Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Wooden Railway Set > Customer Reviews
Wooden Railway Set
0

Customer reviews of Wooden Railway Set by Melissa & Doug

Return to Wooden Railway Set product information...

Wooden Railway Set has been reviewed 193 times with an average rating of 4.64

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/5/2009 by Sarah Wildt
Rating: 5

This is a fantastic train set. The table area for set up needs to be large as any movement of a piece can shift the entire track and cause any bridges or pieces on supports to slide off and collapse areas of the track. However, this is a minimal inconvenience for such a great toy. Not only does this track look perfect, it fits all the Thomas the Train items and you can get solid metal Thomas engines that are battery operated and run on the track - just make sure to confirm that they are the wooden railway set and not the larger plastic models. What a great gift!

19 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Set, Great Price
Posted 7/24/2008 by Janet Melanson
Rating: 5

We purchased this set for my 2 year old son. He had played with other train sets at a local store and loved them, so we bought him his own for his birthday. I was impressed with the finished quality of the wood track - everything was smooth - no chance for splinters etc. Also, my son's Thomas trains run very well on the track. One thing we added that has been a lifesaver as far as keeping the track intact is "Sure Track". They are clips that hold the wooden pieces together so they don't come apart as easily.

14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not good
Posted 7/18/2011 by Richard Hollas
Rating: 2

Pieces and instructions missing. Pictured set up on box and separate picture provided in box were not the same, did not have all the pieces to construct track as advertised. Track pieces were numbered in the instructions but did not provide corresponding numbers on the bags so identifying tracks was a guessing game. Wood track seemed to use different materials resulting in uneven track assembly. Paint already chipping from train cars.
Apparently, serious derailment happened in production of this specific train set! Luckily it was purchased from us! We follow through in engineering full satisfaction. We contacted both the manufacturer and the customer to clear up the wreckage and ensure prompt arrival of new railway setup. Please pull into the Returns & Exchanges station for details.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/8/2008 by Linda Wurm - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This set was purchased as a gift for my grandson, 2 1/2. But seeing how much my husband and I enjoyed setting it up and "playing" with it, I know the laddie will be happy! The quality is great - smooth pieces that fit well together. We did not use all the track, thinking we could change and add as he gets older and more skillful in small motor. I have purchased double sided tape to adhere some track/curves and bridges better I look forward to watching the boy when he discovers his own train set!

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Railway Set
Posted 10/23/2008 by K Tenney
Rating: 4

I am pleased with the quality of this railway set. I found that it is indeed compatible with the Thomas Railway set we already owned. It was a birthday gift for my 4 year old, but the whole family has enjoyed playing with it!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/15/2007 by Valeria Damiao
Rating: 2

Disappointed! To make a circle, it takes 9, not 8, short curved tracks, meaning they are 40 degrees instead of 45. The only reason this ends up working when one puts the tracks down for a 90 turn is that the connections have a lot of slop, which in turn means that the trains derail very easily. Also, the rotary table arrived off-center so it didn't turn. I bought this railway system because I liked the 5 train "garage" with the rotary table feature.
We contacted Melissa & Doug for this customer. This customer was sent a replacement rotary table piece.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 3/9/2010 by Praveena Karamthoti
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 2 yr old son. We haven't opened the entire set yet but the items we've opened are of high quality. I recommend this product for 2 and above.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Buy!
Posted 2/9/2009 by Chazz Rose
Rating: 4

This is a great set and much better than the plastic Thomas set in the same price range. My 4yr old has been building new designs each week. Some of the stations are not as well designed as the Thomas stuff - like it is hard to get in and out of the round house and the loader isn't set up to actually load anything etc. but all in all it is great for imaginative play and like all Melissa & Doug stuff very sturdy!

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome choice!
Posted 6/11/2012 by KAYLA WICHMAN
Rating: 5

I got this for my 2 year old and he loves it! The only downside it that it falls over easy. We had to glue it to a piece of wood for him.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great Railway set
Posted 12/27/2010 by B - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

A very high quality product. The set has lots of options for track design and includes several sheets to help you put together a specific pattern which makes best use of the set pieces. We put one of these together for the kids but had to revise it the next day since they kept knocking it off the elevated parts. We found a flat track pattern was better for the 2 1/2 year olds. When they are older we will again use the elevated sections. This railway set in very similar to sets they have used in local libraries and is a great addition to any playroom. (Get the M and D table too. It is so important to have the railway set up at child height)

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Train set
Posted 5/3/2010 by Becky
Rating: 5

Great train set! Easy to set up and use

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Isabel's railway set
Posted 6/11/2009 by Mary Brock
Rating: 5

I sent the railway set as a birthday present to my granddaughter. Since then I've recieved 2 phone calls and an e-mail saying how much she enjoys the gift. There's so many moving parts and things that she can do with it. I also believe that her mom and aunt are enjoying it just as much. This is a wonderful gift for any boy or girl!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug train set
Posted 7/28/2008 by Linda
Rating: 4

We really like the train set except that it falls apart fairly easily... and our son really likes to connect every train together, so the longer ones tend to fall off the smaller rounded tracks! Otherwise, there are a ton of parts and we had fun putting them together.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 1/27/2009 by Michelle
Rating: 5

I'm very impressed with this train set. You get so many pieces for such a great price...a fantastic first train. It's all you need! The quality is fantastic. My children (2 and 4) love playing with it. Very happy with this purchase!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 1/12/2009 by Lou Fusco
Rating: 5

Good quality and a very complete set for the money.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent wooden railway set
Posted 1/2/2009 by E Gonzales
Rating: 5

This purchase was for our 3-year-old boy, but his 1-year-old sister and all of their friends, ages ranging 1 yr to 8 yrs of age, have been entertained by this product. The 1-year-old mostly knocks down what we build, but even our 3-year-old is building his own track design, zooming trains around, and telling stories as he plays. The wooden set works well with the wooden trains, but does not fit the cast iron trains (tracks too wide), and the battery-operated trains do not fit through the tunnels. We are thoroughly enjoying this set and would recommend highly!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing Deal
Posted 10/15/2008 by Noel Mullen
Rating: 4

The train set is a great deal and comes with all of the accessories. There is no need to buy any other train set.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Look no further
Posted 12/6/2007 by Peter L.
Rating: 5

I saw this train set on-line and thought, "can it be true for that price?". It's true alright, this set is the best wooden train set for the money hands down. Went to toys are us and looked over the Thomas sets and was amazed at how expensive they were. Online I came accross several other brands but this one had a ton of pieces and was only 80 bucks. My wife and I were very pleased with our shopping savy for finding such a great set a such a low price. This makes the Thomas set look like a scam! It comes with everything shown in the picture and is about 50" x 33" once put together as shown in the picture. There are 2 or 3 other configurations that the directions show too. One suggestion, if you child is 3 years old or so...get, or make, a table and attach it with hot-melt glue or something. Kind of tricky to get the whole thing put together and keep it that way with little kids playing with it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/30/2007 by Amy
Rating: 5

I ordered the Melissa & Doug train set + the play table for my boy/girl twins second birthday. I am very pleased. The table is quite sturdy. (Both children have been sitting on it together already.) The train is very nice. We initially set up the train to use the risers and bridge pieces, but 2 year olds do not have the motor skills to watch that it doesn't fall down or move. We rearranged to an all flat track and the setup works magnificently. That is my recommendation. If you have younger kids playing with this, start all flat and then add the risers and more intricate pieces.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/2/2008 by Michelle Sawyer
Rating: 5

puchased for xmas gifts however was not impressed with the puzzle quality

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Train Set!
Posted 3/11/2010 by Tamara Adams
Rating: 5

This train set is great! It has so many pieces and you can design it in so many ways. They give you ideas on how to design 5 different sets, but you can also make up your own. My son loves this set and will use it for many years. It is sturdy and cun to use.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/11/2009 by Timothy Bowne
Rating: 4

The set is very cool. My 2 year old likes playing with it, but it is a bit too delicate to withstand the rigors of a 25-month-old kid.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/9/2008 by Karen Emerson
Rating: 5

My son loves this train set. He plays with it for hours.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

train set
Posted 9/15/2008 by Lindsay Jamieson
Rating: 5

It is great, just what we had expected

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/14/2008 by J D Seals - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set: A good bargin, although some of the provided train schectmatic required a little forcing to duplicate. The parts in the track schematics are labeled (A,B,C, etc.), but the parts are not stamped with any marking, nor is the packaging. It would be useful to show the dimensions of the layout on the schematics.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Quality Railroad!
Posted 3/4/2012 by Jennifer Salem
Rating: 5

My son who just turned two, will have to grow into this one. I never had a train set as a kid and had to get it, but this is for kids with a bit more of a delicate touch. The detail of the trains, with the magnetic crane is genius! This was really fun for Mommy, heheh. Some tracks are double-sided to ensure engineering capabilities. A great product!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best railroad set around!
Posted 12/31/2011 by Emily Gohn
Rating: 5

This is such a great set ... We gave it to our train-loving three year old, but all of the older members of the family have had a great time with it too. It has lots of very interesting pieces that make for lots of fun building tracks and playing with them afterwards. The cranes, bridges and train shed are all great favorites and they are well made so I expect they will last for a long time. This was completely compatible with our other wooden tracks and all of the various trains meant to go with them. I definitely recommend this as a great buy!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/21/2011 by Teresa Conde - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This train set was purchased by me for my boss's 3 year old nephew. She was thrilled with it and is certain her nephew will be too. Also, it was received in such a timely manner we were truly impressed!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 1/18/2011 by Cara Vanderree
Rating: 5

We bought this for our pre-school patrons, but last night it was being used by ages 6 through 13.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Set
Posted 8/13/2009 by Anna Polack
Rating: 5

It's still a little early to tell, but it looks like we'll be using this set for years.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great quality for the price
Posted 4/26/2009
Rating: 4

Like almost all the Melissa and Doug products, the train set is really nice. It is not as nice as the Thomas the Train products, but it isn't nearly as expensive. The set includes everything you need for your budding engineer. The only downside is that it doesn't contain enough male/male or female/female track pieces - we had to buy more of these separately.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/23/2006
Rating: 3

The Wooden Railway Set has much to offer, but the crane broke the first time I tried to use it. If it doesn't last with me, there is no way that piece will last with a three year old.
The crane is great fun, you've just got to have the crane! The manufacturer, Melissa & Doug, is providing a replacement crane for this customer at no charge.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/21/2006
Rating: 3

The railway set was purchased as a gift for our grandsons. The wooden track pieces themselves are fine as are the cars. The biggest disappointment was in the cranes. They are a a really good idea and our grandsons were immediately drawn to them and began to use them even before hooking up the tracks. However, the pulley strings did not stay on the pulley but kept slipping off and getting caught in the space between the pulley and the wall of the crane. At least one of the cranes has a depression into which a peg can be pushed to lock the crane into position, but it can only be locked into one position. Also, the children have a difficult time pushing in and pulling out the peg. The cranes are far inferior to the track, cars, etc. The remainder of the set is great.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for the whole fam!
Posted 8/14/2012 by Liz
Rating: 4

My girls, 2 and 4, have played with it for hours, and my husband and I even enjoy building the tracks. Only drawback is that the supports are a little difficult for the girls to assemble and maintain. (They knock them over when pushing the trains), but it's a great set...especially since we have no room or need for one of those bulky train tables.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/9/2011 by Cynthia Payne
Rating: 5

I can't see he plays with it yet because it is a Christmas present but he has seen one and would love to have one. I know he will play with is non stop because he bit into trains (whether it's Thomas or not). I did open the box to check to make sure all the pieces are there and they are. It arrived in excellent condition and the pieces themselves seem very well made. I haven't put it together yet so I can't say how good they stay together. But so far I'm impressed.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice set!
Posted 12/5/2011
Rating: 5

Very good quality. It's one of the most reasonably-priced train sets available. It arrived very promptly and in good shape.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gravy Train
Posted 11/29/2011 by MizMollyMae
Rating: 4

Our daughter loves her new train set. We gave it to her for her 3rd birthday (although she would have loved it sooner). We adults have a blast coming up with new track layouts for her to ride the rails on. And she likes to create earthquakes and similar situations that precipitate a rail disaster. I like the fact that she will be able to grow with it, too. There are only two issues we have found with the set. One of the track pieces (the one that goes in front of the roundhouse with the multiple tracks leading into one) is warped. And it seems to be getting worse the longer it's out of the package. I suspect that the piece of wood itself wasn't dried enough prior to being manufactured. The other issue is that the trains themselves don't have independent axles (like the Thomas Trains do) so they tend to derail easier. That's a cost-saving issue, I'm sure. What I do like is that this set is compatible with many other sets so I can just buy the train itself and it will work fine on these tracks. Overall, we're thrilled with the volume of track and the quality of the materials. We have a Brio train table and don't have enough room for all the track. Imagine!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/23/2011 by Susan B.
Rating: 4

The children had a Thomas the Train starter set , which I didn't know when I bought the set. This set has much more to it in terms of track and extras, and it works with the Thomas Train set so they can use them together. Plus this set has two great trains one for each of the twins.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/1/2011 by Denisa
Rating: 5

The road very much was pleasant. We already have details of different wooden roads (Ikea, Heros), and this road bought for additional interesting details which at us yet was not. It is packed very accurately, it is a lot of details, we are very satisfied!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 7/21/2011 by Carol Troxel
Rating: 4

Great, old fashioned toy with lots of room to create all sorts of play scenarios

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome
Posted 5/28/2011 by Megan Klueg
Rating: 5

Quality pieces at a great price! My 3 year old loves this set. Has been playing with it everyday since he got it a couple weeks ago!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 5/16/2011 by Norma Oksanen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The item was packaged well and seems like a good value for the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

LOVE IT!
Posted 1/11/2011 by Mariah Smith
Rating: 5

We recently moved here from Canada and unfortunately we had to put many things in a storage facility including lots of toys. We have a fair amount of Thomas the train wooden toys, tracks, etc. My son was really missing his train tracks so for Christmas I decided to purchase this set knowing that it is compatible with our Thomas set because eventually we will be able to retrieve it. What an unbelievable set for the price......no more Thomas for us! I am so glad I made this purchase and it is a lot more fun for my son because he can actually build different configurations with the different plans provided. I, we, are sooo happy with this purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing!!
Posted 1/5/2011 by REBECCA N ROBERTS
Rating: 5

This train set is amazing! High quality that will last for generations!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

High quality, affordable train!
Posted 12/27/2010 by Katie H.
Rating: 5

My son who turned 4 end of October has really become interested in trains and has wanted a train set like his friend's but I never found anything like it until I found the Melissa and Doug set at Fat Brain. I was really excited because it had several of the parts he specifically wanted and the price was much more reasonable than other train set/part brands. I like the fact that everything came together and didn't have to be purchased separately and this set comes with four different configurations should you decide to use them (my son is like a little engineer who designs on his own so he doesn't necessarily need but I still think they are nice to have for reference). It is also compatible with most other wooden railway train brands which is great because he can connect everything. He loves this train set!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/17/2010 by Lee Hart - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The train set was GREAT! We bought D, J, A initilal train cars and they are too tall to fit under the bridge and not steady so I would not buy them again. They are cute - but because they don't fit under the bridge and they fall over all the time they just aren't worth it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 10/26/2010
Rating: 5

This toy is a sturdy well built toy. I got it for my girls for later. They are only 2 so I figured it would be awhile before they played with it. For the purpose of this review I brought it out to look at it. My girls LOVE it. Because they are only two, my husband and I made a small modified track using only a small portion of the pieces. We are also vigilant in watching the girls to make sure they don't put the little trains in thieir mouths. They now love trians and we talk about them all the time. They actually enjoy taking apart and putting together the track peices more than playing with the trains (although they always try out their different track creations with the trains before taking them apart and putting them back together in a different way). Thanks for the product, I'm sure they our kids will enjoy it for many years!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 4/28/2009
Rating: 5

Good quality, good price!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 4/26/2009 by Wendy North
Rating: 5

It's a birthday gift...haven't played with it yet!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My daughter loves this train set!
Posted 3/3/2009 by Becky Rotan
Rating: 5

This is an excellent train set - the quality meets that of the more expensive train sets on the market. Sturdy enough to survive my toddler. I love that the track is compatible with the other brands so that a variety of pieces can be added along the way. There are multiple configuration options and we were able to limit the number of riser pieces used until our daughter is a little older. There are lots of different trains and cargo pieces that can be lifted via the magnets on top of them - my daughter is fascinated with the lifting of these pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/20/2009 by Ryan Emmil
Rating: 4

Very good quality and durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very nice toy
Posted 1/12/2009 by Galina Melman
Rating: 5

We bought it as a Christmas present for our 4 years son. I liked that right now he can play with a toy and have an option for development, since you have to apply some intelligence to construct them. In our family, I with my 8-years old son enjoyed constructing the road.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great toy
Posted 1/4/2009 by Carlee
Rating: 5

this train set is even better than we anticipated. the little details like the loading dock for the truck and all the track options make it an investment that will grow with our little boy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Train Set
Posted 12/30/2008 by Bryan L
Rating: 5

This is a great starter set for a toddler/small child who's really into trains. It definitely is interchangeable with the Thomas sets & trains at a fraction of the cost (for what you get). Quality wood products and plenty of options for creative play. Two small con's: (1) if you're giving as a gift - especially to a toddler - take it out of the packaging BEFORE you give it as a gift. You'll need a sharp tool to open all of the individually wrapped pieces and it will take time. Most kids do not want to wait the hour plus it will take to unpack & set up. (2) The elevated "track" option is really neat but also very easy to knock over once it's set up - may be more suitable for older (read less clumsy) kids. Great product though; highly recommend it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/27/2008 by Rachel H.
Rating: 4

The Wooden Railway set is great. It is the same high quality you expect from Melissa and Doug toys - and certainly comparable to the Thomas trains/tracks, etc. The elevated track is a little wobbly and will need to be better secured to the supports. You will definitely need several boxes of "Sure Track" to keep the track in place on top of the train table. Otherwise, the track slides all around the table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Doug & Melissa Train set (120 piece)
Posted 12/25/2008 by Kim Idol
Rating: 5

Pleased with product - was just as I expected (and that's a good thing!).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 10/21/2008 by A. Allen
Rating: 5

I bought this set for my little guy. He is three and a real train nut. The produce itself is outstanding, everything was in working order and nicely made. Actually for the price we got more then I bargained for.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome product!
Posted 10/1/2008 by ncoombs
Rating: 5

This railway set is awesome. It's very high quality -- just as good as a Thomas the Tank Engine set -- but for a better price. All of the wooden railway sets are the same, by the way. It really can't be beat. We have so many pieces in this set that we can't fit them all onto our train table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Huge Set for Endless Fun
Posted 10/1/2008 by Mary D
Rating: 5

This is a high quality set at a great price. I gave it as a gift and immediately all the kids were playing with it (ages 2-8). It's big enough to share and plenty of options to engage many children at once. It fits all the trains I've seen.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing Toys
Posted 9/3/2008 by Ed Bullock
Rating: 5

Compared to other "more popular" wooden train sets, this was a bargain. It comes with everything one might need to make multiple track layouts. I've found that this is typical of Melissa & Doug products, good quality for the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/2/2008 by Anna Babiarz
Rating: 5

Melissa and Doug are far one the leading brands in children wood products. Excellent educational instruments to aide my 22 month olds curiosisty in learning!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug wooden railway set
Posted 7/25/2008 by Tracy Badgett
Rating: 5

This is a great set. It works great with Thomas the Tank engine Trains. It is a great value. I will buy more Melissa and Doug track. My son has not stopped playing with it since I gave it to him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

gg
Posted 7/17/2008 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The train is very will built. There are no sharp edges or rough places for my grandsons to get hurt. The boys are having a great time playing with the train.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wooden railway set
Posted 5/27/2008 by mom of two
Rating: 5

Best buy on any wooden railway set. Nicely made and lots of peices for the price. My boys (3 1/2 and 2) love it. Just be aware that an almost 2 year old does not have the coordination and gentleness to use a train on the track without causing the track to fall apart.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It has two cranes!!!
Posted 5/26/2008 by Melanie Barter
Rating: 5

My son was so excited to get this train set. He has been saving his money to buy a train set. This product is great value for the price. He didn't want to go anywheres the last two days he just wanted to play trains.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 3/4/2008 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

A great attention-builder for an eighteen-month old. We have bought others since 1970, and this is our favorite. Thank you for a quality product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/6/2008 by Marie Hill - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Pieces large enough not to get lost or become land mines for bare feet. Two year old and three year old grandchildren can play. The best part is the tracks work on either side. The tracks have a groove cut on each side of the wood track so you can just flip the piece over to make whatever size and shape track. Nice bright colors. Train connects by magnets too, even better for little hands and no frustration. My grandchildren love it!!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good set - compatible with Thomas
Posted 12/30/2007 by Susan Shadle
Rating: 4

This is a great set with mostly track and trains, and not a ton of accessory trees, signals and so on that you find with other sets. The only issue I have is the elevated track is difficult to keep together as the under support blocks can be wobbly, otherwise this set would've gotten 5 stars! My son loves it and uses all his Thomas with it as well. Even the die-cast will run on the track, although only 1 set of wheels fully sits on the track. You can still push and pull them around easily though!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Train Set
Posted 12/26/2007 by Amy R.
Rating: 5

Our son loves it! Very high quality product. Plenty of pieces to create all kinds of layouts. It even came with some trains. It is compatible with Brio and Thomas the Train accessories. You cannot go wrong with the set. Reasonably priced.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Value For Money
Posted 12/25/2007 by Ajit Campbell, CA - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 5

I was guided by the Internet reviews. It has turned out to be as good as I had expected.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/16/2007 by Kim H
Rating: 4

I compared a lot of train sets before choosing this one. You get many different components with this train set for a very reasonable price. A similiar Thomas the Train set costs substantially more and the quality of this train set is great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/20/2007 by Susan Perry
Rating: 5

My son absolutely loves it. It is so nice to have something sturdy with few parts that a 3 year old can construct on his own. It is also large enough for more than one kid. Great product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/18/2007 by Stephani Owens
Rating: 5

Our 2 1/2 year old loves this set! We love that it is compatible with the Thomas trains as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/6/2007
Rating: 5

My 2 year old son loves it! It is a great set and is compatible with other wooden railway sets and trains. It comes with a ot of different track pieces as well as signs and bridges and is much less expensive than some other sets.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Set
Posted 10/28/2007 by Jen M.
Rating: 5

This is a fantastic set! The wooden railway set has everything we needed and wanted and at a great price. My daughter is 2, so we're using a small fraction of the parts, a few pieces of track and the trains, but she will enjoy it for years to come!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 10/25/2007 by Monique Martin
Rating: 5

I ordered this for our grandson for Christmas. The letters for the train are adorable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set Review
Posted 10/22/2007 by Moyra J Stiles
Rating: 4

I appreciate the wooden and simple craftsmanship of this product. My boys, 3 and 1 1/2 years old enjoy it greatly. The pieces of the wooden track, once they are elevated, do come apart very easily at the joint. I wound up just building the track flat to the table it's on.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Starter Set
Posted 10/14/2007 by Amanda
Rating: 5

This is a great first train set! It comes with so many pieces and at such a great price! Melissa and Doug toys are well constructed and I am sure this will last a long time. My 2 yr old son has loved playing with it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug
Posted 10/4/2007 by Carol T. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

A fine product. Great directions for assembling the tracks, even for a grandma. Very good savings over its top competitor. Pieces hold together well for play. (I'm hoping there is no lead paint in this product.)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Train Set is Nice, Table is Junk
Posted 9/26/2007 by Christine Stewart
Rating: 4

The Melissa & Doug Wooden Railway Set that we purchased was just what we expected from M&D products. However, the train table that we purchased at the same time was absolutely horrible. The product description states that it is solid wood, but it's not--it's some kind of pressboard material. Also there were quite a few large places where the table had been damaged and patched at the factory (but the patched areas weren't even sanded so they're bumpy and discolored). Overall, we wish we'd saved our money and waited until we could have gotten a better quality product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Deluxe Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/30/2007
Rating: 4

This product is a great value compared with other wooden train sets. The cranes and turntable are just a little more difficult to use compared to the Thomas brand, but they are just a fraction the cost. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase and wouldn't hesitate to purchase again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/22/2007 by Ginger
Rating: 5

This is a wonderful train set. Bigger than we were expecting, and very good quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/13/2007
Rating: 4

We have many Melissa & Doug toys and expected as well as received the quality we thought we would. Our 3 year old son loves it -- it's my new babysitter while I shower!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/9/2007 by Brooke Brooks
Rating: 4

The railway set is very nice, but a little wobbly and unstable if not fixated with glue. The children like it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hours of Enjoyment
Posted 7/8/2007
Rating: 5

It connected perfectly with the train tracks we already owned (Kidcraft) and completely met our expectations of quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 7/3/2007 by Joann Gilligan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very pleased with the value and quality!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set
Posted 6/4/2007 by Mark Keelen
Rating: 5

The set was perfect for our 2 1/2 year old. He has not stopped playing on it since it came in!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 5/29/2007 by Renee Yagoda
Rating: 5

We love the train set--with the different bridges and cranes and it is also compatible with our other wooden trains.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Train Set
Posted 5/22/2007 by Shelly H.
Rating: 5

My 2 year old has been enjoying the train set, a great value for the price!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 5/8/2007 by Mike Steffon
Rating: 5

A great, high quality train set for a great price. My kid loves it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Value
Posted 4/28/2007 by Jenny
Rating: 5

Given the price, the product is of great value. The set is quite extensive including trains with a good variety of pieces that fit together much like a puzzle set. Unfortunately, the set requires a lot of space to setup and the pieces fit together loosely so that it comes up when you roll the train over the track at times.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Train Set
Posted 4/3/2007 by Howard Roth
Rating: 5

The train set is a great buy. You get enough parts to do all sorts of configurations. We bought it for our 2 yr old who loves tchoo tchoos. Because it's so easy to pull the track apart, our second attempt to have a completely connected track was just oval and flat, but that didn't seem to matter. His grandparents gave him some small wooden vehicles that fit on the tracks as they seem to be a standard size. Our son will enjoy the set even more as he grows older and will build more complex configurations. A wonderful toy at a great price. We love Melissa and Doug wooden products.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 4/1/2007 by Jian Liu
Rating: 4

A great product and inexpensive. My son loves it. We need to get the matched train table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 3/7/2007 by Antonia Livolsi
Rating: 4

Competitive price and compatible with Thomas and other engines/railways. Design of pieces could be improved for better connection to each other.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product, Great Value
Posted 2/22/2007 by Evan Klein
Rating: 4

Very happy with this purchase. I got it for half or less of what I would have spent on a Thomas train set of similar quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Train Set
Posted 2/21/2007 by Thi Tran
Rating: 4

This is my daughter's first train set and she loves it. Although I had to put it together for her since she's only 2 & 1/2, an older child could have done it since instructions are picture-based. 3 other configurations are also included, so kids can tear down the existing design and build another when they get bored. The possibilities are endless considering that more pieces can be added and a one of a kind railway can be built. This is not a fancy train set, but the pieces are durable and will withstand a lot of play. The addition of clips may keep the train tracks together better as they are a little loose.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/21/2007 by Nathan Hoy
Rating: 5

Great train set. There are many ways to set it up.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Value
Posted 2/18/2007 by Peter
Rating: 5

This is a great way to get into wooden railway train sets. It includes more action & fun than just about any other wooden set I've seen at a fraction of the cost. For the price of a popular turntable alone, you get lots of track, the roundhouse, turntable, two cranes, two complete trains (passenger & freight)four switch tracks, a wye, ramps, 7 piers, three bumpers, two bridges, seven trees, signs, & more. An excellent value to say the least. It works with all the other wooden sets and is easily expandable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Railway Set Great Value
Posted 2/11/2007 by Jeff Sherman
Rating: 5

What a great deal. Works perfect with Thomas sets and you get so much more for the price. Thomas' trains are still better and kids know them by name so this doesn't replace that. But for track, train houses, bridges, etc. this is a great value and you wouldn't know it wasn't Thomas' stuff.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quite Satisfied
Posted 2/6/2007 by Caroline O Dietrich Hughes
Rating: 4

I am really impressed with the complexity. However, I recommend purchasing track clips to hold the raised track together. I would definitely purchase again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/1/2007 by Mom
Rating: 4

I bought it for my two sons 2 and 4 who really like it. It is a great and affordable train set. They like the trains, and they like driving them around different track configurations. The problem we have is in keeping the track together on riser blocks. Every time they drive over the raised track section it breaks apart and they have to fix it. It can be frustrating for them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 1/25/2007 by Sandra Wimette - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My three year old twin daughters love their train set. I am psyched with it, too. The quality, like all Melissa and Doug products, is awesome! I was amazed at the number of pieces contained in the set. Amazingly cost effective! Melissa & Doug also include 4 different pictures of set ups you can create with the included pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Railway Review
Posted 1/17/2007 by Amy Crowell
Rating: 5

Great train set. I love that it came with directions for multiple railway layouts. My two boys are having tons of fun playing with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 1/5/2007
Rating: 5

Great value for the money! Tons of pieces and very good quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 1/5/2007
Rating: 5

A great starter set. A friend was over that had spent an insane amount of money on a Thomas the Train set, and he commented on how great this set was. It has plenty of all the right pieces to make different configurations.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Hit With Our 2 Year Old
Posted 12/29/2006 by Ronald L. Wange Jr.
Rating: 4

This is a versatile, high-quality wooden railway set, that can be put together in a wide variety of configurations. Comes with engines and train cars, as well as a freight truck and two mangentic cranes for loading and unloading cargo. The engines and train cars that come with it are great, but the track can also be used with the Thomas & Friends Wooden Railway Series engines and cars. This has been a great hit with our two and one half year old. Using the risers to make elevated sections of track is somewhat tricky since the tracks fit together somewhat loosely, and great care must be taken when shifting sections of railway. This set could be made better (but probably also more expensive) if the tracks fit together more tightly, but overall this is a great wooden railway at a fantastic price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Train Set
Posted 12/27/2006
Rating: 4

This is a great train set for the money. My 4 year old daughter and 1 year old son both love to play with it. We nailed it to our train table to eliminate having to put the track back together every 5 minutes. It's been a hit!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/26/2006 by Charlotte G. Stucki
Rating: 5

I purchased a train set for a grandchild and was absolutely delighted with both the quality and the price. I had purchased Thomas and Brio trains in the past which both put a big dent into my pocketbook. This set was on a par with both of those brand names, but much less expensive. My granddaughter squealed with joy. I am certain that she will have hours and hours of fun playing with this well constructed and very well designed set!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/21/2006 by Leilani
Rating: 5

This product is great. I was looking at getting a Thomas Train set for my daughter but the prices are ridiculous. I found this set and love it. There are so many pieces for the price that you pay and the quality is great. I would highly suggest this item to any friend interested in wooden train sets for their children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 11/30/2006
Rating: 4

We purchased this train set for our son who is 21/2. We researched many different sets and felt this was the best set for the best price. Our son loves it and has not stopped playing with it since he got it. He enjoys coming up with different layouts of the tracks. His sister likes it also, (She is 1). The quality is great and can be used with Thomas the Train pieces and other train pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway set
Posted 11/27/2006 by Audrey Brandt
Rating: 5

Great quality product! My son has been playing with it non-stop since he opened it. Just what I was looking for!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/15/2006 by Anna Stuever
Rating: 5

We got this for my daughter's 3rd birthday. She loves it. The pieces fit together smoothly and there are so many different tracks she can make. We have not needed to buy any extra trains to go with the set, she just pretends the ones that came with it are Thomas and his friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best Train Set for the Price.
Posted 11/10/2006 by Kimberly A. Bauer
Rating: 5

My 2 1/2 year old son is in love with this toy. He spends hours playing with his "choo choos". I was very impressed with the quality of this product and with the amount of pieces that come with it for the price. Other sets for the same price have a lot fewer pieces or have more small pieces like trees and signs than they do track, not this set though. I am very happy with this product and will recommend it to my friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Train Is The Best!
Posted 11/2/2006 by Susan
Rating: 5

This train set was purchased for my son's 3rd birthday. I have an older boy that I purchased only Thomas and Brio train items, but they were so expensive. I did a lot of research online and read many reviews, and decided this was the best set for the money. I couldn't be happier with the set. There were directions on how to put it together 4 different ways, and it went together perfectly. Also we can use the Thomas and Brio trains with it. A great buy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice
Posted 10/29/2006 by Anthony Weber
Rating: 5

The set is great quality, and my son loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug Train Set
Posted 10/26/2006 by Petrice Sloan
Rating: 5

The train set is very well made. It is a great value for the money. The pieces fit together nicely. The set offers a variety of train set-up options. I am very pleased with the product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 10/25/2006 by Hannah Geriak
Rating: 5

A great set! It comes with everything you need...loads of fun for toddlers. Easy to install and use. Great for little imaginations!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Impressed
Posted 10/23/2006 by Kathy Gibbs
Rating: 4

The product is a Christmas gift. It appears to be exactly what we were looking for.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Train Set
Posted 10/4/2006
Rating: 5

I highly recommend it! The tracks interloop with each other making it really easy to take the train all over. The kids love it and play with it often. The trains are fine that came with it, Thomas Trains work slightly better because they have more play with the wheels. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/29/2006 by Jennifer H. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I am very pleased with the product. Although it is probably not as high of quality as the actual Thomas train tracks, it is so reasonable priced (in comparison) that I would choose these tracks instead. My son is having a great time playing with his new choo-choo!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Product
Posted 9/20/2006 by Rebecca E
Rating: 5

We bought this train set for my son's third birthday. He and his 4 year old brother love it. Especially considering the price, I am very happy with the quality of the train set. It's solid and it even works to set it up on the carpet. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Buy
Posted 9/17/2006 by Amy B. Roden
Rating: 5

This is a great set. The pieces are wonderfully made. It goes with the collection of Thomas trains and track. Great buy. I saw the same set in a toy store in AR for a lot more $$.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Value!
Posted 9/12/2006 by J. Hallmartel
Rating: 4

We purchased this train set as a gift for our son on his third birthday. We initially set out to buy a Learning Curve (Thomas the Train) set, but quickly looked for other alternatives when we saw the ridiculously high prices. Having dealt with Melissa & Doug in the past, we felt good about buying their product. The set is very complete. In the short time we've had it, we've come up with numerous large configurations. The equivalent Learning Curve set, Thomas Roundhouse, sells for more than $400.00. The Pros: Plenty of track, including switched curves. Lots of configurations possible. Two bridges (the suspension bridge is particularly sturdy), Nice roundhouse (while not as fancy as the Thomas roundhouse, it is still nice), The track fits well together. The Con: We could not get the track to fit in the configuration depicted on the box. Tips that worked for us: We purchased a few Thomas Trains to use on the track. With these trains, it looks very much like the more expensive Learning Curve set. Rather than a permanent 'train' table, we bought an adjustable height, folding table (30"x60"). It works very well as a train table, but allows us the flexibilty to fold it up and put it away once in a while if we need the space or an extra table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/8/2006 by Jane Higdon
Rating: 4

This is being given as a gift to 4 yr. old twins. I have opened the box and the pieces look nice. There seem to be no instructions, only 4 sheets of paper showing set layout. I would have liked suggestions on how to begin. I also saw there is a lot of unwrapping to do of small pieces so I will have to begin setup early. Being a senior grandmother is not always easy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/6/2006 by David Hammer - ADMINISTRATOR
Rating: 4

Excellent quality and workmanship. I like that it is interchangeable with other products.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/5/2006 by Daniel P. Mears
Rating: 5

Wonderful. Simple. Easy to set up.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Train Set
Posted 8/30/2006 by Malissa Soong
Rating: 5

My daughter loves this wooden train set and we are big fans of Melissa & Doug toys. This one is well-crafted and, best of all, portable; so we can take it from room to room wherever she wants to play with it. The interchangeable parts are great and she can sit and remain interested in it for long periods of time!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/24/2006 by Chris Pierret
Rating: 5

Outstanding value versus other compatible sets for Thomas. We purchased this set and some buildings/trains from Thomas, and it looks like the $400 Learning Curve train set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Well Worth The Money
Posted 8/22/2006
Rating: 4

We purchased this train set for our son's 3rd birthday, and he loves it. He plays it every day. We were impressed by the quality. The set includes many attractive parts that kids love including train house, turntable, cranes, etc. Those side buildings and special tracks would normally cost a lot more with some well known brands, such as Brio, Thomas, etc. Overall, we think this train set is well worth the money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Present for 4 Year Old
Posted 8/8/2006 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I gave this toy to my grandson for his fourth birthday. It is great. It is more than we expected. I am amazed that we got so much track and other things. He loves it. His six year old brother is having a wonderful time building the different tracks. He's gifted at doing that kind of thing, but still the instructions are great. The only issue we've had is that the track is easily knocked over which is a little frustrating for the boys, especially since they have a one year old sister who is very interested in it as well, but has not developed a light touch yet for running the trains on the track. They are used to the ones at the book store that are glued to the table. I don't know if this is an issue with all brands or just this one. It is not much of an issue in any case and we are very happy with the toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/8/2006 by B. Gersich
Rating: 5

Great value. We went back and forth between this one and a more expensive Brio set. We are more than pleased with this set and are glad we could save some money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 7/18/2006 by Deena L. Nordyke
Rating: 4

This wonderful wooden railway set is an alternative to Brio and Thomas Train sets. This product is well made and far less expensive than the name brands. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to start a wooden railway collection. You can add the Thomas and Brio accessories to it very easily.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set
Posted 7/12/2006 by Mary Urrutia
Rating: 5

It's terrific and a great value. I've been wanting to get my son (3) a roundhouse and turntable but always balked at the prices - here they were included with the whole set including cranes, bridges, etc.! It's great to finally have enough switching track. My kids played with it every possible minute for the first 4 days, even my 6 year old girl who's not usually interested in trains. They're still playing with it a lot. Everything seems very well made. We've had one of the cranes fall apart but it's been easy to fix. The included suggested layouts (4) don't fit on your standard train table but the kids have enjoyed a smaller modified layout on the table as well as the full layouts on the floor. They loved being able to double stack the blocks for an extra level...although these tend to get knocked down a lot.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden train set
Posted 6/9/2006 by L. Wicklund
Rating: 5

My 3 yr. old daughter loves it. And compared to pricier brands, this one is more than worth it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/10/2009 by Filipp Muratov
Rating: 5

I bought this set for my son's 3rd birthday. It was shipped immediately and arrived in 3 days. Set was brand new as expected and properly packaged. All items were present. My son started to play with it immediately and so did I. We had a small set from another manufacturer and it was compatible so we could merge them together. Pricing is a lot less expensive than found in retail stores.

7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pleasant Surprise
Posted 2/26/2009 by Holly Schweitzer
Rating: 5

The Melissa & Doug 130 piece railway set is wonderful! The whole family enjoys playing with it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Railway
Posted 1/6/2009 by Ellery
Rating: 5

Santa brought my two and a half year old daughter this set for Christmas and she loves it. She's very into Thomas so we purchased a couple of engines from the Thomas line, put them on the table with the other train cars and she never knew the difference. She received a few Thomas accessories from family members and they fit easily onto the Melissa and Doug track. We are enjoying our new train table and couldn't be happier with the product. I also got a fantastic deal on the train set and table (plus free shipping to my front door!)through Fat Brain. I will order from this company again.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Value, Quality and Price
Posted 10/5/2007
Rating: 5

I've looked for a good value on a wooden railway set (with a roundhouse) and this Melissa and Doug set is it! Tons of pieces including buildings and trains. All Melissa and Doug toys have been great and so is this one. The track is compatible with Thomas trains and that was what I was looking for.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug Railway Set
Posted 11/1/2006 by Margaret Salop
Rating: 5

This is a great set, made all the better by the great price. I researched lots of wooden train sets, scoured eBay, and talked to parents -- to discover that this one is the best quality and value. The parts are high quality and the count of pieces refers to TRACK pieces, not little trees that aren't fun anyway. It includes two trains of four cars each, plus an 18-wheeler, two bridges, two cranes, and a roundhouse. This is the hands-down favorite toy of my 3 year old twins.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/6/2006 by Jessica Thompson
Rating: 5

I know my little boy will love this train set as anywhere we go if there is a train table-he goes right to it. For the price of the set, I am truly amazed, it comes with so much more than other sets that are more expensive!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GREAT TRAIN
Posted 9/27/2009 by Linda Flynn
Rating: 5

Absolutely awesome!! My kiddo loves it.

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wooden railway set
Posted 11/2/2008 by Christine Newman
Rating: 5

we bought this for our son for christmas. we're sure he'll love it as much as he does all of his other melissa and doug toys.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Job Fat Brain
Posted 8/1/2007 by John M.
Rating: 5

Great value for the money! I couldn't believe how much you get for the price. I had the train set up and running in no time. My son loves it and plays with it all the time. I just have to get him the battery operated engine now.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/9/2010 by kelly kosse
Rating: 4

This is a x-mas present, we have not openned it yet.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

nice toy
Posted 11/22/2013 by Holly Grothe
Rating: 4

We just build tracks flat on the ground. The towers fall very easily and my 2 and 4 year olds knock it down within seconds of trying to play. They do great with non elevated tracks and play for quite a lot of time making the track into different shapes and paths. They like the road signs as well.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/17/2013 by Tammy Ross
Rating: 5

This Railway set has my 3 yr. old grandson's total attention. He plays with this for hours. He makes the railroad track in every direction. Absolutely loves this set!!! He calls himself an engineer.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love these trains!
Posted 1/13/2013 by Kirstin Hendrickson
Rating: 5

My daughter got interested in trains while visiting her 6yo cousin; she was only 20 mos at the time, and couldn't really put the trains together herself, but she loved moving them around the tracks. Now, at 2, she has her own set and adores them. Her cousin's set was made up of many different brands, including M&D and the much more expensive wooden "Thomas." I have to say, aside from the faces on the Thomas trains, I saw no difference in quality. M&D is the best value for the money. If my daughter gets into the Thomas characters later on, I may buy her the trains, but I'll always stick with M&D for track. I wish Fat Brain sold the "filler" tracks -- those odd little pieces like male/male and female/female connectors that help to make a large set work more seamlessly. Other than that, this set will get your child started with everything they need for hours/days/months/years of conductor fun!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Melissa & Doug railway set
Posted 1/2/2013 by Diane DiDonato
Rating: 4

Our local library has a Melissa & Doug railroad train track set that my 19 month son loves to play with each week when we visit the library. So my husband and I decided that would make the perfect Christmas gift for him. I was confident getting a Melissa & Doug product because we have others and liked the quality of them. I was not disappointed in the quality of the train set. There are lots of different pieces and it comes with 4 different photos of configurations however you can certainly make your own up too. I had too because my son kept knocking over the track when it was in a configuration that was lifted up with support blocks under it - so his set is all at ground level. Which speaking of the train tracks when they are set up to be up hill or lifted up - the support blocks are not very sturdy at all and easily tip over. I think Melissa & Doug need to make sturdier or bigger/wider support blocks or have a way to clip the track onto them so the whole thing doesnt easily fall over and pieces fall apart when tipped over. That is my only complaint.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01