Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Erector Set - Landmarks of the World Set > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 60 times with an average rating of 4.62

Information about
Posted 12/1/2007 by Buddy Duncan
Rating: 5

Good gift for a for a challenged boy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 11/26/2007 by Deborah Meyer
Rating: 5



4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift
Posted 11/5/2007 by Homer
Rating: 5

I purchased this for a friend and he loved it. It comes in a nice tin case. It's a nice, old-fashioned toy that has been updated to the 21st century.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 8/20/2007
Rating: 4

My daughter just turned 9 and has some trouble following the instructions and putting the bolts and nuts together by herself. However, it is a good project for me and her to work on together. It keeps her interested for about an hour at a time and she looks forward to working on it until it is done. Overall, we like it and plan to buy similar kits in the future.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 8/4/2007 by Patrick D. Young - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This kit was bought to acquire parts and new type bolts (hex) to add to my stock of original Meccano parts. I may not make any of the 3 models, but I did build one of the Humvee models. The assembly of the new edition models would be almost impossible without the use of a couple of Meccano "drifts"(part #36C) and a "box spanner"( part #34B). However, the quality of the parts, including the new "flexibles", are up to original Meccano standards.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 4/17/2007 by Peggy Tarnowieckyi
Rating: 4

My son is dyslexic and ADHD, so he has had a hard time reading the directions; however, he has started to build things with this that come from his imagination. He has been able to play with this, build things, and not break it. The best (and messiest) thing so far has been the gold fish cracker launcher hooked up to a mini motor.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

(Heavy) Metal Fun!
Posted 4/6/2007
Rating: 4

Great instructions. The recommended age of 8+ might be a little low. Some steps require quite a bit of finger dexterity. Otherwise, a fun kit with lots of possibilities!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 4/2/2007 by Dr Steven Mendola - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This is a very nice set. It keeps my nephew busy for hours. It is well made and has easy to follow instructions. I do think the set was expensive considering the size and it has no motor.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 3/28/2007 by Jason Williams
Rating: 4

I purchased this item for myself since I never had this type of toy project as a child. It's all metal, wonderfully constructed. The pieces are bagged with various parts and sizes all tossed together, but once I organized them myself, it was time to start building and having fun. I really enjoy this item and have several weeks of building ahead of me. I would highly recommend this item. Just one thing to be aware of -there are no written instructions enclosed, just pictures, but they are very easy to follow.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/18/2006 by Nancy Ritter
Rating: 5

The erector set is just fine. Our grandson is using it to make his Science project. It was delivered promptly and in good shape. And the price was comparable or better than others I'd priced. Everything OK here.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/10/2006 by Carol Bloch
Rating: 5

The erector set was just I expected. My grandson enjoyed it very much and he will use it for a long time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks set
Posted 1/9/2006 by Michael Bartek
Rating: 4

Overall this is a great gift for people that need to keep occupied. I got it for myself out of boredom with video games and a number of other hobbies. This set is so neat because of the complexity and challenge with all the tight spaces and each model has so many different parts that make it whole. It'll keep you busy for a while. On the other hand the hardware is the only "iffy" part I found about it. Some of the nuts got mis-threaded no matter how many times I tried, also a couple allen screws were made where the tool didn't fit it. Either way I made it work and I am very satisfied with my purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/6/2006
Rating: 4

I really liked this toy. I get to build the three landmarks of the world and other cool things with the pieces in this package. It comes in a very cool metal box too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Jeff Jacobs
Rating: 3

Toy arrived perfectly. Was surprised to see that Erector Sets are not as large as they were years ago. Thought this set would be quite extensive with gears and a motor for the price, but it actually would have been considered very basic when I was a child. Price was competitive with other sellers and service was excellent.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun- not just for nostalgia
Posted 12/28/2005 by Mark
Rating: 4

The erector set Landmarks of the World Set was a great surpise for my 10 year old son. Some of the new building sets that look appealing don't work as well as promised or don't last, and can't be repeatedly dismantled and set up again. This erector set, despite its "old-fashioned" aura, easily meets the criteria for challenge, quality of workmanship, ability to build and rebuild, and the possibilities for open-ended construction and design. The box/ads could be more explicit that only one of the models can be built at a time. Frankly, the finished models are attractive enough that I can imagine them gracing adults' offices and living rooms.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Worth more than it's weight in gold!
Posted 12/27/2005 by Anne Cannon
Rating: 5

We gave our son (8 yrs old) his first Erector set for Christmas this year. It's the Landmarks of the World set. It's a HUGE hit both with my son and my husband. He loves to build things and after the many hours he's already spent on the Eifel Tower, he has never been bored. We spent a fun day in Chicago today and he couldn't wait to get home to work on it some more. He's learning so much, as well. What a fantastic toy. We'll no doubt be adding to his Erector set collection in years to come. No wonder it's a classic that's stood the test of time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 12/23/2005 by Julia
Rating: 5

Excellent toy for boy or girl. It was a gift for my 7 year old niece and she loved it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/11/2005 by Dennis E. Rose
Rating: 4

The Landmarks set I kept in order to test it out. I finished putting together the Eiffel Tower and found it to be a bit cumbersome (small screws and nuts and all) but was very pleased after I finished it. I did find shortcuts that would have made putting this project together more easier. Overall, I did not give it 5 stars mainly because of how the instructions only portray pictorial views without written procedures, which I thought would be more difficult for children, and even adults.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 12/5/2005 by Jane Tuttle
Rating: 5

The set is awesome. My 12 year old son LOVES it!! It's a great bargin at Fat Brain Toys too! I've seen it in stores for a lot more and we got it from Fat Brain Toys for a great price with free shipping!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 11/18/2005 by Sharon Irish
Rating: 5

I chose this model because my son can improve his fine motor skills with building the structures, while also learning about the construction of some famous landmarks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 11/18/2005 by L. Brent Talbott
Rating: 5

Get price and great service. I would definitely recommend that people check your website before making a purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/16/2005 by Michael Call
Rating: 5

Awesome set. It brings back memories of childhood, and it is making new memories for my 8-year-old boy. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 10/31/2005 by Laura Abdelhamed
Rating: 5

A great set for my 15 year old to construct. It keeps him occupied for hours. He is enjoying every minute of it. And as soon as he completes this project we will buy another one.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World
Posted 10/6/2005 by Sharlynn Mellor
Rating: 3

This is my sons first experience with an erector set. He loves to build just about anything, but this was frustrating to him due to the poor design of the tools included. The set itself is wonderful, but it doesn't seem as if they thought through the fact that the tools need to be held in place in areas so close together that it is nearly impossible to get your hand and a tool to fit at the same time. My son is 12 and we were hoping for something a little mentally challenging for him, which this set was not.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointed
Posted 2/24/2005 by F. Zheng
Rating: 1

The description of the set on the website is misleading. The set actually has only enough parts to build one landmark, not three. Erector did included instruction booklet for three. But my son is quite disappointed that he had to took aprt the model he just finished to build another one. It seems quite silly for the manufacture to package it like this since for the price of the set, we can actually buy the set for the Effel tower and Empire state building seperately, At least, we would have two models instead of only one as we ended up with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Teaches
Posted 2/24/2005 by Kathy Ching
Rating: 5

Reminiscent of the "original" Erector Sets. More challenging than most toys, but the process of assembling and constructing the landmarks teach observation (studying the picture of the completed model), deductive reasoning (no step-by-step instructions, merely diagrams that invite the builder to think through the steps), and patience (all those little nuts and bolts!). It is a far cry from the popular "entertaining" toys where the child pushes a few buttons and watches the action unfold (i.e., all the work is done, and the child is a passive observer).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 2/24/2005 by Robert McLeod
Rating: 5

The landmarks of the world set is a perfect set for everyone. It has three intriging models and the capability to build any thing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Building A Landmark
Posted 2/24/2005 by Terry Abbruscato
Rating: 5

The three landmarks that one can build with this set turned out to be absolutely perfect for my son's high school History project. The three landmarks that can be built from this kit are excellent replicas of the real thing. My son received an A+ on this project....thanks...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Landmark of an Erector Set!
Posted 1/4/2005 by Glenn Hoffman
Rating: 5

My 10 year old son & I are really enjoying this Erector set! We have started the Eiffel Tower and are having a great time doing it together. This set is an ideal Father / Son project, but would be difficult for a 10 year old youngster on his own. Also, small fingers are a real asset. We have supplemented the "tools" contained in the Landmark kit with a battery-driven drill or wrench from another Erector Set to make bolting pieces together quicker. This helps to keep the construction project on schedule (as well as minimize frustration on his part).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set-Landmarks of the World
Posted 1/4/2005 by Mary Wentz
Rating: 5

We purchased this quality set for our 10-yr-old grandson who wants to be an engineer. We chose this particular set because of the high number of pieces and to complement another motorized erector set. Don't know who enjoyed the gift more--grandson or grandpa! Thanks for continuing to offer quality educational toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set- Landmarks of the World
Posted 1/4/2005 by Phyllis J. Stegall
Rating: 5

I give the erector set the highest mark based on the one word my 13 year-old grandson uttered when he unwrapped his present: Co-o-o-l. I don't think he has had a chance to try it out yet but I feel sure he will enjoy many hours of happy construction. He tells me he wants to be an architect! Thank you for continuing to offer this quality product. And I am glad I was unable to order on-line as I would not have met the delightful young woman who helped me on the phone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/4/2005 by Larry Adoff
Rating: 5

My son is having a blast building the first of 3 landmarks. Wish the kit would come with some basic information of the building...so he can learn about the building as well as how to build.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Keeping for myself
Posted 11/28/2004 by Donald Lamar Abele, MD
Rating: 5

interesting and well constructed. I bought the item for my 8 year old but I wonder when he will get to play with it , in that so far I have been keeping the thing for myself

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For a 70-year-old who is a child at heart
Posted 11/17/2004 by Marie Fahrenkopf
Rating: 5

Believe it or not, I bought this for a 70-year-old who is a child at heart. He never had a erector set growing up coming from a family of 15 children and always wanted one. Well, you should have seen his face when I gave it to him. It was worth a thousand words just to see the smile from ear to ear. I never felt so good giving a gift to someone such as this. Life is certainly full of surprises for some. What a small price to pay for something that is invaluable to another.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Many uses of erector sets
Posted 11/7/2004 by Maribeth Spittler
Rating: 4

We are using this for a Science Fair project and it is working beautifully.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Landmarks of the World Set
Posted 10/17/2004 by John Rorer
Rating: 5

Most impressive in design & packaging.Have not had an opportunity to create any Landmarks as of yet but look foward to so doing with this awesome set. Reminds me of the Gilbert Erector of the past.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02