Home > Toy Companies > noted* > Trebuchet Kit > Customer Reviews
Trebuchet Kit
0

Customer reviews of Trebuchet Kit by noted*

Return to Trebuchet Kit product information...

Trebuchet Kit has been reviewed 67 times with an average rating of 4.18

A Wonderful Kit
Posted 10/23/2008
Rating: 4

I bought this as a model for a larger trebuchet for a school project. I was able to build the entire thing in under an hour. I did not glue everything, because it stays together pretty well without glue. I experimented with the sling length and counterweight, and after some trial and error, it is now able to throw the clay ball twenty feet every time. I did have a small problem while building it. Two pieces of wood split, but since I am experienced with wood, I was able to fix it with just a little bit of tape, and it did not effect the outcome. This model helped me build a six foot high working trebuchet that can hurl a two pound pumpkin over thirty meters.

22 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very pleased
Posted 7/14/2008 by M. M. Herman
Rating: 5

This kit is well made and the directions were easy to follow. I actually had fun putting my trebuchet together and then more fun showing my nephew and niece how it operates. The neighbors may think we are kookie but the birds love the treats we fired across the lawn. Wish you made a bigger kit - it would be fun to catapult leftovers into the bay for the critters. thanks again

18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So Much Fun!
Posted 3/6/2008 by Melissa McGlynn
Rating: 5

What a great model! My thirteen-year-old son built in about an hour with little difficulty. It is a fantastic working model. Be sure to use sand and not rocks as your weight. Great Product!!

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 7/31/2010 by Kenneth Kissler
Rating: 3

This is Grandpaw speaking. I helped my 13 year old grandson put this thing together. He is a straight A student and there is no way [ ] he could have put this together by himself. We had to re-drill one hole to make the dowel fit. It took us about 5 hours of actual time not counting the glue drying time. The dowels all stick out and need to be cut off to make the thing look decent. We thought the directions were rather unclear and had to study them. All measurements were in metric. Here in the US we do not use metric. Fortunately, I have a metric ruler so we could get the correct measurements. Once we got all the kinks worked out it did work quite well. On a one to ten scale overall I would give it a 7.
Any toy that doesn't score a perfect 10 may be returned for a refund or exchange. Every purchase from Fat Brain Toys is 100% guaranteed.)

15 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 2/16/2010 by Cathy A.
Rating: 5

The Trebuchet Kit was easy to asssemble as advertised. My 14-year-old son put it together in less than an hour. He has been successful in varying the counter weight and projectile weight to produce a top-notch science fair project. Thank you!

12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Trebuchet Kit
Posted 4/12/2010 by Susan Mullen
Rating: 5

My 8 year old son and his uncle had a great time putting this together. Took about 45 minutes but no complications and was nice quality time together.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Let the contest begin!
Posted 7/22/2008 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

We bought this kit for a logical, skilled, and dextrous seven-year-old, hot on the heels of the success and fun of the catapult kit, which was a big hit in "Show and Tell." Parental assistance was required, but the kit went together nicely and easily, and the finished "toy of destruction" operates as promised. A total hit!

12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Review
Posted 9/15/2009 by Jamie Looney
Rating: 3

It would have been nice if some of the pieces had been made to fit together without having to hold them in place while the glue was drying. Otherwise the miniature was fine. It worked great and was easy to use for demonstrations.

12 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A fun kit
Posted 3/3/2009 by KG
Rating: 4

I ordered this kit for my son's 12th birthday. He & a friend started it right after dinner & had a great time working on it. It comes with a set of dowels they had to measure & cut themselves which personaly I thought could have been marked/cut/scored at the factory but it actually added another element of fun for the boys. I would just be prepared BEFOREHAND with the proper cutting tools as we had small piece of jagged dowel flying all over the kitchen! :) Certainly a fun kit although I do wish it were a little less pricey!

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/16/2009 by cw - FRIEND
Rating: 4

We bought the trebuchet kit as a gift for a 13 year old boy- he was really excited about it. The assembly of the toy easily takes 2 hours, and we haven't had time to get it completely up and running. Well made toy- but definitely for older kids who have patience and interest in building things.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/29/2011 by Michael
Rating: 4

Built this kit under the guidance of my five year old boy, who chose it. The kit was easy to assemble; the hardest part was making the individual pegs out of the provided dowel sticks. My son loves the model. It is helping me to teach him attention to detail. We plan on staining it to give it an authentic look, and will use spray spar urethane to seal and strengthen the thin pieces of soft wood.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/11/2012 by Michelle Conover
Rating: 5

This was easy to put together and my son loves it!!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quite surprised
Posted 5/4/2011 by 10 yr old boy
Rating: 4

It was kind of surprising when we opened the box and found out exactly how many pieces this comes in. It is completely unassembled, however it does have clear instructions on how to put it together. You will need wood glue and a hobby saw, (Although they say you can cut/score with a scissors and snap, hobby saw works much better) We have not fired it yet, as we are still assembling it. I believe this will be the per verbial you get out of it what you put into it. If you take you time and glue and dowel joints as the instructions state this will be a wonderful learning adventure for our son.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/16/2011 by Ethel Warren
Rating: 5

This product was purchased for a school project. My daughter was very excited about the whole experience of completing the trebuchet and actually using it!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 5/5/2010 by Dan Abrams - OTHER
Rating: 3

The wooden dowels should come pre-cut. It takes a lot of time and effort to cut these pieces. The box would be easier to glue and assemble by having pre-drilled holes on the adjoining pieces. Then it would be able to take wooden dowel pieces as well. This would prevent the box from shifting around until the glue sets. Also there should be more info on the ball size and weight ratio between the ball and the box. After readjusting the string length, figuring out how much weight works in the box verses the projectile, it turned out to be a fun project. I strongly suggest parental support on the build and operation of the Trebuchet.

10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Model
Posted 4/6/2009 by Alex Wilson
Rating: 4

The trebuchet product i bought was satisfying and entertaining. It was easy to build and was fun in the process of building it took me and my father about 3 hours. I wished that on the box it says what its wieght limit is so i don't put to much in it but i'm causious. With the weight i put in it now it doesn't go as far i would have liked so i will slowly continue on to put a little more weight in each time. Overall i am very satisfied with my product.

10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/22/2010 by Michael Anton
Rating: 5

Very nice design. I liked that the woodenpegs reinforced the joints. The bucket was a little flimsey sinceit isonly heldtogether with glue. But it works! I would order another one.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Order
Posted 7/22/2009 by Chad Watson - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Product quality was good and the instructions were helpful. I had two teams of fifth graders assemble two of these and they actually got them together. We will fire them on Friday!!

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 2/11/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

easy to put together & it works

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Projectile Christmas
Posted 12/27/2007
Rating: 5

I got this as a Christmas present for my husband. He put it together Christmas day with my brother and cousin complete with a history lesson about siege warfare. It took about 30 minutes beginning to end. Then all three of them took turns experimenting with the weights to get just the right amount of range to hit the cooks in the kitchen with marshmallows. Funniest Christmas dinner prep I've ever seen.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/28/2007 by Jim
Rating: 3

There was a part missing from the kit and a part was marked incorrectly so it was assembled wrong. I will have to help my son drill out the dowel and place in the correct spot.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 2/20/2007 by Jody Conners
Rating: 4

When my son informed me that he had to build a model Trebuchet for his 7th grade science project I started searching the internet for plans or kits. This kit was the best I found and was worth every cent as opposed to trying to purchase and cut all the pieces and parts separately. The kit had some minor flaws, (like we had to re-drill a lot of the holes to get the dowels through), but we had fun putting it together and it really does work! He'd better get an A.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 5/5/2006 by James Quashnock
Rating: 2

The quality of parts is poor. Little effort was used to utilize quality wood. Major parts are warped. Drilled holes are rough.
We contacted Mr. Quashnock. Any product which does not meet our customers' expectations may be returned for a full refund. We do appreciate this feedback as it helps us to determine which products to carry for our customers.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 4/19/2006 by Robert Branch
Rating: 4

Easy to assemble. The clay that was attached with it did not work as well as glue.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 6/3/2008 by Monica Willcutt - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 2

My son and I put this together. He is 13. It would have been too difficult for him to do it alone. The product itself was flimsy. The accuracy was poor, the clay ball didn't come out of the pouch 9 out of 10 times. It is a very frustrating product for anyone, let alone a kid.

10 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Easy To Assemble
Posted 12/26/2007
Rating: 5

Assembling the trebuchet was easy. The instructions are comprehensive and there are enough pictures and advise to avoid making obvious mistakes. Take your time and you'll have good results.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift
Posted 12/26/2007 by Gerald Priest - OTHER
Rating: 5

This was a gift for my Son-in-Law and it was received with much excitement. He hasn't assembled it yet, but is very much looking forward to the process. He's already making plans for the launching of various cat toys.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/24/2007 by Thomas Bayer
Rating: 4

The kit was well organized with all parts clearly labeled and easy to follow assembly instructions. It is a lot of fun.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 12/24/2006 by Randall Daniels
Rating: 4

Product: Trebuchet Kit. Review: 4/5 stars. Kit was good quality with no warped pieces and all holes properly drilled. The instructions are adequate but are one of the weaker points of the kit. Also, the knot tying section was much too vague. I am a 22 year old student and built the kit for a co-worker. The kit took about 1.5 hours of construction time and is straightforward - until the end when one must contruct the actual sling for launching projectiles. Once completed, the kit functioned perfectly. It is impressive to behold in both scale and function. Bottom Line: A good kit, I would buy again and would recommend family/friends to buy if queried.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/7/2011 by Jerry Elledge - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

product is excellent.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very satisfied
Posted 1/25/2009 by Dirk Henrich
Rating: 5

Not assembled yet but the catapult kit was a blast.... :)

7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun But Not Of The Highest Quality
Posted 1/5/2008 by Lindsay Walker
Rating: 3

My husband and his buddies had a great time putting this together, but the holes were not all drilled very well and so they had a lot of troubles getting things to line up. They even resorted to the use of a staple gun! Surprisingly, the trebuchet worked perfectly once they managed to get it put together!

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/19/2007 by Chris
Rating: 4

This kit was easy enough for my middle school aged child to assemble with little assistance. Great science fair project.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just As Promised
Posted 8/15/2007
Rating: 5

I sent the trebuchet kit as a gift to a family friend and he loves it. It was easy to assemble and worked perfectly!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 11/16/2006 by David Longoria
Rating: 4

My son and I really like the product. It looks like we will be using it as a science project.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 8/30/2006 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

The recipient was my brother, a 42 yr old, attorney, who assembled it with his daughter and reports it was a breeze. Functionally, the trebuchet is reportedly "das schiznitt" (a German adjective we were afraid to translate) and it will most likely be relocated to the law office for more practical uses.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 6/16/2006 by Dave Wright
Rating: 5

This kit was fun to assemble and all the parts were there!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/29/2006 by Peter Williams
Rating: 4

Much easier to build that we had expected.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/22/2010 by Thomas F. Reinhart
Rating: 5

Great product. Product description was perfect!

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ok
Posted 2/8/2010 by Daniel Yi
Rating: 4

well, it is great fun. only if it included an adjustable weight. also, the string just snapped when i flung something...try getting a more sturdy trebuchet. overall, it has cheap material but is much fun for kids.

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 6/23/2009
Rating: 4

Nice project to put together.

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 12/15/2009 by Dr. Thomas Ryba
Rating: 4

Very nice kit. Works as indicated (with a little fiddling) and is quite powerful--not a toy for young kids. My only complaint is that it seems rather small for the cost.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift
Posted 12/26/2007 by Julia Lombardi
Rating: 5

I purchased this as a gift for my husband and he absolutely loved it. The gift is unique and comes with easy to follow instructions. It's a fun and educational gift for kids of all ages.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/15/2007 by Leland Teschler
Rating: 4

Only real problem here was that the holes in the mechanism for holding the weight were drilled slightly cockeyed. This didn't affect how the trebuchet worked, but it was visually unappealing. There was also no way to compensate for this unless you took the time to redrill the holes, something I didn't want to bother with. Other than that, the trebuchet lived up to its advance billing. Instructions were straightforward and clear.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 5/10/2007 by Gregg Coder
Rating: 3

It was fine. The level broke after about a dozen uses. I wasn't there so it could have been an over-anxious son.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/1/2007
Rating: 4

Fairly easy to assemble. It works well.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Good
Posted 1/19/2007 by Pamela Hurst-Dellapietra
Rating: 5

Trebuchet is a great outdoor activity.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 11/1/2007 by Kayla Unger - RELATIVE
Rating: 1

The product was not even remotely close to what I was hoping it to be. There were holes that weren't supposed to be in certain places and missing holes where they should have been. This made it very difficult to build.
Sounds like a "whole" lot of issues. We requested a replacement Trebuchet kit from the manufacturer for our customer.

5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 5/4/2013 by Catherine Rogers
Rating: 3

This is a nice toy that my 14 year old enjoyed building by himself. He is in the process of experimenting with different types and weights of objects he can catapult, and how far he can catapult them. It is a good design, but lightly built. We look forward to launching things off our dock into the water this summer.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 4/30/2013 by HL
Rating: 5

Great product, fully functional, lots of fun!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 12/16/2013
Rating: 5

Made my grandson very happy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very fast turn around
Posted 11/17/2013 by mark yanaway
Rating: 5

I bought this for my students in World History. They love it. It works very well and demonstrates the usefulness of the wheels and variability of weight and length of sling on distance and arc.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03