Home > Toy Companies > MindWare > Pattern Play > Customer Reviews
Pattern Play
0

Customer reviews of Pattern Play by MindWare

Return to Pattern Play product information...

Pattern Play has been reviewed 40 times with an average rating of 4.75

Great Toy!
Posted 10/15/2009 by japanjohn
Rating: 5

I have a 4 year old daughter and a 7 year old son. Both like to play with this and make different patterns. They will have fun just making freeform designs with all the colorful shapes for hours. I would highly recommend this.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play - Impressed
Posted 12/30/2009 by S. Steelman
Rating: 5

Pattern Play was a gift from Santa for our 5 year old. The blocks are great quality. They are smooth, shaped with great precision and come with a sturdy wooden tray and cloth carrying case. It comes with 40 pattern cards that she has enjoyed duplicating. She has also had great fun making up her own patterns. No cords, connectors, electricity or batteries required. Our family all give it a thumbs up.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful!
Posted 3/25/2009 by maria d
Rating: 5

Wow..this item was in great shape when I received it and the wood is great quality. It even came with a little pouch to keep it stored all neat and tidy so no blocks are lost. My child is very happy and spends hours on creative play. It's fun for parents too!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 1/13/2010
Rating: 5

I bought this for my puzzle-obsessed three-year old's birthday. She absolutely loves it, as do her 5 and 8-year-old brothers. It's wonderful to watch how absorbed they get playing with it, and how differently each of them uses the blocks. I would definitely recommend it for any age!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pattern Play
Posted 12/30/2008 by Michelle Moore
Rating: 4

I was under the understanding that the pattern cards would slide down inside the frame so my daughter could match the blocks to the pattern. This is a very nice set but wish the patterns cards were the same size as the frame.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 10/20/2009
Rating: 5

I purchased this for a Christmas present. I have heard many great reviews about this toy from friends who have purchased it for their children. It will great to use for home school, blanket time and free play. It is great because you can play with your child or allow them to play on their own. The possibilities are limitless.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 3/7/2010 by Britta
Rating: 5

This is a great product! My grandmother purchased this for her great-grandchildren to use while they visit her and my son (and I) liked it so much we bought our own set. I love watching my son replicate the patterns shown on the cards and enjoy that the toy offers the ability to use the tiles to create original designs. Children's spatial skills are challenged when manipulating the different shaped tiles to fill in the frame. I also love the color and feel of the manipulatives.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 12/27/2011
Rating: 5

The product is made of durable wood. Colors are vibrant and nice. I like how it makes the kids really think of how the next piece will fit. Excellent passtime for toddlers and young kids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pattern Play
Posted 3/26/2011 by JULIE M VOLLMUTH
Rating: 5

Excellent toy...and really challenges my 3 year old. He loves to try to figure it out!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play Fun
Posted 12/12/2010 by Amy Bible
Rating: 5

My daughter, soon to be 4, loves to play with this toy. She loves matching the patterns as well as making up her own.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pattern Play
Posted 1/29/2010 by Heather L
Rating: 5

My 4 year old girl really likes this toy. It is fun and educational. Great quality!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Quiet Time Activity.....
Posted 12/30/2009 by Melissa Reed
Rating: 5

The board and blocks seem to be high quality. The colors are vibrant. My 6 year old daughter and I enjoyed working together to recreate the designs on the enclosed pattern cards, as well as creating some of our own designs. Our 8 year old son was also interested in playing. It would make a nice toy to leave out (on a coffee table/shelf as it is attractive and fun). There are small blocks that would be choking hazards for little ones, so be aware of that if you have smaller children. This set does come with a fabric bag to store it in but we haven't used it as we just put everything back in the nice heavy duty box that it came in. We are pleased with our purchase.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pattern Play
Posted 12/29/2009 by Heather S Niece
Rating: 5

This is an awesome toy to stimulate the mind and teach problem solving and creative thinking.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 12/28/2009 by Jane Ricard
Rating: 5

My 6 year old granddaughter loves this. It is made of high quality wood and provides a great opportunity to learn about spacial concepts and logic.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 12/27/2009 by CHRISTINA EVERAERT
Rating: 5

This is a quality wood toy that will last for many years. The bright colors got my four year old's attention right away. I have also had fun creating colorful designs, as it reminded me of something that I played with as a child. I love the no batteries required toys, as they seem to keep a childs attention the longest. I look forward to watching my daughters create with this.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Pattern Play
Posted 12/27/2009 by Lauren - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My three-year-old nephew opened this gift on Christmas and played a few rounds with it. He really liked it. His two older sisters (5 & 7) also found it fun. Great colors. Good quality. And a good educational toy. My only complaint is that at least one of the cards that shows the pattern to be made had a mistake on it. Not a big deal, but for young kids who wouldn't realize that it's a mistake, it might be confusing.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lovely, fun and good for you!
Posted 12/20/2009 by Kathy Diamond Davis
Rating: 5

This is an excellent item that I strongly recommend! I bought one for myself, and then bought one for my mother, too. The colors are bright and attractive, the shapes are interesting and varied, and there are 40 full-color designs for you to put together. It would depend on the person's particular disabilities, but I find it takes just a few minutes--enjoyable minutes--for me to put together one of the patterns. And every time, the results are satisfying, because it is pretty! The parts are all wood, the frame that holds them is wood, and there is just enough room for you to move them in and out of the frame. When done with a pattern, you can align it to perfection! It comes with a nice cloth bag to store it in. I recommend that you immediately put the precious pattern cards into a small, zippered clear plastic bag to protect them. Those are very valuable! When you sit down to put a pattern together, look through the cards to pick one, put it on top, and then put them back in the clear plastic bag so the one you are working on will be visible, but protected with the others. This is a great item!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 12/16/2009 by NC Grandmother
Rating: 4

The Pattern Play arrived in a very timely manner. My 3 year-old granddaughter seemed to take to it immediately. Time will tell how much she plays with it. I had a great time doing some of the paterns, so if she gets bored with it, I'll just borrow it for a while. We'll see how well the paint hold up. I think one of the pieces had a little chip.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 12/6/2009 by Alma
Rating: 4

I received this product within a week of when it was ordered and was sent to my place of work as requested. The pieces are sturdy, made out of wood including the form that they stay in. Teh colors are bright and attention getting. The children I work with enjoy using an activity that uses visual cues, duplicating the designs and developing their own. I have not yet tried it with many children, but anticipate that they will enjoy working with the Pattern Play product.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 12/1/2009 by Monica Wormington
Rating: 5

This is a beautiful product. Not only is the color and feel of the material engaging to students, teachers aso enjoy manipulating the peices to create beautiful patterns.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play - Review
Posted 9/4/2008 by SONIA
Rating: 4

Like it and my child is using his imagination to create the most beautiful patterns ever!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play Review
Posted 12/31/2007 by Elizabeth French
Rating: 5

I love the bright colors used in this set. My 4 year old enjoys dumping the pieces on the floor and attempting to place all of them back in the square box. This set is similar to the Geomix but costs less and has more pieces (40 compared to Geomix's 32).

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Plan
Posted 12/26/2009 by Joyce A. McGlaun
Rating: 5

Big Hit with the 3 year old twins!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nadia learns
Posted 12/12/2011 by STEPHANIE M SKRADSKI
Rating: 4

Promotes creativity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Pattern Play
Posted 10/15/2011 by Deborah Replogle
Rating: 4

This is an excellent product for our use. We purchased it as an afterschool activity for schoolchildren in the library. This is a very popular toy, and sparks a lot of creativity among the children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Pattern Play
Posted 2/26/2010 by Sara Paulson
Rating: 5

The frame and pieces, themselves, are beautifully done. So nice that there are many suggested designs as well as, of course, the option for the child to make his own symmetries or non-symmetries! Especially good for children who need multi-sensory learning experiences. I have a 'builder' child who loves to work with his hands and he just loves this toy!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pattern Play
Posted 11/16/2008 by Louise Easton
Rating: 5

I did purchase this as a Christmas gift but I won't be back in Montana for months so I won't be able to see my granddaughter interact with this gift and rate it.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Terrific gift!
Posted 12/27/2012 by JoAnne Collier - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

For a 5 year-old kid with literally mountains of toys, I have to get really inspired to choose something that isn't ultimately added to the mountain, unused. This one's a winner. From the first, this little guy loved Pattern Play. And as his mom observed, watching him and his 8 year-old sister collaborating for over an hour with it, it's gets highest marks for the Peace On Earth factor. The pieces and frame are sturdy, well-made, and brightly colored. There's a storage pouch. And it comes with a load of illustrated examples for the kids to copy. Also nice is that this is artwork without the crayons, paint, paper, etc. that have to be replaced endlessly. The only drawback (if you can call it that) is that missing pieces will prevent a complete design, same as with a conventional puzzle.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Beautiful colors and designs to develop patterning skills
Posted 3/28/2014 by C BLOOMQUIST-KORTH
Rating: 5

This is what I gave my four year old for his birthday this year. I can set him up with this "game" by himself and he builds confidence when he completes the patterns by himself. I am very pleased with this product. I even enjoy it as a great way to keep my mind sharp...

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Thought Provoking Educational Toy
Posted 12/9/2013 by alexis soler
Rating: 5

Great high quality puzzle with endless possibilities. Wonderful find that my son can play with independently or that can be enjoyed by the entire family.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pattern Play
Posted 6/27/2013 by Karol L Olsen
Rating: 4

All family members want their turn

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pattern Play
Posted 2/11/2013 by Carrie Miller
Rating: 5

My sons LOVE this puzzle/pattern and play with it daily! Would love to get more pattern cards for this toy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02