Home > Toy Companies > noted* > Trebuchet Kit > Customer Reviews
Trebuchet Kit
0

4 Star reviews of Trebuchet Kit by noted*

Return to Trebuchet Kit product information...

Trebuchet Kit has been reviewed 66 times with an average rating of 4.18

A Wonderful Kit
Posted 10/23/2008
Rating: 4

I bought this as a model for a larger trebuchet for a school project. I was able to build the entire thing in under an hour. I did not glue everything, because it stays together pretty well without glue. I experimented with the sling length and counterweight, and after some trial and error, it is now able to throw the clay ball twenty feet every time. I did have a small problem while building it. Two pieces of wood split, but since I am experienced with wood, I was able to fix it with just a little bit of tape, and it did not effect the outcome. This model helped me build a six foot high working trebuchet that can hurl a two pound pumpkin over thirty meters.

22 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A fun kit
Posted 3/3/2009 by KG
Rating: 4

I ordered this kit for my son's 12th birthday. He & a friend started it right after dinner & had a great time working on it. It comes with a set of dowels they had to measure & cut themselves which personaly I thought could have been marked/cut/scored at the factory but it actually added another element of fun for the boys. I would just be prepared BEFOREHAND with the proper cutting tools as we had small piece of jagged dowel flying all over the kitchen! :) Certainly a fun kit although I do wish it were a little less pricey!

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/16/2009 by cw - FRIEND
Rating: 4

We bought the trebuchet kit as a gift for a 13 year old boy- he was really excited about it. The assembly of the toy easily takes 2 hours, and we haven't had time to get it completely up and running. Well made toy- but definitely for older kids who have patience and interest in building things.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/29/2011 by Michael
Rating: 4

Built this kit under the guidance of my five year old boy, who chose it. The kit was easy to assemble; the hardest part was making the individual pegs out of the provided dowel sticks. My son loves the model. It is helping me to teach him attention to detail. We plan on staining it to give it an authentic look, and will use spray spar urethane to seal and strengthen the thin pieces of soft wood.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quite surprised
Posted 5/4/2011 by 10 yr old boy
Rating: 4

It was kind of surprising when we opened the box and found out exactly how many pieces this comes in. It is completely unassembled, however it does have clear instructions on how to put it together. You will need wood glue and a hobby saw, (Although they say you can cut/score with a scissors and snap, hobby saw works much better) We have not fired it yet, as we are still assembling it. I believe this will be the per verbial you get out of it what you put into it. If you take you time and glue and dowel joints as the instructions state this will be a wonderful learning adventure for our son.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Model
Posted 4/6/2009 by Alex Wilson
Rating: 4

The trebuchet product i bought was satisfying and entertaining. It was easy to build and was fun in the process of building it took me and my father about 3 hours. I wished that on the box it says what its wieght limit is so i don't put to much in it but i'm causious. With the weight i put in it now it doesn't go as far i would have liked so i will slowly continue on to put a little more weight in each time. Overall i am very satisfied with my product.

10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Order
Posted 7/22/2009 by Chad Watson - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Product quality was good and the instructions were helpful. I had two teams of fifth graders assemble two of these and they actually got them together. We will fire them on Friday!!

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 2/20/2007 by Jody Conners
Rating: 4

When my son informed me that he had to build a model Trebuchet for his 7th grade science project I started searching the internet for plans or kits. This kit was the best I found and was worth every cent as opposed to trying to purchase and cut all the pieces and parts separately. The kit had some minor flaws, (like we had to re-drill a lot of the holes to get the dowels through), but we had fun putting it together and it really does work! He'd better get an A.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 4/19/2006 by Robert Branch
Rating: 4

Easy to assemble. The clay that was attached with it did not work as well as glue.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/24/2007 by Thomas Bayer
Rating: 4

The kit was well organized with all parts clearly labeled and easy to follow assembly instructions. It is a lot of fun.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 12/24/2006 by Randall Daniels
Rating: 4

Product: Trebuchet Kit. Review: 4/5 stars. Kit was good quality with no warped pieces and all holes properly drilled. The instructions are adequate but are one of the weaker points of the kit. Also, the knot tying section was much too vague. I am a 22 year old student and built the kit for a co-worker. The kit took about 1.5 hours of construction time and is straightforward - until the end when one must contruct the actual sling for launching projectiles. Once completed, the kit functioned perfectly. It is impressive to behold in both scale and function. Bottom Line: A good kit, I would buy again and would recommend family/friends to buy if queried.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/7/2011 by Jerry Elledge - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

product is excellent.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/19/2007 by Chris
Rating: 4

This kit was easy enough for my middle school aged child to assemble with little assistance. Great science fair project.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 11/16/2006 by David Longoria
Rating: 4

My son and I really like the product. It looks like we will be using it as a science project.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/29/2006 by Peter Williams
Rating: 4

Much easier to build that we had expected.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ok
Posted 2/8/2010 by Daniel Yi
Rating: 4

well, it is great fun. only if it included an adjustable weight. also, the string just snapped when i flung something...try getting a more sturdy trebuchet. overall, it has cheap material but is much fun for kids.

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 6/23/2009
Rating: 4

Nice project to put together.

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 12/15/2009 by Dr. Thomas Ryba
Rating: 4

Very nice kit. Works as indicated (with a little fiddling) and is quite powerful--not a toy for young kids. My only complaint is that it seems rather small for the cost.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/15/2007 by Leland Teschler
Rating: 4

Only real problem here was that the holes in the mechanism for holding the weight were drilled slightly cockeyed. This didn't affect how the trebuchet worked, but it was visually unappealing. There was also no way to compensate for this unless you took the time to redrill the holes, something I didn't want to bother with. Other than that, the trebuchet lived up to its advance billing. Instructions were straightforward and clear.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 3/1/2007
Rating: 4

Fairly easy to assemble. It works well.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb02