Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector 5 Model set > Customer Reviews
Erector 5 Model set
0

Customer reviews of Erector 5 Model set by Schylling

Return to Erector 5 Model set product information...

Erector 5 Model set has been reviewed 18 times with an average rating of 4.33

Information about Erector 5 Model set
Posted 4/10/2009 by Constance Bai
Rating: 4

My 12 year old grandson is fascinated with this model set. He has never had any erector sets before. He especially was excited about building this with his dad. He just came to live with his dad- so this model has been a good project for the two of them to do together.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Difficult To Build
Posted 3/28/2008
Rating: 2

I had Erector set kits when I was a boy and I was excited to share my recollections of youth with my 9 year old son. This particular model is very difficult to assemble. My son became disinterested, so I intervened. I told him we would break and try again the next day. Then I took some time to try and assemble this kit myself. Even I had difficulty completing the model. The assembly is weak and uses fasteners that do not stay put. As you add to previously built sub assemblies, the fasteners come loose and re-work becomes the norm. Even I became disinterested with this model.

11 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 5 models
Posted 7/20/2009 by joan milstead
Rating: 4

Great set, had a few pieces missing from a kit, some people didn't like the bolt fittings, but cycles came together and group enjoyed working with them

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great starter set!
Posted 7/15/2010 by marilyn osborn
Rating: 5

My son (9) got this for his birthday and has played with it constantly. He has worked and re-worked those little pieces into MANY things and is so very proud of himself. I feel like this is a great educational toy as it promotes problem solving, following directions...and patience!

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector 5 Model set
Posted 9/8/2011 by Derek Worley
Rating: 5

The Erector 5 model set was a birthday present for my little buddy Aaron.the side of the box was marked ages 8 to 88 , well Aaron just turned 6 years old. The first thing he said was "Cool!!! Daddy can we build the crane first?!". I also purchased the Erector model 15 set for my girlfriend and myself ( both around 40 years old) to play with. The first thing I said was " Cool! Can we build the crane first?!" There has been constant build going on, in our dining room, since the kit arrived. We like that you can build several things from even a small kit, beyond the instructions. It pushes creativity and problem solving and basic mechanic skills. However, even for adults used to reading exploded schematics and blueprints, the booklets can be unclear. Furthermore, the tools supplied can be frustrating and clumsy to use. We had to resort to our own jewelers' size tools (small guage needlenose pliers, etc) to hold nuts and other pieces in place during construction.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 7/17/2007 by William Nobes
Rating: 5

My 6 year old took to this immediately. (More so than other construction oriented kits.) I wanted to jump in and help him, but he said "Let me do it daddy!" So daddy sits on his hands.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Non-functional model
Posted 10/1/2010 by Laura Taylor
Rating: 3

I bought this product for my son who loves bicycles, cranes, and helicopters. I knew he would need help putting them together at first, but I thought he would enjoy the end product. When I found out that the end product was not very functional, we were both very disappointed. I'm not saying it was a waste of money, it was just not as good a toy as I thought I was buying.
We contacted our customer. Please note, slightly loosening key bolts on finished Erector constructions may create more fluid movement. We welcome the return of any Fat Brain Toy which does not function 100% to your satisfaction. Please visit our Returns & Exchanges center for details.)

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 5 Model
Posted 9/15/2011 by David Struck
Rating: 5

The instructions for the models are clear and understandable. The models that can be constructed are unlimited.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector 5 Model set
Posted 12/6/2010 by Kathy Lohman
Rating: 4

Christmas gift that hasn't been given yet

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 5 Model Set
Posted 2/18/2010 by Mary Galligan
Rating: 4

The product was very good although somewhat difficult to put together for the age group it was given to.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toys, efficient delivery
Posted 1/19/2010 by Alisa Elliott
Rating: 5

This is a great building toys for the young tinkerers in my life. Complicated enough for a good challenge, rewarding when done.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02