Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Set 10 Model Set > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 81 times with an average rating of 4.49

Erector Set
Posted 7/11/2007 by Wendy Imperatrice
Rating: 5

My 10 year old son loves it and has completed all 10 building designs. He figured out the concept of erector sets and modified the motorcycle, making it a chopper!

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

8 Year Old Loves This Toy!
Posted 1/2/2008 by Ruth C.
Rating: 5

The Erector Set is one of the few remaining toys requiring imagination. It is my 8 year old's favorite!

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/7/2008 by Shirley Moe - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Our 9 yeaer old grandson was very excited about receiving the 10 Model Set for Christmas. He has always had a curiosity for building and creating things. We hope to increase his interest by purchasing additional sets in the future.

13 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

10 model erector set
Posted 1/3/2006 by Lee Patzman
Rating: 1

I bought this for my 10 year old son who is a lego building expert. Thought that this would be a nice alternative to legos. Through class projects and cub scouts he has had to build inventions. He's very adept at using tools and reading directions. Well, the tools are extremely small and many of them don't fit the parts, so what was supposed to be hours of fun play has turned into hours of frustration. The Allen wrench doesn't fit most things. My husband, who is an engineer, feels that many of the parts were poorly constructed.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 3/15/2006 by Debbie Luedtke - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I think the product was very nice. They sure changed a lot from years ago. Years ago the metal was a lot thicker and heavier, but that's progress make it cheaper and lighter. My neices son loved it--that was the main thing. I think that all of the Erector Sets should come in some sort of a case to hold all of the parts because there are a lot of small pieces in there to keep separated. I thought that your shipping and help was great also. I will be ordering again from you in the near future.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 6/20/2006 by Heather Curd
Rating: 5

Great product. My son loves playing with it. He can build so many things with it. A Great starter set!

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/9/2006 by Cathie Huffman
Rating: 4

My 10-yr-old grandson was thrilled with this erector set because there were so many different things he could make with it. (I did include a large zip-lock bag so the pieces would get home after Christmas!)

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/14/2007 by Mrs. Diane Shingledecker
Rating: 4

The 10 Model Erector Set is a great building set for my 7 year old son. While he needs a little help completing the steps at this point, I know soon, he'll be building models all by himself. For now it's great to sit and work on them together. My only disappointment with the set is that the instructions are step-by-step for the 1st five models, but you are only given pictures of the next five models without instructions.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Pleased!
Posted 8/16/2006 by Angela Cooper
Rating: 5

Very cool set, great for beginning Erector skills! Many hours of fun for the kids (and peace for mom & dad).

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 4/2/2006 by Guilain
Rating: 4

The product met our expectations. Small hands make some of the assemblying much easier!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set 10 Model Set
Posted 2/18/2010 by Mary Galligan
Rating: 5

I am returning this product because of the difficultly of use for the age.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 2/11/2010 by Ryan Sherman
Rating: 5

Just what I was looking for. I remember them from when I was a kid!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

10 Model Set
Posted 1/8/2010 by Marilyn Darnel
Rating: 5

The item is great. My grandson loves constructing things and has had fun learning about gears and how things work together to make an object move. He has had some difficulty with the size of the nuts and bolts, but I think that is more because he is almost 7. He gets some help from his dad, and so the frustration quickly abated because he loves doing things with his daddy. He has already asked for a larger set for his birthday (March).

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/25/2009 by Ann Ludwig
Rating: 5

This set has lots of pieces, large variety of pieces, and lots of room for creativity. Set can be used in many different ways to build many different creations.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 10 Model Set
Posted 12/21/2009 by Sue K - FRIEND
Rating: 5

This brings back my childhood, playing with my brother's Erector sets. How awesome this is for a child's creative ability and possible future in an engineering career!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/26/2006 by Clinton J. Beardsley - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Our seven year old nephew loves building things and has loved Legos in the past. He received this Erector set as a gift, and has not stopped playing with it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mechano
Posted 10/31/2006 by Freddies
Rating: 4

The hex head of the black bolts tend to strip way too easy easily. I'd have happily paid an extra for a storing & carrying case. The models and results are great. A great way to bond with your kids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 8/28/2006
Rating: 5

A great product that encourages family interaction. My son received this as a gift for his 8th birthday. It was a little difficult for him, but it shouldn't be long before he can do it all himself. My husband and he built the motorcycle together, and my son was very proud of what they accomplished!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/3/2006 by John F Klein
Rating: 4

We bought it for our most mechanical child and he loves it. He's teaching us!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/19/2005 by Yi Ye
Rating: 4

I bought this for my nephew. I put up the first set with my wife since we both played it when we were kids. I still enjoyed it but I think the screws may be too little for a 7 yr old to handle.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/19/2005 by Allyson
Rating: 4

A great value for a large erector set!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 8/24/2005 by Cathey Stamps
Rating: 4

Good beginner set. This was a gift for an adult and greatly enjoyed.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 7/25/2005 by Allen Moxley
Rating: 5

4 stars. The product was as advertised and as expected and seems of good quality.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product, But Fine Motor Skills Required
Posted 6/2/2005 by Beverley Gonzales
Rating: 4

This is a great product! However, my 12 year old son has to really work at putting together the tiny nuts and bolts. He finally gave up and guess who ends up building the project? We decided to skip the suggested projects for now and just fabricate our own gizmos. Maybe in a year or so he will have better manual dexterity and patience to put things together according to the blueprints. In the meantime I plan to purchase the simpler kits for my 6 year old. I think in spite of the difficulty my kids have had in manipulating the small pieces they are hooked on Erector Sets! Maybe Erector Set will consider magnetizing the nuts?

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Educational Toy
Posted 4/21/2005 by vanessa marlow
Rating: 5

As I loved Meccano as a child I might be a bit biased but this a wonderful and educational toy. It is very sturdy, has good instructions and introduces some basic mechanical concepts. Both my 7 and 8 year old sons love it and are begging for more kits for Christmas!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector 10 # 5510
Posted 2/25/2005 by Randy Brown
Rating: 5

I was able to assist my son into learning about how nuts and screws work , then we learned what washers do and how to use the wrench and the allen wrench . He was intimidated at first and as I went over how the instructions explained everything and a few drills , he got lost in the building and completely amazed me . I knew this would be a great learning product and by golly it is ! We really love this erector kit and look forward to more. Randy Brown and son Allen Brown .

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 10 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Victoria Hoffman
Rating: 5

A gift to my eight year old grandson. He has other Erector sets and was excited with the variety in this set. He immediately had it open and was constructing moving models without adult help. This set seems to inspire imagination with it's assortment of possibilities.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Linda McGuinn
Rating: 5

Thank you for making my son very happy this Christmas. He has already completed his two Erector sets. These are wonderful toys but not easy to find. Thank you for making them available.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Sandi Bruha
Rating: 5

The birthday boy was very excited about this gift. He actually stopped opening presents because he wanted to start building the model airplane that is on the front of the package. We were very pleased with this purchase.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

10 model erector set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Eileen or David Miller
Rating: 2

We bought the erector set for my 6 year old daughter to use with her daddy. She really didn't know what it was, but when they opened it and started looking at it, she was excited. I know they will have hours of fun working on different models. I do have a request. It was hard deciding which set to choose because all of the sets had a decidedly male theme to them. This was the only set that looked like it could be interesting to a girl. I truly believe that girls need to be able to use and enjoy toys like the erector sets, but I also think that there need to be more models that are interesting to them, not just boys. It would be nice to see sets that are smaller and more affordable that don't have specific functions.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

They are finally back!
Posted 11/17/2004 by Kurt Zech
Rating: 5

I was so happy to learn that this great toy from my childhood would be available for my children. My kids are still a little young (5 & 7) but this is a family project with everyone involved building. They need a couple more years before they are ready to drop in the motors. I highly recommend any of the Erector set line.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 7/16/2009 by K. L.
Rating: 4

Creative, fun! I bought it for my 5-year-old, but my 8-year-old enjoys it too.

8 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 4/2/2007 by Bob Porter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

One of the best and oldest toys. Very hard to find.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 7/25/2006 by Laura
Rating: 4

Fun, fun, fun! Wonderful quality materials.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 6/12/2007 by Erin Blake
Rating: 4

I got this Erector Set for my 6 year old son that loves to build. He loved putting it together with his dad. It only lasted about 2 days though because the bolts started falling out. Maybe they didn't screw them together tight enough to race it around the house. Overall, it was still a good toy.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/2/2006 by Shannen
Rating: 5

Made a perfect gift for my son. He has not put it down since. Makes one model, takes it apart to build another....

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 11/30/2005 by Gale Fortson
Rating: 4

Challenging model kit for my grandson.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 4/12/2010 by Milton Seiler - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The drawings are very well done, so it was easy to assemble. It would be helpful to show the approximate dimensions of the completed device in the advertisements, so I would have a better idea of what I am buying. It was also not clear how the device was to function when completed. I did not know whether or not the legs were supposed to move as the device rolled on its wheels. Right now they do not move. No mention of a motor or battery power. Could that be added? Overall I am well pleased. It will make a good gift for children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 4/4/2005 by Ralph Branson
Rating: 4

This is a very nice set and it worked very well for my Grandson.Thanks Ralph

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 11/8/2009 by Miranda - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This is a gift for my nephew who is 8 years old. He is going to love this.

7 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03