Home > Toy Companies > noted* > Pathfinders Catapult Kit > Customer Reviews
Pathfinders Catapult Kit
0

4 Star reviews of Pathfinders Catapult Kit by noted*

Return to Pathfinders Catapult Kit product information...

Pathfinders Catapult Kit has been reviewed 95 times with an average rating of 4.39

Information about Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 5/19/2008 by Eyal Beigman
Rating: 4

Overall, a wonderful and intriguing toy that puts together basic physics, engineering of antiquity and history. The only complaint I have about the toy is durability. The two pieces of wood glued at the end of the arm to make the cup just came off in the third or fourth shot. Without these pieces, it is almost impossible to place a projectile on the arm.

11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 3/13/2012
Rating: 4

My son is 8 and needed help assembling the toy. Once it was assembled he was able to play with it and enjoy it himself.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

adult assembly required, but fun for the whole family
Posted 8/9/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The Pathfinder Catapult was a birthday gift for my 8-year-old nephew. He tried to put it together, but assembly was well beyond his perfectly normal dexterity level. 2 adults struggled to get the string part assembled with proper tension to make the toy operable. So assembly is definitely an adult activity. But once the catapult was assembled, my nephew had a lot of fun making different sized and shaped projectiles, and testing how far the catapult could launch each one. He spontaneously worked out that smaller projectiles go farther, with much experimentation along the way. However, the string tensioner needs to be redesigned so it does not slip off its pegs so easily in the hands of an enthusiastic child!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

grandparent
Posted 6/2/2010 by Ron
Rating: 4

The wooden section was easy to assemble although the tension string proved more difficult to attach. the directions were not clear. The section which holds catapult arm down did not work properly. All in all my 9 year old grandson is enjoying this item and is looking forward to using it for a school project.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

creative toy
Posted 4/23/2010 by Deb
Rating: 4

A gift for my 11 year old nephew. He like both assembling it and was looking forward to investigating what he could "hurl" with it from the back yard.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Simple Machine Example
Posted 4/29/2008
Rating: 4

I bought it for my son's 4th Grade simple machine submission project. The assembly instructions were clear and easy to follow. It was my 9 year old son's assignment to assemble the catapult by himself. I guided him through the process that made the assembly easier... (hints) , such as, sanding the pins and assemblying the catapult structure once before assembling it glued. It was a great opportunity to watch my son create something that works great. He's having a lot of launching other items besides the molding clay...mini marshmallows. FUN FuN FUN

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 3/30/2006 by Lynne Klingelsmith
Rating: 4

My 12 yr old son says it would be nice if it was easier to adjust the power of the catapult.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 3/17/2009 by ladan sepehri
Rating: 4

everything was easy the last part to throw was not working properly

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Catapult Kit
Posted 2/11/2009 by Richard Sweat - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a very good product. However, there was one problem with this particular catapult. The swing arm cup that holds the object to be fired was cut out of a knot in the wood. The first time my grandson fired the catapult, the cup broke. It was a clean break so he glued it back together. This was a school project and when he fired it again in a battle situation with the calss, it broke again. He quickly taped the cup back together and was able to continue the battle and he was able to help his team win the battle. (They used marshmellows.) I did not rate this product poorly because the reast of the catauplt was very well designed and stood the test of the battle. I believe this was just one of those things that happen. The cup just happened to be weak. He has the catapult displayed on a shelf in his room. If you could send him another swing arm I would appreciate it and it would make my grandson very happy.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Tabletop Catapult Review
Posted 11/4/2009 by Tracey Paugh
Rating: 4

It is smaller than what I thought it would be. But it does work. I bought it for my daughter's science fair project. She will use it to launch balls of the same size but different weights and compare the distance thrown.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great purchase!
Posted 7/16/2009 - FRIEND
Rating: 4

This was a great way to challenge my 11-year-old. He was able to put it together without any problem and enjoyed playing with it afterwards. We plan to purchase similar products from Fat Brain Toys.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun!
Posted 3/2/2010 by Angela Carter
Rating: 4

The catapult kit was easy for my 9 year old to put together. I only had to help him with one step -- stringing the string through the holes. The pieces all fit together well, no tools required, and it's holding together nicely. The boys (ages 3,6,9) are having tons of fun launching a variety of toys, testing to see which toy goes the farthest, and tossing our dog his treats. It easily turns into a science project when we want to be educational, but is also just plain fun when all we want to do is play!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 1/2/2010 by Henry Fiacco
Rating: 4

Good instructions, pieces fit well, good quality. Educationally very good.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Use The Sandpaper, Not a Hammer
Posted 1/8/2008
Rating: 4

We had trouble assembling this product, and decided to use a hammer to tap in the pegs. This wasn't the best idea, and the bit in the instructions about sanding the pegs to make them fit came as a footnote in the instructions - too late for us and our hammer. Had it been in the beginning we would have done that instead. Inspite of us slightly splitting some of the pieces with our hammer it all glued up fine and we've had tons of fun catapulting mini and regular marshmallows with our working catapult. Overall, we're glad we got this, and would try the Trebuchet too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Catapult Kit
Posted 1/5/2008 by Carol Perruso - OTHER
Rating: 4

It was fine but not what my husband was looking for. He wanted a metal one.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Easy and Educational
Posted 11/6/2007 by Tracie Clarke
Rating: 4

The catapult kit was easy and fun to assemble. My 12 year old used it for a Greek project as the item resembled a ballistae. He was able to it in less than an hour with only a little. His dad and I did the stringing with the twine. We had fun building it too. He was pleased with his project and now the whole family as well as guests have enjoyed shooting the catapult. With wood glue applied to the joints, it seems to be sturdy and durable enough for our 3 year old. Without the glue holding it together, I wouldn't recommend excessively handling.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Catapult Kit
Posted 7/24/2007 by N. Woller
Rating: 4

It was pretty easy to put together,but the instructions were a bit vague in a few points. In 2 places they called for use of larger dowels, but there was only one pair. I ended up splitting the wood at that part, but we made due with extra glue. It is a medieval "weapon" after all, so a few scuffs, scrapes, and cracks only lend to its character. All in all, it was a fun model to put together and even more fun to play with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!
Posted 5/8/2007
Rating: 4

Reasonably easy assembly for my 9 year old. We're having great fun tossing mini-marshmallows, skittles candy, comparing flight of lego bricks and other small items. Tonight, we catapulted a marshmellow chick AKA a peep! It was a blast, peeps can't fly! I think someday we'll take the dimensions and scale it up for a real catapult!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 4/11/2007 by Kristy Losee
Rating: 4

We built it within 1 hour. The directions were easy to follow and had detailed pictures as well. The product functioned like it was supposed to. It was sturdy, however the material was a lot lighter than I thought it would be. We have been enjoying the product and it hasn't broken. It does send the modeling clay 10 feet accurately which we needed for the class project. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Catapult
Posted 3/28/2007 by Tom Schnittker
Rating: 4

I bought this as a craft project for my 7 year old and me. It went together without a problem. The instructions were easy to follow. Given the price of the product, I would think the wood could have been a little heftier. I don't see it lasting for the long run, but I could be wrong.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Catapult Kit
Posted 11/6/2006 by Karin Bazemore
Rating: 4

The product was very easy to assemble. Directions were easily understood by child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Catapult
Posted 11/3/2006 by Karen
Rating: 4

It was fun to put together. Some of the instructions were a tab bit confusing. It took us about an hour to finish it! It works well...lauches about 15 feet and is sturdy enough for a 12 year old boy to play with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 4/21/2009 by David Johnson
Rating: 4

product was well made and was easy to assemble, my 8 year old had no problems. catapult was used for a school project and saved hours of construction time on making one from scratch.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

catapult
Posted 4/19/2010 by Joseph Glenn Jackson
Rating: 4

product has everything I hoped for, the working Catapult, and was a fun kit to build. The kit showed easy to understand instructions, and with simple tools and glue, was assembled in very little time. Thank you

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Early Xmas
Posted 12/1/2008 by Nathan Pohl - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Gave this kit as an early Christmas present to my nephew. Had a great time putting it together and storming the enemy's fortress! Assembly definitely needs some adult supervision, but was very easy to follow directions, and it worked great when done. Only other Christmas wish was that it was a bigger weapon!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 12/5/2011 by Chris Cunningham - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

On the box, the catapult says, not a toy. So you will have to make rules so no one gets killed. My grandson learned to shoot it only at his green plastic army guys and not at the windows or his sisters. And it's great outside. Fun to build.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for boys!
Posted 7/8/2009 by Kam Bosket
Rating: 4

My ten year old loves to build catapults out of anything and everything, so I thought this would be a great gift. He enjoyed putting it together and loves shooting whatever he can find across the room. This was a big hit!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Pathfinders Catapult Kit
Posted 12/2/2012 by Diane DeVito
Rating: 4

Its a xmas present sp he hasn't opened it yet

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02