Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled > Customer Reviews
Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
0

Customer reviews of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled by Erector (Meccano)

Return to Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled product information...

Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled has been reviewed 64 times with an average rating of 4.34

Hummers Rock!
Posted 10/21/2005 by Meghann Petersen
Rating: 4

I loved the customer service that Fat Brain Toys provided me and the erector set overall. The only thing about this set is there are many small pieces and we didn't always fit them together perfectly...so our hummer is a little lopsided but still runs like a champ!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/2/2006 by Raymond Bjorklund
Rating: 4

Gift recipient is getting hours of intense, satisfying experience in building the Hummer. Affords great lessons in taking care during the construction process.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 12/8/2005 by Christine Montmarquette
Rating: 5

This is a great item! Hours of building and then playing with your accomplishment! It wasn't something simple, but very rewarding when finished! Sturdy, too! My son with ADHD sat and played for hours, until it was finished...AMAZING!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Hummer H2 RC car
Posted 12/5/2005 by Yvonne Bertke
Rating: 5

Excellent product -- I am a teacher that bought this for students to build a sturdy "homemade" robot for a science competition. The erector parts, added to servos and motors we have already had are well on their way to making a "prize winning" robot. Your shipping procedures were outstanding -- I ordered on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, and thought that your estimated date of the following Tuesday was over optimistic considering the Christmas holiday load, but the package arrived right on time. Thank you for prompt service and excellent products!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not quite what I expected
Posted 11/28/2005 by Harold Dabbs
Rating: 3

While the toy itself seems fine, it was not what I expected from Erector. The major problem I have with it is that the entire chassis and drivetrain are pre-assembled. All of the 600+ parts to assemble are mostly just body, trim, mirrors, etc. It's very little to teach a young person mechanical aptitude. As a truck, it's just fine, but a remote-controlled car would be cheaper, more powerful, and about as educational. Rather disappointed.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of the Erector Hummer H2
Posted 11/14/2005 by Dana Grunwell
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 12 year old son who loves to build things and this was top notch!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 10/28/2005 by Anne L Reinhart
Rating: 5

This is an exceptional Erector item. My 3 grandsons, ages 6, 8, 10 are riveted to putting it together and operating it! It is comtemporary as well. It lets all 3 boys take advantage of the challenge of constructing it...and even doing some modifiying. They have their father's Erector sets from 30 years ago...and THAT really makes this a personalized H2. They love the fact that it is radio controlled. What a positive attraction in the neighborhood! I thought the price was fair too.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

What a great toy !!!
Posted 10/26/2005 by Dan Porter
Rating: 5

We gave this to my 12 year old son for his birthday. It was an instant hit. He spent the rest of the day building it and driving it all over the house. He kept chasing the cat, who I'm sad to say didn't like it. Wouldn't hesitate recommending this for a gift. Great product!!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hummer Review
Posted 8/25/2008
Rating: 4

Very pleased overall except for the remote control vehicle base is rather underpowered for the weight of the Hummer body. My 10 year old boy enjoyed the challege to build something other than Legos.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The only hummer that won't cost a fortune at the gas pump
Posted 7/7/2008 by Julie S.
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 19 year old to get him off the computer. It's great because it's more challenging to put together than he thought it would be and he's having fun with it as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hummer Rocks
Posted 4/18/2008 by Cheri McNeill
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my son's 12th birthday. I am catching myself wanting to put it together for him. This is very cool. I think it's great. We have been looking for something like this for quite a while. Some instructions you have to really look at to fully understand. If you take your time, it is a great project. Makes me a happy mommy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Patrick Young
Posted 3/23/2008 by Patrick D. Young
Rating: 4

These models are tough to assemble for 8 year olds as they do not include 2 essential tools to facilitate the work. The original Meccano includes them in their old upper end kits and are known as "drift" (which is a tapered axle rod) and "box spanner". The former serves to align holes for bolts and the latter for inaccessible nuts. At times I use as many as 3 drifts but one alone would be a great help. However, I do not see how you could resolve this problem unless you offered a seperate kit at a nominal price. Actualy I purchase these modern day sets to supplement my large inventory of Meccano parts from the original sets. I currently own 4 Tensets ( the originl top of the line #10) and many new parts such as a roller bearing. These sets are no longer produced in Calais(France) but excellent repros are available from India or Argentina but weigh about 80 lb. and cost about $3,000 each without the wooden cabinet. Regretably only one Real Meccano dealer exists in North America (in LA) and I object to his prices. My tensets are from India. If ever you get involved with the original Meccano spare parts sale the word would soon spread around the many members of our groups which are more numerous in Canada than down here. Ordering parts from the UK are now becoming prohibatively expensive. Please excuse the long report.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/8/2008 by Cynthia Katsafanas
Rating: 5

My 8 year old grandson loves the hummer controlled car. He and his father and uncle spent all Christmas putting it together and racing. My grandson needed a lot less help than his father and uncle insisted he have.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 2/4/2007 by Rob Robbins
Rating: 4

This is a high quality product, just like the Erector sets I built as a child 30+ years ago. The recommended age range on this set is 8 to 15. My feeling is that only the most advanced 8 year old would have any chance of assembling this by himself. A 10 year old with lots of adult guidance would be more appropriate.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 3/28/2006 by Eugene Lavrov - OTHER
Rating: 4

The toy itself looks really "cool"; however, it was not too hard to assemble for a 6 year old (he did it in about 3 days). When I was buying it I thought everything had to be build from scratch, but a wheel base was already preassembled, so you only need to build a body! I remember when I was a kid I had those Erectors where you had to put together everything, and I was under impression that was it. Overall, though, it's a very nice toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 2/28/2006 by FRANK SCHMIDT - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Parts that don't work or fit.
Unaccomodating metal pieces soon to be evicted. We sent Frank an email with the customer service number needed to receive replacements for defective pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 2/6/2006 by Myron F. Wimberly
Rating: 4

The Hummer H2 Erector set is an exceptional set to own. the only problem I had was that the smallest of screws were sometimes much to small. Other than this small flaw, the truck runs and handles great and was a thrill to put together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 2/1/2006 by Howard L. Wildgrube
Rating: 5

Good set!! New parts and fine models.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/19/2006 by kathryn litchfield
Rating: 4

Some of the screws were too short. I had to leave out the washers. Other than that great product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good value for the money
Posted 1/14/2006 by Manu M. Bhalerao
Rating: 4

Excellent set for combining interest in metal construction sets and radio controlled models. This set comes with instructions for 3 models, but, as with any Erector set, one can build models from one's own imagination. Also, all the parts are compatible with other Erector sets, especially from those made by the Meccano company. One drawback of this set is that the speed cannot be controlled. However, overall it is a good value for the money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/12/2006 by Nicholas Zavolas
Rating: 5

My nine year old son has good reasoning skills, is an advid reader, patient, determined and works well with his hands yet, we have found that this Erector kit really requires the work of two (a child and an adult). We have worked closely together to almost finish building this Hummer (should be complete in another 1-2 sessions). The instructions need to reviewed carefully as the angled perspectives/orientations can be somewhat misleading. We'll persevere and congratulate ourselves for a tedious assembly/construction job well done and then, I'm sure my son will enjoy driving this little baby in, out and around.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/12/2006 by James Temple
Rating: 4

Product was very high quality. Was really tough to put together. Directions could have been a little more clear. It was hard at times from the pictures to tell where the bolts went. We Love it and have had a great time with the radio controlled driving.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/9/2006 by Marie Nugent
Rating: 1

This product is not acceptable for Erector quality. I bought this and the 4X4 for Christmas for my sons and #1 they can't play with them because no matter how tight they get the bolts it stills falls apart, and #2 since they are in the same house they have to play with them at different times because the remotes run on the same frequency. I AM VERY DISPLEASED with Erector and this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/6/2006 by Jeannie Hill
Rating: 5

We gave this to our 11 year old son, and he LOVED it. It was challenging enough for him to have to really work at it, but not so hard that he got frustrated and quit. He put the whole thing together by himself, and was so proud that he did it and it actually worked! Thanks for a great product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Hummer H2 challenging
Posted 1/5/2006 by Dawn Nagy
Rating: 4

We purchased this really sharp set for our almost 11-year-old son, who is mechanically advanced. After he got over the fact that it would take some time to do (challenging enough for him! a plus!) he got to work and completed the Hummer with a little help with the instructions (his first erector set). As soon as it was up and running he took it apart to design his own model. The negative is that the tools are tiny and tricky to get things tightened down without adult help. If things aren't tight enough, you've got bolts flying when the vehicle runs into things. Would recommend for experienced Erector fans age ten and up. Great set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 1/3/2006 by Christa Laugh
Rating: 4

It's pretty hard to do, my ten yr old got fustrated, it took too long to put together and the directions where somewhat complicated to him, but my 13 year old who loves legos and building sets took a great interest in and is still working on getting it together. The toy is worth it if you have a builder lover in the family. Just remember its going to take a few days to get it together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hummer H2
Posted 1/2/2006
Rating: 5

Excellent product. Quality parts clearly marked and separated with very good instructions for the targeted age ranges.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect gift!
Posted 12/28/2005 by Laura Kuskey
Rating: 4

Very nice gift! My husband has already begun putting it together and can't stop! So far so good!~

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 12/23/2005 by Neil Kochen
Rating: 4

Overall toy very good. Somewhat disappointed that the entire drive train already assembled. However, my 12 year old is getting lots ov enjoyment from building and playing with the trucks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 12/11/2005 by James Bisceglie
Rating: 4

My son really enjoyed the Erector set Hummer. The shipping and service from Fat Brain Toys was great.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 12/11/2005 by Mona Weinberg
Rating: 5

What a great toy from Erector. Fun to build and fun to play with. The instructions are terrific and the parts are well made and have a nice feel to them. Sure beats the video games I am addicted to. But in all truth, I have been addicted to erector sets even longer. I am almost 70 years old and still enjoy and look forward to my toys. "The one who dies with the most toys wins!"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Hummer H2 Radio Controlled
Posted 12/11/2005 by Yung Cha
Rating: 4

The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I bought 2 of them for my 2 kids and to my disappointment I realized that the remote controls had the same frequency so they wouldn't be able to play with it at the same because both remotes controlled both hummers simultaneously. Otherwise, it's a good toy.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03