Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > 100 Piece Bucket > Customer Reviews
100 Piece Bucket
0

Customer reviews of 100 Piece Bucket by Erector (Meccano)

Return to 100 Piece Bucket product information...

100 Piece Bucket has been reviewed 68 times with an average rating of 4.15

Erector Set Review
Posted 8/1/2008 by Supriya Velagapudi
Rating: 4

Product is good. My son enjoyed it a lot. I wish there were more pieces inside the box to construct more things. Also, the screwdriver that comes with the box does not have a handle and it is difficult to handle.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 7/31/2008 by Jennifer Mitchell
Rating: 5

Great product! The kids love it and so does the husband!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 6/26/2008 by Barry Levin
Rating: 4

Good for my 7 and 4 year old boys. My 9 year old daughter was mildly interested, but that is age appropriate.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 5/7/2008
Rating: 4

Very fun. Educational for both my 7 and 5 year olds.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 4/22/2008
Rating: 5

Great way to get your kids into the world of Erector Sets. Nice big pieces. Easy things to build.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 4/14/2008 by Shannon Fender
Rating: 3

This isn't exactly what I had planned. I was very surprised to open the bucket and find plastic beams and plastic nuts/bolts. I thought they would be metal parts. It looks like a good kit for children who are old enough not to put the part into their mouths. I hadn't purchased it for child-play. Had they been the old metal parts, I had other plans in mind for them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 2/20/2008 by Marie
Rating: 3

My son loves Legos and Knex. I thought this would be along the same lines but different. I was disappointed. My son needs help to make any of the designs. The bolts don't tighten enough to hold the designs together. He became frustrated and asked me to return it, something he's never done with Legos or Knex. By the way, I bought a set of Knex at the same time and my son uses the Knex 3-5 times per day.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 2/8/2008 by Linda - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My 4 year old son loves this toy. He loves buillding with this. Requires assistance when using it, which is great quality time together. There are a ton of nuts and bolts, but not many actual pieces to build with. My son enjoys it so much we will end up buying another set or 2.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/27/2008
Rating: 3

Our 3 year old has a pretty good time playing with this, but it would be a lot better if they had more pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/23/2008 by Bobbie J. McCormack - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My children (6 and 4) love the 100 Piece Bucket Erector Set . My husband had a great time building with it as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Set!
Posted 1/1/2008 by Margie McHugill
Rating: 5

I bought two sets for my kids, ages 3 - 6. They all find it fun to play with. It is easy enough to assemble for my 3 year old and yet still entertaining for my 6 year old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Product
Posted 12/26/2007 by Sarah
Rating: 4

Good Product. The only disappointment was in distribution of pieces (not enough diversity). I guess that just means I will have to buy a few different sets.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 12/18/2007
Rating: 4

Awesome. Daddy needs something to do on christmas day also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 7/8/2007 by Jill Goldstone
Rating: 5

My 5 year old has it and loves it! It was the perfect introduction to building things for a child that has the interest and has a visual "knack". The set is safe and allows a lot of options. I would highly recommend this toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 5/18/2007 by Michael F.
Rating: 5

I purchased this toy specifically after reading the already posted reviews. I found them to be very helpful. One of the reviews stated that there were not enough pieces. Because of this I purchased 2 of them. If I had only purchased 1 of them I would have been disappointed. I have twin boys that will be 4. This was a great activity for them. Two weeks later they are still carrying the bucket around asking to build "stuff".

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Bucket For A Few Pieces
Posted 5/14/2007
Rating: 3

It was surprising to open the good sized bucket and see that it was mostly empty due to the small volume of pieces inside.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 2/12/2007 by Karyn Longstreet
Rating: 3

It is hard to get the screws tight enough so the project stays together tightly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/2/2007 by Rosann
Rating: 4

My six year old daughter immediately began making the structures in the enclosed booklet, and felt very accomplished doing so. The structures do not stand up by themselves as shown. One must add pieces to the base.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Engaging Toy For All Ages
Posted 12/31/2006 by Roger Cowles
Rating: 5

Growing up I was a classic Meccano addict, from the old Set 3 to Set 9. Given my 2 year old son's penchant for sticking screwdrivers into the guts of electronic gear I have foolishly opened in his presence, I plumped for the 100 piece bucket. He's had fun helping by finding pieces and using the screwdriver and wrench. I've had as much fun building models which he then plays with. The included parts are nicely finished, no sharp flash or mold lines. While the range of models you can build are simple there is still some real engineering, such as bolts interfering with each other on the 90 degree brackets. You'd never get that from a computerized "e-learning" toy. The downsides 1)100 pieces really don't come close to filling the bucket 2)The age range seems a little off, 3-6 may be more appropriate. 3)The user will soon hit the limits of the included pieces. Just be warned, this may be a gateway to more elaborate and far more expensive metal Erector sets!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 12/21/2006 by Richard L French
Rating: 3

We like the product for 3-4 year olds. The problem is that there are not enough pieces. This requires ordering 2 buckets to make enough for free play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Creativity in a Box
Posted 9/4/2006 by Sarah Putterman
Rating: 5

This is a great toy for any kid who likes building with their imagination. There are enough pieces to put together some creative things. We didn't feel short of supplies. My son (age 5) was frustrated by the ideas in the booklet that came in the box. They were too difficult for him. Once he accepted that he could build anything he wanted, he enjoyed playing with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Creativity At Its Best!
Posted 8/8/2006 by Natalie
Rating: 5

My son is only two and he loves to play with his Erector Set. We just wish there was a way to buy more pieces without having to buy another bucket.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

100 Piece Bucket
Posted 6/29/2006 by Zak Johnson
Rating: 5

Really great. My kids are 6 and 8 and the more readily available Erector sets have bolts and screws that are much too difficult for them to use. I even have trouble with the regular sets! (It seems once upon a time there were larger piece metal Erector sets, but I have never been able to find them.) My kids are very enthusiastic about the large piece set. One review point not included is that this toy helps develop motor skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 5/16/2006 by Jessica Desmond
Rating: 5

I really enjoyed the Erecter Set. We played with it all day.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Surprised
Posted 4/26/2006 by Jenni
Rating: 3

I was surprised by the size of the bucket and then to see inside not much. From a kid's point of view-pretty disappointing-was expecting more.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 4/25/2006 by Julie McKeighan
Rating: 3

The product's ease of use for a 5 year old was good. The versatility use of the product was not what I had hoped for.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 4/17/2006 by Steven Kelly - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I had four grandchildren playing with these on Easter and it kept them occupied for almost two hours, Their imagination with these parts is amazing. It is exactly what I expected from them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 3/30/2006 by Barrett Sachs - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Nice beginner Erector set. Larger nuts and bolts with tools are a nice touch. Better pictures for assembly of models would be nice due to the age of the child

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 3/22/2006 by Jill Thomas
Rating: 5

My child finds the projects enticing. This toy really encourages the development of fine motor skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

100 Piece Bucket
Posted 3/15/2006 by Roger Strong
Rating: 5

The product is great! I searched in the local stores for something similar before I found you. There was nothing of its kind. This product seems to easily stimulate little minds into bringing out their inner creativity. My daughter is four and she can already build creations of her own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 2/27/2006 by Michael Staley - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

The product is exactly what I was looking for in an educational toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My students are building a bridge!
Posted 2/6/2006 by Ellen Schneider
Rating: 5

I bought this item for my students. As part of our individualized studies the children are allowed to explore areas that interest them. The bucket arrived, was opened and those at the science center latched onto it. It is wonderful seeing the children explore what would work best as a bridge. Those who have not been able to use it (as we have a bridge under construction) are chomping at the bit to get hold of it. {The children range from grade 4 to 8.}

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/9/2006 by Pamela Reed
Rating: 5

I have been using the toys I've ordered from you at school. I have a Special Needs classroom. The students need to gain fine motor skills. You're toys are a wonderful tool to obtain our goals. I have not used this particular toy yet, but I have plans already. You have no idea how grateful I am to have discovered your website. I certainly plan to order more from you in the future. Thanks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/9/2006
Rating: 5

This set is a good beginning for novices. He has quickly gotten the "hang" of it and will be ready for the real thing by next season. They are easy to assemble and need little adult intrusion.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wrong product
Posted 1/6/2006 by Valery Polin
Rating: 5

When purchasing this product, I mistakenly thought that this was a bucket with additional parts for the Metal Erector Set I purchased as a New Year's present for my son. Although this "Bucket" was intended for younger children, my son enjoyed creating unusual things with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Errector set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Stephen Newkirk
Rating: 2

I was somewhat disappointed with the plastic parts. The original set used metal parts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/2/2006 by Laurie Snider
Rating: 2

The quality was not what we expected for one thing. My six year old son loves to take things apart and put them back together so my husband and I thought an erector set would be the perfect gift. It piqued his interest a little. My husband and I were disappointed in the quality of the plastic pieces. I guess we still remember the good old days when all erector sets were made out of metal and made to last.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 12/28/2005 by Diane
Rating: 5

I bought 2 of these for grandsons 7 & 8. They loved them, played together watching each other & experimenting. A great gift for the beginner who had never heard of Erector Sets, but from a grandma that played with them & built things with my brothers 50 years ago!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 12/19/2005 by Marilyn Seeley
Rating: 4

I am pleased with the quality and found the product to be all that was promised.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 7/22/2005 by Cynthia Losche
Rating: 3

I expected to receive the nuts and boltsfor the old sets (the little tiny metal screws). The set I have is an old one and 90% of the nuts, screws are missing. However the set I received are good and my grandchildren love it so all is not lost.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 3/11/2005 by Terry Moore
Rating: 5

I use them in my classroom to illustate the properties of geometric shapes. The children are asked to create squares, rectangles, different types of trianles by connecting the pieces. It's an excellent way to concretely show 3rd graders how sides form angles which in turn, form shapes. I had a small kit which the kids continually play with year after year after the presentation. So this year I decided to get two larger sets. One for the classroom and one was ordered to reward the child who bought the most tickets for a tsunami relief lottery we were having in our school. So you see, the product really had a number of superb uses. They're strong, sturdy and colorful as well. Mr. Terry Moore

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For the budding engineer... or builder
Posted 2/24/2005
Rating: 4

My son and I enjoy building things. I like this toy in particular because the heavy weight plastic make it difficult for him to break pieces (he's three and a half). The building diagrams are too difficult for him, but great for me. The storage bucket is also great because we have a 15-month old too. All in all this is a great toy because we can play together with it now, and I know he'll enjoy building on his own when he gets a little older.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Creative toy
Posted 2/24/2005
Rating: 4

My five year old son loves this erector set. He can build all of the models and has invented several of his own. My only complaint would be that the pieces are difficult for the little guy to tighten and his creations are loose and wobbly and inevitably fall apart. Still, it's a wonderfully creative toy that occupies my son for hours. Also, youngbuilder.com is an excellent shop. I've been so pleased with the service.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

good starter
Posted 2/24/2005 by LLP
Rating: 4

Not exactly what we expected as a starter "Erector Set" ... thought it would be the metal guage. Still, it was a fine introduction, and my son loved it. We'll probably get him a more advanced set soon.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/4/2005 by Mark Daily
Rating: 2

I ordered this set as an addition to a larger set for my grandson for Christmas and was disappointed to find that the pieces were on a different scale. Like the difference between Legos and Duplos. I expected steel girders ect. not larger plastic pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 100 Piece Bucket
Posted 1/4/2005 by Stacy Ringwelski
Rating: 3

The item was shipped promply and well packed. However, a better description of the type of pieces should be noted, such as that the parts are plastic. Unfortunately, it was not what i had anticipated getting. i will still consider looking at other items and shopping at this site because of the how smoothly the transaction took place.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02