Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck > Customer Reviews
Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
0

Customer reviews of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck by Erector (Meccano)

Return to Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck product information...

Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck has been reviewed 71 times with an average rating of 4.27

Review of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 6/25/2008 by Rand Laird - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

The RC truck set is a great way to engage my summer enrichment students in spatial, logical and kinesthetic intelligences. The younger students definitely need guidance through the instructions, but I have had a number of kids in my room who are capable of completing 95% of the work without my assistance. The only real hassle I have found is that the nuts come loose when the cars vibrate as they drive; Superglue and Gorilla Glue have become an addition to every model we build.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 7/20/2008 by Derek
Rating: 3

This truck would not work on grass, gravel, sand, or any other off-road surface. It is fine on pavement or cement. I was disappointed. It is not a off-road truck in function.

14 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

good fun for a handy boy
Posted 11/27/2008 by sharon hu
Rating: 4

This product is great fun a my son who's 9 and very handy. He likes it and spent a whole afternoon putting it together.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 7/18/2008 by Grammie
Rating: 5

Since I am a Grammie, I can only review this item through the words and reaction of my nine year-old grandson, " WOW! THIS IS GREAT!". He was so engrossed with it, he hardly touched his birthday cake.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 1/31/2008 by Kirk Skinner
Rating: 4

The build was fun. My daughter and I had a blast. I was very disappointed in the remote control. The transmission acts like it has issues. The truck barely moves and makes clicking noises when in motion. When you pick the truck up and take weight off the tires they turn fine. The pay off for all the hard work was horrible but at least my daughter and I enjoyed the time together.
Due to a faulty transmission, our customer will pick out another remote control vehicle to try.

12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 12/26/2007 by Ryan Daoedsjah - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My 7 year old nephew loves it. It's just difficult enough to challenge him.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 8/16/2007 by Stacy Rea - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We're building it now and we are very impressed. My son is learning a lot and is very excited to have it completed.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 12/18/2008 by Audrey Molinar
Rating: 5

I got this for a grown adult and they have had the time of their life with it. He loves taking it apart and putting a new one together and he loves being able to race it around.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 10/31/2007 by Erling Hope
Rating: 2

The remote-control unit would send signals to the vehicle only sporadically. A shame, as the effort to build the thing makes the disappointment acute. Also: fixed-position tires makes the thing immobile if there is any little terrain. One wheel spins dry while the others sit.
We responded with information on contacting the manufacturer for a replacement remote... full speed excitement is on the way!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 4/18/2007 by Karen Dawson
Rating: 5

My son loves this truck. He's working on it right now - adding pieces from other Erector sets. He said that the Jeep was time consuming to build but reflective of the age group it was designed for (he's 13). He can't wait until the weather clears - spring in New England is always a muddy adventure. He longs to try it outside on the pavement.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 4/13/2007 by Miguel Diaz
Rating: 4

A great mix of classic Erector and remote control.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing Product
Posted 2/12/2007 by Amy Billinger
Rating: 5

This item came fast and was an awesome toy! It was for a science fair project, and the kids love it!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Dissapointment
Posted 1/10/2007 by Mike Marshall - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 1

The front wheels only responded to the remote by turning right, trying to turn left and it just went click click click - not good. And it would not move. Pick it up and the wheels turned, put it down and click click click - think there was a problem with the transmission.
At least this transmission problem isn't costly to fix. We contacted Mr. Marshall to inform him of options for replacement or refund of this defective product.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Remote Control Model
Posted 10/27/2006 by Ekkehard Bonatz
Rating: 4

My son (12th birthday) liked the product instantly. The pieces generally fit well, and the instructions are easily followed. Some of the assembly is a bit flimsy, e.g. the rearview mirrors on the car are just held with rubber rings and swivel too much. Also, the set only allows three models on a fixed remote controlled base. While our son was plenty busy with these, some less complex models would be helpful in the instruction manual. Still an excellent toy bridging bridging fantasy with realism!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sweet, My Nephew Loved It!
Posted 8/23/2006 by Martha
Rating: 5

Haven't constructed yet, but it's exactly what I was looking for. Parts are good size and the three vehicles you can choose to make are sweet.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 8/18/2006 by Tomius Strauss
Rating: 1

Fun and challenging to construct but grossly underpowered. Faulty design for the power system...won't turn any of the wheels even without the chasis. Refund requested.
An Off-Road Truck that left him in the lurch? We regret that Mr. Strauss never experienced the thrill of driving power...or driving alone, for that matter. Refund provided.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 8/14/2006 by Jo Ann A. Cohen - OTHER
Rating: 4

My husband is very satisfied with this product and enjoys the challenge of putting it together. Great product!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 8/7/2006 by Marianna Jayson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The Erector set was perfect. Exactly the gift I want for my grandson.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Radio Controlled Truck
Posted 3/21/2006 by Lauren S. Mason - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

The diagram is not as clear as it should be which causes difficulty in assembly, but otherwise the product is satisfactory.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 2/27/2006 by Stephen Bryant - OTHER
Rating: 2

The product I bought did not turn out to be as good as it is made to believe. It was a pain to build and it would of been better if there were speed controls instead of on/off button.
We were sorry to hear this Off-Road Truck was not on track with Mr. Bryant's expectations. Mr. Bryant received a full refund.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector radio controlled truck
Posted 2/17/2006
Rating: 4

Easy to put together for a 12 year old, but some of the bolts came off after being assembled. It was easy to tighten the bolts again but they came off again and again. The finished truck looks good and runs fine, however...appropriate level of challenge for a 12 year old.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mixed Reviews
Posted 1/10/2006 by Scott Fahrney
Rating: 3

To start off, I would like to say that this product is really cool! However, there are a few drawbacks that caused me to rate it as average. First, I think there are very few 8 year olds who could assemble the vehicles. We tried the dessert racer and had a lot of difficulty getting it together, and that was for two dads. Second, the NiCad battery does not fit the charger very well, which resulted in an inadequately charged battery at first. That said, once we had the battery properly charged, and the car somewhat assembled, it was really fun to drive.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for kids and adults who love to build
Posted 1/3/2006 by Jennifer Helderman
Rating: 5

My nephews (and brother-in-law) loved this item and had a great time putting it together as a team and then taking turns controlling it. I also loved this great website, price and free shipping!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 12/19/2005 by Jeanette Beier
Rating: 5

The radio controlled erector set has the option of being 3 different vehicles with clear instructions for building these. It is a great way for kids to learn while having fun. The materials are sturdy and pieces fit together well to make an authentic-looking vehicle. Great product!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design Radio Controlled 4X4 Truck
Posted 3/18/2005 by Marcio Crcael
Rating: 3

I got a little bit frustrated because I was expecting some thing similar to my old erector with the infrared control where the builder had much more options to create. The engine, receiver and chassis, are already built, is like a regular remote control 4x4, I can build only a car.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Best Service Ever!!!
Posted 3/11/2005 by Ronald
Rating: 5

The service was outstanding compared to my last Erector Set purchase, off of briotoy.com. The information input and prices were much lower than Brio. Thank you fatbrain toys! Sincerely, Ron Finch

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

4x4 truck kit
Posted 2/25/2005 by Dave D Conkling
Rating: 5

This is a X-mas gift for my 10 year old. He is very interested in design, I think he will really like this. I would like to find a kit that allows him to build the "drive train" of a vehichle as well. With some options of gear changes and power changes. If you have something like this, let me know. Nice website.... Thanks, Dave

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Thomas B. Malone
Rating: 5

Purchased as a gift for my 8 year old grandson, who has no problem putting Lego products together, so we felt that an Erector set would be a bit more of a challenge.. He has been working on it for a couple of days and claims that it is the greatest. Not yet finished but seems to have met everyones expectations so far.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Carri Daiker
Rating: 5

What a great toy! We were so delighted to find the Design Radio Controlled 4 X 4 Truck errector set with an engine and remote control. Our son loves to build things, loves trucks and loves to race them around! And what joy it was for him to race the truck around that he actually put together! Thanks for a great product that combines learning and fun! Carri Daiker

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design Radio Controlled 4X4 Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Frank Bailo
Rating: 5

Excellent, excellent remote controlled truck. My son is 12, had it together in a day. Tremendous power as well. Thank You, Frank Bailo

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jill Finley
Rating: 5

Product allows for creativity and provides hours of entertainment. I would not recommend for small children or households with small children, as there are very small pieces. Sometimes these pieces fall off in normal usage. Highly recommend for older children.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

parent
Posted 2/25/2005
Rating: 5

I give this item the highest rating! The instructions are clear and easy to follow within the age recommendation. The tools supplied are perfect for the job. This radio controlled truck has supplied hours of building fun and focus of concentration with a sense of job well done. I look forward to seeing the enjoyment of the completed project.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of both worlds
Posted 2/25/2005 by Robert Gates
Rating: 5

This was the perfect gift for my son on his 12th birthday. He loves remote controlled cars and boats. He also loves to build things. With this gift he is able to enjoy both his loves.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design Radio Controlled 4X4 Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by greg herbers
Rating: 4

Good hands on toy to grow the son's imagination. He also likes to build and modify his own designs which this set allows him to do. The remote contol featured allows him to compete with all the off the shelf RC units.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent!
Posted 2/25/2005 by John Melton
Rating: 5

Your service, delivery and product was excellent! Your customer service rep was very helpful and knowledgeable, and your web site is one I'll refer to in the future. Thank you!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Joseph Tafoya
Rating: 3

Service was very good but a little disappointed with the product. I bought this for my 8 year old son and he is a wiz at building things but has complained that the kit will not stay together adequately.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Ed Hamilton
Rating: 3

I volunteer at an organization that helps challenged people and bought this for a man with a mental age of around 10. He has a short attention span but building Erector models is one thing that will keep him absorbed for hours and together we have created some amazing things. The set is nicely made but we were sad to see that so much of this model is prebuilt. We were I think hoping to create many different models using the individual radio controlled parts, but with the truck base already made, we are limited to just building cars/trucks etc.. Incidentally I was very happy with your service.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Radio Controlled Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Christopher Hudalla
Rating: 4

I purchased this item for my 9 year old nephew. It took him a whole day to put it together, but he really enjoyed it. Once it was assembled, he LOVED the speed and power that the truck had. He hasn't put it down since he got it. The only draw back, is the remote control turning mechanism for the truck is poorly designed and cheaply constructed. It gets hung up, and the car will only turn left, until you pick-up the truck and wiggle the wheels back and forth to free the turning mechanism. It is a shame the manufacture skimped on this tinly little plastic part, because other than that, it seems to be a quality toy, that exercises the imagination as well as building hand-eye coordination.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set Design Radio Controlled Off-Road Truck
Posted 2/25/2005 by Kim Birr
Rating: 4

This toy was really neat. There are three different models that can be built. My 11-year old was a little confused with the directions and need help from his older brother. This was definitely something that could not be put together in a matter of a few hours. Once built, it looked really neat and ran well. This should definitely be geared for older children, especially if one has not worked with Erector sets before, as the pieces are tiny and small. A lot of patience is needed to put this together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector radio controlled vehicle
Posted 12/1/2004 by Alice E. Vreeland
Rating: 5

This should be a real hit with the child that enjoys building radio controlled vehicles. Anyone can buy a radio controlled vehicle off the shelf but building one from scratch is completely different. It's a sense of real ownership.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Design radio-control 4x4
Posted 11/16/2004 by Candice Britain
Rating: 5

This is my 11-year-old son's first erector set. After years of legos, he deciced to try this at my recommendation. As a lover of remote control cars, we thought this was a good one to try. He had a blast assembling it and loves to drive it around. As a result, he has put more erector sets opn his Christmas list.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02