Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Set 20 Model Set > Customer Reviews
Erector Set 20 Model Set
0

Customer reviews of Erector Set 20 Model Set by Schylling

Return to Erector Set 20 Model Set product information...

Erector Set 20 Model Set has been reviewed 105 times with an average rating of 4.58

My rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 1/5/2008 by Ron Wingender - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Last night I worked with my grandson on building the snowmobile. I thought the instructions were adequate. We progressed slowly, having yet to complete it. I was glad to see mostly metal parts, not so happy to see some plastic parts and gears. I had several erector sets as a boy and I enjoyed them thoroughly.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 12/30/2007 by Perry R. Nuhn - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

AS expected. Erector sets are mind and hand "boggling." My grandson had a great initial experience. He can look forward to many happy hours with his Erector set.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 12/27/2007
Rating: 4

This is a challenging toy for kids who like to build. So far we have found that 4 hands are better than 2. Our ten year is having fun.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

no response from customer service
Posted 3/3/2009 by Charles Cowen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The motor was burned out when we received it.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 12/29/2009 by Rita G
Rating: 5

Great toy! My son loves playing with the toys he has been able to build with this erector set. It's not only fun but it make kids use their brain. The satisfaction my son received after building the toy is more than words can say. He wants another set.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 12/10/2009 by barry minkin - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Appears to offer a creative challenge for our grandsons. Unlike other more structured lego sets, this allows for one's imagination

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

20 Model Set
Posted 12/16/2007 by Akilah Rosado-McQueen
Rating: 4

My nephew got into it early and he absolutely loved it. This is a great gift for those kids who are really interested in intricate building. He spent hours building... This from a kid who gets bored easily!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 11/26/2006 by Anne Giersch
Rating: 4

A very good toy for kids who enjoy building.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 11/18/2006 by Robert Benton - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Material is of reasonable quality, but does not seem as sturdy as it was 40 years ago (when I was a child). All in all, the Erector set met my expectations. It was a well received gift.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 11/8/2006 by Keith Sanders
Rating: 4

Good quality. Detailed instructions.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/12/2006 by Grace Fujishima
Rating: 5

My son LOVES this kit. He has been constantly building, rebuilding, creating new models. My husband was impressed by the kit too. They often work together. Very pleased with this purchase. And the shipping & service was quick & excellent. Perfect for the holidays!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Set
Posted 1/9/2006 by James
Rating: 4

My 6 year old is a bit too young (I didn't follow the age recommendation so that's my fault) but we had fun building together. He really loves the helicopter.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 1/9/2006 by Lori Glidden
Rating: 4

My boys have really enjoyed this model set. It has been very challenging for them but in a very good way.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Snap Circuits Pro
Posted 12/28/2005
Rating: 5

This is a great product for curious minds. My first grade son has been playing with this nearly nonstop for two days. First we tried some of the listed circuits. Now he's inventing his own circuits and really loves it. It satisfies two things for him. Creativity and building. The components are really easy to snap together so it's not frustrating.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great father-daughter bonding
Posted 12/28/2005 by David Lindenmuth
Rating: 4

Putting together the erector models with my 9 year old daughter certainly brings back some memories. Some good and some bad. I haven't had the bad happen to me yet, which will be stepping on one of the parts in my bare feet. I know it's coming. It certainly is cool building a car that will run, but having to handle those tiny nuts and bolts requires some patience. They're definitely made for fingers the size of my daughter's so once we got a few steps into building our first model I began giving her more responsibility with putting it together. Even so, putting together some parts feels like a two person job. But that's part of the beauty of it. We're doing something together in the dead of winter that doesn't require a computer or television set.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 11/19/2009 by Matthew Dixon
Rating: 4

We're very happy. My son, age 6, is advanced in his mechanical skills and he's enjoyed the kit very much. I think the recommendation for "age 8 +" is about right and that more advanced kids know to order products recommended for older kids.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 4/22/2010 by Daniel Timmer
Rating: 5

Very clear instructions (although only for 8 of the 20 models) mean that this set can be easily put together by me with my four-year-old son's "hel." He's able to tell me what goes where by looking at the instructions. No hardware was missing, and it's good to know that this versatile set will have him building for months to come, rather than (like a custom Lego set) have him build only one thing for $25. Good stuff!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 2/1/2010 by Judy Wiegert
Rating: 5

My grandson could hardly wait for his birthday party to end so he could get started on his new erector set. The parts were all in nicely sealed packages and the instructions were exceptionally explicit.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love the erector set!
Posted 1/2/2010
Rating: 4

Great product, but a bit harder than the age on the box reflected. Needed some parental help.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Set
Posted 1/7/2006 by Beverly Boyers
Rating: 4

A fun set, but some areas are hard to get at to hold the nut while screwing in the "bolt". I would buy another set in the future.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hours of fun for the child in us all...
Posted 1/3/2006 by Amy Shearer
Rating: 5

This set is perfect for those new to erector sets and enthusiasts alike. It takes nearly 3 hours to put together each of the models but it is 3 hours well spent. The motor that is included in the set works wonderfully and it's great to be able to see the little machines come to life. I highly recomend this set to any and all that love building and tinkering. It is a truely timeless toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

20 model set
Posted 12/19/2005 by Kathy
Rating: 5

My nephew loves to build things and he really enjoyed the variety of this erector set. He also liked the fact that it has a motor, he enjoyed building something that runs on batteries.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 20 Model Set
Posted 8/17/2005 by Jane Davis
Rating: 5

I purchased this as a gift for my eight-year-old grandson because of his interest in toys that can "do something" and things he can build. This set is beginning of the motor series, (it contains a 3V motor (batteries not included.) No doubt we will be looking at more Erector sets in the future. I think that for the youngest builders of this toy's recommended age group will appreciate the colorful picture instructions that accompany writen material. I found Fat Brain to be an excellent site (easy to navigate) for information about the product, and I appreciate the top notch manner in which they kept me informed at every step of my order. They even emailed a delivery confirmation.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 8/17/2005 by John T. Wood
Rating: 5

Great set! Brings back all the childhood memories from my first erector set 35 years age. I can get lost in the construction of these projects for hours & enjoy every minute of it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 8/15/2005 by Roxanne Lowery
Rating: 5

It's a great building set for kids to improve motor skills with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Job!
Posted 7/29/2005 by Pam Amendola
Rating: 5

What a great experience we had with Fat Brain Toys. My 10 year old daughter LOVES the Erector Set. She is having a blast assembling several of the designs and looks forward to having a bigger set. I love the Geomags. They're great for getting through non-creative moments when I'm writing. We'll be back!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 6/24/2005 by J.
Rating: 4

My son enjoys building w/ erector sets very much. He finds the directions easier to understand than lego. The only change I would make to erector is a better way to store the parts---plastic containers or something on that order. I found myself putting small screws and nuts into empty film canisters so they wouldn't get lost. Thanks, J.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 4/26/2005 by Mack McGhee
Rating: 4

Great toy! My six year old has been busy building since it arrived. He is saving for a larger kit now.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set - 20 Model Set
Posted 3/29/2005 by Allen J Young
Rating: 3

The erector set is great. The only problem experienced was how long it took to receive the item. While I was home from Iraq on Leave, I ordered the set as a present for my son on 2 Jan. When I returned from Iraq in March, I found the set had never arrived. I called customer service and they immediately sent a replacement. It came quickly and my son enjoys the set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Linda Peterson
Rating: 5

This was my first on-line purchase and I was concerned that I may not receive my order timely (if at all) and about the quality of the item ordered. I immediately received a confirmation of my order. I was traveling and had the item delivered to my first destination, it was delivered timely so that I could carry it to my second destination. I also received a confirmation of the time and place of delivery. Last, but not least the Erector set that I ordered for my grandson was in perfect condition and represented what was in your catalog. In summary, I was very pleased with my on-line purchase with Fatbrain Toys. Thanks so much. Linda P.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Motorized Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Rafi
Rating: 4

Set is very nice, but is also a bit complex. A great father/son toy to play with together. Each project takes a good amount of time so plan accordingly and enjoy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GREAT SERVICE
Posted 2/25/2005 by DORIS MACHIN
Rating: 5

FAST SHIPMENT, GREAT PRODUCT AT A GREAT PRICE. I HAD BEEN LOOKING FOR AN ERECTOR SET FOR MY VERY TALENTED NEPHEW AND THIS ONE TOPPED THE LIST...COMPLETE WITH ITS OWN MOTOR, IT IS A CHALLENGE FOR KIDS WHO NEED TO BE CHALLENGED. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TOY AND VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED COMPANY...FATBRAIN TOYS ROCK!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by David
Rating: 5

I purchased your product as a Christmas gift for my 8-year old son, Sean. This was his first experience with an erector set, and he simply loves it. He likes it because you can actually play with these models, unlike some other types of building toys. We built the crane and he plans on taking it to school to demonstrate a simple machine. Sean is very enthusiastic about building all 20 models in this set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wonderful
Posted 2/25/2005 by Holly Herzog
Rating: 5

The item arrived on a day off from school due to snow - perfect! My husband and son spent lots of enjoyable time together completing the first model. My son's not quite 8, and this is his first erector set, so he did need help completing it. Sometimes, an extra set of hands were needed, or help with the directions. The materials were quality and reminded my husband of his set when he was a little boy. Thank you for having such a wonderful, quality and challenging toy for my son!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Timeless classic
Posted 2/25/2005 by Virginia
Rating: 5

Wonderful product shipped quickly and with no fuss. This set we purchased for our 12 year old nephew whose sure to spend quite a bit of time building new models. These sets have been a staple of our family - the children feel confident in their designs and creativity. Fun and practical! Thank you -

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

20 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Susan Lamour
Rating: 5

This is my son's first exposure to the erector set. He is very excited and very concentrated on his new project(s).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set 2 model kit
Posted 2/25/2005 by Scott and Ryan
Rating: 4

What a fantastic set! My son Ryan received a tool set for Christmas and I was racking my brain for something to go along with the tools and get him to start using them. I remembered back to my Erector sets I had as a kid. Perfect. Erector sets are still some of the coolest, sturdiest, metal, building sets made! My son and I have built a lot of different sets, I just wish there were more wheels and tires in the set (only 4) since most of what we like to build are vehicles of some type, and we both want 4 wheels and tires. Other than that this is an excellent toy and was the perfect gift to teach him about nuts and bolts and tools!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Paul Whitcomb
Rating: 5

I looked all over to find the kind of building toy iI played with as a kid.Thank you for stocking it,small parts and all!It allows my kid to think, plan, build & be respondsible. He loves it, I knew he would .

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Saundra Denham
Rating: 5

My son loves to create and build, this toy gave a lot of plans but he also designed some of his own. It kept him busy in his room for hours!!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set- 20 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by William P. Brosseau
Rating: 4

Definitely a purchase based on my own enjoyment of the "classic" erector set of many years ago. My nine year old found the directions a bit challenging to understand, and admitedly there was some trial and error for me too, but it's still a great product. If I had one disappointment it's the lack of "extra" building pieces so you an build beyond the established models, but then what I bought was what I received, so again it's a great set to build on "building skills" and the imagination.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very satisfied
Posted 2/25/2005 by Brenda West
Rating: 5

What can I say? You can't go wrong with an erector set. My 10 year old loves building things--anything! Erector sets not only give him easy to follow instructions to build specific models but also provides enough versatile pieces to create from his own imagination (which he prefers anyway)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Happy Customer
Posted 2/25/2005 by Marty Mead
Rating: 5

Our six year old constantly needs to be challenged. He absolutely loves the erector set!! It proved to be the big hit this holiday season.... Thank-you

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 10 year old niece's birthday
Posted 11/26/2004 by Derek Lee
Rating: 5

She loved the erector 20 model set. She immediately built the dragster and then played with it for hours. This is a great gift for a youngster that likes to work with their hands.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

MAJOR CUSTOMER/KID SATISFACTION!
Posted 10/15/2004 by DORIANNE
Rating: 5

Bought this for a friend's 13 year old. Asked his mother if he would recommend it to other kids. The boy left an enthusiastic msg on my phone saying it's "REALLY COOL" and "ABSOLUTELY GET ONE FOR THAT OTHER KID, TOO! I'VE MADE THREE MODELS ALREADY AND IT'S REALLY WAY-OUT COOL." His mother also said that Eric and his best friend play together with it for hours. With that, I bought another set for other children in Russia.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 3/24/2010 by Scott Davis
Rating: 5

Our 10 year old son is having a wonderful time putting the items together. We are very pleased. Brings back a lot of memories for us.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun!
Posted 11/27/2009 by Lauren Harnatkiewicz
Rating: 5

Another fantastic gift for my 8 year old son. He collects all kinds of cars and has built Derby cars in boy scouts, but this takes the cake!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 12/21/2006 by Earl - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Not quite the original, but the newer parts add interest as well, particularly for modern kids.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 10/26/2006 by Dwyane Dennis - OTHER
Rating: 4

I purchased this product for a mentally challenged 45 year old man who has seizures and is not able to keep a job. He is continually bored. But he does have an aptitude to take things apart and put them together again. I sometimes buy him some kind of small used appliance to keep his time occupied. But he really feels no sense of accomplishment. The 20 model set has proved to be the very thing I've been looking for for a long time. He's thoroughly enjoying it and has something to show for it. I'm sure we'll be going to more advanced sets soon.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 20 Model Set
Posted 3/3/2009 by George - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I cannot review this product since it will be given as a birthday gift to my 10-year old grandson next weekend. If the product's reputation is still intact as earlier Erector sets (from the 50's/60's), then I am sure he will love it. My review below will be based on my experience of Erector sets from over 40 years ago combined with new styles.

5 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01