Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Shape Sorting Cube > Customer Reviews
Shape Sorting Cube
0

3 Star reviews of Shape Sorting Cube by Melissa & Doug

Return to Shape Sorting Cube product information...

Shape Sorting Cube has been reviewed 243 times with an average rating of 4.52

The title is accurate
Posted 9/30/2011 by Sarah Bouchette
Rating: 3

The product appears very durable. However, 5 different chips of the wood around the shape cutouts have flaked off. I was nearby when this happened, but my 1 year old could have put them in her mouth. In addition, I bought this for my 1 and 3 year olds to play with. My 1 year old enjoys putting the pieces in the slots I indicate. But my 3 year old who wants to play with it independently cannot tell the difference between the octagon, hexagon, and pentagon shapes, and he has a hard time with the diamond and quadrilateral. I wish I had known the shapes were so similar. I would have bought a different product with less confusing pieces for my toddlers.
Faulty construction is highly unusual for Melissa & Doug products. If you receive a defective product -or if any toy design doesn't square up with your expectations call us! We assisted our customer promptly. Get an angle on 100% satisfaction, visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/9/2012 by Lindsay Clark
Rating: 3

Wood was splitting on side when received.
How much wood could a woodchuck split if a woodchuck could split wood? Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details if you receive a defective toy. In a split second we assisted our customer.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/24/2007 by Jill
Rating: 3

I like the box, but I thought it would be a little bit bigger than it is. The wood is nice and the pieces look good. It would be nice if the top had a way of attaching to the box so that it wouldn't come right off. If someone wanted to work on putting the shapes in the side of the box it could not be turned to the side without the top coming off and contents coming out. However, I do like Melissa & Doug's handcrafted wooden toys!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/17/2007 by Cristen Brown
Rating: 3

This is a good toy. The only problem I saw with it was the fact that, when, say, nine or so of the shapes are already inside the cube, they pile and take up so much room inside that subsequent pieces don't have room to fall down into the cube when you place them through their respective openings.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/17/2009 by hilda cortez
Rating: 3

It is a fun toy, but two of the shapes are very hard to put in their place.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/12/2008 by Shannon Johnston
Rating: 3

This is a nice product, but the lid broke in half a few days after we received it. So that was disappointing. I was also surprised at how many different shapes there were. It is a little advanced for my one year old. I assumed there were only 4 shapes total.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/8/2014
Rating: 3

I was disappointed when we opened the shape sorting cube. It is not nearly as robust as other Melissa and Doug toys we have. The wooden top that slides out is thin and could break easily. The cube has already splintered around most of the shaped openings. This is the only time I wish I'd purchased a plastic version of this toy instead of a wooden one!
Rough start? Smooth out imperfections with a visit to the Returns & Exchanges Center. We assisted our customer promptly.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great learning tool
Posted 11/18/2013
Rating: 3

The product design has changed from the picture. Although it is similar, the old design looks more durable. The newly designed wooden box is laminated wood glued together to look like a solid sheet of wood. My particular item was flaking and jagged where the shapes had been cut out. The top now also slides into place and is less than 1/4 inch thick, making it a bit flimsy and hard to open and close to get shapes out.
We contacted our customer promptly. If you receive a defective toy, we'll sort out the situation and make things right. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for prompt assistance.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/26/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Upper level of sorting. Requires memory and thinking on toddler's part. The box should be of a higher quality wood or thickness. It has lots of splinters that I take off. Gives a higher sense of gratification of accomplishment for toddler.
Wood shavings have you puzzled? Fortunately, we deliver high quality customer care. Our customer was promptly assisted with the defective shape sorter. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 15 days ago by Pamela Shultz
Rating: 3

There are a zillion of these types of toys around. I odered the geo microscope and needed a toy for 1-2 year olds. For convenience, I ordered this as it fit the bill, so to speak. I think I got a lemon, but the sliding panel does not shut flush...which is annoying as this is on display for 100's to play with everyday. I waited too long to order the product and did not have time to ship back. I have no doubt that it would have been exchanged out for a replacement.
Expect one-of-a-kind service from our customer care team. Contact our Returns & Exchanges Center with defective toys. We are quick to assist.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape sorting cube
Posted 1/14/2013 by Jamie French
Rating: 3

The shape pieces my son plays with frequently, the cube not so much. The side of the cube that slides out to release he shapes is really loose and often opens on its own. While I like that the whole thing is made of wood, it still seems kind of cheaply designed, and once you get over half of the blocks in it fills up and gets really difficult to put more in.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape sorting cube
Posted 12/6/2012 by Nancy Luedtke
Rating: 3

While I really like the variety of the shapes and vibrant colors included for sorting, I would like the product better if it were made of hard, durable plastic. Very young children do put toy items in their mouths, and it would be easier to sanitize this toy if it were made of plastic.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02