Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Wooden Railway Set > Customer Reviews
Wooden Railway Set
0

4 Star reviews of Wooden Railway Set by Melissa & Doug

Return to Wooden Railway Set product information...

Wooden Railway Set has been reviewed 193 times with an average rating of 4.64

Excellent Railway Set
Posted 10/23/2008 by K Tenney
Rating: 4

I am pleased with the quality of this railway set. I found that it is indeed compatible with the Thomas Railway set we already owned. It was a birthday gift for my 4 year old, but the whole family has enjoyed playing with it!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Buy!
Posted 2/9/2009 by Chazz Rose
Rating: 4

This is a great set and much better than the plastic Thomas set in the same price range. My 4yr old has been building new designs each week. Some of the stations are not as well designed as the Thomas stuff - like it is hard to get in and out of the round house and the loader isn't set up to actually load anything etc. but all in all it is great for imaginative play and like all Melissa & Doug stuff very sturdy!

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug train set
Posted 7/28/2008 by Linda
Rating: 4

We really like the train set except that it falls apart fairly easily... and our son really likes to connect every train together, so the longer ones tend to fall off the smaller rounded tracks! Otherwise, there are a ton of parts and we had fun putting them together.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing Deal
Posted 10/15/2008 by Noel Mullen
Rating: 4

The train set is a great deal and comes with all of the accessories. There is no need to buy any other train set.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/11/2009 by Timothy Bowne
Rating: 4

The set is very cool. My 2 year old likes playing with it, but it is a bit too delicate to withstand the rigors of a 25-month-old kid.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/14/2008 by J D Seals - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set: A good bargin, although some of the provided train schectmatic required a little forcing to duplicate. The parts in the track schematics are labeled (A,B,C, etc.), but the parts are not stamped with any marking, nor is the packaging. It would be useful to show the dimensions of the layout on the schematics.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great quality for the price
Posted 4/26/2009
Rating: 4

Like almost all the Melissa and Doug products, the train set is really nice. It is not as nice as the Thomas the Train products, but it isn't nearly as expensive. The set includes everything you need for your budding engineer. The only downside is that it doesn't contain enough male/male or female/female track pieces - we had to buy more of these separately.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for the whole fam!
Posted 8/14/2012 by Liz
Rating: 4

My girls, 2 and 4, have played with it for hours, and my husband and I even enjoy building the tracks. Only drawback is that the supports are a little difficult for the girls to assemble and maintain. (They knock them over when pushing the trains), but it's a great set...especially since we have no room or need for one of those bulky train tables.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gravy Train
Posted 11/29/2011 by MizMollyMae
Rating: 4

Our daughter loves her new train set. We gave it to her for her 3rd birthday (although she would have loved it sooner). We adults have a blast coming up with new track layouts for her to ride the rails on. And she likes to create earthquakes and similar situations that precipitate a rail disaster. I like the fact that she will be able to grow with it, too. There are only two issues we have found with the set. One of the track pieces (the one that goes in front of the roundhouse with the multiple tracks leading into one) is warped. And it seems to be getting worse the longer it's out of the package. I suspect that the piece of wood itself wasn't dried enough prior to being manufactured. The other issue is that the trains themselves don't have independent axles (like the Thomas Trains do) so they tend to derail easier. That's a cost-saving issue, I'm sure. What I do like is that this set is compatible with many other sets so I can just buy the train itself and it will work fine on these tracks. Overall, we're thrilled with the volume of track and the quality of the materials. We have a Brio train table and don't have enough room for all the track. Imagine!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/23/2011 by Susan B.
Rating: 4

The children had a Thomas the Train starter set , which I didn't know when I bought the set. This set has much more to it in terms of track and extras, and it works with the Thomas Train set so they can use them together. Plus this set has two great trains one for each of the twins.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 7/21/2011 by Carol Troxel
Rating: 4

Great, old fashioned toy with lots of room to create all sorts of play scenarios

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 5/16/2011 by Norma Oksanen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The item was packaged well and seems like a good value for the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/20/2009 by Ryan Emmil
Rating: 4

Very good quality and durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/27/2008 by Rachel H.
Rating: 4

The Wooden Railway set is great. It is the same high quality you expect from Melissa and Doug toys - and certainly comparable to the Thomas trains/tracks, etc. The elevated track is a little wobbly and will need to be better secured to the supports. You will definitely need several boxes of "Sure Track" to keep the track in place on top of the train table. Otherwise, the track slides all around the table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good set - compatible with Thomas
Posted 12/30/2007 by Susan Shadle
Rating: 4

This is a great set with mostly track and trains, and not a ton of accessory trees, signals and so on that you find with other sets. The only issue I have is the elevated track is difficult to keep together as the under support blocks can be wobbly, otherwise this set would've gotten 5 stars! My son loves it and uses all his Thomas with it as well. Even the die-cast will run on the track, although only 1 set of wheels fully sits on the track. You can still push and pull them around easily though!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set
Posted 12/16/2007 by Kim H
Rating: 4

I compared a lot of train sets before choosing this one. You get many different components with this train set for a very reasonable price. A similiar Thomas the Train set costs substantially more and the quality of this train set is great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Railway Set Review
Posted 10/22/2007 by Moyra J Stiles
Rating: 4

I appreciate the wooden and simple craftsmanship of this product. My boys, 3 and 1 1/2 years old enjoy it greatly. The pieces of the wooden track, once they are elevated, do come apart very easily at the joint. I wound up just building the track flat to the table it's on.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Train Set is Nice, Table is Junk
Posted 9/26/2007 by Christine Stewart
Rating: 4

The Melissa & Doug Wooden Railway Set that we purchased was just what we expected from M&D products. However, the train table that we purchased at the same time was absolutely horrible. The product description states that it is solid wood, but it's not--it's some kind of pressboard material. Also there were quite a few large places where the table had been damaged and patched at the factory (but the patched areas weren't even sanded so they're bumpy and discolored). Overall, we wish we'd saved our money and waited until we could have gotten a better quality product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Deluxe Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/30/2007
Rating: 4

This product is a great value compared with other wooden train sets. The cranes and turntable are just a little more difficult to use compared to the Thomas brand, but they are just a fraction the cost. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase and wouldn't hesitate to purchase again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/13/2007
Rating: 4

We have many Melissa & Doug toys and expected as well as received the quality we thought we would. Our 3 year old son loves it -- it's my new babysitter while I shower!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Wooden Railway Set
Posted 8/9/2007 by Brooke Brooks
Rating: 4

The railway set is very nice, but a little wobbly and unstable if not fixated with glue. The children like it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 4/1/2007 by Jian Liu
Rating: 4

A great product and inexpensive. My son loves it. We need to get the matched train table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 3/7/2007 by Antonia Livolsi
Rating: 4

Competitive price and compatible with Thomas and other engines/railways. Design of pieces could be improved for better connection to each other.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product, Great Value
Posted 2/22/2007 by Evan Klein
Rating: 4

Very happy with this purchase. I got it for half or less of what I would have spent on a Thomas train set of similar quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Train Set
Posted 2/21/2007 by Thi Tran
Rating: 4

This is my daughter's first train set and she loves it. Although I had to put it together for her since she's only 2 & 1/2, an older child could have done it since instructions are picture-based. 3 other configurations are also included, so kids can tear down the existing design and build another when they get bored. The possibilities are endless considering that more pieces can be added and a one of a kind railway can be built. This is not a fancy train set, but the pieces are durable and will withstand a lot of play. The addition of clips may keep the train tracks together better as they are a little loose.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quite Satisfied
Posted 2/6/2007 by Caroline O Dietrich Hughes
Rating: 4

I am really impressed with the complexity. However, I recommend purchasing track clips to hold the raised track together. I would definitely purchase again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 2/1/2007 by Mom
Rating: 4

I bought it for my two sons 2 and 4 who really like it. It is a great and affordable train set. They like the trains, and they like driving them around different track configurations. The problem we have is in keeping the track together on riser blocks. Every time they drive over the raised track section it breaks apart and they have to fix it. It can be frustrating for them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Hit With Our 2 Year Old
Posted 12/29/2006 by Ronald L. Wange Jr.
Rating: 4

This is a versatile, high-quality wooden railway set, that can be put together in a wide variety of configurations. Comes with engines and train cars, as well as a freight truck and two mangentic cranes for loading and unloading cargo. The engines and train cars that come with it are great, but the track can also be used with the Thomas & Friends Wooden Railway Series engines and cars. This has been a great hit with our two and one half year old. Using the risers to make elevated sections of track is somewhat tricky since the tracks fit together somewhat loosely, and great care must be taken when shifting sections of railway. This set could be made better (but probably also more expensive) if the tracks fit together more tightly, but overall this is a great wooden railway at a fantastic price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Train Set
Posted 12/27/2006
Rating: 4

This is a great train set for the money. My 4 year old daughter and 1 year old son both love to play with it. We nailed it to our train table to eliminate having to put the track back together every 5 minutes. It's been a hit!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 11/30/2006
Rating: 4

We purchased this train set for our son who is 21/2. We researched many different sets and felt this was the best set for the best price. Our son loves it and has not stopped playing with it since he got it. He enjoys coming up with different layouts of the tracks. His sister likes it also, (She is 1). The quality is great and can be used with Thomas the Train pieces and other train pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Impressed
Posted 10/23/2006 by Kathy Gibbs
Rating: 4

The product is a Christmas gift. It appears to be exactly what we were looking for.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/29/2006 by Jennifer H. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I am very pleased with the product. Although it is probably not as high of quality as the actual Thomas train tracks, it is so reasonable priced (in comparison) that I would choose these tracks instead. My son is having a great time playing with his new choo-choo!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Value!
Posted 9/12/2006 by J. Hallmartel
Rating: 4

We purchased this train set as a gift for our son on his third birthday. We initially set out to buy a Learning Curve (Thomas the Train) set, but quickly looked for other alternatives when we saw the ridiculously high prices. Having dealt with Melissa & Doug in the past, we felt good about buying their product. The set is very complete. In the short time we've had it, we've come up with numerous large configurations. The equivalent Learning Curve set, Thomas Roundhouse, sells for more than $400.00. The Pros: Plenty of track, including switched curves. Lots of configurations possible. Two bridges (the suspension bridge is particularly sturdy), Nice roundhouse (while not as fancy as the Thomas roundhouse, it is still nice), The track fits well together. The Con: We could not get the track to fit in the configuration depicted on the box. Tips that worked for us: We purchased a few Thomas Trains to use on the track. With these trains, it looks very much like the more expensive Learning Curve set. Rather than a permanent 'train' table, we bought an adjustable height, folding table (30"x60"). It works very well as a train table, but allows us the flexibilty to fold it up and put it away once in a while if we need the space or an extra table.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/8/2006 by Jane Higdon
Rating: 4

This is being given as a gift to 4 yr. old twins. I have opened the box and the pieces look nice. There seem to be no instructions, only 4 sheets of paper showing set layout. I would have liked suggestions on how to begin. I also saw there is a lot of unwrapping to do of small pieces so I will have to begin setup early. Being a senior grandmother is not always easy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 9/6/2006 by David Hammer - ADMINISTRATOR
Rating: 4

Excellent quality and workmanship. I like that it is interchangeable with other products.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Well Worth The Money
Posted 8/22/2006
Rating: 4

We purchased this train set for our son's 3rd birthday, and he loves it. He plays it every day. We were impressed by the quality. The set includes many attractive parts that kids love including train house, turntable, cranes, etc. Those side buildings and special tracks would normally cost a lot more with some well known brands, such as Brio, Thomas, etc. Overall, we think this train set is well worth the money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Present for 4 Year Old
Posted 8/8/2006 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I gave this toy to my grandson for his fourth birthday. It is great. It is more than we expected. I am amazed that we got so much track and other things. He loves it. His six year old brother is having a wonderful time building the different tracks. He's gifted at doing that kind of thing, but still the instructions are great. The only issue we've had is that the track is easily knocked over which is a little frustrating for the boys, especially since they have a one year old sister who is very interested in it as well, but has not developed a light touch yet for running the trains on the track. They are used to the ones at the book store that are glued to the table. I don't know if this is an issue with all brands or just this one. It is not much of an issue in any case and we are very happy with the toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 7/18/2006 by Deena L. Nordyke
Rating: 4

This wonderful wooden railway set is an alternative to Brio and Thomas Train sets. This product is well made and far less expensive than the name brands. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to start a wooden railway collection. You can add the Thomas and Brio accessories to it very easily.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Wooden Railway Set
Posted 11/9/2010 by kelly kosse
Rating: 4

This is a x-mas present, we have not openned it yet.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

nice toy
Posted 11/22/2013 by Holly Grothe
Rating: 4

We just build tracks flat on the ground. The towers fall very easily and my 2 and 4 year olds knock it down within seconds of trying to play. They do great with non elevated tracks and play for quite a lot of time making the track into different shapes and paths. They like the road signs as well.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wooden Melissa & Doug railway set
Posted 1/2/2013 by Diane DiDonato
Rating: 4

Our local library has a Melissa & Doug railroad train track set that my 19 month son loves to play with each week when we visit the library. So my husband and I decided that would make the perfect Christmas gift for him. I was confident getting a Melissa & Doug product because we have others and liked the quality of them. I was not disappointed in the quality of the train set. There are lots of different pieces and it comes with 4 different photos of configurations however you can certainly make your own up too. I had too because my son kept knocking over the track when it was in a configuration that was lifted up with support blocks under it - so his set is all at ground level. Which speaking of the train tracks when they are set up to be up hill or lifted up - the support blocks are not very sturdy at all and easily tip over. I think Melissa & Doug need to make sturdier or bigger/wider support blocks or have a way to clip the track onto them so the whole thing doesnt easily fall over and pieces fall apart when tipped over. That is my only complaint.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02