Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Standard Unit Blocks > Customer Reviews
Standard Unit Blocks
0

4 Star reviews of Standard Unit Blocks by Melissa & Doug

Return to Standard Unit Blocks product information...

Standard Unit Blocks has been reviewed 175 times with an average rating of 4.86

Big hit!
Posted 12/26/2009 by April Bizot
Rating: 4

Bought these for my 2 year old after watching him play with them at a friend's home. Easy to handle, easy to stack and tons of fun to knock down!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Standard Unit Blocks
Posted 12/6/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

purchased as a gift. Looks exactly like I hoped it would. Will deliver on Christmas day.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Standard Unit Blocks
Posted 10/7/2009
Rating: 4

I appreciated the smoothness of the blocks' edges and the variety of shapes, although there was no sphere.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Good
Posted 10/7/2009 by Ann M. Etter
Rating: 4

They are very good but alot of little ones come and we normally build with the bulk ones, not the little ones. I'm also having a hard time understanding that there were 60 blocks in there.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wood Blocks
Posted 8/18/2009 by Mark D
Rating: 4

Great blocks at a good price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice standard unit building blocks
Posted 8/4/2008 by Margarita Estrada
Rating: 4

We purchased this set of blocks because it has received good reviews from many sources. That said, they are nice, however they did smell a little "chemically" almost like vinegar. I contacted Melissa & Doug regarding the odor and they assured me that they do not treat their wood with any chemicals. They seem to be very durable and are definitely hardwood (rubberwood). For the price this is a good set, albeit there are other sets nicer for more $$$ that we just couldn't justify having unless we planned on keeping it for decades in an attic for our grandchildren.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Well Biult Blocks
Posted 7/10/2008 by Michael Barra
Rating: 4

Blocks are good quality with some weight to them. Sides and edges are pretty smooth and the natural wood is a better safety choice for my boy. With all you read about today with paint issues and China garbage, I think between the quality materials and attention to detail of these blocks make them a great choice. There could be more big blocks however. When biulding with my son I find a shortage of the large blocks. I acutally bought 2 sets, partly due to this. My son likes them, My wife and I like them. You probably will as well. Rating 9 out of 10.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

multi-purpose standard unit blocks
Posted 6/18/2008 by Julie Petschke
Rating: 4

This is the second set of these blocks that we have bought because they can be used in so many different ways--as houses, car garages, bridges and tunnels for cars, etc. Because they require visual-spatial problem solving, can be used for many different purposes, over and over again, and because they encourage children and adults to work together as they build, they are a must for any child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 2/21/2008 by Jess
Rating: 4

Kids love these blocks and make many "block yards" as they call them, that we all get to tumble to the ground. They were a bit disappointed that there were so many little blocks, and only two large blocks in the whole box. The little ones are hard to build anything tall with. Still, they are having a blast with these, and I love knowing that my grandchildren and great-grandchildren will be able to use these someday!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Product
Posted 12/27/2007 by Gino
Rating: 4

The blocks are high quality. My 4 year old loves them and has been very creative in her designs. I plan to buy another set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Quality... Not The Ones Of My Childhood
Posted 12/26/2007 by Karen Suber
Rating: 4

These blocks are a really nice quality, without scary lead paint issues etc. However, they are bigger than the ones I used to play with and not colored (obviously) just a personal preference. My husband and son have no qualms about them!!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basic Blocks
Posted 7/27/2007 by K. Daniels
Rating: 4

The block quality is fine, considering the price. I think there are too many tiny little pieces and not enough of the "standard" 1.5 x 2 x 5 blocks. I would have been happier with fewer larger blocks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug Standard Unit Blocks
Posted 7/26/2007
Rating: 4

These are just regular old blocks, just what I wanted. They are the weight and size I was hoping for. My only very slight complaint is that they could be a little smoother, but I expect this will come with use. The smoothness is really not a big factor, and will not interfere with my child's enjoyment, I'm sure.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Set of Blocks
Posted 12/21/2006 by Shane
Rating: 4

The perfect starter set of blocks for my son to start using and building. They are large enough to allow him to build and explore his imagination and small enough to put away when not in use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good starter set
Posted 11/30/2005 by Liz Donegan
Rating: 4

My son has been begging for blocks "Like at my school" for nearly a year. I researched a variety of sets of SUB blocks. Most were so expensive that I immediately balked at the price. I found this set to be of fine quality. I'm sure there will be some dings down the road, but the materials seem fine. My only complaint would be the silly 1/4 circles that are clearly included to increase the block count for the set. I think the set would be better if it focused more on the basic, unit blocks, but that's my opinion. As far as working with Fat Brain Toys, this was another successful purchase. The blocks arrived on time and in great condition. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Standard Unit Blocks
Posted 11/1/2005 by Dana Fulmer
Rating: 4

Very good quality blocks. My children (aged 4) love them! I was disappointed, however, that there were so few big blocks (just 2 double & 0 quadruple unit blocks) and so many of the "decorative" blocks. Nonetheless, they are well made and their box is sturdy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nicely sized blocks; good price
Posted 12/10/2012 by Mary Hall
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my almost 18-month-old for Christmas. He likes blocks, but has not played with these yet. Most blocks we've bought previously with our other kids--Hero wooden blocks, traditional ABC blocks, Discovery Kids castle blocks--are quite small. I wanted something more substantial for him to grip, that would produce bigger results for him, and these look like they'll do nicely. They are also attractive. I considered other brands like Haba, which offers specialty shapes lacking in the Melissa & Doug kit, but in the end two things led me to this choice: the reports of poorly sanded blocks in the Haba kit, and the nicer price of the Melissa & Doug version.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02