Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop > Customer Reviews
Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop
0

Customer reviews of Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop by Erector (Meccano)

Return to Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop product information...

Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop has been reviewed 12 times with an average rating of 4.25

A rating of Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop
Posted 8/21/2008 by kenneth swaby - FRIEND
Rating: 5

The set is very good and I enjoy it a lot. I am currently building the truck model. The instructions call for 11 14.7mm screws while the set provides only ten. Other than a few part confusions the set is wonderful.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop
Posted 7/16/2008 by Michael K - CO-WORKER
Rating: 4

Only complaint has to do with the flexible parts. There are special flexible parts that are almost visually indistinguishable from, and packed closely with, non-flexible parts. The non-flexible parts will still bend a little bit, then they will break. If you aren't aware that the non-flexible version of a part exists, you are likely to end up breaking one of them before noticing. Other than that, excellent kit, good value and plenty of entertainment.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Missing Part Spoils the Fun
Posted 6/20/2008 by Oscar A Del Bosque - OTHER
Rating: 1

I like the idea of an Erector set to build vehicles. With the special edition case included, I decided to buy this product for myself. The first Erector set I had was by Meccano, in Europe when I was about 13 years old. Ten years later, I decided to revisit that period of my life. Obviously, ten years make a huge difference. I was initially disappointed with the amount of pieces, maybe it's the case that is too big. 727 pieces can be organized easily on 3/4 of the case, so it looked empty. Building a car was fun, but I was disappointed with the engine that was added to make it a Mechanics Workshop. It was made out of plastic pieces and used about 150 parts (most plastic, others metal). That was fun to build, but is not so much fun when you find out the same exact engine works on half the models possible with this set. On the bright side, the instruction booklet was very good, 129 pages of full color building diagrams that are easy to follow. I could live with all this but there is one more thing that tip the scales towards the lowest rating. There was a missing piece that is physically too large to ignore. The model I can't build is on page 112 and I'm missing one of the two pieces labeled A507 (0009) I'll wait and see if Nikko finds the piece I need, before giving up on it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For Older Kids
Posted 3/31/2008
Rating: 3

Well, since I'm 9 years old, this was extremely tough. My uncle got it for me as a gift. I have yet to build anything but the battery box. I recommend this for kids 12+.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Toy Lets Your Kids Think Smart
Posted 4/1/2008 by Xia Chen
Rating: 5

We have bought several toys in the Mechanics Workshop series. They make kids think to solve problems. They are the best toy for kids. We strongly recommend them to all parents.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Set
Posted 2/23/2008 by Bruce Horner
Rating: 4

This is a great set which comes in its own carrying case with separate compartments for the hundreds and hundreds of pieces. There's a 130 page booklet with building instructions (in pictures) for 15 models and photos of a further set of 10 to give you more ideas. The pieces are well made, with a mix of metal and plastic as well as a battery driven motor. It's almost a gimmic, but the main theme of this set is an engine block with pistons and tappets that is driven by the motor. It's a lot of fun to build and watch, but constructing it forms a large part of the provided model plans. The car on the cover also includes a reversing gear box and rack/pinion steering. The models show real engineering in action! The car speeds across the floor well, although I have had problems with the wheels unwinding since the front wheel screw on to their axle. I suspect an 8 year old will need a bit of adult supervision to follow some of the construction. Overall a great set that is really educational and well made.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop
Posted 1/10/2008 by Kevin M Stulak
Rating: 5

I like this kit because I can make many different things. It took me 3 hours to complete the first model.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Motorized Mechanics Workshop
Posted 12/28/2007
Rating: 5

My 7 1/2 year old really likes to build things (cars in particular) and this does deliver. But, boy are the models complex. And the directions, while clear and technically correct, are also extremely complicated and hard to decipher. I consider myself highly adept at assembling things, and we're doing well (three hours in and on step 13 of 39) but if you have trouble assembling, say, a bookshelf, you better watch out. From where we are, though, it looks like it's going to be a really cool 14" long Formula One car with working steering and moving pistons. I just hope he wants to look at it for a few months before taking it apart to start another one.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/26/2007 - TEACHER
Rating: 4

My son has the first project almost finished and he loves it! There was one mistake in the instructions but he was able to reconfigure the engine and it works great.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03