Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Upper and Lower Case Alphabet > Customer Reviews
Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
0

Customer reviews of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet by Melissa & Doug

Return to Upper and Lower Case Alphabet product information...

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet has been reviewed 67 times with an average rating of 4.58

Review for Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 7/30/2008 by Ashley Rasmussen
Rating: 4

My daughter just turned 3 and started using this puzzle immediately. She/we have played with it several times. I like it so far, however already some of the edges of each little piece are getting torn up. Some of the lower case letters also look very similar, which is confusing to her at age 3. Overall though we really like it and it is a great learning tool as well as fun since it is a puzzle. Oh and some of the pictures under the letters are odd for the letter, not terrible common objects/animals/foods etc for most toddlers and young kids in my opinion.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ok Puzzle
Posted 12/6/2009 by LWCP
Rating: 3

My daughter has shown a big interest in letters. In hindsight, this wasn't the best purchase for her. She likes puzzles that match letters to words and pictures better. Also, it has lower and upper case which can be confusing. I think this puzzle might be more interesting once she knows how to read. Then she can use the letters to form words.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 5/14/2008 by AMY K EATON-FITZPATRICK
Rating: 4

This set is very nice and I like the idea of both upper and lower case letters, but the lower case b, d, p and q all look somewhat similar. I like Melissa and Doug products, but I wish they had done a little bit better job of differentiating between the letters.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 4/14/2008 by Sanju Pratap
Rating: 3

The lower case letters are a little confusing in their design when the dots above the lower case i and j are blended with the letter. However, it is a great tool to teach my son the alphabet in lower case.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/29/2007 by Pat Kindermann
Rating: 5

Quality product. Purchased for a 13 month old. He spends an uninterrupted hour playing with it and learning his letters.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 8/1/2006 by Nathan Theune
Rating: 5

The product is wonderful and I enjoy it almost as much as my daughter does. I would add an optional toy that presented the most commonly used letters for sentences and allowed the child to create sentences with the letters as well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

PUZZLE
Posted 2/22/2012 by Cindy P - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this for my grand-daughter and she loves it. We went through all the letters several times. The only picture that took me a minute to figure out was the "colors" under the letter "C", at first I thought it was suppose to be "cigars" which didn't really make sense, but all the rest of the pictures were fun and easy. Great product, and I got it in two days. Highly recomend.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/7/2011 by t. graybill
Rating: 4

We care for several special needs children in our home.We found it hard to find well made educational toys that can keep the children's attention. The upper and lower case alphabet has not only held up to rough playing but has also improved fine motor skills. Thank You

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/16/2010 by Megan H
Rating: 4

Overall, I am very pleased with the purchase. Some of the pictures underneath the letters aren't quite lines up, but you can still see all of them. At this point, my 2yo just takes all the letters out, but she enjoys it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet Puzzle
Posted 8/27/2009 by Jhumur Saeed
Rating: 5

The qulaity of the puzzle is good. It is perfect for a 4 year old who knows his upper case letters and is trying to learn the lower case. Placing them side by side (upper and lower) helps the child identify the similarities and differences between the upper and lower case letter and between letters.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 6/28/2009 by Steve Fletcher - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my grandsons, ages 2 1/2 & 20 months. They are just beginning to learn their letters and colors, so I thought this would be fun for them. They really like it and have played with it a lot! Well worth the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 1/12/2009 by Belinda
Rating: 4

I like that the letters are together side by side instead of having to use two different puzzles.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 10/31/2008 by Laurie Lloyd - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandkids love this and have so much fun learning the lower case letters too. It is an excellent item and I highly recommend it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 10/15/2008 by Nancy Janik - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great learning tool for my soon to be "2" grandson. He already knows the alphabet but I wanted him to know both the upper and lower case alphabet. I am happy with the puzzle!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandma
Posted 9/17/2008 by Pamela Erickson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandson loves learning the lower case alphabet letters---it's much easier now that the upper case letters are right beside the lowercase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet Wooden Puzzle
Posted 9/2/2008 by Anna Babiarz
Rating: 5

My son who is 22 months enjoys the wooden puzzle set. The Upper and lower case set is durable and outstanding material for preschoolers. I enjoy all of Melissa and Doug wooden products.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and lower case alphabet
Posted 8/16/2008
Rating: 5

Great product to introduce the concept of lower and upper case. My daughter only knew the upper case letters and this product helped her associate each letter to its lower case. Highly recommend.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great, worth the money,
Posted 8/6/2008 by Marco Antonio S. Santos
Rating: 4

My 3 1/2 y.old son didn't fall in love with this toy in first sight, but when we started putting the pieces on the right spot ( witch I always misplaced them on purpose ) he would get excited to show me that he could do better than I did, even though he got bored very soon. Anyway, I'm happy for having this toy, it's not expensive at all, it's worth each dollar spent, I will be shopping again soon...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Alpha-board!
Posted 6/6/2008 by Wanda L. Draeger
Rating: 4

This board was purchased for a "just turned 4" year-old who already knew his alphabet, but it has been really fun for him. It allows kids to practice placing "puzzle" pieces in the correct spot, is fun to use to create simple words to start spelling activities, and has nice pictures under all of the letters that they can use as 'clues' to place the letters correctly. We have been pleasantly surprised at how much interest and learning has been sparked by this very simple board!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great puzzle for Toddlers/Pre-schoolers
Posted 5/16/2008 by N Davis
Rating: 5

Great price and perfect for my 2 1/2-yr old. I love that it shows both uppercase and lowercase letters - I have searched for a toy that has both and this is the nicest I found!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Item
Posted 5/13/2008 by A Smith
Rating: 5

Item is great! My son loves this puzzle. It is the only one I was able to find online that has both lower and upper case letters. It is a great learning tool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 4/27/2008
Rating: 5

My son is really enjoying this great puzzle from your store! The puzzle is wonderful...especially that under each letter is a photo to help children learn the alphabet better! I'm looking forward to shopping with you more!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 4/5/2008 by Latesha
Rating: 5

My childeren and I enjoy this product very much. I use it with my daughter, who is four, to form words. And with my son, who just turned two, to help him with alphabet recognition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Puzzle
Posted 2/21/2008 by Meylin Champion
Rating: 5

We are generally happy with the puzzle. The only thing that I have trouble with my son is that the letters i and j the dots on the top are not marked well enough. Besides that we have already had a lot of fun with the puzzle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/14/2008 by Gina Pulice
Rating: 4

A great way to learn and entertain.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 2/12/2008 by Xaymara Santos
Rating: 5

Purchased this for my 2 year old. He absolutely loves it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/10/2008 by Eric
Rating: 4

This product works well as it is a simple concept, the edges of the letters are smooth so no worry about splintering. My son likes that the letters are both upper and lowercase so he can practice spelling works in the proper way. My only concern is that this product says it's made in China, and I worry that the paint might contain small amounts of lead. I will be buying some lead test strips to find out for sure. Overall though, this product does exactly what it's supposed to, and my son took to it instantly. Definitely has helped his spelling from the moment he first opened it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/6/2008 by Emilie MacLean
Rating: 4

My son (2.5) is loving this puzzle. He has known all of the upper case letters for about a year now and has recently begun to learn the lower case letters. This puzzle is helping him to understand that with each upper case letter, there is a lower case letter. He loves taking the letters out and looking at the pictures. Doing the entire puzzle independently is too hard for him right now, but he is very intrigued and captivated by the puzzle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Puzzle
Posted 1/15/2008 by Nancy
Rating: 5

This puzzle is great for young children to become familiar with the alphabet. It encourages eye/hand coordination. And letter recognition. Great for developing fine motor skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/28/2007 by Katherine L. Ballenger
Rating: 5

Love love LOVE IT. Melissa & Doug make wonderful, high quality toys. With the addition of the lower case alphabet, this puzzle has enough letters to allow us to spell out simple words. Great product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Outstanding!
Posted 12/26/2007 by Tammy Holmstrom
Rating: 5

As a parent I was extremely pleased with this puzzle. I love that it includes both upper case and lower case letters and my daughter (2.5) loves the pictures beneath the letters. We have been very pleased with all of the Melissa and Doug products we own, they are of a very high quality. My only complaint with this puzzle would be that the dot on the lower case 'i' isn't very distinguished, therefore my daughter has difficulty telling it from the lower case 'l.' This is a very minor complaint though, as each letter is color coded, as long as she finds the uppercase letter first she has no problem.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 11/20/2007 by Mary Beth Jambor
Rating: 5

My two year old loves this puzzle. At this age, there are too many pieces to do at one time. But he enjoys being able to identify the letters. I can see that he will only enjoy it more as he gets older and understands how the pictures and letter relate. A few letters are a bit obscure for a child learning letters: the upper and lower case S, the upper case N, the lower case I and the lower case J.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 10/22/2007 by Marilla J. Parker - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The quality was good, and the pieces fit well. Painting was also excellent.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper And Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 10/18/2007 by T.M.
Rating: 4

It is nice this has upper and lower case letters. Most puzzles only have the upper case letters. My 3 year old is learning to recognize the letters of the alphabet from this. Some of the letters are not clear. I feel the "S" is too thick, and the lower case "q" and "p" are too short. Overall, my child really likes his puzzle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet Review
Posted 10/15/2007 by Rachel Clinton
Rating: 3

The product is nice. I love the pictures under each letter. The thing I do not like is the letters can be confused. The lower case d and p should be different colors because when they are upside down they can easily be confused for one another - especially for a 3 year old. Also, the lower case u and n are hard to distinguish. I think that instead of only using 4 colors for the puzzle each letter should have a different color.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Daughter Played Endlessly When It First Came But...
Posted 4/14/2007
Rating: 4

The lower case letters could have used a little bit more differentiation. The little b and little q look similar even though many type sets have at least that little squiggle on the q so that you don't have to go by matching it to the color of the big letter - You would just know that it is a little q. The little p and little d also appear identical, understandable as orientation is the primary difference, but they are both painted green. This was an issue initially when my daughter started playing with the puzzle and would fit the p in the d spot. It wouldn't fit yet it seemed like it should and then we would try the p spot and it would work. Ultimately, she got where she could do it without any help in just a few days. I do think it is a good toy but these might be some design considerations for the future.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It
Posted 3/30/2007
Rating: 5

Great educational tool for my toddler sons. A good quality product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 3/26/2007 by Elizabeth C. Triplett
Rating: 5

This is a great product. It teaches children the upper and lower case of the alphabet at the same time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 3/4/2007 by Kathy Nelson
Rating: 3

I like this product, so does my three year old. I wish some of the letters would be more accurately shaped. The lowercase i,j, and q do not really look like those letters. This is very important for young children when they are learning to identify letters. Also some of the pictures that accompany the letters could be pictures of more common things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/28/2007 by Julia D.
Rating: 5

My 2 year old absolutely loved this alphabet from the moment she saw it. Although she knows all the letters, it's still fun for her to dump them out and put back in. She's especially fond of us watching her success and applauding her skills. The letters in the alphabet are big (which means it's easy to find them when they're all over the place) and very durable (tested daily by my baby). Pictures under each letter are just some extra fun. Playing "ABC's" is now a part of our everyday play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/25/2007 by D. O'Brien
Rating: 5

A great puzzle to introduce lower case letters, as well as upper case letters. My daughter is 4 years old and was put in reading group at school because she knows her lower case letters from this puzzle. A wonderful, non-threatening way to give your child a head start on reading.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/21/2007 by Lorri
Rating: 5

High quality, bright color wooden pieces. Great for developing fine motor skills. It is nice to find a product that includes both upper and lower case letters together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3 Year Old Took To It Right Away
Posted 2/17/2007 by Carolyn
Rating: 5

Our 3 year old likes all Melissa & Doug toys. I wanted him to learn his lowercase letters; he already knows uppercase letters. We got him this puzzle and he took right to it. After about a week, he already knows most of his lowercase letters. Ultimately, each toy is about the individual child being interested in it. For us, this one is a hit.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Recommend
Posted 2/13/2007
Rating: 4

I recommend this product. Some children have trouble identifying their lowercase letters and this puzzle is helpful. Although the lowercase letters are good to have, some of the letters look similiar to other letters, i.e., the b, d, p, & q. This is a little confusing. Also the lower case "i" should be more distinctive.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 2/12/2007 by Kristine DeMatteo
Rating: 5

Terrific product for teaching upper and lower letter recognition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet Puzzle a Winner
Posted 9/18/2006
Rating: 5

This is perfect for showing toddlers both the upper and lower case letters. Most toys only show one or the other which can be a little confusing. The pictures underneath the letters help to teach the actual sounds of the letters as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 9/4/2006 by Dawn L. Ghiorse
Rating: 5

Wonderful. My children (2 and 3 years old) love puzzles and my 3 year old is learning both capital and small letters, so it is very helpful.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 8/18/2006 by L Cooney
Rating: 5

Great educational toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 8/1/2006 by Sathya Kandaswamy
Rating: 4

Sturdy, Nice !

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 11/21/2011 by Sylvia Haun - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Unique idea putting upper case and lower case in same puzzle. Our 4 year old granddaughter loves it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for lower case and upper case letters
Posted 6/30/2009
Rating: 5

2.5 year old daughter loves this puzzle and she already knows her upper case letters but this puzzle helps her identify the lower case letters.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 6/11/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The size and thickness of the letters are great!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Alphabet puzzle - Wood
Posted 8/14/2014 by In_the_moonlight
Rating: 4

Almost perfect. Has lower and upper cases. Bright colors. Nice designs underneath. Good quality. Just an issue with the p and the d that can be interchanged (same color and same shape), while the q and b were made slightly differently, and of different colors. Other than that, very satisfied!!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper, Lower Case Alphabet Puzzle
Posted 10/31/2013 by Kathy Sepesy
Rating: 5

My daughter loves this puzzle. It is well made with bright colors and sturdy, smooth wood.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/23/2012 by Terry Coble - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Real Wood and well made.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/11/2012 by Virginia simpson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

High quality, sturty wood product. Bight colors to keep childs interest . Various ways to use this as a teaching tool as child matures. Now my bows are into puzzles and this is a good way to engage their interest in the alphabet. I had separate puzzles made of their names, now can use the Alphabet Puzzle to pick out letters to leard to spell their name. Puzzle allows them to see and feel the letter as they say its name engaging several senses in the learning process. We will use this over the years in different ways; the mark of a good toy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/9/2012 by Grandma Chris
Rating: 5

He has not received it yet, a Christmas present. he and his parents will love it! he is only 4 months old, but as a former teacher I know how valuable the alphabet is and we start them early!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Upper and Lower Case Alphabet
Posted 12/5/2012 by Dave Barnhart
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas present - still three weeks away. Too early to tell. Although it looks great. Ask me again after Christmas

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great learning tool
Posted 12/2/2012 by Jessica Fowler
Rating: 4

Because my son is only a year, the only trouble he has is picking the pieces up out of the puzzle...but as he gets older, this shouldn't be a concern.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03