Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Shape Sorting Cube > Customer Reviews
Shape Sorting Cube
0

4 Star reviews of Shape Sorting Cube by Melissa & Doug

Return to Shape Sorting Cube product information...

Shape Sorting Cube has been reviewed 244 times with an average rating of 4.52

Second time around
Posted 5/27/2010 by Carilda Thomas
Rating: 4

This is the second one I got for my grandson because the dog ate the first one just as he was starting to get the hang of shape sorting. He replays this frequently. The only issue I have is with the cover - it would have been better if there were some latch to hold the cover on; right now it slides off too easily.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 6/17/2009
Rating: 4

The construction of this toy is sturdy, and it is smooth and easy to get the shape blocks in and out. It arrived with the blocks positioned in the openings, and some of the paint from the blocks is smeared here, as if they were inserted with the paint still wet. It's just a few smears and isn't a problem, but I mention it because I ordered another Mellissa and Doug toy, and it also seemed to have been assembled before the paint was dry and it was a problem, because paint was flaking off. I will be returning this other toy because I don't want my daughter to but a toy with flaking paint into her mouth So, be careful.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape sorting cube
Posted 10/21/2008 by Heather
Rating: 4

This product is VERY good quality! My son is a little too yong to use it to it's full potential.(he's 1) but as he gets older he'll be able to learn a lot from this toy.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/24/2009 by Holly Cavanaugh
Rating: 4

the shape sorting cube is great but I believe my son will enjoy it more in a few months, he is still too young (10 months). He is too busy learning to walk.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/28/2010 by Shang Dai
Rating: 4

something solid inside will be better, instead of a paper box.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/17/2009 by Dana Lashly
Rating: 4

Good product. No complaints.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Birthday gift
Posted 9/18/2008 by Andrea Alderman
Rating: 4

The shape sorter is a very good product. I read another review about the lid falling off but this one does not. It actually stays on properly to the frustration of my son who is not yet old enough to get it off and on by himself. I think it will be a great toy for him to continue to use as he gets older.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/19/2008 by Shani
Rating: 4

the only thing that is a problem is that the cube is small enough that when you are getting to the last couple of shapes it is hard to put them in there because there is no room left because of how small the cube is. oh it would be nice if the top wouldn't slide of quite as easily.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Classic
Posted 2/9/2012 by momof2
Rating: 4

This is a great classic toy that is constructed well. We bought this toy for our second child who just had his 1st birthday because we wanted him to have something educational as well as different from what our first son already has. Even as a one year old he loves to try to figure out where the shapes fit or to even just have the lid off and stuff the blocks and other items into the box then dump it out and do it again!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/10/2011 by Nikolet B Jensen
Rating: 4

My daughter is 13-months-old and she like this toy. She is still not very good with matching the right shapes but she also uses it as a box to put stuff in and she likes to play with the different pieces. It's a good way to teach her colors and shapes.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/5/2007
Rating: 4

My son loves it! He enjoys putting the shapes in the appropriate spots.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/1/2006 by Michelle
Rating: 4

Our 18 month old son loves this toy! It is well-constructed and challenging for him. I'm certain he will be interested in it for some time to come.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/6/2007 by Rebecca Birmingham
Rating: 4

I like the variety of shapes that are included in this toy. It is quite a challenge, as our little darling is just 18 months old. He is able to fit some of the shapes. It will grow with him as he advances to the more difficult shapes.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/28/2011 by Pamela Tokar-Ickes
Rating: 4

Have always liked the Melissa and Doug line- very pleased with the quality of the toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Cube, great quality, one small hiccup
Posted 9/9/2011 by Bernardo Mainou
Rating: 4

I bought this for our 6 month old kid. While he cannot figure out the shapes to the extent of putting them in the correct slot of the cube, he loves jiggling the cube, getting the pieces out and playing with them. He loves the colors of the pieces, and the construction of the set is very nice. The only downside is the piece on top that slides off the top of the cube to take the pieces out does not have a locking mechanism. So, the piece just slides off easily and the pieces come out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Difficult shapes.
Posted 9/7/2011 by Michelle Lebron
Rating: 4

My 15 months old and 2 1/2 enjoy playing with this. It has really peculiar shapes, so it's a big more challenging for even at 2 1/2 year old. But, both my daughter enjoy trying to master it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 4/27/2011 by Yvette Smith
Rating: 4

It's a great toy and I love that it's wood, but I think he's not quite ready for it yet at 9 months.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 3/29/2011 by Maura Maynard
Rating: 4

My son is 23 months and he really enjoys this toy. IT's great for going over colors & shapes with him!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

age appropriateness
Posted 3/18/2011 by Carol - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Actually, my grandson doesn't play with it much because we've put it away until he's older. He is a very perceptive one year old with excellent dexterity. Nevertheless, the shape sorting is rather daunting even for adults who typically assume it to be simple.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 11/14/2010 by mihail antonescu
Rating: 4

the quality of the product is good, it appeals to both, parents and children

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/3/2010 by Kelsie O'Dell - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

This is a great product for learing however it seems to be the last thing my kids pick off he shelfs.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/1/2010 by rz
Rating: 4

My 1-year old needs help matching up the blocks to the right shape holes, but it is teaching her useful skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/27/2009 by Rebecca
Rating: 4

My son is 9 months and he loves to hear the shapes clink when he puts them in the box, but he is not yet putting the shapes through the cutout holes. I like the bright colors and the clean construction. This toy is well put together and I am glad that I bought it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

many shapes!
Posted 7/7/2008 by Alexandra
Rating: 4

we love that there are soooo many shapes to sort! however, my son is only 19 months and has trouble with the hexagon and octagon...sometimes it frustrates him that they are so similar, he just opens the top and throws them in!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for years to come
Posted 6/26/2008 by Cristin
Rating: 4

We ordered this for our 10 month old daughter. Although she doesn't understand the concept of shapes yet she enjoys banging the wooden pieces together. The fact that this is a wooden toy means it will hold up for her to enjoy it for a few years.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/16/2008 by Susan - TEACHER
Rating: 4

The shape sorting cube will be a great toy for my son when he outgrows the need to put everything in his mouth. He sucked on one piece for a while as he looked at the rest of the toy, and when I put that piece into the cube, the paint began rubbing off! We've put it away until he's old enough to understand he can't eat while he plays.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/3/2008 by Richard Russell
Rating: 4

The product functionally had exactly what I was looking for. A variety of different shapes that could be held, and manipulated into matching holes. I felt that this would, and it does seem to, offer the opportunity to sharpen shape differentiation, and naming, also exercising of fine motor skills. Drawbacks were minor, but expected of Chinese products: 1. The lid is poorly designed, the result is that it always falls off. However, this was easily remedied by putting thin strips of Velcro in the base of each notch and the corresponding mating surfaces of the lid. This affords enough grip to hold, but not so much that young hands can't pry off when needed to. 2. There is insufficient difference between the rectangle and the square. This seems more a design issue rather than one of cost. 3. The paint is not of good quality, as some is rubbing off in the first week of use. OVERALL: I recommend this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube Review
Posted 2/8/2008 by Chad Theriault
Rating: 4

I thought this was a very good product as it includes many more types of shapes than other boxes of a similar purpose. One negative of this toy is that the 'lid' comes off very easily, resulting in the 'cubes' falling out or the child realizing that they can just stick the cubes in the large opening. Overall, though, if supervised, this is a good toy that provides education about shapes and their differences; particularly with the pentagon, hexagon, and octogon.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 6/13/2007
Rating: 4

I purchased this particular shape sorting cube primarily because I wanted to move away from plastics and was attracted to the large variety of shapes. The cube and shapes are well constructed, however the lid comes off too easily when the cube is tilted. Perhaps the cube is meant to be spun, rather than tilted? My 6 month old will likely appreciate a simpler version with fewer shapes that are located on one side to start.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Is Fun!
Posted 4/2/2007 by Janet Beuckelaere - OTHER
Rating: 4

This is a wonderful, well-made toy. I wish that the side that allows the pieces to come out was attached somehow, although I don't know how that would be best accomplished.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/16/2007 by Michelle
Rating: 4

So far my almost two year old son can mostly figure out where each piece goes if we turn it to the correct side. I think it is a very educational toy. I recommend it highly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy
Posted 1/30/2007 by Michele
Rating: 4

I got this toy for my 2 year old. She likes it and has learned the names of less common shapes. My 12 month old also enjoys putting the lid on and off, tossing the shapes in the top, and dumping them out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/11/2006 by Rebecca
Rating: 4

This a good toy, but the lid falls off when the cube is turned on it's side, which causes shapes to fall out. It would be better if the lid was hinged.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 3/21/2006 by Lisa
Rating: 4

Great toy, only problem is when it starts to get full, sometimes it was a bit hard to get the blocks in with all the other blocks in the way. Other than that, nice colors and great quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/1/2006 by Robby Morehead
Rating: 4

My 20 month-old twin boys love this toy so much I am considering purchasing another. I only wish the lid stayed on a little more securely.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cub
Posted 6/22/2005 by Jennifer Coscia
Rating: 4

We haven't had any time since we received the toy in the mail, but I did open it for my 2-year old and then my 5-year old said to him, "let's put the shapes where they belong". I thought that was interesting because most of the time, my 5-year old will shun any gifts my 2-year old receives. But I think initially, this toy was very well received and will be played with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice product at a decent price
Posted 8/26/2008 by Irene Terrazas
Rating: 4

Nice toy. My baby is too young to use it to the fullest as yet. Some of the shapes are so similar that it is slightly challenging even for me. It will definitely challenge her when she's old enough to want to challenge herself. Design-wise, I think, I might have opted to put the different variations of the same shape on the same side. I feel this would help baby see more clearly and sooner that though the shapes are very similiar, they really are diffrent. (It would promote shape discrimination.)

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love this!
Posted 7/23/2013 by Mary Ladage
Rating: 4

We gave this to our son for his first birthday. He's mostly intrigued with the blocks and hasn't interacted much with the cube except to shake it. He does like to put the blocks in the cube if the lid is off, so it's only a matter of time until he figures out how to put the blocks through their matching cut out. It is well built, although the wood did splinter a little bit around the cut out areas when we first opened it. Also, it's small - the blocks are the perfect size for little hands! Great product!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/29/2012 by Deborah Maloney - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Nicely constructed

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/7/2012 by Nancy barrow - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Purchased this product a little "ahead of schedule" for my grandson. He and I enjoy this toy together. The solid wood, easy to hold shapes are teaching colors and dexterity. Shape sorting won't be far behind!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for toddlers!
Posted 8/30/2012 by LJ (Chicago)
Rating: 4

Great item. My son spied this on the kitchen counter (didn't see me take it out of the shipping box) and pulled my husband over to get it for him so he could open it and start playing with it. He is a little boy, after all, and if unsupervised, will sometimes just throw the shapes instead of trying to put them back in the box. A couple of the pieces are already showing signs of relatively heavy wear and paint chipping after only a week, but since it is non-toxic, I am unconcerned.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/26/2013 by Daniel Witsil
Rating: 4

High quality product that does the job it was intended to do. My 11 month old is still a little young for this toy, but I am sure she will grow to love it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape cube
Posted 9/11/2013 by Tanya
Rating: 4

My one year old loves this toy. He tries to put the shapes in the cube constantly then takes them out again and again. He loves this toy

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/30/2012
Rating: 4

Bought for my 18 month old and my mom gave her one very similar that was made of colorful plastic that rolls and the pieces fit like a puzzle and can pushed through that she likes better but this toy is well made and we will give it to another child

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/27/2012 by Rachel Schuldt
Rating: 4

Very simple for my 21 month old to understand! Very cute!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 11/14/2012 by Ronnie Shalev
Rating: 4

great learning tool!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review
Posted 6/25/2014 by Vanessa Dunn
Rating: 4

Now that she has her room ready we will give her this toy to play with.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03