Home > Toy Companies > MindWare > Subtraction Secrets > Customer Reviews
Subtraction Secrets
0

Customer reviews of Subtraction Secrets by MindWare

Return to Subtraction Secrets product information...

Subtraction Secrets has been reviewed 48 times with an average rating of 4.52

A rating of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 5/24/2009 by Merideth Fisher
Rating: 5

It think these books are great, BUT there wasn't a "level" that let me know what I was getting. As it turned out, when I received this product, I discuvered that it is too easy for my students and I won't be able to use it. I think you need to put what grade level these books are appropriate for (unless I missed it). As I have different books from the same publisher, "Level A" means different things for different books, which i discovered on the back of the books. For example, in one book I have, "Level A" is for grades 3-4 (which I teach), and this book is for grades 1-2. So...my recommendation is to be specific on your item descriptions. I went ahead and kept the book to give to a colleague who could use it, but I was disappointed (naturally) that it was of no use to me!

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Addition and Subraction Secrets
Posted 4/23/2008 by Pamela Baker
Rating: 4

I purchased these books for my first graders. They really enjoy the addition one, and should be ready for subtraction shortly. It's a fun way to get a little math practice in.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A bit repetetive
Posted 12/31/2011 by Robyne powell
Rating: 3

We haven't really had a chance to try it out. Each page is the same game only with different images to navigate around. There are a ton of problems you have to solve in order to finish the maze which will be fine if your child can sit down through that many.
True, the maze navigation concept is the same throughout the book. Though we've not known a child to solve all the pages and in one sitting. That sounds a bit much to some of us with shorter attention spans & less of a passion for mathematics

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction Secrets
Posted 1/10/2011
Rating: 4

My son (6) loves the subtraction secrets. He has a natural aptitude for math, so this game appeals to him. I like that it teaches him how to follow a map and directins to achive a goal. At first he was wondering of what his reward would be at the end of the exercise. But now he realizes that the reward is finding the answer. Howvere, maybe getting to put a sticker on the right answer or something like that, would make the game more fun. A bit pricey for something, that once he is done with solving the secrets once he cannot "play" again. I ended up making copies of the pages so he can play again when he is all done.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Subtraction Secrets
Posted 6/6/2007
Rating: 5

I now own this whole math series! They are wonderful and the kids love them. A great buy for teachers or homeschoolers.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 11/28/2012 by B. Martin
Rating: 1

We ordered this for our 7 1/2 yr old granddaughter who loves mysteries and figuring games out. Upon receiving it we read the instructions and examples on the covers and couldn't imagine it holding anyone's attention for very long. Every mystery puzzle was in the same boring format; answer a long list of subtraction problems and then draw a line that many spaces North, South, East, or West to solve the mystery of getting from one point on a puzzle to another. Not what we'd call FUN! It was returned and we're awaiting credit.
It's easy to head in a new direction if you took a wrong turn in ordering the subtraction puzzles. Full satisfaction is right this way - visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.)

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction Secrets
Posted 10/9/2011 by Cindy Edwards
Rating: 5

I purchased this item for my daughter to use as a fun tool for working on subtraction problems. It works! To get the correct answer to the puzzle she has to do all the problems correctly. She doesn't view this as work, just a step in solving the puzzle!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction Secrets
Posted 11/28/2009 by Harriet Silvers
Rating: 5

I personally thought this product was excellent. But the final result will come from my 7 year old Granddaughter.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Self-Motivating Practice For Kids!
Posted 12/31/2007 by Misty Post
Rating: 5

Subtraction secrets is an excellent supplement and practice material for children learning, practicing, and reviewing their subtraction match facts. The interesting real-life situations with clues to solve the puzzles are fun for children, and keep them asking for more pages! Instead of boring math pages, this book motivates children to practice math facts, while also providing directional practice (north, south, east, and west), and stimulating creativity in the child.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Subtraction Secrets
Posted 5/7/2008 by Teri W Miller
Rating: 5

Loved it! Other teachers in my building want to borrow it. I'm glad I found it. Also, I received by book very soon after I ordered. Excellent!

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Loves it!
Posted 8/7/2009
Rating: 5

My very bright 5 year old loves it!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Subtraction Secrets
Posted 2/12/2009 by Amy Stechow
Rating: 5

It makes learning basic subtraction facts fun!! We're having trouble memorizing the basics and this is giving my daughter wonderful practice.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 7/25/2012 by Kelli Bretz
Rating: 5

My 6 yr old twins fight over these subtraction & addition books!! I lOve the mazes or maps associated with the problems. great practice tool.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Way to Practice Math
Posted 4/1/2012 by Holly Hoelting
Rating: 5

I bought this to use in teaching a math enrichment class for 1st graders. They loved it and found it to be a fun way to practice math and mapping skills.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and educational
Posted 12/3/2011 by Meme
Rating: 5

Bought for my 1st grade granddaughter. She has adding and subtracting flash cards from school she has to go over nightly. It gets pretty boring after awhile. These puzzles are so much fun to solve using the math problems and counting spaces directed by the compass. They are great.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great gift!!
Posted 11/21/2011 by Lubna Bazzy
Rating: 5

My husband and I loves these books, and my daughter thinks they're a TON of fun!! We do them together and it's so much fun! They have really helped my six year old daughter with her math skills!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 2/9/2010 by Tyrell Moore - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I purchased this item because I will be student teaching, in a first grade class, in a few weeks. The book is large enough to make copies from and I think it will be a good activity for the students to do for "morning work." I think the students will like to product, too because it is almost a puzzle for them. They have to follow directions and use Geographic skills (reading a compass) to solve each puzzle/page.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction Secrets ROCKS!
Posted 12/14/2009 by Alison Windram
Rating: 5

My 6 year old daughter (in 1st Grade) loves this workbook. I love that it teaches subtraction in a visual way. She's also getting practice graphing. The puzzles are just long enough for her to get in good practice, but not so long that she loses interest.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction Secrets
Posted 8/26/2007
Rating: 4

I got this book and the companion Addition Adventures book for my 7 year old. She likes math and puzzles and it seemed like a good fit. She does like it. The puzzles are fun and keep her interested. We've just started it, so maybe we have not yet seen it all, but it might be nice if the format of the puzzle/solution was varied.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 4/6/2007
Rating: 5

A quick fun way to practice subtraction facts and review concepts.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Literacy Backpacks
Posted 10/2/2006 by Christine K Hermes
Rating: 5

This book was purchased for our literacy backpacks. Each pack is theme based and full of books and manipulatives. These packs are checked out for a two week time period. We hope that this book will be a useful addition to our subtraction backpack.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!
Posted 12/12/2011 by Brian Hancock
Rating: 4

It's fun. Takes me reminding her that it exists to get her to use it, but once she starts she does three or four puzzles.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 2/16/2010 by Amy
Rating: 4

My son is in first grade and does some second grade work in math. This is very age appropriate for him as far as the math goes. He needs a little assistance on the mapping part, but that's also a fun new skill.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 12/29/2011 by Mom of 6 year old
Rating: 3

Too advanced for my child. I will save for next year.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Subtraction Secrets
Posted 3/1/2010 by Leslie Fielder
Rating: 5

I ordered it for our first grade teachers, they were very excited about using it in there teaching. Thank you for your quick response.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction Secrets
Posted 1/22/2010 by JON J CVERNA
Rating: 4

This was a gift, but I observed it being used. It is being enjoyed by the person it was given to while giving that same person math practice. The problems could possibly have been a bit more difficult.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 8/20/2013 by Beth Weaver - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was a gift for our grandson, who is entering first grade. He enjoyed following the clues as a motivation to solving a puzzle. We/he also liked the directions (N/E/S/W). Clues were easy to follow.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Subtraction secrets
Posted 5/5/2009
Rating: 4

My daughter found it fun to work the problems in this book. We bought a second one for her cousin becasue it was a fun way to work on her subtraction.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Secret Math Treasure
Posted 10/15/2012 by Audrey Echelberry
Rating: 5

My daughter received Subtraction Secrets and has been using it non-stop! She is also learning how to use a compass rose for directions, as each page has a new problem to solve with simple North, South, East, West directions to help solve each problem!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 8/9/2013
Rating: 4

My 7 year old niece enjoys the challenge of this game - and she's learning math skills while she plays.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good opportunity to practice math skills
Posted 12/3/2012 by Shana Ravnsborg
Rating: 4

Great worksheet to help my son (1st grade) practice his math skills in a way that he enjoys. Also good at helping with fine motor skills as he draws out the lines. I worry that after a while though, he'll bore - so would like to have seen different kinds of worksheets (or more advanced skills) as well.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Tool for Grandson to Practice Subtraction
Posted 10/1/2012 by Jill Cofer - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Well, since this is a Christmas gift, I haven't had to opportunity to see how much my grandson plays with it. But, I hope it will be a lot!

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Subtraction Secrets
Posted 9/24/2012 by neysa summers
Rating: 5

Awesome! My 5 year old loves this!

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03