the wooden trays, there is plenty to keep him entertained. My only disappointment is we've only had the toy for 3 days and small pieces of the paint is already flaking off the letters. But all my son knows is that its fun to find the letters!!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Puzzles
Posted 12/28/2012 by cynthia pool
Rating: 4

Helps our special needs grandson to identify letters and objects. Also helps with hand movements. Great colors and sturdy material

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of See & Spell
Posted 12/28/2012 by Karen Dresden
Rating: 4

I gave this to my 3-year old son for Christmas. It has been a little overshadowed by other gifts, but I think he will enjoy playing with it in the months to come. It seems perfect for his age. He cannot write or spell yet, but he enjoyed finding the letters and getting them to fit in the puzzle. It was challenging, but he experienced success. I think this will help him make connections between letters as symbols that spell words.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for See & Spell
Posted 12/27/2012 by Elizabeth Ehresmann - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

It's a Melissa & Doug product, obviously and always - high quality

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool way to get my kid interested.
Posted 12/23/2012 by Lucas Machann
Rating: 4

It's cool when you see your child spelling the words on their own.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Educational & Fun
Posted 12/4/2012 by Lilly
Rating: 4

It's colorful and educational and our nephew loves it...

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

2 YO focused on the letter colors; 4 YO focused on letters
Posted 11/19/2012
Rating: 4

Another M & D success. I observed the younger child (2 YO) looking for similar color letters and the older child (4 YO) looking for letters to put into the puzzle openings. Neither child is spelling yet, but I have a feeling that this will give them more confidence, the more they play with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

See and Spell
Posted 11/21/2012 by Diana Okruhlik
Rating: 4

not made for a 4-year-old

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb02