Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Set 30 Model Set > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 129 times with an average rating of 4.50

Good quality toy
Posted 12/18/2009 by rachael king - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this product for my nephew's 11th birthday. He's an avid lego's builder, so I thought this may bring him to the next level and give him a healthy, mind-flexing challenge. I was really impressed with the quality of the erector set. Still made of metal, after all these years (and greed of CEOs to make more money). My nephew was immediately intrigued (he had never seen one before). He opened it up and started putting together a model immediately. The assembly requires more attention to detail than any other toy i've seen. It took him a few minutes to understand how to read the instruction manual, again because he had never seen this type of thing. After he got the hang of it he sat on the floor for hours assembling different things. This toy may be rather frustrating to children who are younger, and not mechanically astute. I would recommend this for any child who has an interest in building things, further than just snapping legos together. This toy may also require adult imput. It's a good toy for family bonding.

18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Meccano Lives...
Posted 2/26/2008 by Wayne F
Rating: 5

It was great to see the old 'Meccano' gear. My son was thrilled (he got the 30 model set for his 9th birthday). We'll be working together on it until he gets the hang of it, but the instructions are clear. Yes, not all are detailed, but isn't that part of the fun?! You'll need some ziploc bags to store the pieces in, but otherwise it's a great kit. The quality seems to be as good as ever. I was very pleased to still be able to get this sort of quality toy.

19 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/13/2008 by Robert Harrington - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

The product is great. I wish the box were a little tougher so as to be used for a permanent tool box. The box has slits in the bottom. Parts, screws, and nuts can fall through and the cardboard. It is not very durable. I will have to toss the box and find something else to keep the bits and pieces in.

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/28/2009 by Bob - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Great set--Grandson is 7 may be a little young--but with Dad is really enjoying it.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A toy that grows with kids
Posted 12/16/2009 by IR - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I purchased this toy as a present for 2 students of mine, ages 11 and 13. The boys are learning English and are very "mechanically inclined", so one of my hidden agendas was to encourage them to read and follow instructions as they assembled the first few models. I was also hopeful the toy would provide increased bonding between the boys and their father, who is house-bound with a terminal illness. I'm glad to report that the younger boy came to my classroom very early the next day just to tell me that "me and my brother and my dad stayed up very late putting together a helicopter and it was so much fun! I can't wait to go home today!". This set looks like it will grow with the boys as they refine their building skills.

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 10/17/2005 by Diane Boydstun
Rating: 5

My son loves his 30 Model Erector Set! What he likes best about it is the motor. At 10 years old he is old enough to assemble the models totally himself. This toy stimulates his interest and challenges him. Great creative toy! The price of the Erector Set at your company was lower than at other sites. I appreciated how quickly the order was processed and how fast I received it!

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/7/2008 by KBE
Rating: 2

This product was advertised in an age range starting with 8 years old. Because of the very small size of the pieces and the large number of pieces, I believe the age range is not appropriate. It took a good number of hours for my 33 year old husband to build one of the models.

13 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/18/2008 by Allison
Rating: 4

My 8 year old son and his grandfather started this a couple days ago. The manual is quite complex with small detailed pictures and requires a concentrated effort (at least in the beginning stage - we'll see if it gets easier). My son loves it as he loves mechanical things.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 9/8/2007 by Michael E. Beard - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought the Erector Model 30 set for my grandson. I had Erector sets when I was a bit younger and I think they helped me to develop my mechanical skills. My grandson has shown a strong mechanical aptitude. I can't wait to give this to him on his birthday. I think the materials are slightly redesigned since my days (1940's) and appear to be much safer. I like the use of an Allen wrench in place of a screwdriver. The illustrations showing how to construct each item are very good.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging toy
Posted 1/3/2006 by Elizabeth Lovell
Rating: 5

Santa Claus brought this set for my 8-year-old son. Everything seems to come very easily to him, and we are constantly on the look-out for things to challenge him. This set definitely did the trick. We have worked on building the crane together several times and have not yet completed it. It is great to see him working on something that is harder for him. We will definitely buy more sets in the future.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 12/28/2005 by Lori Barthel
Rating: 5

We ordered this for my son. He is almost 8 years old, and he loves to build things. He really wanted this and is very happy with it. It can be a little challenging working on the motor part, but he can do this mostly himself, with a little guidance from Dad. I would recommend this toy for boys/girls who are interested in building and how things work.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Engineering Approved
Posted 11/10/2010 by James Town
Rating: 5

I bought this for the Engineering Academy at our High School where I teach the 10th grade Engineering classes. I gave the set to my 11th grade aides to test out and make sure the 10th graders could build them. They are having a great time putting them together and even were late to their next class because they needed to figure out what was wrong before moving on.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/22/2009 by silvio albano
Rating: 5

This is a quality product which I think my grandson will be very happy with

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 7/26/2010 by Goody Zunker
Rating: 5

My ten year old son really enjoys the product. He was getting a little frustrated at times when assembling items because he would miss something and have to start over. I think this process is teaching him to be more careful while following the instructions. This is definately a step up from "Legos".

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 3/17/2009 by Jodie Boyd - OTHER
Rating: 5

Great item. Met all of our expectations

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 3/23/2011 by Kenneth Adams
Rating: 5

I purchased this toy for my grandson who is just turning 7, I did so, even though it's for ages 8 thru 12, because he has always loved building things, and using his imagination. The more he is challenged the better. His ability to solve problems is beyond his years. He took to this toy right away, and he and I together have learned how to build with this toy. So if you are looking for a toy to challenge, and keep a youngster busy for long periods. this is a good toy.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 8/27/2005 by Jill Hill
Rating: 3

I purchased this set for my son's 8th birthday. He loves building toys, and it is recommended for ages 8 - 12. This is an excellent quality product with excellent instructions and detailed diagrams. However, I would recommend it for an older child. Even a very advanced eight-year-old will have difficulty distinguishing among some of the small parts, which differ by only 1/16 inch. While this set is great for teaching measurements and following directions, my son is too intimidated to tackle it without his dad's help. Because this toy is too diffficult for an eight-year-old to play with independently, I rate this set 3 stars. However, it is a great father-son activity, and my son will "grow into it."

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/11/2009 by Nora Cuff
Rating: 5

I ordered 3 products from FatBrain and was very happy with the quality of all of the products.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 8/14/2010 by Brandi
Rating: 5

Great idea for my 8 year old cousin. He opened the box right away and started marveling at all he could construct. Dad got into the act too. A great activity for the two of them.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 3/1/2011 by Michael E Kuester - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The product gives a child more mechanical knowledge by using the screws and nuts to fasten parts together. Building something that actualy operates and does not fall apart during operation. Better then snapping blocks together and having them fall apart.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/23/2006
Rating: 5

Excellent product, high quality, most impressed. Our child loved the 30 Model Erector Set. Thank you

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/12/2006 by Ruth Bailes
Rating: 5

We gave this as a Christmas present to our 7 year old nephew who is notorious for taking things apart, and always trying to use his dad's tools on things that really do not need fixing. My nephew's comment, "It's really cool!" He told me he had almost completed one project before the end of the holidays. The only problem, he is a little young still to do it on his own (the problem means, his dad or older brother then are pulled into the project). But I'm pleased he will have it for years to come. My husband said he played with his set for years, and wishes he could find where his parents stored it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Raul Calderon
Rating: 4

My son is 6 and enjoys toys that require him to think and. This will be a perfect gift for him and his creative mind.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 6/15/2009 by susan dose
Rating: 4

Great toy. Still working on putting the first model together but we wanted something that would last all summer. Does require some parental assistance for an 11 year old.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 6/15/2011 by Karen Damron
Rating: 4

Instructions are clear. Models are interesting and hold together well when child plays with them.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/25/2006 by Betty Kaiser
Rating: 4

My 10 year old grandson is working on it. I think if there were written directions and picture references it would be better than just the picture references. He is having a little difficulty.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/28/2005 by Stephen Bolin
Rating: 4

My son, who is almost 8, eagerly opened the box. Since I got an erector set when I was his age, I shared his excitement with him. We are halfway through building the motorcycle and the only problem I see right now is that 2 of the silver bolts heads have stripped - i.e., the hex tool slips and spins in the head socket, making tightening or loosening difficult. The erector set is teaching my son how to tell left from right, how to follow directions closely, how to have patience, and a lesson in perseverance. What a bargain to give a dad help in these areas, as well as some great time spent with my son.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 11/10/2005 by James Sneyd
Rating: 4

I thought there would be more building pieces included in the set. Other than that, it was what Iwanted.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

speedy b-day gift
Posted 6/2/2005 by Susan Pawelk
Rating: 4

I ordered an erector set as a birthday gift for my son on Monday. It arrived on Wednesday. He loved the gift and has been building a variety of different things since his birthday. He and his brother have been pouring over your catalog and are making plans to order a bigger and better erector set or they can build even more things. Your quality and selection are great. And your ability to fill orders fast was very helpful. Many thanks.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

30 Model Erector Set Review
Posted 2/25/2005 by Tracey Yonker
Rating: 4

My nine year old son loves this Erector Set and he has assembled atleast four of the models in the directions. The only issue we have is that we now need to go out and buy more screws because we have had a lot of problems with them stripping out. It is not because he doesn't know how to use the tools, but because the screws aren't good quality. I am surprised at this lack of quality in the screws from a quality made toy. I would probably buy this toy again due to how much he enjoys it but I wish the screws were better.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Scott Dorn
Rating: 4

The product and the service were both great! I'll shop at fat brain toys again.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jay Thomas
Rating: 4

I bought the set for my 10 year old son. He is used to building large lego type toys, like a 2500 piece aircraft carrier. But at first this type of building was giving him trouble. He was having a hard time getting the bolts on and tightening them. I told him just to take his time and slow down and he would get better at it. Well now he has built about 10 of the 30 models and loves it. He really likes the way the directions are made.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A young grandson
Posted 11/6/2004 by Richard H Potter
Rating: 5

My grandson is 7 years old which I was afraid would be too young for him to assemble a toy from an erector set. He has been very succesful, managing to keep ahead or at least even with his father. The directions are very good and there is never missing or ill fitting parts. As a kid in the 30's I spent many days playing with the old sets which were all metal and used a lot of nuts and bolts. Your customer service and fast delivery are excellent. Keep up the good work.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/25/2008 by Mary Wallraff
Rating: 5

My "builder" son loves it! Comes with a 6 volt motor. Lets my child build vehicles with moving parts! Perfect for any child who loves to put things together and watch them work!

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

30 Model Set
Posted 2/12/2007 by Kim Kraemer
Rating: 5

My sons loves this toy.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 8/15/2012 by Mark Christensen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

The Erector 30 is not an 8 yr old appropriate activity. I say this because this is not a toy, but a construction project. Our first effort was the tractor. It took about 12-13 hours over a 2 day period. My 8 year old grandson lost interest after 4 hrs. The other 9 hrs was me working alone with sporadic help from him. Incidentally, it did work. It went across the floor 4-5 times and was not touched by him again. Note that the tractor used about all the parts in the box. Specific concerns: 1. The box says 350+ pcs in the set. Actually, most are nuts, bolts and washers; few construction pieces. 2. The isometric assembly drawings are, in some cases, difficult to figure out. Not close to 8 yr old level. 3. The motorized parts, pinion gear, ring gear, axles and wheels, are held only by friction. If a youngster wanted to pull something behind the tractor, or lift with the crane, it would be a matter of frustration. 4. If your child is very bright, and wanted to modify the tractor making it longer, or higher, or wider, forget it. There are only enough parts for build to print. 5. This Erector Set is questionably worth the money.
The nuts and bolts for full satisfaction are found at our Returns & Exchanges Center. We contacted our customer to constructively assist.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I love inventing
Posted 4/20/2010 by mitchell philpott
Rating: 4

I have really enjoyed using this toy I have put together some of the things that are in the instructions manual but what I have enjoyed most is that I have the oppurtunity to build whatever I want with it and I have the chance to practice inventing my own stuff. I take my ideas and turn them into actual items.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/3/2007 by Jennifer Hite - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I actually bought this for my husband, because he never had one when he was younger. He couldn't wait to start putting stuff together!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/24/2006 by Barbara Kupfer
Rating: 5

My grandson who just turned 8 thinks the Erector 30 Model Set is a great toy. He has found it a challenge to put the battery pack together. There are so many things you can build with this set and the motor is a plus when the object you completed can move.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy from Fat Brain Toys
Posted 1/3/2006
Rating: 5

I bought my 11 year-old daughter the 30 model erector set from Fat Brain Toys. What a great gift! The gift prompted wonderful questions about creativity, engineering, and construction to the point where I wonder if I really bought the gift for me instead of her! Anyway, the customer service from Fat Brain Toys was awesome, and the product is fantastic.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 30 Model Set
Posted 11/29/2005 by Anne Smith
Rating: 5

Great toy for my 8 year old boy. He loves working with screws, nuts, etc and was taking his old toys apart to put them back together. Thanks to this great set, he has loads of fun putting the models together and making up some of his own. Highly recommend for boys who love to build and see how things work.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect for the young builder
Posted 2/25/2005 by A Mainer
Rating: 5

Our youngest daughter loves building things. This set is a perfect Christmas present. She'll love using the engine to make hher "Wacky machines" really move. Her Aunts, Uncles and Grandparents all wish that they had thought of the gift, because they all want to play with it too.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bought three, all were loved!
Posted 2/25/2005
Rating: 5

Kids (boys especially) love these. They didn't get it at first, but when the opened the set up and started playing, they were quite for hours!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent vendor!
Posted 2/25/2005 by Carolyn Lincoln
Rating: 5

The kits came promptly at the busiest time of the year - close to Christmas! The packaging was exceptional. I would definitely order from this site again. As a bonus, my kids love the sets and continue to play with them and it is now February! Can't go wrong with erector sets.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 2/25/2005 by David Sullivan
Rating: 5

Bought two sets for grandsons. They love them.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set 30 model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Beth Beatty
Rating: 5

My 9 year old is having a great time with this set. The instructions are easy to follow and is easy to work on for a time, then take a break and come back to it. We will definately add to this collection.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Guy V. Barnes
Rating: 5

Well, it's Christmas night and my 7 1/2 y/o son has been working on the helicopter model for 5 straight hours now. He loves it and it is a great product for young builders!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Hillary Lund
Rating: 5

This item is great. My son spent hours building with his Dad Christmas day. He was able to create and to see how each piece fit together. I especially like the motor and motion of the finished toy. That was a great reward for my son, to actually have the model move.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Easy to use web design
Posted 2/25/2005 by Guy Lento
Rating: 5

Your website is very well organized. I was able to find what I wanted and buy it with no false starts or dead ends. The selection of Erector sets was very complete, and the prices were as good or better than any on the web. My Erector set arrived well-packed and on time. Just an ideal Internet shopping experience.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent
Posted 11/26/2004 by Victoria Zarozinski
Rating: 5

Growing up my family had an Erector Set. My brother and I can still recall building "working" contraptions for hours. This 30 Model Set with 6v motor is a Christmas gift for my nephew. When I showed my brother, his eyes lit right up! Now all we have to do is wait for Christmas to give it to my nephew. There is no doubt that this will live up to our expectations... the pieces are just like we remember (metal, not plastic) and there are tons of pieces- just what mom loved!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun!
Posted 11/9/2004 by Lewis Mills
Rating: 5

Great gift for a 10 year old boy. Lots of building projects laid out for you, and plenty of pieces to get creative on your own.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 6/20/2012 by Bryan Timmerman
Rating: 4

It's making a great addition to an already existing set!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 3/10/2011 by Joseph Thometz
Rating: 4

1 inch bolts missing from kit. Told to send in all sorts of reference information from box which had been discarded. Will probably need to purchase bolts from some web site that I was referred to by dealer.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/6/2010 by Rita E - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

The product is very neat, but it has too many small pieces for a nine year old to take care of. It is too stressful.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 9/13/2012 by Katherine Barnes
Rating: 4

My 14 year old son really likes this set. He has enjoyed all the things you can build with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 7/1/2012 by varun k - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

He has been building ever since he received it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 12/28/2011 by Gretchen Overhiser
Rating: 3

Probably a great product, has been around for forever - only drawback is that it is really difficult to assemble for the younger end of the ages listed. (8-10)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 11/28/2011
Rating: 5

Bought this product for my 7-year old grandson for Christmas. He loves to build and use his imagination.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector 30 model set
Posted 7/22/2010 by fay losey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We did get a chuckle of how light weight these are. We are from the 40's and they were very heavy. We do know things change.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 7/22/2010
Rating: 5

My eight year old boys love this product and are having a great time building

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set - 30 Model Set
Posted 12/10/2009 by Becky Nielson
Rating: 5

Just as we remembered as when we where children. We get to pass on this terrific product with a new twist. The product has real moving parts and is made of high quality materials.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 9/27/2010 by Diane Konrady
Rating: 3

This toy says it is for ages 8 -88. It does not seem so immediately. We will wait to see, as our grandson is interested. He and his grandfather both find assembly difficult - small spaces and tools that don't quite make it happen easily. The directions in the manuals are also not as good as in some other toys - most recently Snap Circuits, which he immediately began to assemble and make work using little more than the visuals in the booklets.
If you find the struggle outweighs the pride, patience and persistence you gain in assembling your Erector Set, please contact us! We guarantee we'll tip the balance to your full satisfaction. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Favorite Erector Set
Posted 7/31/2010 by Sam Cohen
Rating: 4

I really enjoyed building and playing with this set.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/23/2009 by Nancy Zorik
Rating: 5

This item is going to be a christmas gift for my son. When he seen it in the flyer that came with the order he said he would really like to have one and it was so cool. Little does he know Santa already got it for him. Thank You.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/15/2010 by Janet Thomlison
Rating: 5

Haven't seen him with it. They live a long distance from ut.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Gift
Posted 1/8/2013 by Kristi
Rating: 5

My nephew loves this toy! Great way to stimulate mechanical abilities and imagination.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A little diffecult for beginner builders but loads of fun
Posted 12/28/2012 by Angela Moller
Rating: 5

This is a great kit with lots of different fun stuff to build. My son (age 11) has never built anything like these before so he does need a little help, but can do a lot of it himself. He will get each step done, then I will check to make sure he did it right and show him, if needed, what needs to be fixed. He can only make it about 3 steps before he needs to take a little break, but he is excited to get back at it after a break. My son loves that it came with a motor! Overall I think this is a great toy that will help teach kids how important it is to pay close attention to details, how to follow directions carefully, and have fun while doing so.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/26/2012 by Doyle Brown - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is for my 9 year old grandson. It will be an acitivty for his father to interact with. He is excited about it and is looking forward to those times they work on it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 4

We bought this as a gift for our 5-year-old; the smaller kit we wanted suddenly became unavailable. The majority of the parts are fine. The motors and gearing are chintzier than the model I had 35 years ago, but the metal plates and brackets are still fairly sturdy. I'm not a fan of square nuts, but the hex-head bolts are an improvement. The instructions are clear for an adult, but not for a younger child. Even for an 8-year-old, this set requires lots of grownup assistance. For a first-time Erector experience, this set is too complex -- go with something simpler. For a proven enthusiast, this is a nice model.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

2-person job, but great fun
Posted 12/25/2012 by John Sisson
Rating: 4

Nicely done toy. A good step up from Legos.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/11/2012 by Al , Arvada Colo.
Rating: 5

Great learning tool

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01