Home > Toy Companies > MindWare > Qwirkle > Customer Reviews
Qwirkle
0

4 Star reviews of Qwirkle by MindWare

Return to Qwirkle product information...

Qwirkle has been reviewed 233 times with an average rating of 4.65

Review of Qwirkle
Posted 9/28/2008 by Pam Ferguson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I think this a great game. It is more involved than we originally thought, as there are many ways to play defense and block plays. We are able to play this game with all of the age groups and it make people think spacely and evaluate the whole board of playing pieces. I highly recommend it.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Loved playing with my granddaughter
Posted 2/5/2009 by Grammy from WI
Rating: 4

We found it a fun relaxing game that just the two of us can play. It's difficult to find a game for 2 that's fun and doesn't take forever to get through. We will enjoy many hours of entertainment with it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

qwirkle
Posted 11/5/2009
Rating: 4

idea is great, my 4 y.o. could play it with us by not using any scoring system or strategy but just the basic concept of the game to placing all his tiles in the right place.... the quality of the wood tiles are not quite impressive though, few of them have some chips, wish they are made of higher quality wood or plastic...

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Qwirkle
Posted 12/12/2011 by Wendy Lewis - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I purchased this game to be used for our church youth group. Have found it to be fun for children 5 years old through 5th grade. Great game!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Qwirkle is a hit !
Posted 7/8/2009 by CS Miller - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is the 3rd Qwirkle game I have bought for family and friends and everyone loves it! One friend goes around the house repeating "Qwirkle" in different voices because it's so much fun to say! He's a little "qwirky" anyway ;) Even small children like to stack the tiles or just play matching games without any rules. I used regular shipping from you and 2nd day air from another supplier for a game for my sister. Yours arrived in the same amount of time. Could have saved myself a little $$ if I had ordered both from you. The only slight problem with this GREAT game is that in certain lighting situations, there is a reflection on the top of the tiles. This makes it a little more challenging to discern shapes and colors. Except for this, I would have rated it all 5 stars.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bought for Christmas Gift
Posted 6/20/2008 by Kimberly De Simone
Rating: 4

I can't really say, as I never played the game. I bought it for my mother who loves it because she can play it with her friends as well as her four grandchildren. Universal appeal, she says.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Strategic, Colorful Scrabble...Sorta
Posted 4/29/2008 by Gary
Rating: 4

Qwirkle is an easy-to-learn, quick, fun-to-play tile-laying game. It has similarities to Scrabble in that you place tiles into the playing area only in one row per turn -- just as you would add letters to the Scrabble board to form one or more new words. Qwirkle can be played by children who can't spell yet, however. All that's needed is the ability to distinguish shapes and colors. (Note: Colorblind people may not be able to play this game, depending on the severity of their colorblindness.) Qwirkle plays quickly, but you may find yourself taking a few extra seconds to find that best place to play your tiles for maximum scoring. Qwirkle tiles are generally well-made, though there may be a few with small defects. The tiles are painted wood that have a nice feel and heft to them. Qwirkle is probably unlike anything else you've ever played and can easily engage the interest of passers-by. It's fun to play, and, in the end, that's what games are all about.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Bit Like Scrabble, A Bit Like Set, And A Bit Like Dominos
Posted 12/14/2007 by Glen Whitney
Rating: 4

The title of the review is actually a quote from my 9-year-old daughter, who likes this game a lot. The simplicity of the rules is one of its major strengths: each tile has two characteristics, a color and a shape, with six possibilities each. Tiles are played crossword-fashion, and each contiguous straight-line group of tiles must all share one characteristic and all be different in the other characteristic. That rule means that the longest possible group is six tiles, and there's a scoring bonus for adding the sixth tile to a group. That's essentially the entire rules, which means that anyone new to the game can get started full speed almost immediately. The resulting gameplay is quite pleasant. You need to keep track of the nooks and crannies where you might be able to put a tile for a big score, and there's a big premium on making plays that score along multiple lines. You should try to add to three or four different lines as much as possible. This game does well at allowing players of different ages to play together. Although I can easily outscore my daughter, she still enjoys playing, partly because the game pieces and the patterns they make on the table are so attractive. The only negative comment that I have is that the game with 108 tiles (three each of the 36 possibilities) runs on a bit long for two players. We might try with just two of the sets of 36, but then there might be too big a chance that the tile you need for a great combination is already used up. Maybe it would be better to try with three sets of 5 color/5 shape combinations, for 75 tiles, adjusting the bonus for completing a set of 5.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Qwirkle
Posted 12/6/2007 by Barbara Kossove - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Enjoyed by my grandson. It's a favorite.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Qwirkle
Posted 1/1/2012 by Rita Quick - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My 3 year old grandaughter loved this toy. She loves puzzles and she really liked the challenge of the cards. Making the found shapes fit to create the final shape really interested her.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Qwirkle
Posted 12/27/2010 by Elizabeth Rogers - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I already own Qwirkle and have enjoyed playing it with my husband and two step daughters. We bought it this Christmas for my family and enjoyed playing it together on Christmas morning as we waited for family to gather. It is difficult for people who are color blind to play, but overall we really like the quality of the product and love playing it with children over the age of 6 and adults!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quirkle
Posted 2/23/2010 by CHERYL L TIERNEY
Rating: 4

The game was interesting and easy to learn for adults. Even our 5 year old grandson, who the gift was for, caught on quickly to what we were doing. The game to be kept easy or made more challenging, depending on the age of players. It was a game that lasted about 15 or 20 minuets with 3 adult players, which we also liked. The color on the tiles could have been better. It was sometimes difficult to discern the color between two of them. The game conveniently came with a pull-string bag for storage. I would buy it again for a gift.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Qwirkle
Posted 1/7/2010 by Joyce Pierce
Rating: 4

Played Qwirkle with my older grandson on Christmas -- held his attention and mine. Sturdy game - no breakable or fragile pieces. Should be of interest to the entire family. (2 adults, one 6 year old and one 3 year old)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Qwirkle
Posted 12/23/2009 by Alexandra J MacRae
Rating: 4

Great. As advertised.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Qwirkle
Posted 11/30/2009 by Cynthia Scott - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Good family fun for all. Great for the little ones that do not read as of yet. Easy pieces for the grandchildren to hold and the adults had fun playing, too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quirkle
Posted 11/25/2009 by Brenda C
Rating: 4

A game the whole family is enjoying.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Qwirkle
Posted 11/3/2009 by Ken Rock
Rating: 4

There are several reviews of this product on the internet. What I have found is that the game is simple to learn, easy to play, and fun for all ages. My 8 year old niece loves the game and wants to play whenever she comes over to visit. It is a bit simplistic for an all adult group, but when children are a part of the group, this game fits the bill nicely.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quirkle
Posted 10/26/2009 by Lori Liljenquist
Rating: 4

Great game. Fun for all ages

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Qwirkle
Posted 10/25/2009 by Jessica Holton
Rating: 4

I (Santa) bought this game for my daughter after not hearing about ANY other toy/game for three weeks now, since visiting a friends home and playing it there.... I can't wait for my 5 year old to teach me this game Christmas morning.... and play it on Friday night "Family nights"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Qwirkle
Posted 10/5/2009 by Debra K Baker
Rating: 4

like dominos only more colorful

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun and easy to set up
Posted 3/20/2008 by YunJi Qian
Rating: 4

this game is fun and easy to set up and bring with you... if youre going with someone to a dr. appt, or if you are playing before food in the oven is done... it is not a long game, and it is super fun. it also has super simple rules, so it is good for all ages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

gin/scrabble
Posted 3/18/2008 by Sarah+Willow LeTard
Rating: 4

Really fun and challenging. Very educational too (not SAT prep style; thinking style) A 7 year old can play to their level, and adult can play to their level- no forced smiles while you claim to be having fun. The drawbacks: 108 tiles, but players don't get a rack to put their "hand" of tiles in. The game can get very big by the time you are nearing the end (108 tiles). The box everything comes in isn't very sturdy, it needed a tape job by the end of the first game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Qwirkle
Posted 3/5/2008 by Carol V - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

A lot of fun. It reminded me of scrabble in many ways. The kids, aged 6,8,9,11 enjoyed it very much. As an adult I found it a game I could enjoy playing with the my grandchildren. We did take it a step beyond the instructions to make it more exciting, and that is easy to do once you get the hang of the game. I highly recommend it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Qwirkle
Posted 1/4/2008 by Agatha Taormina
Rating: 4

We like this game as an alternative to Triominoes or other matching games. It is easy to learn and quick to play. We like the sturdiness of the tiles. In some light we have some trouble differentiating between the orange and red tiles and between the blue and purple tiles.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Qwirkle - Very Fun
Posted 12/26/2007 by Kara
Rating: 4

This game of strategy is simple to learn and fun to play. I think my only beef with it is that I have a large family and only four people at a time can play other than that, perfect.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quirkle
Posted 11/30/2007
Rating: 4

We played just one time to start. It was fun and challenging but we did not have confidence that we were following the instructions quite right. It may take us a few times through just to get the hang of it. We saw immediately the comparrison with Scrabble and Dominos. It was good because we played with a non-reader and he did really well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Game!
Posted 11/27/2007 by Denise
Rating: 4

This is a very fun game for the whole family. It's fun to play with any number of people, and you can play it over and over, and it's always different.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Elizabeth S. Marshall
Posted 11/21/2007
Rating: 4

Quirkle is a game that is deceptively easy to play, yet challenging to master!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Qwirkle
Posted 11/19/2007 by Carol L. Beserra
Rating: 4

My granddaughter, daughter and I enjoyed playing this game! I think it will be lots of fun for the whole family!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Qwirkle
Posted 11/14/2007
Rating: 4

The game is simple but it requires cunning and strategy planning. Fun and easy. You can be hooked to this game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Qwirkle
Posted 11/8/2007 by K. Rivera
Rating: 4

Well made, elementary introduction to old fashioned dominoes with new learning twist.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Qwirkle
Posted 10/24/2007 by Taylor S Gepper
Rating: 4

The game is great and came in perfect shape. Fun game to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Qwirkle
Posted 10/17/2007 by Lynnda Pekel
Rating: 4

My 7 year old really enjoyed Qwirkle and it provides a good "brain workout" for everybody.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Qwirkle
Posted 10/11/2007 by Beth Harris
Rating: 4

If you like Domino type games, I think you will enjoy Qwirkle. It reminds me of a mix of Mexican Train Game and Scrabble, but with shapes & colors. My husband & I played this game with our parents and they both really enjoyed it. It was not so complicated that it intimidated them (which new games often do) and it can be played enjoyably with 2 people on up to 4. I'm very happy that I found it and look forward to playing it with other family members that are much more competitive than my parents.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Game For the Young and Old
Posted 7/13/2007
Rating: 4

I introduced Qwirkle to my game group last week, and we enjoyed it very much. The rules are simple, but the depth of play was greater than we originally thought. I recommend this game to people who enjoy light abstract strategy games. My only concern is that the painted wooden pieces are likely to become marked over time. Bake-lite tiles would be wonderful!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Qwirkle
Posted 6/23/2007 by Manny Burgess
Rating: 4

Quirkle is delightful and easy to learn. I've used it with 8-year olds as well as adults. You can play it leisurely and not score points, or you can use more strategy to try and win with higher point moves. Great little game overall!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Qwirkle
Posted 6/18/2007 by Shawn R. Maxwell
Rating: 4

Qwirkle is a fun, quick to learn and play game while keeping a strong sense of strategy. Easy enough for anyone to learn while having replay value to keep bringing people back.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Qwirkle Is Fun!
Posted 5/21/2007 by Anne Gilchrist
Rating: 4

My 10 year old son calls this game a cross between Set and Scrabble. I initially bought this game for my 16 year old daughter who loves to play Set. Her only complaint about this is she can't carry it around with her, like she does with Set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Qwirkle
Posted 1/3/2014 by Crystal
Rating: 4

Great game to play with my 6 year old!! It is a lot of fun. The pieces are made out of wood and comes with a nice bag to keep the pieces in. A little spendy but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03