Home > Toy Companies > Nikko America Inc. > Robot Speedplay > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 18 times with an average rating of 4.00

Many, Many Parts
Posted 1/15/2008 by Gretchen
Rating: 3

We bought this for our son knowing that he would be too young to put it together. Even with 2 adults working on it, it was a pretty complicated item to put together. We didn't have enough of a few important screws to finish the robot without having the company send us some new parts. They were fairly responsive, but we just finished the product on Jan. 14, about 3 weeks after starting. The robot, now that it is finished, is way cool.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not for 7 years and up
Posted 1/12/2006 by Beth Fennelly
Rating: 3

This is not like a lego set where you can give your child the gift. My son is 10 and quickly builds any legos with no problems. The instructions are similar to lego but the description of the set does not tell you that you need to have machine oil to lubricate the moving parts- this cannot be built in a child's room- it needs to be done on a work bench so that the oil does not get all over the place. I'm sure once we finally get it built he will enjoy it, but we (and he) are dissappointed that he cannot just dive in and build it on his own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/8/2006 by Mary
Rating: 2

I purchased this item for my 9 year old son. We were not impressed. This toy has not been perfected to Brio standards and it is not worth the money. It has a good basic idea and my son really liked the power tool. the finish product is not as sturdy and acceptable with this price tag. This toy requires lubrication with oil for all moving parts and then tinkering to get it right and this is supposably for 7+ "?" In my opinion the average 7 year old would need help and when the whole idea of buying a construction toy is to foster that ability arrives with frustration the product fails. I am sending this product back on Monday. Along with the above complaints one of the motor parts fails to work properly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/6/2006 by Paul Jones
Rating: 4

Thought it would be more metal than plastic but it is very good.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy!
Posted 1/6/2006
Rating: 4

My son just loves his robot set! He made the kit from the directions and is now doing his own thing. This toy will last him a long time. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/6/2006 by Kimberly Condie
Rating: 5

Our son loves this set. It says 7 and up but I can't imagine any 7 year old that would have the patience to put the whole thing together. It took our 13 year old 4 days off and on to put it together and it has a LOT of very small parts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/6/2006 by Davis T.Short
Rating: 5

Great toy...clear instructions, all the peices were there, made the little engineer work but wasn't too much for her. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/28/2005 by Dale Archer
Rating: 1

Not as easy to put together as advertised. Am acquainted with mechanical work and this took me twelve hours to put together and make work. Only worked 10 seconds before wheels fell off. Instructions are terrible. Total waste of money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Robot Speedplay
Posted 12/19/2005
Rating: 4

My son loves this set. Especially great for kids who need a beginning robotics set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/13/2005 by Roland D. Russell
Rating: 2

There is a great deal left to be desired with the assembly pictures provided with this robot model. Many are shown with perspective that is not correct, and photographs should have been used. The wheel axles are not properly secured and required super-glue to make them stay in place because the plastic "washers" are not sufficient to hold during turns of the robot. As a final problem, I could not load the software into the robot because there is a problem with Windows XP and the USB setup (probably drivers) in the control unit. That problem is still not rrsolved. This kit is very disappointing and is not at all engineered well. It would help a great deal if the engineers that designed it had to put the damned thing together! I would NOT buy another Meccano kit. Why is there no web site listed in the instruction book where questions can be resolved? Very unsatisfactory.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

What a great item!
Posted 11/30/2005 by Damon Dawson
Rating: 5

The picture makes it look like metal but it's really made of plastic. Very fun to build and even more fun to play with. My 8 yr old son LOVES this toy. It's fun to program and download sounds. The screwdriver that converts to a motor works really well and what a great idea. The plans are very well layed out and the parts are easy to work with. The fact that you can build a robot, crane and trike then program them all to do different things with different sounds means hours and hours of replay! This toy is one of a kind!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Robot Speedplay
Posted 11/25/2005 by Maleena Brown
Rating: 5

Our son loves to rearrange toys to create new toys. Robot Speedplay will allow him to do this to the nth degree. 900+ pieces means the sky is the limit. Very large toy also. Does need batteries for some functions but not most.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Robo Speedplay
Posted 11/8/2005 by Stephanie Krantz
Rating: 5

This is an amazingly cool toy that I bought for my son's 10th birthday. He loves anything that involves building or putting things together. The thing that caught my eye on this particular item is that is resembles the Bionicle's, which my son also loves. It's got a lot of parts but my son was able to handle it with little help. I think it's so wonderful to see the Erector sets back, last year we bought the motorized Ferris Wheel set for him. Now I have my eye in the RC Hummer for Christmas.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb01